This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Simple Japanese Kintsugi Gold Repair Technique Class near Shin Koenji

Overall Rating

4.934.93 / 5

Reviews

72 reviews (Post a review)

Highlight of my trip

Reviewed by: Pascal, 2019/05/07

With all the beautiful places and amazing things to do in Japan, it would seem hard to pick a favorite. But this is easily my favorite thing I did while in Japan. The art of Kintsugi is very interesting and I had read about it a few times. I am so happy that now I got to experience it myself. Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko were incredibly nice hosts who made the experience so much better. This an actual souvenir that I will use and cherish because I made it myself with the help of wonderful teachers, instead of buying something.

I highly recommend this experience to everyone, you will not regret it. Thank you Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible Experience

Reviewed by: Lauren C, 2019/04/29

This was an amazing experience that I highly recommend. Yoshiko and Yoichiichiro were incredibly welcoming and kind, even going so far as to give us homemade cake and flavored tea.

I went with my boyfriend and we were the only ones in the workshop, which turned out great. I knew just enough Japanese and they knew just enough English for us to communicate well and even have some fun conversation. They are clearly accomplished artists and were great teachers as they walked us through the process of repairing our teacups. We left with two beautiful pieces that we repaired ourselves with their instruction, and I couldn't be happier with the experience.

On top of everything else, we received a comprehensive list of materials to go purchase at Tokyo Hands later if we wanted to try kintsugi on our own at home (which we immediately went out and got). If you have any interest in the art of kintsugi and want instruction from a very knowledgeable and kind couple, this workshop is definitely the way to go.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Shandy, 2019/04/28

It was a great and fun experience!
Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko made us feel welcomed with their hospitality
They guided us through our works patiently and we had a memorable time with them. Home made tea and cakes by Yoshiko was super yummy! Would not regret booking their class

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kintsugi!

Reviewed by: Christine , 2019/04/27

We had a lovely time learning how and about Kintsugi! This is a perfect activity for anyone curious about the art and who likes to try new things. My brother and I are travelling in Japan together and this was an awesome experience we shared together. We felt so welcomed by Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko who treated us like we were in their home for dinner! Delightful treats were included and lovely conversation. Definitely a great idea while in Tokyo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Andrew & Piper, 2019/04/16

Having spent nearly two weeks in Japan doing various activities, I can say without hyperbole that this was the highlight of our trip. It was an intimate experience where we learned what is both a practical and artistic pursuit. The couple that runs Kuge Crafts are incredible sweet and patient, and they made sure that we had an excellent experience. They answered all of our many questions, and showed us examples of what could be done with kintsugi (they really are masters). They'll even take pictures of you working.

What's best is that they give you a complete shopping list for the exact items you need at the local craft store in order to do this back home. (Just make sure you go to the exact one they mention in Shinjuku; others won't have the correct materials.)

While the store is a little bit out of the way, it is *absolutely* worth doing!


  • Being shown the technique.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun afternoon!

Reviewed by: Liselotte, 2019/04/14

I had a lovely time at this workshop; Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko are very knowledgeable and explained more about the background of the craft. I got take a beautiful piece of Japanese antique porcelain home with me at the end of it. Can highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fascinating, entertaining, and beautiful

Reviewed by: Jake, 2019/03/26

This was one of the most enjoyable experiences in Japan. The art of kintsugi is fascinating and shockingly easy. Yoshiko and Yoshiichiro are truly lovely people and incredibly well-versed in the trade. They provided us with a shopping list to get materials so we can continue to do this at home! The finished results are beautiful and they also shared some of their own work which is even more impressive. I really can't recommend this enough!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: Mary, 2019/03/12

This was a thoughtful and well planned guide to kintsugi. From a delicious treat to begin, to the history of the patterns of our chosen cups, to a guided experience of kintsugi. We took home our repaired cups and look forward to them being a beautiful reminder of Japan!


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/03/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!

Reviewed by: Pam, 2019/02/05

A very short intro into the craft of kintsuge, but enough in two hours to give you a feel for the. materials and process involved. I left with enough confidence to attempt some simple repairs myself, which is exactly what I wanted. The instructions and the shopping list were also perfect.
Also the matcha jelly was delicious and the couple are lovely!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/02/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent class

Reviewed by: Ami Dudley , 2019/01/29

This was a wonderful class .we enjoyed it thouroughly and will be going back for more .The teachers were so patient ,helpful and kind They were great hosts and gave clear instructions during and after the class .Kintsugi is such a beautiful art and they are highly experienced and skilled .It was inspiring to see some of their pieces .overall excellent and very satisfying experience!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful time spent learning and getting hands on experience on Kintsugi

Reviewed by: miak, 2019/01/19

Really great experience getting hands on experience doing kintsugi.

Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko were wonderful teachers, and guided us well (in English!).

i really appreciated the advice they gave - where to get materials so i can do kintsugi when i return home. (from Tokyu Hands)

Now i am waiting for another week so i can use my cup to drink sake from!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Rossignol, 2019/01/15

That workshop was a real human experience on top of introducing us to this beautiful kintsugi technique. We have been welcome by a delicious homemade cake and a gorgeous apple tea before being introduced to the different steps with a lot of love and generosity by our two teachers whom I shamelessly forgot the name.
They have been so caring and adorable, they offered us an adorable afternoon! I highly recommend that experience to you!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Interesting learning experience

Reviewed by: Sara, 2019/01/12

I've been intrigued by kintsugi for several years and it was fun to learn the practice and make our own pieces. The host couple is charming and provides additional teaching during the down time (such as while waiting for the epoxy to dry). We also got a delicious snack. When we finished, they packaged our cups in a way that made them easy to bring home on the plane without breaking. They also took a lot of photos of us and sent them to us the next day, which was very thoughtful.

Note: we did the two hour class which involved fixing chip, rather than a large crack (as I thought). It would take more time to do a larger repair project, and the class gave us the skills to do so on our own time

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great and unique experience

Reviewed by: Traveller321, 2019/01/02

Had a great time learning about Kintsugi and working the process. You are able to take your work with you that day so that is a big plus. They also explain all the materials and a list so you can buy supplies in Shinjuku. Everybody had excellent English skills and we saw some advanced examples as well. Great and unique experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Most amazing experience in Japan

Reviewed by: Hanna, 2018/12/30

This was one of the greatest afternoons we had in Tokyo. Our hosts were incredibly nice, they told us about the history of the potteries and kintsugi as well. If you are interested in Japanese art, philosophy and history, and would like to create something, and not just look at things in a museum you cannot miss out on this experience!


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pre-Christmas Kintsugi

Reviewed by: Gail M, 2018/12/24

We really enjoyed our kintsugi class! Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko were so kind and generous. The process was easy to follow and plenty of assistance was provided. The had examples to show and to help explain the craft. Yoshiko spoke very good English and made a delicious cake. They were both clearly very experienced craftsmen with a passion for what they were doing and a wish to ensure everyone came away with a well finished, repaired piece of pottery. We were even able to take our bowls away on the same day, very carefully packaged. A helpful materials list was provided with instructions on where to buy them. The class size was small, which was perfect. They also sent photos of us both at work during the class which was a great idea. Highly recommended experience for any level!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overall a wonderful class delivered by a lovely couple - highly recommend

Reviewed by: Bridget , 2018/11/30

Couldn’t fault it - arrived to tasty apple tea (or coffee), sponge roll and chocolates and a very friendly welcome. Got to choose a piece of pottery to repair (mine was from 1912 and my mother’s 1868!) and went through the process. Walked away with the piece securely packed into a rigid container, so we arrived home with the pieces ready to be lightly rinsed before two weeks of curing.
Run by a lovely couple, he speaks limited English but she speaks quite a bit, and both were very welcoming and genuinely interested in getting to know us.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Experience

Reviewed by: Laura, 2018/10/05

Both instructors gave detailed information and provided visual details on the products used. The class was well organized and relaxing. Tasty snacks were provided and I appreciated their sincerity and expertise.
The process did not take too long perhaps one hour and we were not rushed. It is best to take notes particularly with amounts of lacquer used and the steps involved.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding teachers, outstanding experience

Reviewed by: Emily J, 2018/08/20

Both Yoshiichiro-san and Yoshiko-san were lovely people - they greeted us warmly to the studio, welcomed us with tea and Yoshiko-san's fresh homemade orange tea and coconut-pineapple tart.
It was a fascinating, easy to follow workshop in the art of kintsugi - Yoshiko-san has a very good command of English so was able to not only help guide us but answer many questions about the art, the work they've done etc.
They also provided guidance on where (and not) to buy the equipment for ourselves as well as sending us photos of our session and written instructions of what we had learned.
Would absolutely recommend this workshop to anyone who's interested in learning the art as they are wonderful people who enjoy sharing their skills.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Time with the best Teachers

Reviewed by: Indra & Christie, 2018/07/21

Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko Kuge are the best people that you would want to meet and learn from.

The are very friendly and definitely lovely. They have been doing pottery for more than 50 years and practice Kintsugi art for 35 years. They are passionate at what they do and willing to teach us what they have in their hands.

