Traditional Yakatabune Evening Dinner Cruise on Tokyo Bay

Harumiya yakatabune

Reviewed by: Chibichanga, 2017/08/19

The boat cruise was very enjoyable. We had a big group and the staff was friendly and enthusiastic. The sights of Tokyo from the water was wonderful. The show near the end of the cruise was entertaining. The only reason I'm giving it a 4 star instead of a 5 star is the quite underwhelming menu. The main dish was tempura, with maybe 4 pieces total. One shrimp. One. Another dish had 3 pieces of sashimi. The rest consisted of small dishes. In the photos, you can see crab legs and a huge plate of sashimi, which is very deceiving. My son was starving when we left. I have a friend who did a yakatabune a week prior with another company and he spoke of crab legs and plateful of sashimi. I guess the big draw is the all you can drink portion of the cruise. If you ordered the food anywhere else in Tokyo, it would probably cost 2000 yen. The staff, ambiance, and the people we were with made the cruise worthwhile.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely Chance to see a Different View of Tokyo

Reviewed by: AmesPerth, 2017/08/11

The cruise was well organised and had an English speaking host which was helpful as the crowd was split about 50/50 of locals to tourists. The food was excellent and the drinks were free flowing - loved the plum wine! We had the opportunity to head onto the top deck of the boat to take photos and enjoy the views of Tokyo. There was entertainment and it was just overall a really pleasant evening. I highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great food Great view

Reviewed by: Kornkamol , 2017/02/16

It was my first time to visit japan and ride the cruise for dinner. The staffs are fun, friendly, entertain and international. Don't be afraid if you cannot speak japanese coz they can speak english. The food are really good and delicious.



  • View from the deck of the cruise

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun night

Reviewed by: Dan, 2016/10/22

The food was good, could do with a bit more, but the drinks are in abundance. The hostess on the night was friendly, knowledgeable and inclusive. The diners on the next table were so much fun, despite minimal English. I would definitely recommend the cruise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sumida river cruise

Reviewed by: Annie, 2016/06/12

Lovely time for our group of 25! As we chartered the boat, we chose to go up the Sumida river rather than around Tokyo Bay, but still managed to fit in Skytree and Rainbow Bridge.
Even though we arrived unexcusably late, our host was lovely and started the clock from then on for the 2 hours...brilliant, friendly service on board, nice food.
A treat not only for our visitors but the locals as well, thouroughly recommend it!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great cruise

Reviewed by: Jay Z, 2016/06/10

We recommend the plum wine on the rocks. It was great! The hosts were very friendly and translated everything to English even though 90% of boat were locals.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

搭乘江户屋形船夜游吃美食 & 欣赏河岸风光

Reviewed by: Afu, 2016/05/30

这趟小旅行还真是出乎意料好玩,让我对于日本旅游风情又更多认识,原来即使是选择自由行模式,到当地后空个一天参与当地Tour 团,还能认识世界各国朋友,有了这次不错的旅游经验,未来再访日本其他城市,还是会想在VELTRA 平台报名活动。



Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Nice Experience!

Reviewed by: lchazeau, 2016/04/25

I have visited Japan many times but never experienced Yakatabune boat.
It is a ery nice and complete experience. You can enjoy nice views of Tokyo Bay and a delicious traditional Japanese Dinner. The food was very fresh with Apetizers, sushis, nice tempura cooked on the boat (Vegetables, nice fishes), rice, dessert and open bar.
Nice views from the top of the boat. Few stops to make picturs of Tokyo Skey tree, Rainbow bridges. The staff is very nice and has special attention to guests. Very typical experience, not so many foreigners, lots of Japanese people. We were all very happy and there was a very good atmosphere among guests. I definitely recommend this experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Magical YES

Reviewed by: Maron, 2016/04/14

I told her a silly story about the cruise, i made it up that if she rides on it she could never say no what ever i will aks ger..indeed it worked,i got her yes while on stopover straightly looking at the magical view of the skytree!thanks for the magical night!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yakatabune

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2016/03/30

A great experience if you are traveling in the area. The dinner cruise was fun and great sights! I will definitely do this again when in Tokyo.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cruise was good, but there was no English translation

