This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

Fantastic !

Reviewed by: Seun , 2019/06/03

Great food tasting tour. Our guide was so kind and very informative. Me and my sister really enjoyed ourselves during this trip to Japan

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for joining our Best of Japan Gourmet Tour! I'm glad you enjoyed your time in Japan, and hope to see you again in Nihonbashi in the future! ~Megan

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exceeded expectations

Reviewed by: Chelsea, 2019/05/24

Not only did we get to sample different foods, we also learned about their origins and history. So interesting! After the tour, we went back to the stores we toured and bought sweet potato snacks and wheat flour mochi. Our tour guide was very informative and friendly.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for joining! We are so happy that you enjoyed it and were able to find some yummy snacks to take back with you after :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thoroughly enjoyed it. Worth 1000 Yen.

Reviewed by: joy, 2019/04/23

I've been on these tour twice now, and both times have being with a non-japanese guide. But they definitely know their stuff and it's a mix of Japanese culture and food. Very worth a 1000 yen. You even get a gift at the end :-)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A very entertaining and informative experience

Reviewed by: Sherif, 2019/01/07

It was a lot of fun. Would love to try other available tours.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great food tour for families

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2018/12/23

Really enjoyed this. Learned a lot about the different food items and regions of origin. The guide was great and wore a kimono and had yukata for the kids to wear which was a lot of fun. Also great because it was all indoors and it was raining outside.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed it the tour, and the kids liked the happi! Enjoy the rest of your time in Japan!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unusual taste of Japan!

Reviewed by: Adrienne , 2018/12/09

This little walking tour of some of the famous and historical food stores whose history date from the Edo period was quite delightful and very good value.
The two kimono clad young guides provided us with an excellent commentary in English as well as with samples of the various foods.
I recommend this tour to anyone interested in Japanese food. The Nihonbashi area of Tokyo is a must to visit too!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/12/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was awesome!!

Reviewed by: Yoshi, 2018/09/15

I enjoyed some sampling and got a small present. These are included in the tour fee. It’s good value plan.
Guide is charming and knows Japanese culture.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved the tour

Reviewed by: Justine, 2018/07/31

The tour guide was very thorough and gave us a lot of information about each stop. The samples were adequate and overall I felt like I travelled around Japan even though we didn't go far. All round great experience.

Reply from activity provider

Hi Justine, thank you very much for joining our tour! I'm glad you enjoyed it! ~Megan

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

1時間半で日本の食文化の特徴をいくつか掴むことができる

Reviewed by: Naomi, 2018/07/16

・初来日の外国人家族と参加。日本の文化の基本というか共通項を見てもらえると期待して申し込む。
・嗜好の違いか、羊羹や昆布は「濃い」(煮詰まっている、甘すぎるといった感じ)というコメント、出汁はこわごわでしたが美味しいとも。日本文化や日本食はある程度海外でも認知度が高いと想定していたが、全く知らない人にはちょっと刺激が強いかも。
・日本の地形や風土が地方によって違うことを知らない場合、県やエリアのことを言われても、何かすごく違いがあるのかわからないので伝わりづらいと感じた。
・終わった後に「短時間で一応いろんなことを学んだ(気がする)。いいツアーだ」と感想を言っていたので良かった。別の家族が来たらまた案内したい。
・スペイン語も対応してくれると嬉しい

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Sara, 2018/04/24

Great knowledgable guide gave concise explanations and background of selected Japanese food types, with yummy samples. Great value.

Reply from activity provider

We're so glad you enjoyed our tour! Hope to see you again sometime :) ~Bryony

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome tour

Reviewed by: Sunny S., 2018/03/17

It was so good and I want to do it again. Explanation of Each samples how it was made awesome. Various kind of pickles were great.

Reply from activity provider

We're so glad you enjoyed it! We hope you enjoy the rest of your time here in Japan with your newfound knowledge on all the different traditional foods. ~International Staff

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely walk and delicious flavours!

Reviewed by: worldtripdiaries.com, 2018/03/01

Love the walk "around" Japan flavours! New things learnt and new flavours tried! A Must and Quick do in Tokyo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour

Reviewed by: Nexxmexx, 2017/09/23

Very informative. Got to try a lot of local delicacy. For the price, it cannot be beaten

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for joining our tour! We are glad you enjoyed it.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Taste of culture

Reviewed by: Marina , 2017/09/22

Great little tour. You get a lot for your money. A lot of information, a lot of little tastings, a lot of opportunities to shop afterwards. The hostesses were great. Answered all my questions, gave a lot of detailed info about shops we visited. Very cool hands in opportunities, to do things and touch stuff. Great tour if traveling with kids. Unexpectedly Lovely little gift at the end and a coupon for a free pair of chopsticks.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for the great review! We are so glad you enjoyed the explanations and hands-on-experiences. We hope you enjoyed your shopping afterwards as well :)

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Food tour

Reviewed by: Annette & David, 2017/07/23

What a fabulous tour!! Great value, excellent host - Bryoney, and clear information about the products from different regions. Bryoney was so knowledgable about a wide range of questions we had . Would deinately recommend this experience!

