This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Edo Kiriko Glass Cutting Experience in Asakusa

Perfect souvenir to end a visit to Tokyo

Reviewed by: Mrs L from Surrey , 2018/04/16

When you have done and seen everything on your ‘must do’ list in Tokyo, this is the perfect way to create your own momento of your visit.

The instructor was patient and knowledgeable about what is required to make your own Kiriko glass, the rest is up to you. There was a good amount of time to practice before you start to make your own cut glass and there are sample designs for you to copy which you sketch onto your glass.

I would not recommend this for very young children as it requires a steady hand and concentration when using the mechanical wheel.

The only suggestion I would make to Veltra is that they send instructions of the venue in map form as it was slightly tricky to find the venue.

All in all a very enjoyable activity for a few hours.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Sato, 2017/10/07

They kindly taught how to cut and draw Edokiriko glass. We could communicate with the instructor in English as well as Japanese. The glasses we made were kind of not perfect one, but really adorable and handmade.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Love for Edo Kiriko Glass

Reviewed by: J_L, 2017/09/12

The experience was great. The instructor knew a lot of English and was a good teacher; she worked with me to design my own custom piece. I am in love with my new little piece of art and I would recommend this opportunity to anyone who wants an experience different than the tourist spots. (It is a bit tough to find...when you arrive at street level, walk straight ahead about 10-15 feet and turn right onto the street. It looks like an alley, but it is not. Look for small blue signs with the house number. When you find the store that sells glass and crystal ware, you have arrived. The location/house is on your left side.)



Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kirk Glass Cutting

Reviewed by: Aynirette Negron, 2017/06/30

Was interesting and difficult to do it so perfect as they have but was very good class. Loved it

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Melissa G., 2017/05/14

Fantastic English speaking instructor. A lot of fun to do as a couple! We had a blast and love our beautiful glasses.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Do this when in Tokyo!

Reviewed by: Meg, 2016/07/25

This was again a very tricky place to find, but in a tiny studio there were 6 stations to work at and 6 students. We were given samples to look at and choose from. It was very tricky, but very doable if you choose something simple. Downstairs was a gallery of glass work that was incredible. Very awesome and well run class. Our instructor spoke English!


  • This was very cool- There were 6 of us and we each had our own station to work at.


  • Not too bad for my first shot!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Categories