This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Simple Japanese Kintsugi Gold Repair Technique Class near Shin Koenji

Overall Rating

4.884.88 / 5

Reviews

41 reviews (Post a review)

Fantastic and initiate experience

Reviewed by: Drew, 2018/03/27

I absolutely loved my time here. The hosts were so accommodating and welcoming providing us delicious treats and tea throughout our time in their studio. I highly recommend this experience to anyone visiting the area.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely superb, a wonderful way to learn about an age-old artistic custom.

Reviewed by: Lee D., 2018/03/13

This was an outstanding experience. Traveling to Tokyo from the US for the first time, I really wanted to find an affordable kintsugi class, as I had read about the Japanese art of repairing ceramics with gold, highlighting flaws as beauty, and the metaphor is just so beautiful to me. I also have an art background and love learning how to preserve & repair rather than throw away.

The class was more than I could have hoped for. I booked with my husband, and brother and his girlfriend (both who live in Tokyo). The owners (husband and wife) were incredibly hospitable in their sweet little craft shop, even showed us their ceramics lab next door. They greeted us with homemade cakes and apple tea, as well as the rice crackers that we love. The class was very easy to follow, and all questions were answered with enthusiasm and demonstration (it was just the 4 of us learning kintsugi and one other person working on jewelry, so it felt totally like a private class). There is a bit of a language barrier that non-Japanese speakers should be aware of. We were lucky to have my brother and his girlfriend who both speak the language to translate when needed. Even if we didn't, though, I would still have done the class. So much of learning craft is just watching and doing, strict verbal communication is not necessary. I'd maybe just suggest learning how to ask the specific questions you know you'll have ahead of time so they can show you during the class.

All in all, only wonderful things to say about this class. Next time I am in Toyko, I'd love to try another one of their classes. :) Thanks so much for an awesome experience on our honeymoon!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A very authentic experience with wonderful people

Reviewed by: Joanna, 2018/03/05

I had the best time. The studio is very small and authentic. I got a lot of one on one time with the owners and they kindly helped me fix my own broken mug. They ran over by nearly an hour to help me finish. They were both so kind and attentive and really good at what they do. I would recommend this to anyone! Please go try it out. It's a nice change of pace from visiting downtown Tokyo.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience

Reviewed by: Emily, 2018/03/01

My sister was visiting me in Tokyo and we took this one-day trial class together. Our teachers were knowledgeable, friendly, and spoken enough English that we (with very little Japanese language skills) were able to communicate without any issues. We had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great beginners class on Kintsugi!

Reviewed by: Yorsh, 2017/12/23

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our class with Kuge crafts! We started with introductions and some lovely home made cake. Then we got to chose our cups that we will work on and keep. Would recommend to pick a cup with a bigger chip as that would mean a bigger part of the cup will be fixed.

The process was easy to follow as Yoshi showed step by step examples. They also provided the tools and materials (i.e. putty, gold dust, resin etc) which made it a convenient class.

At the end, we received photos taken during the class and a list of tools and materials we can purchase at Tokyu Hands if we wanted to continue back home. The teachers were both friendly, inviting us to write back if we had more questions.

A great class and would highly recommend for a memorable experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: ewen, 2017/12/02

Learning Kintsugi at Kuge Crafts was an amazing experience. Yoshiko and Yoshiichiro were brilliant teachers and hosts. We will definitely be back soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely experience

Reviewed by: Sophie, 2017/11/09

A lot of fun with a very friendly group. Thank you for taking the time!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience for ceramic lover

Reviewed by: Sun, 2017/11/06

Yoshiichiro san and Yoshiko San are very kind and helpful for this course. It will be useful for me a lot.

By the way, you will love it when you do it due to its unique.


