This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Simple Japanese Kintsugi Gold Repair Technique Class near Shin Koenji

Overall Rating

4.924.92 / 5

Reviews

61 reviews (Post a review)

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Rossignol, 2019/01/15

That workshop was a real human experience on top of introducing us to this beautiful kintsugi technique. We have been welcome by a delicious homemade cake and a gorgeous apple tea before being introduced to the different steps with a lot of love and generosity by our two teachers whom I shamelessly forgot the name.
They have been so caring and adorable, they offered us an adorable afternoon! I highly recommend that experience to you!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Interesting learning experience

Reviewed by: Sara, 2019/01/12

I've been intrigued by kintsugi for several years and it was fun to learn the practice and make our own pieces. The host couple is charming and provides additional teaching during the down time (such as while waiting for the epoxy to dry). We also got a delicious snack. When we finished, they packaged our cups in a way that made them easy to bring home on the plane without breaking. They also took a lot of photos of us and sent them to us the next day, which was very thoughtful.

Note: we did the two hour class which involved fixing chip, rather than a large crack (as I thought). It would take more time to do a larger repair project, and the class gave us the skills to do so on our own time

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great and unique experience

Reviewed by: Traveller321, 2019/01/02

Had a great time learning about Kintsugi and working the process. You are able to take your work with you that day so that is a big plus. They also explain all the materials and a list so you can buy supplies in Shinjuku. Everybody had excellent English skills and we saw some advanced examples as well. Great and unique experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Most amazing experience in Japan

Reviewed by: Hanna, 2018/12/30

This was one of the greatest afternoons we had in Tokyo. Our hosts were incredibly nice, they told us about the history of the potteries and kintsugi as well. If you are interested in Japanese art, philosophy and history, and would like to create something, and not just look at things in a museum you cannot miss out on this experience!


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pre-Christmas Kintsugi

Reviewed by: Gail M, 2018/12/24

We really enjoyed our kintsugi class! Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko were so kind and generous. The process was easy to follow and plenty of assistance was provided. The had examples to show and to help explain the craft. Yoshiko spoke very good English and made a delicious cake. They were both clearly very experienced craftsmen with a passion for what they were doing and a wish to ensure everyone came away with a well finished, repaired piece of pottery. We were even able to take our bowls away on the same day, very carefully packaged. A helpful materials list was provided with instructions on where to buy them. The class size was small, which was perfect. They also sent photos of us both at work during the class which was a great idea. Highly recommended experience for any level!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overall a wonderful class delivered by a lovely couple - highly recommend

Reviewed by: Bridget , 2018/11/30

Couldn’t fault it - arrived to tasty apple tea (or coffee), sponge roll and chocolates and a very friendly welcome. Got to choose a piece of pottery to repair (mine was from 1912 and my mother’s 1868!) and went through the process. Walked away with the piece securely packed into a rigid container, so we arrived home with the pieces ready to be lightly rinsed before two weeks of curing.
Run by a lovely couple, he speaks limited English but she speaks quite a bit, and both were very welcoming and genuinely interested in getting to know us.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Experience

Reviewed by: Laura, 2018/10/05

Both instructors gave detailed information and provided visual details on the products used. The class was well organized and relaxing. Tasty snacks were provided and I appreciated their sincerity and expertise.
The process did not take too long perhaps one hour and we were not rushed. It is best to take notes particularly with amounts of lacquer used and the steps involved.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding teachers, outstanding experience

Reviewed by: Emily J, 2018/08/20

Both Yoshiichiro-san and Yoshiko-san were lovely people - they greeted us warmly to the studio, welcomed us with tea and Yoshiko-san's fresh homemade orange tea and coconut-pineapple tart.
It was a fascinating, easy to follow workshop in the art of kintsugi - Yoshiko-san has a very good command of English so was able to not only help guide us but answer many questions about the art, the work they've done etc.
They also provided guidance on where (and not) to buy the equipment for ourselves as well as sending us photos of our session and written instructions of what we had learned.
Would absolutely recommend this workshop to anyone who's interested in learning the art as they are wonderful people who enjoy sharing their skills.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Time with the best Teachers

Reviewed by: Indra & Christie, 2018/07/21

Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko Kuge are the best people that you would want to meet and learn from.

The are very friendly and definitely lovely. They have been doing pottery for more than 50 years and practice Kintsugi art for 35 years. They are passionate at what they do and willing to teach us what they have in their hands.

Me and my husband had the best time in Tokyo that 2 hours as we learn basic kintsugi art. Definitely a thing to remember for our trip.

Would definitely recommend this to everyone that we know . Thank you Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko Kuge. Hugs...


