This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Grand Tour of Tokyo Highlights with English Guide

Tokyo grand tour

Reviewed by: Amorado family, 2018/08/01

Guide was very helpful. Food was great. We had to cut short our tour due to a commitment and she helped us manage the public transpo in tokyo which can be nerve wracking

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect description

Reviewed by: Sheyla Gonzalez, 2018/06/10

Both guides were amazing! I would recommend this tour to anyone, the price is not bad at all and it’s worth it! Specially when traveling with small children and dealing with jumping from train to train to see each sight. This tour was beyond helpful! Convenient and if you don’t plan to take the lunch option, he location where you get drop off has other lunch options available as well.


  • Twin bridges by imperial palace


  • Hamarikyu garden

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Tour with english guide

Reviewed by: norma, 2018/05/19

Great way to see the city, good guide and was pleased to meet four young girls
dressed in kimonos and ninja man for photos. Highly recommend the trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Grand Tour of Tokyo

Reviewed by: William Warburton, 2018/05/18

Pick up was on time from the hotel
tour very well organised
tour guides very professional friendly and informative
lunch was very good
cruise was very good also
drop off back to the hotel was well done
I will have no hesitation in recommending this tour to my friends

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Grand Tour of Tokyo

Reviewed by: Brighton, 2018/05/06

The tour was well worth the money. Yoshi was a very knowledgeable and interesting guide. All the places seen were very good (pity blossom had come early so did not see a grand display). Although the azaleas were very colourful.

The tower was very good and the views from the top excellent. Imperial Palace gardens and other gardens were colourful.

A wonderful excursion I would recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Highilghts.

Reviewed by: Ravi Kiran, 2018/04/30

The tour was well organized.
The tour guide was well informed and communicated all the details in a orderly basis.
We were given ample time to enjoy the sights.
Well done

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic tour

Reviewed by: ONGAHFOOK, 2018/03/28

we were very lucky to join the Grand Tour of Tokyo organised by VELTRA with English guide.
This tour includes the paranomic view of Tokyo from Tokyo Tower. Next we went to Meiji Shrine and later the Imperial Palace East Garden and we were very lucky to see the Cherry blossom almost at full bloom.
The bus also brought us a drive though Ginza Shopping district, The Diet Building and Akasaka Guest House.
Typical delicious Japanese lunch was provided by this tour.
The Sumida River Cruise is one of the highlights of this tour which brought us to Asakusa Temple. We were able to experience a wonderful cruise with Sakura in full bloom on both sides of the river.
The shops lining towards Asakusa Kannon Temple is a must for Tokyo tourists. We bought a lot Japanese souvenirs and gifts from the many little interesting shops.
We had the opportunity to see Ueno and Akihabara in the evening when the bus drove though the area on the way to drop off point.
Overall is a fantastic experience for both of us,
. Thank you very much VELTRA tour.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice Informative Tour

Reviewed by: Nagesh Rao, 2018/02/28

Guides were excellent... if you are on short trip this is excellent tour to get acquainted with the main attractions in Tokyo.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great introduction to Japan

Reviewed by: JellyfishKing, 2018/01/29

We booked this tour for our first day in Japan.
It was a great introduction to Japanese culture and history.
The pickup and timing was all very efficient. The two tour guides where friendly, knowledgeable and entertaining.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great First Day in Tokyo!

Reviewed by: Michelle W. , 2018/01/07

My husband and I took this tour as part of our first full day in Tokyo. We didn't really know what to expect. We are normally brave travelers who use public transit to see metropolitan cities. However, the more I researched more about Tokyo's attractions the more I began to feel overwhelmed. Enter Veltra and the Grand Tour Highlights with English Guide and Lunch Included!!! It was everything we could've hoped for. A great mix of traditional Japanese shrines and temples with a touch of modern tour attractions. The tour guides were so informative and friendly. Our bus driver was skilled and friendly, too. We actually missed our meeting time by 7min (because we exited the wrong exit in the Tokyo train station - we should've given ourselves more time to navigate that train station...read it'll take you 15 minutes - no joke- to go from one end to the other). Even though we missed our scheduled pick-up time, because we had pre-paid they left someone behind to wait for us and take us by cab (we paid $11 for the cab ride) to where the bus was making it's final pick up of people. The lunch that was included was delicious! We felt like we had enough time at each stop to explore on our own and make it back to the bus. Our guides were always very clear about what time and where exactly to find the bus. They counted us each time to make sure we didn't get lost - we felt very safe and well taken care of.

I was so impressed with the booking process on Veltra that I did not hesitate to book a similar tour to this in Kyoto. The instant confirmation and voucher system on the app makes it easy to use on the go!


