This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Best of Shanghai City Guided Private Tour with Hotel Pick-up and Lunch

Overall Rating

4.21 4.21 / 5

Reviews

33 reviews
Post a review

Reviewed by: Mark, 2017/08/09

Would have liked some free time in the market/shopping areas - this part was a bit rushed

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Erin Elizabeth, 2012/01/03

While I did enjoy the tour for the most part, there were some aspects I did not enjoy. First, I felt that the tour of the pearl and silk factories was more of a marketing scheme to get tourists into these businesses to buy goods. The tours lasted less than 5 minutes and then we were given 30-40 minutes to look in the store and encouraged to buy items due to the promotions we were given.
Second, when we went for lunch there was limited options for a vegetarian as the food had been pre-ordered for us. As a result, I ended up only eating white rice for lunch, which is very unsubstantial over the course of 8 hours. I think it would be best to allow guests to state any dietary concerns they may have when booking the tour.
Overall, the tour was enjoyable. It was interesting to visit some of the places that I know I would not have found if touring the city by myself. Our tour guide spoke very good English and was helpful and informative for the most part.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Peter, 2011/09/11

Too little time at Shanghai Museum.

Could have done with an extra hour.

Otherwise reasonable tour of the city.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: John, 2011/01/31

With a short timefr<x>ame it was a great way of getting around many of the interesting sites in Shanghai. The tour guide was very knowledgeable with very good English. She was also very helful in showing us how to get back to some of the places we liked so we could explore in our own time. Would use them again

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Pierre, 2010/11/14

The guide was proffessionnal and cool. Had fun to take that tour. I recommaed it!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Bruce, 2010/08/25

Please note, although we booked the city tour we actually did the Water Village/Garden/Silk Factory tour and these comments and photos relate to that.

Bernie, our tour guide, was excellent. Turned up on time, very good English, knowledgeable about his subject, friendly and helpful.

All 4 photos are of Zhouzhuang.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Vladimir, 2010/08/01

Great Tour Guide, fantastic places to visit, duration times in places was good, chinese lunch with show included, so enjoy City Dicovery Shanghai in your next trip!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Dennis, 2010/05/27

Our tour guide, Maggie, was great. She was pleasant and knowledgeable. Best tour guide we've had.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Felix, 2010/02/23

like the one on one tour. Felt like VIP

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Debra-Ann, 2010/02/05

The tour guides were wonderful. I especially enjoyed my private Shanghai MY way tour.
The sites were interesting and some very pretty, even though it was winter time.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Murat, 2010/01/11

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: JAYASANKAR, 2009/12/11

Special thanks to our guide Bernie for his minute knowledge of Shanghai history and very useful info about Shanghai

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: TIM, 2009/11/25

Burney did an excellent job.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2009/10/26

Outstanding tour guide and very interesting tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sander, 2009/04/13

The pearl gallery and silk activities were not specifically shanghai, more generally chinese.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: valerie, 2009/01/13

Guide was great, it was good to have a local's point of view, she couldn't have been more helpful.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kirsten, 2008/11/30

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Linda, 2008/11/30

Our guide, Bernie, was very accommodating and went above and beyond his duties to assure that we had a good experience in Shanghai. Writing down in Chinese the spots we wanted to return to so that we could give it to the driver, recommending shows, pointing out places we wanted to go back to on our own.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Joanna, 2008/11/04

The tour guide assigned to us is very friendly and accomodating. City-discovery made my tour very pleasant. They quickly replied when I requested them to change my schedule due to flight delays.

I highly recommend this for first time visitors to Shanghai.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Victor, 2008/10/01

Good way to discover what to return to for more in depth exploration. Only downside - the guide could have chased off vendors approaching us in lines.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: megan, 2008/09/26

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: karsaly, 2008/08/05

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Hannah, 2008/07/14

I was not sure, wether everything would work (pick up etc.), but it did perfectly. Ms Maggie Weng is a very friendly and qualified guide. There is nothing to complain about. The sales-event in the pearl-factory was a bit strenuous, but ok ;)
thank very much for a nice experience, i definitely will recommend city discovery.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Julian, 2008/06/12

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Roslyn, 2008/04/27

Special thanks for Maggie,our Tour guide, who on this tour and other tours I took, made us feel very welcome and was a great guide.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Julian, 2008/04/13

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kaytie, 2008/03/20

excellent tour guide Burney. The tour felt personal and he added some interesting information along the way. Good combination of sites covered.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jason, 2008/01/26

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Thomas, 2007/12/17

Too much presure to purchase goods at the attractions.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jane, 2007/12/09

Maggie was fantastic, friendly, helpful and very knowledegable. I have recommended the trip to all my colleagues and will definitely take another tour when I visit next time. Thanks Jane

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]