Simple Japanese Kintsugi Gold Repair Technique Class near Shin Koenji

Overall Rating

4.964.96 / 5

Reviews

27 reviews (Post a review)

An instructive hands-on workshop

Reviewed by: Marina, 2017/09/14

A delightful introductory workshop to learn and try out the kintsugi technique. The studio space was small but the instructor and his wife were very kind and welcoming. We were able to choose a piece of broken pottery, try the technique on it and then take it home as a very special souvenir.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such a fun class!

Reviewed by: Page, 2017/08/15

This was a great lesson. I learnt a lot and had a fun time. The homemade cake was amazing!
Learning the techniques was interesting and lots of fun!
Thank you fun such an informative class. Pretty happy with the finished product!


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience with lovely instructors!

Reviewed by: Vanessa, 2017/07/28

Even though I was quite late for my workshop (train faults), the instructors were really sweet about it, letting me catch my breath before the lesson started! The sweets and coffee that were served were very nice for a hot summer's day, and the lesson itself was well taught, patiently and with a lot of attention. I would totally come back for another experience/workshop, and I hope to be back next year again!


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gold Repair Course in Tokyo (Shin-Koenji Station)

Reviewed by: Desiree, 2017/07/14

We had a reaaly good time with Yoshiko and Yoshiichiro!
The description of the route was very helpful, we had no problems in finding the studio.
While we attended, two older Japanese people did some gold repair as well. We had a lot of fun together!
The hosts gave us sweets and tea, and we talked a lot about our Japan travel.
We worked on chipped tea cups. The people who do a regular course a few times a months had more complicated things like broken plates.
The hosts also told us where to buy the materials in Japan.
It is a very good experience to get a glimpse in the possibilities of this technique.
But bear in mind that you wont be able to do a big piece in the given time.


  • concentrated working


  • This is an example of what is possible with this technique. You wont be doing such a complicated thing

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Meiji Era tea cup repair

Reviewed by: Lois, 2017/07/05

I was so looking forward to this class & it did not disappoint! Mr. & Mrs. Kuge are so friendly & patient. I restored a Meiji era tea cup & it is beautiful. Two long time students were working on their pieces while I was there, so I could see what more complicated repairs look like. I bought all the materials to take home to do in my own in Australia!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kintsugi

Reviewed by: Mial & Hiroko, 2017/06/05

This is a very nice class and a very pleasant experience. Our whole family, including my 84-year old Japanese mother-in-law and our two adult children took the class together while on vacation in the Tokyo area. All the materials are provided and the introductory project of repairing chipped or cracked china cups and bowls (also provided) is easily accomplished during the time available. The Kuge family were very patient teachers and provided delicious homemade refreshments. They also packed the completed projects securely for the trip back home. We highly recommend the class if you are interested in this ceramic repair technique.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I want to do this again!

Reviewed by: Coco cook, 2017/05/30

The Kuge's are a kind, patient and funny couple. They are very intuitive when you ask them questions. Mrs Kuge says many Japanese do not even know about kintsugi. There were 3 other students when we arrived. Two had been coming doing other projects and one had an expensive mug that broke. She wanted it repaired and found out about kintsugi and was there for the first time. Two of the students spoke English and was able to help explain and interpret but without them the Kuges would have eventually been able to understand and explain. The process takes 2-3 hours to complete while we converse, work, have cake and coffee and laugh. The studio is tiny but very comfortable. There are many examples of their work to inspire you and they are so beautiful. They show you everything you need and the process to repair and paint the gold on. My piece had 2 very small chips and a small crack but my son has 3 chips and a significant crack. If I had known what I should be looking for I would have chosen something with more damage rather than by the design on the piece. After the experience, on our way back to the hotel we stopped at Tokyu Hands and purchased the pigments and lacquer to do it at home. They have kits there but the kits include flammable liquids that would not pass inspection to bring on a plane. They have two types of lacquer and one of them is not flammable.

I highly recommend this experience, especially if you enjoy working such your hands, if you have any artistic bent or want to learn a traditional but disappearing art form.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Valentina, 2017/05/17

I had a lot of fun doing this class and the owners are delightful people! The cup that I repaired is very cute and they treated me like family. Thank you for everything!




Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great traditional experience and great host

Reviewed by: derek chan, 2017/05/09

The experience is well organized and enjoyable, the host is super nice and communicatable, I really enjoy talking with them and share my veiw on Japan and travelling.
It is elementary and no need to worry about the skill.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very kind teachers

Reviewed by: Eduardo, 2017/05/07

We went on a Sunday afternoon to do a Kintsugi class. This couple of teachers were available. The class is very instructive and we could work on the pottery we brought. This art of mending broken things is very ancient and it appealed to so this classes. We were very happy and it took us two hours to go through all the process ad glueing and patching. We were invited tea, cheesecake and a Japanese watermelon! We would be very pleased if we did more classes with them, but unfortunately, we have to leave in a few more days! Thanks, Yoshiko and Yoshiichiro

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Jonathan, 2017/05/03

We attended this evening to learn how to prepare kintsugi as complete novices, the class was great with many things to learn over 2 hours. When we return we will be sure to spend more time at Kume crafts! A+


  • Stacey filing

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A delightful and artistically cultural experience!!

