Simple Japanese Kintsugi Gold Repair Technique Class near Shin Koenji

Overall Rating

5.005.00 / 5

Reviews

26 reviews (Post a review)

Such a fun class!

Reviewed by: Page, 2017/08/15

This was a great lesson. I learnt a lot and had a fun time. The homemade cake was amazing!
Learning the techniques was interesting and lots of fun!
Thank you fun such an informative class. Pretty happy with the finished product!


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience with lovely instructors!

Reviewed by: Vanessa, 2017/07/28

Even though I was quite late for my workshop (train faults), the instructors were really sweet about it, letting me catch my breath before the lesson started! The sweets and coffee that were served were very nice for a hot summer's day, and the lesson itself was well taught, patiently and with a lot of attention. I would totally come back for another experience/workshop, and I hope to be back next year again!


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gold Repair Course in Tokyo (Shin-Koenji Station)

Reviewed by: Desiree, 2017/07/14

We had a reaaly good time with Yoshiko and Yoshiichiro!
The description of the route was very helpful, we had no problems in finding the studio.
While we attended, two older Japanese people did some gold repair as well. We had a lot of fun together!
The hosts gave us sweets and tea, and we talked a lot about our Japan travel.
We worked on chipped tea cups. The people who do a regular course a few times a months had more complicated things like broken plates.
The hosts also told us where to buy the materials in Japan.
It is a very good experience to get a glimpse in the possibilities of this technique.
But bear in mind that you wont be able to do a big piece in the given time.


  • concentrated working


  • This is an example of what is possible with this technique. You wont be doing such a complicated thing

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Meiji Era tea cup repair

Reviewed by: Lois, 2017/07/05

I was so looking forward to this class & it did not disappoint! Mr. & Mrs. Kuge are so friendly & patient. I restored a Meiji era tea cup & it is beautiful. Two long time students were working on their pieces while I was there, so I could see what more complicated repairs look like. I bought all the materials to take home to do in my own in Australia!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kintsugi

Reviewed by: Mial & Hiroko, 2017/06/05

This is a very nice class and a very pleasant experience. Our whole family, including my 84-year old Japanese mother-in-law and our two adult children took the class together while on vacation in the Tokyo area. All the materials are provided and the introductory project of repairing chipped or cracked china cups and bowls (also provided) is easily accomplished during the time available. The Kuge family were very patient teachers and provided delicious homemade refreshments. They also packed the completed projects securely for the trip back home. We highly recommend the class if you are interested in this ceramic repair technique.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I want to do this again!

Reviewed by: Coco cook, 2017/05/30

The Kuge's are a kind, patient and funny couple. They are very intuitive when you ask them questions. Mrs Kuge says many Japanese do not even know about kintsugi. There were 3 other students when we arrived. Two had been coming doing other projects and one had an expensive mug that broke. She wanted it repaired and found out about kintsugi and was there for the first time. Two of the students spoke English and was able to help explain and interpret but without them the Kuges would have eventually been able to understand and explain. The process takes 2-3 hours to complete while we converse, work, have cake and coffee and laugh. The studio is tiny but very comfortable. There are many examples of their work to inspire you and they are so beautiful. They show you everything you need and the process to repair and paint the gold on. My piece had 2 very small chips and a small crack but my son has 3 chips and a significant crack. If I had known what I should be looking for I would have chosen something with more damage rather than by the design on the piece. After the experience, on our way back to the hotel we stopped at Tokyu Hands and purchased the pigments and lacquer to do it at home. They have kits there but the kits include flammable liquids that would not pass inspection to bring on a plane. They have two types of lacquer and one of them is not flammable.

I highly recommend this experience, especially if you enjoy working such your hands, if you have any artistic bent or want to learn a traditional but disappearing art form.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Valentina, 2017/05/17

I had a lot of fun doing this class and the owners are delightful people! The cup that I repaired is very cute and they treated me like family. Thank you for everything!




Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great traditional experience and great host

Reviewed by: derek chan, 2017/05/09

The experience is well organized and enjoyable, the host is super nice and communicatable, I really enjoy talking with them and share my veiw on Japan and travelling.
It is elementary and no need to worry about the skill.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very kind teachers

Reviewed by: Eduardo, 2017/05/07

We went on a Sunday afternoon to do a Kintsugi class. This couple of teachers were available. The class is very instructive and we could work on the pottery we brought. This art of mending broken things is very ancient and it appealed to so this classes. We were very happy and it took us two hours to go through all the process ad glueing and patching. We were invited tea, cheesecake and a Japanese watermelon! We would be very pleased if we did more classes with them, but unfortunately, we have to leave in a few more days! Thanks, Yoshiko and Yoshiichiro

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Jonathan, 2017/05/03

We attended this evening to learn how to prepare kintsugi as complete novices, the class was great with many things to learn over 2 hours. When we return we will be sure to spend more time at Kume crafts! A+


  • Stacey filing

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Tokyo Categories