Reply from activity provider

Annette & David, I'm so glad you enjoyed the tour. I hope you had fun here in Nihonbashi! Thank you so much for your feedback :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

コンパクトなジャパンテイスティング体験

Reviewed by: セロリ, 2017/05/04

それぞれのお店を周り、お店の製品の説明を英語でしてもらえたのは良かった。(日本人でも説明しにくいこと(米麹やかつおぶしについてなど)はこうやって言えばいいんだと勉強になった)しかし、本当に食べたいと思う牡蠣などの美味しそうなものはお店の紹介だけ。他のお店も一押しのものを試食させてくれればいいのにそうでもなかった気がする。日本人からしたら、高くてもいいものこそ試食させて本物を体験させてあげて欲しかった。ただガイドさんは一生懸命もりあげようとしてくれていて好感が持てました。最後にお土産をくれるのも良かった。もう少しハイクオリティーになるなら他の海外の友人にも勧めたい。もう一押し!

  • 丁寧な英語の説明

  • 和菓子屋さんの和菓子の生花は必見!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved this tour!

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2017/04/17

Wonderful 90 minutes! We got to try many things we wouldn't have otherwise tried. The entire tour is indoors, so it is great for a cold / rainy day. Even our kids (ages 8 and 11) enjoyed this tour. The guide (Julia) was awesome and made the whole tour fun. For the money, this tour was an INCREDIBLE deal!

Reply from activity provider

Dear Nicole,
Thank you very much for your king review! It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. We hope we will see you again!

Best regards,

Giulia

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good not great

Reviewed by: Jane C., 2017/02/23

I guess I was expecting a lot. With gourmet in the title, I was expecting gourmet. I was hoping for good food souvenirs to take back home or great eats to try. At least 3 stops were non food stops, and one food stop did not have samples. One sample was cold but felt would tasted better hot/warm. Another sample was very plain in contrast to the ornateness of what the shop offers. The hostesses were very helpful and described the regions well.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our visit to another area of Tokto

Reviewed by: Annkreit , 2016/10/28

Good introduction to yet another area of interest . So much to see. Nice overview of highlights in Nihonbashi

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for joining our tour! We hope you enjoyed it :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!!

Reviewed by: Kimi , 2016/08/08

I really enjoyed this tour, even I'm Japanese. Thank you so much.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks so much for joining our tour! We're glad you enjoyed it!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best way to know Japan

Reviewed by: Mindy, 2016/07/26

That is wonderful! The trip help us to understand real Japan,and the shops provide tasty food!After the trip,we shop a lot!

Reply from activity provider

Hello, thank you again for joining our tour. It was really nice to meet you and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here in Nihonbashi. We hope to see you again.
P.S: Thank you very much for the pic, I really like it.

Hoda~

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Tour

Reviewed by: Michele Curran, 2016/04/23

Our trip to Nihonbashi district was very educational and enriching for me and my boys. It made us appreciate Japan even more, each province possessing a unique food story worth telling. This tour is a gem, consolidating all these food stories in an hour or so, allowing us to immerse into the culture and the people altogether. Our favorite was the dried fish that we grated into thin strips of fish. We never thought you can do that to.fish!! My sons enjoyed grating them.

We also got to sample most of the food items. My personal favorite would be the sweet potato fries. Yum!!!!!!

the storytellers Are fantastic. They have very good knowledge of the subjects and the history that accompanies them. They adjust to the audience's capacity to.absorb information and attention span. Would definitely recommend to friends and loved ones! :-)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour

Reviewed by: Michele Curran, 2016/04/02

Me and my family greatly enjoyed the tour, it was a nice relaxing way to spend an afternoon and helped us sample the best of Japanese cuisine. While the choices themselves are quite unique, I would have preferred it if there were more substitute options for those who didn't quite enjoy some parts of the tour, since there is a wide range of food available and not all of it will be accessible to everyone. The tour itself is professionally handled and we had no issues with the presentation or the guides at all, they seemed to know a lot about the food history of Japan and I personally enjoyed spending an hour with them. To conclude, this tour is an excellent opportunity to experience some Japanese delicacies from the comfort and safety off Tokyo.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]