Reviewed by: Arielle & Christine, 2017/04/10

The Kuges were so genuinely warm and inviting! Regrettably we had been a bit lost and arrived a few minutes late to the class. They were very forgiving and welcomed us into their creative space with a light snack and coffee. The studio was small and charming, and had shelves full of sculptures and pottery of all sizes. They showed us a few of their pieces and explained what we were going to do that day. They spoke English fairly well and were able to explain the steps easily. The atmosphere was casual and we were able to take the time to enjoy their company. We didn't feel rushed at all. Our finished pieces were carefully packed in plastic containers which we'd like to add, made it back to the U.S. safely! We had a delightful afternoon with the Kuges and were so excited by our new skill that we stopped by a nearby Tokyu Hands right after class to buy supplies to do our own Kintsugi at home! Overall, it was an enjoyable cultural experience! We highly recommend Kintsugi and Kuge Crafts as a way to experience a bit of Japanese culture outside of the common tourist hotspots.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really great way to spend an evening

Reviewed by: Kendall Hoff, 2017/03/27

This class is taught by a very kind, charming couple. They provided me with a couple of cups to choose from and helped me create something beautiful. I had a great eperience and was able to bring home something very meaningful from my trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A perfect activity!

Reviewed by: Anon, 2017/02/28

What a great afternoon! The activity was fun and you get to keep your repaired piece. The hosts were so welcoming and generous, their English was wonderful as unfortunately I do not speak Japanese. A must-do activity!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience

Reviewed by: Allyce, 2017/02/26

We had a wonderful time learning about the history and techniques of Kintsugi. Our senseis were very welcoming and fantastic teachers. We were able to communicate easily although we only speak English. We would highly recommend this to anyone visiting the area




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Jason, 2017/02/20

I went here with my girlfriend and we thoroughly enjoyed the session. Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko were gracious hosts. I loved the coffee, apple tea and fruitcake that Mrs Kuge prepared as well.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Katie , 2017/01/30

The hosts Yoshiko and Yoshiichiro, were warm, welcoming and friendly on arrival. The class had a relaxed atmosphere and they were extremely knowledgeable teachers. Limited English language though smiles and google translate really helped.
Would recommend this to anyone who enjoys unique crafting.



Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Superb experience!

Reviewed by: Colin, 2017/01/09

Amazing time at Kuge Krafts with the so kind and generous Kuge couple. Very intimate studio surrounded by pottery and perfect coffee and cake waiting for us upon arrival set the atmosphere. Excellent introduction to Kintsugi with the patient and encouraging advices from sensei which just make us wish we could come back for more or at least to try it again very soon at home! No doubt that I will brag about my amazing kintsugied sake glass at any occasion I get - yes you get to bring your piece of art back home.
Thank you, thank you and thank you,

PS: beware though that after that class you will want to voluntarily break any piece of ceramic you come across just for the excuse of having something to kintsugi...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very nice!

Reviewed by: Nadine, 2016/11/15

Sensei Kuge and his wife were great and we learned something new. Also, this course is so great because you get something you can take home! I totally recommend it, it was a very nice experience and we will try to continue doing Kintsugi at home, because it was so interesting and fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was wonderful !!

Reviewed by: Milena, 2016/10/22

I had such a great time !! It was so nice !! I would do it again, no hesitation !!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful!

Reviewed by: Alice Gibson, 2016/07/04

Amazing - can't recommend more highly. Very friendly couple-run craft studio in a nice neighbourhood. I'll be going back ASAP!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kintsugi class fun!

Reviewed by: Susan, 2016/06/11

I had a wonderful time with gracious hosts! We were able to communicate effectively despite the language barrier, and I came away with a beautiful cup to remind me of my trip to Japan and the lovely people I met there!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A beautiful Japanese art form

Reviewed by: Rachel, 2016/05/04

What a wonderful experience! I really enjoyed my afternoon with Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko Kuge, who patiently taught me the basics of Kintsugi over coffee and cake. Even with my limited knowledge in Japanese, the Kuges spoke enough English to clearly explain each step to me. During the lesson, we chatted about other Torontonians who have crossed paths with the Kuges, which was pretty funny. Overall, a really lovely workshop and highly recommended for those looking to do something special and unique!


  • Adding putty to the chipped parts


  • Inside the studio with Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko Kuge


  • Final gold dusting to set the laquer in place

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really good time <3

Reviewed by: Kami, 2016/03/26

We spent really good time with two really nice teachers. We get cake and tea, we talk a lot, and it was a really good time for us. Very creative family I think :)

Bardzo fajne zajęcia. Tak na prawdę, można nie tylko nauczyć się reperowania ceramiki, ale tworzenia biżuterii, malowania i wielu innych rzeczy - o co można zapytać już na miejscu :) Na wstępie dostaliśmy ciasto i herbatkę. Później rozmawiając na wiele tematów robiliśmy swoje dzieła i rozmawialiśmy z pozostałymi uczestnikami ( są cztery miejsca dostępne na jedne zajęcia ). Zdecydownie mogę polecić ^^

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really great, reccomend

Reviewed by: Thao, 2016/03/19

Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko were lovely. They were very friendly and helpful in explaining what to do. You are even able to buy Kintsugi materials too. Usually, you have to leave your ceramic for a day to let it dry however I was flying home the day after. Yoshiko was nice enough to package mine up for travel for me!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fantastic!

Reviewed by: Paul., 2015/09/25

What a special evening. The instructor was an eager young woman and the craft shop owners were present as well, and we had a friendly evening talking about the craft of ceramic repair, learning and talking about Tokyo and my travels. They were eager to impart their knowledge, and the atmosphere was casual and friendly. I recommended the class to an attendee of another workshop, and I've seen that she took this class as well. I'm hoping she enjoyed it as much as me.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely Experience

Reviewed by: Miss C, 2015/07/04

Ever since seeing one of those gold-repaired tea bowls I wanted to try it, and this was a really fun morning class. It was a really 'local' experience as there were few neighborhood ladies doing crafts at the same time, and it was cool to explore the area around the studio. The teacher was super sweet, and can speak basic English. She even served sweets and coffee, a lovely bonus!



Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Categories