This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kuala Lumpur Half Day Food Walk with Train Ride

Overall Rating

4.794.79 / 5

Reviews

19 reviews (Post a review)

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/08/23

Food was plentiful & delicious. Walked more than I thought (not a bad at all) but it helped keep the appetite up. Or guide Charlie clearly loved his city & had close ties with the street vendors we went to.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/08/23

This food tour was one of the highlights of our Kuala Lumpur trip. Not only did we get to sample some of the best foods in KL, but it helped us to get out bearings around some of most KL's diverse neighbourhoods. The food was incredibly varied, tasty and filling. We were stuffed after the noodles!

Our guide Charles was also fantastic - extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. When asked where we could find the best Roti canai or Teh tarik, he was able to recommend places near our hotel. I highly recommend this tour!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/08/19

Only had a stop over in KL so was perfect for a quick introduction to the city and got to taste some great food.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/05/16

Overall we had a fantastic experience during our food tour in KL. Charles was very knowledgeable and showed us some fantastic local eateries, which we didn't know about. The tour primarily focused on Indian and Chinese food experiences - would have liked to see some Malay eats as well. But definitely loved it and would recommend it!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/03/15

Charles was an excellent guide and good communicator.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/11/03

This was a fantastic food tour of Kuala Lumpur...really enjoyed all the food and insight on KL and it's different communities and culture. Our guide, Charles, was full of knowledge and enthusiasm! Learned more about KL's past and present than I expected, all garnished along the way with some great bites!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/11/01

Gabi and Carlson were enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Both also seemed very enthused to be there, which surprised me as I assumed taking the same tour daily might be dull after a while. By far, it was the most fun day I'd had in KL since I moved here 6 months ago!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/08/28

I loved my tour, I got an extra special experience being the only person booked it was a very personal, local tour. This was my first visit to Malaysia and just a quick one-day stopover but I feel I learnt more in the half day tour than I would have in a week on my own. Karson was personable, knowledgable, very easy going, listened and answered questions, shared interesting information etc... everything you'd want in a tour guide!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kara, 2015/08/16

Our guide was brilliant! She was full of energy and had loads of knowledge about the area and all its culinary delights. I left feeling very full after having tried some delicious food and was given many recommendations of places to eat and foods to try for the remainder of my trip

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/03/12

Gabby is a lively and knowledgeable tour guide who made sure that everyone was well looked after and enjoyed the best experience possible. The tour highlights the diversity of cultures in KL and the variety of foods these cultures bring to the community. We enjoyed visiting both Little India and Chinatown, and trying the large range of foods on offer. It was culturally challenging for us to eat with our fingers, but glad we gave it a try. The curry lunch was a highlight. This is a good way to find out a lot about KL in a short time, and I would highly recommend the tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2014/11/22

Our guide Karson was fabulous, very knowledgeable ,helpful and enthusiastic. We enjoyed this tour very much.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Raelene, 2014/09/15

Review by Simon: Karlson our guide was fantastic. We were lucky in that there was only 4 of us - sadly the other 3 had some bad luck and had to cancel at the last moment. Karlson was funny, knowledgeable, informative and watched out for our safety and spoke very good English. It was not only a food tour but a history one as well. Heard and saw things that you just don't get on your own and eat at places I would probably walk past.The food experience was excellent but be warned the last stop is lunch in Chinatown - we thought he was joking as we had plenty going around, but he wasn't. The Indian food at the first stop was the best but be prepared to eat with your fingers - all part of the experience. Recommended - absolutely but a small group would be the best.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Luke, 2014/07/12

There was a lot of walking thru dirty, smelly backstreets of little India. We got hot and sweaty. The food was good but since there is food everywhere in KL, it could be done in a cleaner area. Also there was a visit to a muslim ceme<x>tary, a Chinese temple and Indian ashram - too much religion in this tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ronald, 2014/03/03

The company was very helpful and professional ensuring that I was able to make the tour despite my late reservation. The tour guide was excellent: he was quite knowledgeable about Malaysian history and food and took very good care of the people in his tour. Great job!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Alwyn, 2013/10/12

This was one of the best tours that we have done, Our tour guides Charles Steven and his mate were very knowledgeable and kept us occupied and entertained throughout the tour. As we passed through the various ethnic suburbs we were treated to delicious foods from these suburbs from Indian, Malaysian and Chinese local street food restaurants . If I visit Kuala Lumpur again I would go on this again.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/28

Charles, our guide on the food tour in KL, was excellent, with a perfect balance of knowledge, enthusiasm and fun. My first, but certainly not my last, urban adventure.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/28

It was a brilliant tour, we ate and drank constantly I could barely move by the end of it. There is no way that I could have found any of the places we ate at on our own.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/28

Our guide Charles was fantastic. He was knowledgable and so enthusiastic about the food, history and culture of Malaysia and KL in particular. I also loved that we went to the smaller local restaurants, cafes and roadside stalls to taste the various foods. It was so nice to support the local people. I would definitely recommend this Urban Adventure to anybody visiting Kuala Lumpur.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/28

Our guide, Charles Steven, was engaging, enthusuiastic and knowledgable. this tour was the highlight of our trip to Singapore & Kuala Lumpur!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]