Half Day Scarf Hand Weaving Workshop in Trendy Kichijoji reviews, Tokyo tours & activities, fun things to do in Tokyo | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Half Day Scarf Hand Weaving Workshop in Trendy Kichijoji

Overall Rating

5.00 5.00 / 5

Reviews

6 reviews
Post a review

Wonderful experience! Will definitely go again!

Reviewed by: Marianne, 2019/06/27

The studio is located next to a beautiful park and easy to find. The studio is cheerful, bright and peaceful. The instructors are very friendly and helpful. There were a lot of weaving threads to choose from, of various materials and colours. Had a lot of fun making my very own unique scarf! Will definitely want to go again next time I’m in Tokyo!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience, lovely environment

Reviewed by: Shu, 2019/04/24

The studio is located in a lovely area in Kichijoji! It was my first time but the host explained and showed us how to weave so it was quite easy. I enjoyed the experience tremendously. It is a very therapeutic and relaxing activity and the scenery from the studio was also lovely. Highly recommended!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your Comment. I am so glad to hear your voice!
Please come to weave again!!
Tatsuya Jo

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun for the whole family!

Reviewed by: HDR, 2019/03/24

I was very interested in trying this weaving class, but my daughter (age 14) was less than enthusiastic and my son (age 11) didn't want to try it at all. Since it was my birthday, they agreed to come along. Once we arrived, the Studio was bright, beautiful, and inspiring, and the women leading the class couldn't have been nicer. We spoke no Japanese, but it was not a problem. They used an electronic translator and relied on demonstrations to give us instructions. The weaving itself was so much fun and easy enough for the kids to pick up quickly. They were so delighted with their colorful creations and didn't want to stop weaving! Our family was the last to leave that day. Kichijoji, where Studio Jota is located, is also a wonderful town to visit, particularly if you are staying in Tokyo. It's easy to reach via public transportation, and you will walk through lovely Inokashira Park on your way from the train station. Leave plenty of time to explore the town before or after the class. All three of us agreed it was one of the best days of our 10-day Tokyo trip. Don't hesitate to book this activity. We will definitely return next chance we get!

  • Easy and fun for kids.

  • The 4-hour class flew by. Even the kids said they could have kept going and going....

  • This is one of our instructors wearing a beautiful skirt made from her own weaving.

  • Even my son loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half day Scarf hand weaving workshop in trendy kichijoji

Reviewed by: Imee Ong-Hallare, 2019/03/08

I loved the whole experience. From the train ride to the 15 minute walk across the park, to the introduction and learning how to weave.
Superb instructors, easy to learn activity, soothing experience, gorgeous location.
I plan to go back again and again each time I get a chance to go to Japan.

  • Wearing my creation.

  • Welcoming entrance

  • Amazing wall art

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good

Reviewed by: J. , 2018/08/19

The instructor was patient and was able to converse in basic English. Although I had no prior experience in weaving, it is fairly easy to weave.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic workshop!

Reviewed by: Lara, 2016/06/19

The weaving workshop at Studio Jota was excellent. The helpers were kind and patient with my non-existent Japanese. The weaving technique is easy to pick-up (regardless of language barriers) which meant it was possible to work quite independently and weave a scarf to take home with me (though I think I'll use it as a wall hanging).

The studio itself is beautiful and located in a charming part of Tokyo which I enjoyed exploring after the session. Highly recommended for textile enthusiasts who would like to get away from more touristy activities.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]