Me and my husband had the best time in Tokyo that 2 hours as we learn basic kintsugi art. Definitely a thing to remember for our trip.

Would definitely recommend this to everyone that we know . Thank you Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko Kuge. Hugs...


  • With our final products


  • Repairing the ceramics


  • Had a great time together

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I highly recommend this!

Reviewed by: Chip, 2018/07/07

I hope this isn't a duplicate post. We got there early and the family let us in any way. We were given melon cake and a homemade tea that is the best tea I have ever had. We got to pick our piece. They told us my piece was 200 years old. One teacher does a piece as well so you can watch. Both of them were very nice and fun. They gave us a tour of their pottery studio as well. They have a new packaging system so you can leave with your piece. They showed us all of the materials needed and they have made a photoshopping list so you can just snap a photo of the supplies. They told us where we could by in Tokyo and we did. The wife could speak some English. I would recommend you have someone with you that can understand basic Japanese. I highly recommend this class!


  • My work just before the final application of gold dust.


  • My daughters.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

informative and fun experience!!!

Reviewed by: Vanessa Sanchez, 2018/07/01

the workshop itself is cute and quaint delivering a more personal experience. you are greeted with some cake and the most delicious tea. you get to learn the process hands on and see their other beautiful work they’ve completed. they even made sure to package our work for a safe trip back home!




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kintsugi class

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2018/06/30

My brother and I were very warmly and generously hosted. Yoshiko took the trouble to serve us delicious cake and home brewed apple tea! The teaching on kintsugi was paced well, the steps taught and demonstrated clearly and we had ample opportunity to work on our own pieces. Their packaging enabled us to fly the items back a 6 hour trip safely withourlt breaking! Lovely couple, excellent course and I would highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I liked it a lot !!

Reviewed by: Manuelita, 2018/06/26

It was a very good experience. They were very kind and gentle and they teached me very good. I liked that I took the repaired porcelain with me immediately. The address is perfectly described and I got there very easy. If you like this kind of things I will definitely recommend the activity, you will enjoy it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great way to learn!

Reviewed by: elisabeth, 2018/06/24

Attended the workshop with my two sons (18 & 20 ys old). Well-spent two hour workshop to get the basics of kintsugi - and a note to get all the supplies at Tokyu Hands. No problem understanding since Yoshiko speaks English and the craft is manual so not many words are needed. Also: delicious cake and coffee (or tea) included :-)! We got our cups neatly packed for the journey back home and left with huge smiles on our faces.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Most pleasant and informative experience. This lesson added so much more to our trip

Reviewed by: Pat Tay, 2018/05/20

Sine there were just the two of us, Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko were most accommodating when we requested to do a broken piece rather than a chipped piece and we were able to finish it on time.
We were served a beautiful home-made cake and tea, and then proceeded to work on our plates. Yoshiko has a very good command of English and explained the processes and more. The samples of their other completed work were eye-opening - kintsugiis not just pottery repair but an artform!
We would return to do longer sessions if ever we come this way again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kintsugi

Reviewed by: M Sal, 2018/05/18

I've always wanted to try Kintsugi and the teachers were so gracious and very skilled. I learned the basics of Kintsugi and was given a list of supplies to purchase if I was wanted to continue the art of Kintsugi. The tea and brownies were some of the best I've ever had. Very charming experience and I would highly recommend it to anyone.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Delightful Experience Learning Kintsugi

Reviewed by: Elizabeth P , 2018/05/15

I planned this experience for a group of four, and we all absolutely loved it. We have talked about it every day since the class.

The teachers, Yoshiichiro-san and Yoshiko-san, were so kind and absolutely made the experience. We started the time with treats, some fruit and cakes and tea/coffee, and then chose our pieces of pottery. We then proceeded to learn how to make the repairs and then to enhance them with the gold. We are all so pleased with how our pieces turned out. I would highly rate and recommend this experience for anyone interested in learning about kintsugi. The class was a great value, and we all have a delightful souvenir of our time in Tokyo.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Informative and fun

Reviewed by: Dana , 2018/05/12

This was so much fun, and the hosts were wonderful! I would recommend this to anyone looking for a quick, fun activity. The tea and cake was lovely.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun, engaging and informative!

Reviewed by: Fractal, 2018/04/25

Both my husband and I enjoyed our Kintsugi class! We both picked a cup to repair while watching and being instructed on how to do so. We saw many other examples of repairs and were given information so that we'd be able to do this at home. It was relaxing and enjoyable. We were also given a nice cake and some hot apple cider. Both Mr. and Mrs. Kuge were friendly and great conversationalists, and Mrs. Kuge can speak English extremely well! The only thing that would have made it better would be signing up for the whole day class. :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |