Website Maintenance Notice
We will be upgrading our server to better serve you. The website will not be available for about 2 hours on Nov 8th, 2016 (6:00am - 8:00am HST / 8:00am - 10:00am PST / 04:00pm - 06:00pm UTC).
Please check us back later, and we thank you for your patience. *The time is subject to change.

Samurai Sword Fighting Class and Kimono Dressing in Osaka

Overall Rating

4.804.80 / 5

Reviews

5 reviews (Post a review)

Great time learning some basic Samurai moves

Reviewed by: Nordic King, 2017/06/12

Me and a friend decided to experience this and had a great time with the nice people working there. Learnt some basic samurai moves and then did a choreographed scene with the sensei, all recorded on film and uploaded on youtube (but with private settings!). Really a fun time that I can recommend!



Reply from activity provider

OK thank
please come back again<
I will be waiting

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Master 8's birthday gift

Reviewed by: FamilyGoneWalkabout, 2017/05/31

This was a huge success as a birthday present for our new 8 yo. The class was fun and exciting and he was devestated whether hour flew by.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super fun experience! A Must do!!!

Reviewed by: Raquel, 2017/03/31

This was a lot of fun. This is an activity that can be enjoyed by literally any age. Fun for the entire family. I would recommend this to any one considering it and any one traveling to Japan. Very well done and a ton of fun.
My husband and I arrived a little bit early, but the crew took us in and immediately got us dressed in kimono and samurai outfit. We got to choose whether we wanted to be a samurai, a princess, or a ninja. I chose princess and my husband chose samurai. After dressing, and after the other small groups of people arrived and dressed, we were given a short lessen on the different samurai sword stances and how to swing the sword, take the sword out of the scabbard and put it back in, how to 'fling the blood off the blade' (lol I thought that one was fun). After learning the few stances and swings we were taught a quick little choreography of fighting. We paired off and practiced a couple of times before being individually filmed.
The whole experience was a lot of fun and the staff were super friendly and accommodating. They spoke very good english, some of them better than others, but they all spoke enough to fully understand us and communicate with us what to do. At the end of all the filming, they let us have a throwing star competition which was a lot of fun and interesting to see how difficult it actually is to throw one properly! One of the staff there was even the Japanese throwing star champion! I was pretty amazed by that.
We took tons of pictures, and they took most of them for us so we got both my husband and I in the shot. The video was sent to us only a couple hours after we left and is so much fun to watch and show friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My samurai experience

Reviewed by: Misa, 2016/08/12

To see and to hold a katana is one of my biggest dream if ever I visit Japan. Besides, the image of ninja and samurai for me is great because of Samurai X, the Seven Samurais, 47 Rounin, Naruto and etc. When my friend, Misa, brought me to Samurai Experience, I was so overwhelmed because finally, I could hold and learn some sort of stances if so. As we entered the place, we were welcomed by the staff with a smile.The place resembled like a dojo. I felt more excited when we were introduced to sensei. As a foreigner, I had a hard time catching up what sensei was saying. Everything was all greek to me. I only knew a very few Japanese words and you could even count it. There were some things I was disappointed and some things I did admire. The way sensei explained the basic stances to us was way too fast which was hard to catch up and he explained more about kinda the history of it which we foreigner didn`t care much because we wanted to learn how to do the stances or moves. I believe that just by knowing how to do the moves would truly be marked in our head since there was a language barrier. Learning the moves directly and step by step is more important, I guess. Someday, a lot of foreigners will visit the place and they need to teach the moves step by step and slowly and give us more push to do it in character which is truly awesome! However, I really liked how welcoming the staffs were.Their English wasn`t good enough and I could sense how tensed they were but still, they managed to give us a good show. The potential of samurai experience is big because foreign people love the image of a ninja or a samurai. It may sound strange but when you try to ask my fellow Filipino, they will give you a big smile and tell stories about how we love ninjas. For me, that one hour experience made my dream come true to become a ninja and learn some moves for just a short time. I went out of a dojo with a big glee and I will definitely go back again if I have the chance.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun way to spend an hour in Osaka

Reviewed by: HKGTravellover, 2016/05/02

Joining the Samurai sword fighting class was something ad-hoc for my Kobe/Ariam/Osaka trip last week but turned out it's the highlight of our trip.

My friend and I planned to do the Ninja training experience in Himeji Castle but the training only run in weekend and did not fit our itinerary, so we choose an alternative to take the samurai class in Osaka that runs daily weekday.

We took the 10:30 class and there're were only 2 of us. Great we got all the attention. The class was held in a small studio in a commercial building. When we were there, there're already 5 staff in ninja / samurai customs waiting for us. First thing we did is to choose our samurai outfit and wear it. This was fun already. Then the Samurai master taught us basic moves such as how to hold and kill the sword. After a few time practice and rehearsal, we were put under the video camera and filmed a story of a Samaria attacked by a ninja and killed the ninja later on. The whole role play game was super fun. The 5 staff were all caring and professional. It's not easy to remember all the moves and lines, but it didn't matter as the staff would give you all the hints. After the filming we immediately received the YouTube link of our 'movie'. No worry about the privacy as right before the class we're being asked if we share the photos and videos publicly.

My friend was interested more in shopping the Samurai training before but after the course, she said it's one of the most amazing she did in Japan and didn't regret exchanging her 'shopping' time for this.

Last but not least, the staff even gave us a little surprise after the class. What was that, well am not going to tell you here and wasted it.

I won't hesitate to recommend this Samurai experience course to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]