Reviewed by: Luanne, 2016/01/06

The guides on the boat only spoke Japanese, so we had no idea what we were looking at or what they were saying. They did a lot of speaking. Even ordering plum wine was a challenge. I feel that they should have had some narration for non-Japanese speaking people. What we saw was very pretty and the food was very good, so the only complaint is language problem.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Zoe & Mike, 2015/11/25

My boyfriend and I attended the evening dinner cruise, and were completely overwhelmed with the experience. The food was great, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, we saw some amazing sights and the company was also great. Highly recommended, a great way to see Tokyo and enjoy some great company.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yakatabune Dinner Cruise on Tokyo Bay

Reviewed by: Tina, 2015/10/11

We decided spontaneously to join a boat trip, and we didn't regret it at all. The atmosphere was extremely friendly, the staff was kind and very attentive.
It is worth to try the trip even with kids, as we did with 7 and 10 years old.
We had lots of fun on the boat, even though we were the only foreigners there and we didn't really understand all the food and cultural presentation that was provided for the guests.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nothing Short of AMAZING!!!

Reviewed by: TLV9185, 2015/09/14

This cruise really made our trip! The food was excellent, the service was phenomenal, and we even got personal attention by an English-speaking guide (as we were the only English-speaking on the boat). We saw so many great sights and had so many awesome photo opportunities.

You are seated at your own individual table and it is a very nice "date-night" setting. The group all together was in great cheer and intermingled between meals and during the rooftop sightseeing.

The weather was fair and it rained a little but this did not affect the spirits of the crew, the passengers, or any of the amazing sights we saw!

This boat ride is a MUST for your next trip to Tokyo!!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful birthday dinner party

Reviewed by: sonoko31, 2015/09/11

This night went beyond our expectations. We had a great time with all the people on board,who were mainly Japanese. The MC/hostess was bilingual and such a lovely woman,friendly and hard-working. Entertainment was a bonus and the food was really fresh and authentic. It was a perfect evening for us and we were expecting a mediocre night because of the rain. Luckily it stopped just as we got into Odaiba and we could take in the amazing view. I can`t believe I haven`t done this before. Highly recommended and worth the cost.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Harumiya Yakatabune is #1

Reviewed by: Weber's (Honolulu), 2015/08/24

Absolutely the best Yakatabune experience! The crew and staff from Harumiya were top notch. Harumiya staff was personable and very professional. The dinner, entertainment, sights, tour and especially the Hostess were the best. WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND Harumiya!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great japanese cuisine experience on tokyo bay

Reviewed by: samuel, 2015/07/30

well organised....good experience of japanese 9 course meal....sashimi , sushi , tempura...served hot...unlimited drinks...and japanese dessert...with great views of tokyo bay for 2 hours...worth for money..

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well worth it!

Reviewed by: Rachel, 2015/07/26

This cruise is great, I would highly recommend! It was mostly Japanese with a couple of Westerners, however they made us feel very welcome, giving all commentaries/instructions in Japanese and (good) English and just generally the staff were very friendly.

The food is good and plentiful and drink just keeps flowing with a good selection. A lot of the food was fish (no meat) so it may be difficult if you're a vegetarian, unless you can request. Nothing was too odd though (I dont like eating random things!) and I ate and loved it all!

The staff explain the various sites you go past and even though it was pouring with rain we still got a good overview and some great photos. They stop a couple of times so you can have a look and go onto the top of the boat

The people around us were friendly and we just felt like even though we were in the minority we were very welcome!

It was one of the highlights of our trip and I would say go for it, there are not many cruises like it as far as I can tell and it feels very authentic.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome traditional experience

Reviewed by: Petr Koutny, 2015/06/27

Boat trip was fascinating. All atendees were just Japanese people so we enjoyed really traditional trip. Food was very original and tasty.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Jason, 2015/03/08

This cruise was one of the best experiences that I have had in tokyo! The staff were very accommodating (even though their English was very limited) and this enhanced the experience many times! The views of tokyo once the boat stops were breathtaking and the overall feeling was relaxed and fun. It also seemed to be very popular with locals (as we were the only foreigners on the cruise) but this made everything much more enjoyable! Highly recommended!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip!!

Reviewed by: Khalil, 2015/02/16

This trip was amazing! Great people and everyone full of life. The view of Tokyi from the bay is breathtaking at night!

