Simple Japanese Kintsugi Gold Repair Technique Class near Shin Koenji

Overall Rating

5.005.00 / 5

Reviews

9 reviews (Post a review)

Very nice!

Reviewed by: Nadine, 2016/11/15

Sensei Kuge and his wife were great and we learned something new. Also, this course is so great because you get something you can take home! I totally recommend it, it was a very nice experience and we will try to continue doing Kintsugi at home, because it was so interesting and fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was wonderful !!

Reviewed by: Milena, 2016/10/22

I had such a great time !! It was so nice !! I would do it again, no hesitation !!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful!

Reviewed by: Alice Gibson, 2016/07/04

Amazing - can't recommend more highly. Very friendly couple-run craft studio in a nice neighbourhood. I'll be going back ASAP!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kintsugi class fun!

Reviewed by: Susan, 2016/06/11

I had a wonderful time with gracious hosts! We were able to communicate effectively despite the language barrier, and I came away with a beautiful cup to remind me of my trip to Japan and the lovely people I met there!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A beautiful Japanese art form

Reviewed by: Rachel, 2016/05/04

What a wonderful experience! I really enjoyed my afternoon with Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko Kuge, who patiently taught me the basics of Kintsugi over coffee and cake. Even with my limited knowledge in Japanese, the Kuges spoke enough English to clearly explain each step to me. During the lesson, we chatted about other Torontonians who have crossed paths with the Kuges, which was pretty funny. Overall, a really lovely workshop and highly recommended for those looking to do something special and unique!


  • Adding putty to the chipped parts


  • Inside the studio with Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko Kuge


  • Final gold dusting to set the laquer in place

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really good time <3

Reviewed by: Kami, 2016/03/26

We spent really good time with two really nice teachers. We get cake and tea, we talk a lot, and it was a really good time for us. Very creative family I think :)

Bardzo fajne zajęcia. Tak na prawdę, można nie tylko nauczyć się reperowania ceramiki, ale tworzenia biżuterii, malowania i wielu innych rzeczy - o co można zapytać już na miejscu :) Na wstępie dostaliśmy ciasto i herbatkę. Później rozmawiając na wiele tematów robiliśmy swoje dzieła i rozmawialiśmy z pozostałymi uczestnikami ( są cztery miejsca dostępne na jedne zajęcia ). Zdecydownie mogę polecić ^^

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really great, reccomend

Reviewed by: Thao, 2016/03/19

Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko were lovely. They were very friendly and helpful in explaining what to do. You are even able to buy Kintsugi materials too. Usually, you have to leave your ceramic for a day to let it dry however I was flying home the day after. Yoshiko was nice enough to package mine up for travel for me!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fantastic!

Reviewed by: Paul., 2015/09/25

What a special evening. The instructor was an eager young woman and the craft shop owners were present as well, and we had a friendly evening talking about the craft of ceramic repair, learning and talking about Tokyo and my travels. They were eager to impart their knowledge, and the atmosphere was casual and friendly. I recommended the class to an attendee of another workshop, and I've seen that she took this class as well. I'm hoping she enjoyed it as much as me.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely Experience

Reviewed by: Miss C, 2015/07/04

Ever since seeing one of those gold-repaired tea bowls I wanted to try it, and this was a really fun morning class. It was a really 'local' experience as there were few neighborhood ladies doing crafts at the same time, and it was cool to explore the area around the studio. The teacher was super sweet, and can speak basic English. She even served sweets and coffee, a lovely bonus!



Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Categories