This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Tokyo Afternoon Tour and Sumida River Cruise

Overall Rating

4.504.50 / 5

Reviews

16 reviews (Post a review)

Tokyo afternoon tour.

Reviewed by: Japan again, 2018/06/03

Unfortunately the guides English was difficult for us to understand particularly on the bus and as a result some directions on meeting place were not clear.
Would suggest morning tour seemed better value scenic wise.
Traveled to Nikko today and difference in guides english was like night and day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect tour if you only have a few days in Tokyo.

Reviewed by: ElsaBruce, 2018/05/21

We booked this tour because we knew we wouldn't get to see everything we wanted to while in Tokyo. We flew in from Canada on the Sunday afternoon and this tour was perfect with a starting time of 12:30 on the Monday. The pick-up point was easy to access from the subway. We came back to a delightful tour guide who loves his city. He started with the escalator up to the top of the world trade tower that we met in, and then we headed to the Emperor's palace garden. Our guide was interesting, had great stories to share, and spoke English very well. We then headed to the shrine and the bazar or market place that leads to the shrine. Our guide made sure we understood all the acceptable behavior when going through the area, things like the fact that you can buy all sorts of tempting street food, but it is considered bad manners to walk and eat at the same time. Sounds silly but very glad he shared things like that with us. After a great hour at the shrine we headed to the river port meeting point just a block away and took a tour down the river. We wished our guide had kept us together as a group because his knowledge would have been handy as to what we were passing along the river. The boat's public announcement system wasn't great. Back in the safe hands of our guide, we continued on our tour and as we neared the end, he checked to see who was getting off at each of the two drop offs and made sure we all knew where we were going and how to get there efficiently. I have limited mobility and walk with a cane. This tour was very doable for me. Our only recommendation to Veltra would be to invest in over-the-ear microphones for your guides. They are assisting the bus driver as he navigates the streets of Tokyo, as well as using both hands to show maps, photos, and brochures. So, balancing the microphone and making sure he was speaking into it didn't always happen. This was a great tour of a beautiful city and we would do it again when we visit Tokyo next.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo afternoon

Reviewed by: Anna, 2017/10/13

A fun afternoon sightseeing Tokyo. Would recommend to anyone. We were picked up from hotel and taken to meet our guide Yuko.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo afternoon tour

Reviewed by: Arlene O'Santos, 2017/07/23

Very educational!
We got a nice view of the city.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Monica, 2017/07/15

Great not a problem

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Julie, 2015/12/11

Would have liked to go into imperial gardens

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: ALAN, 2015/09/24

The only down side to this and other tours in Tokyo,is that you can be picked up at your chosen Hotel, but at the end of the trip you are dropped of at Tokyo Station and you have to find your own way back to your Hotel.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ratna, 2015/08/26

Perfect....!!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Tatjana, 2015/04/08

we loved our trip with you.
guide Atsushi Inoue was great and helpful and he introduced us to Japanese culture and information about daily life in Tokyo.
thank you Atsushi for that wonderful experience!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Tatjana, 2015/02/04

excellent organization

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Joelma, 2013/08/29

Excellent!! We loved it!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Tammy, 2013/05/20

The tour guide, Naomi-san, was great. She had good information and was full of energy. This is a quick stop and overview of these places which was perfect for us, and the river cruise was nice and relaxing.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Henry, 2013/05/01

Wide ranging and informative, very good guide and efficent travel etc.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Geoffrey, 2012/10/26

The tour was ideal, a good way to see Tokyo is just 4 hours.

Good weather and visibility is ideally needed though.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Michael, 2012/02/20

The tour guide was excellant and the tour was just about the right lenght of time. It was enjoyable

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: David, 2009/04/10

Bit rushed but good overview for places to go explore later

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]