Simple Japanese Kintsugi Gold Repair Technique Class near Shin Koenji

Overall Rating

5.005.00 / 5

Reviews

13 reviews (Post a review)

Fantastic experience

Reviewed by: Allyce, 2017/02/26

We had a wonderful time learning about the history and techniques of Kintsugi. Our senseis were very welcoming and fantastic teachers. We were able to communicate easily although we only speak English. We would highly recommend this to anyone visiting the area




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Jason, 2017/02/20

I went here with my girlfriend and we thoroughly enjoyed the session. Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko were gracious hosts. I loved the coffee, apple tea and fruitcake that Mrs Kuge prepared as well.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Katie , 2017/01/30

The hosts Yoshiko and Yoshiichiro, were warm, welcoming and friendly on arrival. The class had a relaxed atmosphere and they were extremely knowledgeable teachers. Limited English language though smiles and google translate really helped.
Would recommend this to anyone who enjoys unique crafting.



Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Superb experience!

Reviewed by: Colin, 2017/01/09

Amazing time at Kuge Krafts with the so kind and generous Kuge couple. Very intimate studio surrounded by pottery and perfect coffee and cake waiting for us upon arrival set the atmosphere. Excellent introduction to Kintsugi with the patient and encouraging advices from sensei which just make us wish we could come back for more or at least to try it again very soon at home! No doubt that I will brag about my amazing kintsugied sake glass at any occasion I get - yes you get to bring your piece of art back home.
Thank you, thank you and thank you,

PS: beware though that after that class you will want to voluntarily break any piece of ceramic you come across just for the excuse of having something to kintsugi...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very nice!

Reviewed by: Nadine, 2016/11/15

Sensei Kuge and his wife were great and we learned something new. Also, this course is so great because you get something you can take home! I totally recommend it, it was a very nice experience and we will try to continue doing Kintsugi at home, because it was so interesting and fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was wonderful !!

Reviewed by: Milena, 2016/10/22

I had such a great time !! It was so nice !! I would do it again, no hesitation !!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful!

Reviewed by: Alice Gibson, 2016/07/04

Amazing - can't recommend more highly. Very friendly couple-run craft studio in a nice neighbourhood. I'll be going back ASAP!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kintsugi class fun!

Reviewed by: Susan, 2016/06/11

I had a wonderful time with gracious hosts! We were able to communicate effectively despite the language barrier, and I came away with a beautiful cup to remind me of my trip to Japan and the lovely people I met there!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A beautiful Japanese art form

Reviewed by: Rachel, 2016/05/04

What a wonderful experience! I really enjoyed my afternoon with Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko Kuge, who patiently taught me the basics of Kintsugi over coffee and cake. Even with my limited knowledge in Japanese, the Kuges spoke enough English to clearly explain each step to me. During the lesson, we chatted about other Torontonians who have crossed paths with the Kuges, which was pretty funny. Overall, a really lovely workshop and highly recommended for those looking to do something special and unique!


  • Adding putty to the chipped parts


  • Inside the studio with Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko Kuge


  • Final gold dusting to set the laquer in place

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really good time <3

Reviewed by: Kami, 2016/03/26

We spent really good time with two really nice teachers. We get cake and tea, we talk a lot, and it was a really good time for us. Very creative family I think :)

Bardzo fajne zajęcia. Tak na prawdę, można nie tylko nauczyć się reperowania ceramiki, ale tworzenia biżuterii, malowania i wielu innych rzeczy - o co można zapytać już na miejscu :) Na wstępie dostaliśmy ciasto i herbatkę. Później rozmawiając na wiele tematów robiliśmy swoje dzieła i rozmawialiśmy z pozostałymi uczestnikami ( są cztery miejsca dostępne na jedne zajęcia ). Zdecydownie mogę polecić ^^

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Tokyo Categories