Kutná Hora and Sedlec Ossuary Day Trip from Prague

Worth Trip During the Week

Reviewed by: Andrew & Hatsue, 2015/09/28

This was a very interesting tour where we learned some fascinating (& often brutal) history of the area, particularly in relation to the silver mines & the plights of the miners . . . Never before have we seen so many human remains collected in one place! The whole interior was elaborately adorned with with skulls strung together & attached to rib bones & many others. The chandelier in the enter of the space is completely made of human bones . . . The church (which took 518 years to build) & surrounding environs were incredible, even with the crowds of tourists . . . Ad, the guide was top-notch - personable, knowledgeable & very helpful, as well as fluent in several languages . . . The only downside was that the tour was schedule on a weekend and, therefore, almost all of the shops were closed . . . Overall, though, highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Day tour to kutna hora

Reviewed by: Terence Grob, 2015/08/07

I booked the day tour with veltra (operated by Prague sightseeing tours) from Prague to kutna hora as a solo traveller. First of all our guide was great! An elderly gentleman, he seemed to have an endless pool of historical knowledge! Spoke perfect English, German and Russian. His words very extremely informative and gave me a great deal of additional historical knowledge about kutna hora, which used to be a major silver mining city in the Middle Ages. We started by visiting the famous bone church, where a great deal of the interior decoration is made from real bones and skulls, amazing and unusual place! Then we proceeded to the main town which included st. Barbara cathedral and the former silver coin factory. We did get some time for a lunch break too. The tour participants were all nice people as well. The tour lasted about 7 hours by minibus. I would definitely recommend this tour for a beautiful day trip outside of Prague!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A wonderful trip

Reviewed by: David, 2015/07/16

This is definitively a wonderful trip during our stay in Europe this summer. It's our first time to visit Prague. We have no idea at all to visit any place in Prague. I used to do my trip survey by Veltra. Thanks for their information and recommendations, we booked this trip before our arrival. Not only because of the attraction of bone church, but also our previous good experience with Veltra. We were satisfied with the quality of this trip. For a half day trip, the schedule is pretty tight. We visited bone church, St. Barbara church, monarchy and the lovely old town in 2-3 hours. Trough the wonderful introduction by an experienced guide, we were able to catch every important point in those places. It is not so easy according to my personal experience. The transportation is good. They even provide pick-up service that we can easily access to the meeting point from our hotel!
To sum up, everything is just excellent for this trip. Thanks to Veltra!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lady in the forest

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/13

We've seen this place on NHK and we decided that we definitely
have to go there.
It's a very small town, but very charming and beautiful.
On the little square coffee shops and little shops stand next to each other and when you look up you can see the castle towering over the town.
The town is surrounded by the forest. You can really forget about the real life there.
It was an English tour, but even if you don't speak English very well, you will enjoy it.
There was a lot of free time and we really had a great time.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Astonishing

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/13

We've seen it on TV and decided to go there on our trip to Czech. Hotel pick up was on time, the guidance was in English but it was OK and the guide was very nice. The inside of the church was entirely made of bones, so it was quite a rare and astonishing sight.

<Translated by Veltra.com>


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We enjoyed the Cemetary Church

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/13

During the tour we were able to see the Cemetery Church and other sights in the UNESCO town of Kotna Hora. There was a plenty of time and we used it effectively. We enjoyed the tour.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Prague