Simple Japanese Kintsugi Gold Repair Technique Class near Shin Koenji

Overall Rating

5.005.00 / 5

Reviews

22 reviews (Post a review)

Kintsugi

Reviewed by: Mial & Hiroko, 2017/06/05

This is a very nice class and a very pleasant experience. Our whole family, including my 84-year old Japanese mother-in-law and our two adult children took the class together while on vacation in the Tokyo area. All the materials are provided and the introductory project of repairing chipped or cracked china cups and bowls (also provided) is easily accomplished during the time available. The Kuge family were very patient teachers and provided delicious homemade refreshments. They also packed the completed projects securely for the trip back home. We highly recommend the class if you are interested in this ceramic repair technique.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I want to do this again!

Reviewed by: Coco cook, 2017/05/30

The Kuge's are a kind, patient and funny couple. They are very intuitive when you ask them questions. Mrs Kuge says many Japanese do not even know about kintsugi. There were 3 other students when we arrived. Two had been coming doing other projects and one had an expensive mug that broke. She wanted it repaired and found out about kintsugi and was there for the first time. Two of the students spoke English and was able to help explain and interpret but without them the Kuges would have eventually been able to understand and explain. The process takes 2-3 hours to complete while we converse, work, have cake and coffee and laugh. The studio is tiny but very comfortable. There are many examples of their work to inspire you and they are so beautiful. They show you everything you need and the process to repair and paint the gold on. My piece had 2 very small chips and a small crack but my son has 3 chips and a significant crack. If I had known what I should be looking for I would have chosen something with more damage rather than by the design on the piece. After the experience, on our way back to the hotel we stopped at Tokyu Hands and purchased the pigments and lacquer to do it at home. They have kits there but the kits include flammable liquids that would not pass inspection to bring on a plane. They have two types of lacquer and one of them is not flammable.

I highly recommend this experience, especially if you enjoy working such your hands, if you have any artistic bent or want to learn a traditional but disappearing art form.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Valentina, 2017/05/17

I had a lot of fun doing this class and the owners are delightful people! The cup that I repaired is very cute and they treated me like family. Thank you for everything!




Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great traditional experience and great host

Reviewed by: derek chan, 2017/05/09

The experience is well organized and enjoyable, the host is super nice and communicatable, I really enjoy talking with them and share my veiw on Japan and travelling.
It is elementary and no need to worry about the skill.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very kind teachers

Reviewed by: Eduardo, 2017/05/07

We went on a Sunday afternoon to do a Kintsugi class. This couple of teachers were available. The class is very instructive and we could work on the pottery we brought. This art of mending broken things is very ancient and it appealed to so this classes. We were very happy and it took us two hours to go through all the process ad glueing and patching. We were invited tea, cheesecake and a Japanese watermelon! We would be very pleased if we did more classes with them, but unfortunately, we have to leave in a few more days! Thanks, Yoshiko and Yoshiichiro

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Jonathan, 2017/05/03

We attended this evening to learn how to prepare kintsugi as complete novices, the class was great with many things to learn over 2 hours. When we return we will be sure to spend more time at Kume crafts! A+


  • Stacey filing

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A delightful and artistically cultural experience!!

Reviewed by: Arielle & Christine, 2017/04/10

The Kuges were so genuinely warm and inviting! Regrettably we had been a bit lost and arrived a few minutes late to the class. They were very forgiving and welcomed us into their creative space with a light snack and coffee. The studio was small and charming, and had shelves full of sculptures and pottery of all sizes. They showed us a few of their pieces and explained what we were going to do that day. They spoke English fairly well and were able to explain the steps easily. The atmosphere was casual and we were able to take the time to enjoy their company. We didn't feel rushed at all. Our finished pieces were carefully packed in plastic containers which we'd like to add, made it back to the U.S. safely! We had a delightful afternoon with the Kuges and were so excited by our new skill that we stopped by a nearby Tokyu Hands right after class to buy supplies to do our own Kintsugi at home! Overall, it was an enjoyable cultural experience! We highly recommend Kintsugi and Kuge Crafts as a way to experience a bit of Japanese culture outside of the common tourist hotspots.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really great way to spend an evening

Reviewed by: Kendall Hoff, 2017/03/27

This class is taught by a very kind, charming couple. They provided me with a couple of cups to choose from and helped me create something beautiful. I had a great eperience and was able to bring home something very meaningful from my trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A perfect activity!

Reviewed by: Anon, 2017/02/28

What a great afternoon! The activity was fun and you get to keep your repaired piece. The hosts were so welcoming and generous, their English was wonderful as unfortunately I do not speak Japanese. A must-do activity!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience

Reviewed by: Allyce, 2017/02/26

We had a wonderful time learning about the history and techniques of Kintsugi. Our senseis were very welcoming and fantastic teachers. We were able to communicate easily although we only speak English. We would highly recommend this to anyone visiting the area




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Tokyo Categories