  • With our final products


  • Repairing the ceramics


  • Had a great time together

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I highly recommend this!

Reviewed by: Chip, 2018/07/07

I hope this isn't a duplicate post. We got there early and the family let us in any way. We were given melon cake and a homemade tea that is the best tea I have ever had. We got to pick our piece. They told us my piece was 200 years old. One teacher does a piece as well so you can watch. Both of them were very nice and fun. They gave us a tour of their pottery studio as well. They have a new packaging system so you can leave with your piece. They showed us all of the materials needed and they have made a photoshopping list so you can just snap a photo of the supplies. They told us where we could by in Tokyo and we did. The wife could speak some English. I would recommend you have someone with you that can understand basic Japanese. I highly recommend this class!


  • My work just before the final application of gold dust.


  • My daughters.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

informative and fun experience!!!

Reviewed by: Vanessa Sanchez, 2018/07/01

the workshop itself is cute and quaint delivering a more personal experience. you are greeted with some cake and the most delicious tea. you get to learn the process hands on and see their other beautiful work they’ve completed. they even made sure to package our work for a safe trip back home!




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kintsugi class

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2018/06/30

My brother and I were very warmly and generously hosted. Yoshiko took the trouble to serve us delicious cake and home brewed apple tea! The teaching on kintsugi was paced well, the steps taught and demonstrated clearly and we had ample opportunity to work on our own pieces. Their packaging enabled us to fly the items back a 6 hour trip safely withourlt breaking! Lovely couple, excellent course and I would highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I liked it a lot !!

Reviewed by: Manuelita, 2018/06/26

It was a very good experience. They were very kind and gentle and they teached me very good. I liked that I took the repaired porcelain with me immediately. The address is perfectly described and I got there very easy. If you like this kind of things I will definitely recommend the activity, you will enjoy it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great way to learn!

Reviewed by: elisabeth, 2018/06/24

Attended the workshop with my two sons (18 & 20 ys old). Well-spent two hour workshop to get the basics of kintsugi - and a note to get all the supplies at Tokyu Hands. No problem understanding since Yoshiko speaks English and the craft is manual so not many words are needed. Also: delicious cake and coffee (or tea) included :-)! We got our cups neatly packed for the journey back home and left with huge smiles on our faces.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Most pleasant and informative experience. This lesson added so much more to our trip

Reviewed by: Pat Tay, 2018/05/20

Sine there were just the two of us, Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko were most accommodating when we requested to do a broken piece rather than a chipped piece and we were able to finish it on time.
We were served a beautiful home-made cake and tea, and then proceeded to work on our plates. Yoshiko has a very good command of English and explained the processes and more. The samples of their other completed work were eye-opening - kintsugiis not just pottery repair but an artform!
We would return to do longer sessions if ever we come this way again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kintsugi

Reviewed by: M Sal, 2018/05/18

I've always wanted to try Kintsugi and the teachers were so gracious and very skilled. I learned the basics of Kintsugi and was given a list of supplies to purchase if I was wanted to continue the art of Kintsugi. The tea and brownies were some of the best I've ever had. Very charming experience and I would highly recommend it to anyone.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Delightful Experience Learning Kintsugi

Reviewed by: Elizabeth P , 2018/05/15

I planned this experience for a group of four, and we all absolutely loved it. We have talked about it every day since the class.

The teachers, Yoshiichiro-san and Yoshiko-san, were so kind and absolutely made the experience. We started the time with treats, some fruit and cakes and tea/coffee, and then chose our pieces of pottery. We then proceeded to learn how to make the repairs and then to enhance them with the gold. We are all so pleased with how our pieces turned out. I would highly rate and recommend this experience for anyone interested in learning about kintsugi. The class was a great value, and we all have a delightful souvenir of our time in Tokyo.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Informative and fun

Reviewed by: Dana , 2018/05/12

This was so much fun, and the hosts were wonderful! I would recommend this to anyone looking for a quick, fun activity. The tea and cake was lovely.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun, engaging and informative!

Reviewed by: Fractal, 2018/04/25

Both my husband and I enjoyed our Kintsugi class! We both picked a cup to repair while watching and being instructed on how to do so. We saw many other examples of repairs and were given information so that we'd be able to do this at home. It was relaxing and enjoyable. We were also given a nice cake and some hot apple cider. Both Mr. and Mrs. Kuge were friendly and great conversationalists, and Mrs. Kuge can speak English extremely well! The only thing that would have made it better would be signing up for the whole day class. :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Sharlene, 2018/04/23

Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko were welcoming, competent, and knowledgeable teachers in the art of Kintsugi. While the project we worked on was simple that day they showed me other examples and possibilities of this art form. They have been practicing this art form for over 30 years and their passion shows. I left feeling very inspired, with a list and exactly where to source needed supplies to continue Kintsugi at home.
Thank you very much for this fantastic experience!