Reply from activity provider

Dear Ms. Khail,

Thank you so much for your kind massage. We greatly appreciate. We are very happy that you enjoyed, and we could share the best moment together!!
We really look forward to seeing you again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice food & view!

Reviewed by: N. K., 2015/01/04

i went with my friends from US and they were very sartisfied with Japanese traditional food & sake.
Also there was Tokyo bay fire work held at that day and we enjoyed it from the top roof of the ship.
It was in total a greater experience than our expectation.



Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth it!

Reviewed by: Miss C, 2014/12/29

I don't usually write reviews, but this was really great. I went with a group of friends, and everyone had lots of fun. The hostess spoke perfect English, and was so welcoming. She explained everything (about the sights, food, drinks) in both English and Japanese. The fresh tempura was really good, and they kept the drinks coming!

We were super lucky too, because in December (on Saturdays) there are fireworks. If you can go on a Saturday in December, I really recommend it. Make sure you go out onto the roof, because seeing all the colorful boats on the water was really pretty.

Thank you, we hope to come back again.



Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First time on a Yakayabune

Reviewed by: SSS, 2014/10/17

Since I had never boarded a yakatabune before, I was so excited about trying it.
It took me about a five-minute walk from the station to the boat boarding area.
On boarding the boat, I was greeted by young high-spirited ladies wearing a towel around their heads. I was impressed by their cheerful greetings both in Japanese and English.
I enjoyed beer and delicious dish right away. They cooked Tempura on the boat. Freshly fried tempura was served.

We were able to stop by tourist spots and enjoy the view from the boat at Odaiba. It was a good us to choose this day ,because the weather was great and we really enjoyed it!

A wide range of people were on board, there were tourists from Tokyo, the locals and travelers from overseas that were all introduced by a friendly young lady which made the vibe very lively on board!
It was nothing like just taking a ordinary boat, instead, it was as if signing up for a Japanese house boat tour with a tour guide on board. I'll definitely use the service again when next time my friend visit Tokyo!

<Translated by VELTRA.com>



Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great even in winter. I want to go again.

Reviewed by: Izumin, 2014/10/17

To celebrate a birthday, we joined this cruise with two small kids. We could see the Christmas lights in Odaiba and Tokyo Skytree. Also we enjoyed fireworks in Odaiba. We had freshly cooked Tempura and drinks as much as we wanted. All of us were very satisfied. It was a dream day out!

<Meeting Point>
In the morning, “Harumiya” called me and we could confirm the meeting point and time so we did not have any worry about it. There were staff wearing happi coats in front of the pier.Boarding started about 15 minutes before sailing time.

<Ship>
There were two rows of sunken kotatsu tables. Families, couples, small groups shared the boat. We were close to each other, and immediately got along with the people around, it was a harmonious atmosphere.

<Meals and Drinks>
The starter was a Kaiseki meal, then Japanese Nabe. A variety of Tempuras were served. Everything was delicious. The freshly cooked Tempura was the best since it was very cold mid-winter. For the passenger aged under 5 years old there were no meal served,however, parents could share their meals because of the volume of food. There were a lot of choices in drinks, all included in the ticket price.
<Night Scenery>
The night scenery from Tokyo Bay is really beautiful. When the ship stops, you can climb up to the sky deck, and take in the magnificent view. It was during the Christmas illumination period, so Tokyo Tower, Rainbow Bridge, Fuji TV main office, and Tokyo Sky Tree all lighted up in Christmas mode. I just happened to see the fireworks of Odaiba which are held on Saturdays!

<Service>
The staff of the houseboat was amiable. Going out with small children is often troublesome. However, this houseboat excursion was very good. Staff was welcoming to small kids and entertained them. Parents could relax and enjoy the event.
Initially I was worried about the houseboat trip in winter. But it was great. I would like to go again in warmer weather.

<Translated by VELTRA.com>



Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Christmas dinner

Reviewed by: anonymous, 2012/12/26

It was 2 days before Christmas that me and my husband went for this, it was the first time for both of us.
My image of yakatabune was cold especially in winter, but it wasn't inside. The food was decent and I was amazed at how they cooked and served their Edomae tempra each time they fried it.
The guide kept entertaining the customers with historical tips on the area. We got to go on top of the boat at Odaiba and Tokyo sky tree where we could stay a little while. Everyone seemed to be having a good time with their friends and family.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2012/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Categories