Jiufen Village, Golden Waterfall and Northeast Coast Afternoon Tour from Taipei reviews, Taipei tours & activities, fun things to do in Taipei | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Jiufen Village, Golden Waterfall and Northeast Coast Afternoon Tour from Taipei

Overall Rating

4.07 4.07 / 5

Reviews

106 reviews
Post a review

Good scenic tour, locations were very busy and crowded.

Reviewed by: Brett, 2019/12/01

I was expecting a quiet town, however Jiufen was anything but. Packed with tourists to the point it was difficult to walk around. The atmosphere was very similar to a busy night market. I recommend passing on this tour. However, Walter the guide was excellent.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A perfect way to spend a half-day tour in Northern Taiwan

Reviewed by: Angel , 2019/10/22

The tour was perfect from start to finish! The guide was able to meet us at our hotel on time and was getting to know us on our way to the small coach. He started by explaining our itinerary for the day and giving us some interesting facts about the places we will be visiting.

The ride to the north will give you a glimpse of Taiwan countryside, a big difference from the city life in Taipei. The scenery is already an experience itself.

The shore and beautiful rock formations in Nanya made me feel like I am in Ireland, it is beautiful beyond words, very instagramable.

Jiufen is very busy since its a Saturday but will still give you the feels of the old countryside of Taiwan. Make sure to wear comfy shoes since its a bit of a climb, but rest assured that the view from above is worth the steps!

Overall, the trip was an experience I will never forget.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful experience

Reviewed by: Mr. C, 2019/08/31

From the transport, tour guide and locations visited, everything about this trip was great and Jiufen is really beautiful- I can highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overall experience was fantastic, short and sweet trip covering all key locations. Guide was superb in giving us all explanations and taking us to the right spots.

Reviewed by: Nisha Lathif, 2019/08/19

In one word the trip was really awesome one. though it was just a half day one , i felt that it covered more than some of full day trips in terms of location/ spot covered, range or variance of locations that was covered. It included coastal experience, water fall, mountain all of it in just 4-5 hrs which is really amazing. Our guide Jenny Chang was very professional and explained even the very minute details.

Overall i give a 5 star rating for this trip and will recommend anyone traveling to taipei especially if you are short of time.

Reply from activity provider

Hello Nisha,
Thanks for your sharing.
It's our honor to provide our best service to you.
Have a nice day.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Crowded

Reviewed by: Julia, 2019/08/11

The drive out to the coast was great and Arthur our guide was very informative. But the village is a tourist trap crowded and lined with shops. The history of the place gets lost in consumerism trying to sell you anything from tea to trinkets.

Reply from activity provider

Hello Julia,
Thanks for your sharing.
Hope to see you again soon.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great half day tour

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/07/27

Takes you to see all the essential spots on the north east coast and culminates with the picturesque photo spot in Jiufen Village. Wear sneakers for the rocky coastal terrain and the many steps you will need to walk

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

takes more time for sunday's activity case.

Reviewed by: ロバート, 2019/07/04

We visited Nanya rock area where are eroded by sea water. This area is located along road without parking area. Therefore, when we don't pay attention, there is a possibility to overlook. We recommend that you should visit stunning rock which looks striped shape.
On the way to Jiufen village, We had to transfer to city bus from tour bus on sunday only, due to avoid traffic jam. Especially, there are many tourist at the Jiufen village on sunday. Therefore, tour time is extended about one hour more than schedule time for this reason.
Tour guide spoke fluently english and japanese. So our Japanese participants understood his explanation completely.
If we have opportunity to visit here, we will visit xecept sunday activity.

  • striped pattern rock

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wished it just didn't rain!

Reviewed by: RSD, 2019/06/07

The guide is perfectly great in introducing us to every spot we went to. Only if it did not rain, it would have been a super amazing experience (of course the tour operator has no control over the weather). Over all, the experience is nice especially when I personally see and feel the charm that only Jiufen has in all of Taiwan. =)

  • I was soaking wet even if I did not get so near the waterfalls. Lol.

  • The stairway towards Jiufen Village. Less the rain, it will surely be just a walk in the park.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good

Reviewed by: Connor, 2019/04/24

The tour was very good the the guide was very helpful

Reply from activity provider

Hello sir,
Thanks for your sharing.
it's our honor to provide our best service to you.
Thank you .
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This tour was great!