  • New Year's in Asakusa

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome tour guide

Reviewed by: Ninja, 2017/11/11

The tour guides from the morning to afternoon tour were great. Though the weather wasnt good yet the tour conducted so well. Grayline company is highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Grand tour of Tokyo highlights w/English guide

Reviewed by: Ming ruski , 2017/11/04

We enjoyed it very much --had a great time --the tour guide was --plan to come back soon

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Okay

Reviewed by: Tiff, 2017/11/02

Okay. A fair bit of time in the morning waiting but that's to be expected in such a big city where everyone is coming from different places. Wouldn't really recommend for solo travelers. A little bit isolating at lunch as everyone is put to sit with their groups. Other tours would be better if you're on your own, and the spots are easily accessible on your own by subway.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overall very good

Reviewed by: Alan, 2017/10/21

Morning guide was terrific! Afternoon guide was very good. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour

Reviewed by: Lubsen, 2017/10/15

Guide excellent. A lot of walking, but a good Tokyo first getting acquainted

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our Comments about d Tour for d benefit of d Company

Reviewed by: Lakshman Wijesinghe, 2017/09/15

Lady Tour Guide - Eiko San was really good who conducted d 1st lap in d morning.
Afternoon Guide - a Gentleman was not that efficient. Next time suggest U allocate one Guide for d Full Day Tour. Thanks.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A good tour for a traveler with a short stay in tokyo

Reviewed by: Mariam, 2017/08/05


A good tour with a good value. They cover a lot in a day.
The tour guide provided directions tobus at the end of the tour to returnto to our destination, very helpful

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really an eye-opener

Reviewed by: Kjell, 2017/05/14

The Grand Tour of Tokyo Highlights gives you insight into the historical background of what Tokyo is, the shoguns and the emperors and the cultural achievements of that period, as well as an understanding of what Tokyo is today, a 36 million capital, surprisingly well functioning and hugely impressive.


  • Old culture and modern development

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great to see the highlights

Reviewed by: Mariola, 2017/03/24

We spent 4 days in Tokyo and this tour helped us to have an idea of what to visit afterwards in detail. Highly recommended with very good guides too.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/22
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

best tour

Reviewed by: geeyoh, 2016/11/26

best tour if you have a small amount of time in Tokyo. We went to a lot of places and it does not feel rush. We will use veltra again when we go back to Japan!


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/11/01
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour - lot packed in to a day

Reviewed by: Mike, 2016/08/05

Miss Silky was a great guide. The whole family really enjoyed it.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overview of Tokyo in a Day

Reviewed by: Marion, 2016/05/13

Wonderful tour. Very well organized. Took us to all the important sights of the city. Enjoyed a delicious lunch. A great overview of the city.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/01
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wear Your Walking Shoes

Reviewed by: Joy T., 2016/03/30

There's lots to see and do in this Tokyo tour. My favorite was checking out the Japanese tea garden and having tea. Also riding on the boat to see the bay. It was a good day. Definitely recommend for people who want to see Tokyo but are pressed with time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/04
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Full Day Grand Tour of Tokyo

Reviewed by: Linda, 2016/01/04

It was amazingly well organized. I was picked up in a taxi by my guide, and then taken to the buses where the tour was to begin! All the guides spoke excellent English, and included many highlights including Tokyo tower, Imperial Palace, and an authentic Japanese lunch. Well worth it!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

best tour for the day

Reviewed by: Patty L., 2015/04/05

I 'm remiss in posting this review. My daughter and I took this trip last year. We traveled from Boston to Tokyo and were thrilled that the cherry blossoms were in bloom. We only had three days in Tokyo before heading to Kyoto so this tour was fantastic. We hit all the high points. We started by going to Tokyo Tower. The views were awesome and we were lucky to be able to see Mt. Fuji. We had a tour of the city, a visit to the royal palace, several shrines, a park, lunch and a boat ride. I found the prices very reasonable for all we got and the lunch was terrific as well. Our guide was very knowledgeable and was happy to answer questions. The day was rainy and cold but the spirit of all was very bright. We were lucky that it warmed up and we were able to return on our own to some of the spots we saw. I looked at several tour companies before I left and this was the best. I have recommended this company to my boss when she went to Paris and she was happy with her tours as well. I will be using this company next year when I visit Italy.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice Tour

Reviewed by: Courtney, 2013/09/05

The Full Day Grand Tokyo Tour was a nice and relaxing way to view the cities highlights and gardens. Nagi and Jun were excellent guides throughout the day and even taught us a few greetings and how to count in Japanese. I would recommend this tour as a good way to hit the major highlights of Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well worth doing

Reviewed by: DickL, 2012/07/15

Certainly the best thing to do at the start of a holiday in Tokyo. Shame that a couple of items were missed out of the program because our trip fell on a Friday, but the lunch made up for it, excellent lunch and well worth the cost.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2012/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Categories