Simple Japanese Kintsugi Gold Repair Technique Class near Shin Koenji

Overall Rating

5.005.00 / 5

Reviews

20 reviews (Post a review)

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Valentina, 2017/05/17

I had a lot of fun doing this class and the owners are delightful people! The cup that I repaired is very cute and they treated me like family. Thank you for everything!




Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great traditional experience and great host

Reviewed by: derek chan, 2017/05/09

The experience is well organized and enjoyable, the host is super nice and communicatable, I really enjoy talking with them and share my veiw on Japan and travelling.
It is elementary and no need to worry about the skill.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very kind teachers

Reviewed by: Eduardo, 2017/05/07

We went on a Sunday afternoon to do a Kintsugi class. This couple of teachers were available. The class is very instructive and we could work on the pottery we brought. This art of mending broken things is very ancient and it appealed to so this classes. We were very happy and it took us two hours to go through all the process ad glueing and patching. We were invited tea, cheesecake and a Japanese watermelon! We would be very pleased if we did more classes with them, but unfortunately, we have to leave in a few more days! Thanks, Yoshiko and Yoshiichiro

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Jonathan, 2017/05/03

We attended this evening to learn how to prepare kintsugi as complete novices, the class was great with many things to learn over 2 hours. When we return we will be sure to spend more time at Kume crafts! A+


  • Stacey filing

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A delightful and artistically cultural experience!!

Reviewed by: Arielle & Christine, 2017/04/10

The Kuges were so genuinely warm and inviting! Regrettably we had been a bit lost and arrived a few minutes late to the class. They were very forgiving and welcomed us into their creative space with a light snack and coffee. The studio was small and charming, and had shelves full of sculptures and pottery of all sizes. They showed us a few of their pieces and explained what we were going to do that day. They spoke English fairly well and were able to explain the steps easily. The atmosphere was casual and we were able to take the time to enjoy their company. We didn't feel rushed at all. Our finished pieces were carefully packed in plastic containers which we'd like to add, made it back to the U.S. safely! We had a delightful afternoon with the Kuges and were so excited by our new skill that we stopped by a nearby Tokyu Hands right after class to buy supplies to do our own Kintsugi at home! Overall, it was an enjoyable cultural experience! We highly recommend Kintsugi and Kuge Crafts as a way to experience a bit of Japanese culture outside of the common tourist hotspots.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really great way to spend an evening

Reviewed by: Kendall Hoff, 2017/03/27

This class is taught by a very kind, charming couple. They provided me with a couple of cups to choose from and helped me create something beautiful. I had a great eperience and was able to bring home something very meaningful from my trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A perfect activity!

Reviewed by: Anon, 2017/02/28

What a great afternoon! The activity was fun and you get to keep your repaired piece. The hosts were so welcoming and generous, their English was wonderful as unfortunately I do not speak Japanese. A must-do activity!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience

Reviewed by: Allyce, 2017/02/26

We had a wonderful time learning about the history and techniques of Kintsugi. Our senseis were very welcoming and fantastic teachers. We were able to communicate easily although we only speak English. We would highly recommend this to anyone visiting the area




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Jason, 2017/02/20

I went here with my girlfriend and we thoroughly enjoyed the session. Yoshiichiro and Yoshiko were gracious hosts. I loved the coffee, apple tea and fruitcake that Mrs Kuge prepared as well.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Katie , 2017/01/30

The hosts Yoshiko and Yoshiichiro, were warm, welcoming and friendly on arrival. The class had a relaxed atmosphere and they were extremely knowledgeable teachers. Limited English language though smiles and google translate really helped.
Would recommend this to anyone who enjoys unique crafting.



Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Tokyo Categories