  • Nice workshop

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kintsugi

Reviewed by: Jean Luc, 2017/11/05

A very interesting and useful introduction to that art, with very nice teachers! It was a good moment for us in Tokyo.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great introductory experience

Reviewed by: David, 2017/10/22

My wife and I loved our beginner session with Kuge crafts. Yoshiichiro-san and Yoshiko-san were wonderful hosts and took the time to explain the process and let us take as long as we needed to perfect our repairs. Initially, I wanted to repair a fully shattered object rather than a small chip but actually repairing the two chips on my cup still took around 2 hours to do well, so any larger repairs would be over ambitious for a complete beginner. I would recommend this session to anyone interested in Kintsugi and enjoy your bonus cake and tea as well!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great for souvenirs!

Reviewed by: Julia , 2017/10/21

We had a great time with the owners. Their English was limited but it didn't bother us. They have English instructions to follow if you are nervous about the language barrier. I wanted something as a souvenir from Japan to take back home with us and this Kintsugi class was perfect!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The good teacher.

Reviewed by: Fadya (Dea), 2017/10/08

I want to learn more about Kintsugi, the teacher explaination is good....


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good experience

Reviewed by: Riki, 2017/09/30

The workshop was interesting but it was really different from the photos and description, it was only a introduction to kintsugi. It was a good experience for the sensei that were very helpful and kind.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic, had a marvelous time with Kuge!

Reviewed by: Ingunn, 2017/09/26

I would love to take a longer course with them! :-)

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/09/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An instructive hands-on workshop

Reviewed by: Marina, 2017/09/14

A delightful introductory workshop to learn and try out the kintsugi technique. The studio space was small but the instructor and his wife were very kind and welcoming. We were able to choose a piece of broken pottery, try the technique on it and then take it home as a very special souvenir.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such a fun class!

Reviewed by: Page, 2017/08/15

This was a great lesson. I learnt a lot and had a fun time. The homemade cake was amazing!
Learning the techniques was interesting and lots of fun!
Thank you fun such an informative class. Pretty happy with the finished product!


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience with lovely instructors!

Reviewed by: Vanessa, 2017/07/28

Even though I was quite late for my workshop (train faults), the instructors were really sweet about it, letting me catch my breath before the lesson started! The sweets and coffee that were served were very nice for a hot summer's day, and the lesson itself was well taught, patiently and with a lot of attention. I would totally come back for another experience/workshop, and I hope to be back next year again!


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gold Repair Course in Tokyo (Shin-Koenji Station)

Reviewed by: Desiree, 2017/07/14

We had a reaaly good time with Yoshiko and Yoshiichiro!
The description of the route was very helpful, we had no problems in finding the studio.
While we attended, two older Japanese people did some gold repair as well. We had a lot of fun together!
The hosts gave us sweets and tea, and we talked a lot about our Japan travel.
We worked on chipped tea cups. The people who do a regular course a few times a months had more complicated things like broken plates.
The hosts also told us where to buy the materials in Japan.
It is a very good experience to get a glimpse in the possibilities of this technique.
But bear in mind that you wont be able to do a big piece in the given time.


  • concentrated working


  • This is an example of what is possible with this technique. You wont be doing such a complicated thing

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Meiji Era tea cup repair

Reviewed by: Lois, 2017/07/05

I was so looking forward to this class & it did not disappoint! Mr. & Mrs. Kuge are so friendly & patient. I restored a Meiji era tea cup & it is beautiful. Two long time students were working on their pieces while I was there, so I could see what more complicated repairs look like. I bought all the materials to take home to do in my own in Australia!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kintsugi

Reviewed by: Mial & Hiroko, 2017/06/05

This is a very nice class and a very pleasant experience. Our whole family, including my 84-year old Japanese mother-in-law and our two adult children took the class together while on vacation in the Tokyo area. All the materials are provided and the introductory project of repairing chipped or cracked china cups and bowls (also provided) is easily accomplished during the time available. The Kuge family were very patient teachers and provided delicious homemade refreshments. They also packed the completed projects securely for the trip back home. We highly recommend the class if you are interested in this ceramic repair technique.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I want to do this again!

Reviewed by: Coco cook, 2017/05/30

The Kuge's are a kind, patient and funny couple. They are very intuitive when you ask them questions. Mrs Kuge says many Japanese do not even know about kintsugi. There were 3 other students when we arrived. Two had been coming doing other projects and one had an expensive mug that broke. She wanted it repaired and found out about kintsugi and was there for the first time. Two of the students spoke English and was able to help explain and interpret but without them the Kuges would have eventually been able to understand and explain. The process takes 2-3 hours to complete while we converse, work, have cake and coffee and laugh. The studio is tiny but very comfortable. There are many examples of their work to inspire you and they are so beautiful. They show you everything you need and the process to repair and paint the gold on. My piece had 2 very small chips and a small crack but my son has 3 chips and a significant crack. If I had known what I should be looking for I would have chosen something with more damage rather than by the design on the piece. After the experience, on our way back to the hotel we stopped at Tokyu Hands and purchased the pigments and lacquer to do it at home. They have kits there but the kits include flammable liquids that would not pass inspection to bring on a plane. They have two types of lacquer and one of them is not flammable.

I highly recommend this experience, especially if you enjoy working such your hands, if you have any artistic bent or want to learn a traditional but disappearing art form.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Valentina, 2017/05/17

I had a lot of fun doing this class and the owners are delightful people! The cup that I repaired is very cute and they treated me like family. Thank you for everything!




Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great traditional experience and great host

Reviewed by: derek chan, 2017/05/09

The experience is well organized and enjoyable, the host is super nice and communicatable, I really enjoy talking with them and share my veiw on Japan and travelling.
It is elementary and no need to worry about the skill.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very kind teachers

Reviewed by: Eduardo, 2017/05/07

We went on a Sunday afternoon to do a Kintsugi class. This couple of teachers were available. The class is very instructive and we could work on the pottery we brought. This art of mending broken things is very ancient and it appealed to so this classes. We were very happy and it took us two hours to go through all the process ad glueing and patching. We were invited tea, cheesecake and a Japanese watermelon! We would be very pleased if we did more classes with them, but unfortunately, we have to leave in a few more days! Thanks, Yoshiko and Yoshiichiro

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Jonathan, 2017/05/03

We attended this evening to learn how to prepare kintsugi as complete novices, the class was great with many things to learn over 2 hours. When we return we will be sure to spend more time at Kume crafts! A+


  • Stacey filing

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A delightful and artistically cultural experience!!

Reviewed by: Arielle & Christine, 2017/04/10

The Kuges were so genuinely warm and inviting! Regrettably we had been a bit lost and arrived a few minutes late to the class. They were very forgiving and welcomed us into their creative space with a light snack and coffee. The studio was small and charming, and had shelves full of sculptures and pottery of all sizes. They showed us a few of their pieces and explained what we were going to do that day. They spoke English fairly well and were able to explain the steps easily. The atmosphere was casual and we were able to take the time to enjoy their company. We didn't feel rushed at all. Our finished pieces were carefully packed in plastic containers which we'd like to add, made it back to the U.S. safely! We had a delightful afternoon with the Kuges and were so excited by our new skill that we stopped by a nearby Tokyu Hands right after class to buy supplies to do our own Kintsugi at home! Overall, it was an enjoyable cultural experience! We highly recommend Kintsugi and Kuge Crafts as a way to experience a bit of Japanese culture outside of the common tourist hotspots.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really great way to spend an evening

Reviewed by: Kendall Hoff, 2017/03/27

This class is taught by a very kind, charming couple. They provided me with a couple of cups to choose from and helped me create something beautiful. I had a great eperience and was able to bring home something very meaningful from my trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A perfect activity!

Reviewed by: Anon, 2017/02/28

What a great afternoon! The activity was fun and you get to keep your repaired piece. The hosts were so welcoming and generous, their English was wonderful as unfortunately I do not speak Japanese. A must-do activity!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience

Reviewed by: Allyce, 2017/02/26

We had a wonderful time learning about the history and techniques of Kintsugi. Our senseis were very welcoming and fantastic teachers. We were able to communicate easily although we only speak English. We would highly recommend this to anyone visiting the area




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Jason, 2017/02/20

I went here with my girlfriend and we thoroughly enjoyed the session. Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko were gracious hosts. I loved the coffee, apple tea and fruitcake that Mrs Kuge prepared as well.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Tokyo Categories