  • The finished artwork!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic and initiate experience

Reviewed by: Drew, 2018/03/27

I absolutely loved my time here. The hosts were so accommodating and welcoming providing us delicious treats and tea throughout our time in their studio. I highly recommend this experience to anyone visiting the area.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely superb, a wonderful way to learn about an age-old artistic custom.

Reviewed by: Lee D., 2018/03/13

This was an outstanding experience. Traveling to Tokyo from the US for the first time, I really wanted to find an affordable kintsugi class, as I had read about the Japanese art of repairing ceramics with gold, highlighting flaws as beauty, and the metaphor is just so beautiful to me. I also have an art background and love learning how to preserve & repair rather than throw away.

The class was more than I could have hoped for. I booked with my husband, and brother and his girlfriend (both who live in Tokyo). The owners (husband and wife) were incredibly hospitable in their sweet little craft shop, even showed us their ceramics lab next door. They greeted us with homemade cakes and apple tea, as well as the rice crackers that we love. The class was very easy to follow, and all questions were answered with enthusiasm and demonstration (it was just the 4 of us learning kintsugi and one other person working on jewelry, so it felt totally like a private class). There is a bit of a language barrier that non-Japanese speakers should be aware of. We were lucky to have my brother and his girlfriend who both speak the language to translate when needed. Even if we didn't, though, I would still have done the class. So much of learning craft is just watching and doing, strict verbal communication is not necessary. I'd maybe just suggest learning how to ask the specific questions you know you'll have ahead of time so they can show you during the class.

All in all, only wonderful things to say about this class. Next time I am in Toyko, I'd love to try another one of their classes. :) Thanks so much for an awesome experience on our honeymoon!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A very authentic experience with wonderful people

Reviewed by: Joanna, 2018/03/05

I had the best time. The studio is very small and authentic. I got a lot of one on one time with the owners and they kindly helped me fix my own broken mug. They ran over by nearly an hour to help me finish. They were both so kind and attentive and really good at what they do. I would recommend this to anyone! Please go try it out. It's a nice change of pace from visiting downtown Tokyo.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience

Reviewed by: Emily, 2018/03/01

My sister was visiting me in Tokyo and we took this one-day trial class together. Our teachers were knowledgeable, friendly, and spoken enough English that we (with very little Japanese language skills) were able to communicate without any issues. We had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great beginners class on Kintsugi!

Reviewed by: Yorsh, 2017/12/23

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our class with Kuge crafts! We started with introductions and some lovely home made cake. Then we got to chose our cups that we will work on and keep. Would recommend to pick a cup with a bigger chip as that would mean a bigger part of the cup will be fixed.

The process was easy to follow as Yoshi showed step by step examples. They also provided the tools and materials (i.e. putty, gold dust, resin etc) which made it a convenient class.

At the end, we received photos taken during the class and a list of tools and materials we can purchase at Tokyu Hands if we wanted to continue back home. The teachers were both friendly, inviting us to write back if we had more questions.

A great class and would highly recommend for a memorable experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: ewen, 2017/12/02

Learning Kintsugi at Kuge Crafts was an amazing experience. Yoshiko and Yoshiichiro were brilliant teachers and hosts. We will definitely be back soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely experience

Reviewed by: Sophie, 2017/11/09

A lot of fun with a very friendly group. Thank you for taking the time!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience for ceramic lover

Reviewed by: Sun, 2017/11/06

Yoshiichiro san and Yoshiko San are very kind and helpful for this course. It will be useful for me a lot.

By the way, you will love it when you do it due to its unique.


  • Nice workshop

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kintsugi

Reviewed by: Jean Luc, 2017/11/05

A very interesting and useful introduction to that art, with very nice teachers! It was a good moment for us in Tokyo.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great introductory experience

Reviewed by: David, 2017/10/22

My wife and I loved our beginner session with Kuge crafts. Yoshiichiro-san and Yoshiko-san were wonderful hosts and took the time to explain the process and let us take as long as we needed to perfect our repairs. Initially, I wanted to repair a fully shattered object rather than a small chip but actually repairing the two chips on my cup still took around 2 hours to do well, so any larger repairs would be over ambitious for a complete beginner. I would recommend this session to anyone interested in Kintsugi and enjoy your bonus cake and tea as well!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Tokyo Categories