Reviewed by: Jenna, 2019/03/05

The guide was knowledgeable and great at taking pictures for me at all the pretty spots. I like how it was a small tour, well organized and direct. It was very foggy and rainy when I went to but still nice views. Definitely try and get some shots by the tea house!

Reply from activity provider

Hello Jenna,
Thanks for your sharing.
It's our please to provide our service to you.
Hope to see you again soon.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Jiufen Village tour and tour guide and driver

Reviewed by: Shankar , 2018/11/19

The tour was very well organized and worth every penny. Both the tour guide and driver provided great service and the Juifen village experience was worth visiting.

Reply from activity provider

Hello Shankar,
Thanks for your commend.
It's our honor to hear you have a great time during the tour.
Have a nice day.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gorgeous sceneries and satisfying food

Reviewed by: Jewel, 2018/10/05

Despite the rainy weather, we had a magical time.
Thanks for being a really nice, fun, and helpful guide, Tony!

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your sharing.
We are happy to hear you had a good time during the tour.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/10/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

On time The guide tour so kind,helpful and funny!!! If I come back again I do to choice agin this company.... so cool

Reviewed by: Marife .Y., 2018/03/22

On time., I like The guide tour so kind,helpful and funny!!! If I come back again I choice again this company.... the best and it is so cool

Reply from activity provider

Thank you to join our tour.
We are so pleased to hear that you are happy during our tour.
Appreciate for your command.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good value excursion

Reviewed by: Boogy G, 2017/11/26

Not quite what we expected. The scenery was outstanding, The rock formations fascinating. The "village" trip was more a shopping spree. After our tour round the rest of Taiwan which we did in April the north east was rather industrial. Our guide was well prepared for the trip but lacked somewhat in charm and enthusiasm.

  • Great rock formations

  • The village !

Reply from activity provider

Thank you to join our tour.
We are so pleased to hear that you were satisfied for our tour.
Appreciate for your command.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT

Reviewed by: BANGS, 2017/09/18

AWESOME AND ON TIME. THEY FETCH US ON TIME AND VERY ACCOMMODATING. I WILL SURELY GET BACK AND DO IT AGAIN

Reply from activity provider

Thank you to join our tour.
We are so pleased to hear that you were satisfied for our tour.
Appreciate for your command.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Edita, 2017/08/22

One of the highlights of our Taiwan trip. Definitely a must see tourist attraction. Bond, our english speaking tour guide was very entertaining and made sure our group was comfortable and satisfied.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you to join our tour.
We are so pleased to hear that you were satisfied for our tour.
Appreciate for your command.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Angelito, 2017/04/11

nice village

Reply from activity provider

Thank you to join our tour.
Appreciate for your command.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Violeta, 2017/02/12

The tour package is not for those who cannot negotiate long distances and up and down terrain on foot. My husband and I opted not to join the walking part of the tour up and down Jiufen town. Having said this, the ride from Taipei to the northern coast provided a good panorama of the mountains and the seaside. The rock formations were awesome. The guide, Thomas, was very knowledgeable about the place, giving out a lot of insights about the now non-operating mine site and the abandoned buildings on the hillside. He never rushed anything and was quite concerned that we may not be enjoying the tour. We did!! In our own way. It provided us some quiet time in an otherwise hectic vacation.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you to join our tour.
We are so pleased to hear that you were satisfied for our tour.
Appreciate for your command.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sacha, 2016/09/25

It was a nice tour but we didnt get to enjoy it much due to weather conditions. :( on a sunny day it would have been better and the pictures too

Reply from activity provider

Thank you to join our tour.
Appreciate for your command.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Gary, 2016/04/18

Very nice tour and good communication from City Discovery.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you to join our tour.
We are so pleased to hear that you were satisfied for our tour.
Appreciate for your command.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good tour

Reviewed by: cyoo, 2015/10/11

It is valuable for 4 hrs. The place is beautifuland peaceful.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Charanjit, 2015/04/12

Fantastic tour, strongly recommend it, the sandstones are amazing

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ludmilla, 2013/12/12

It was interesting. Chiufen village was a marvellous place. The guide was helpful and professional. I wish we could have more time to have some tea in the Japanese tea house. More hours to spend in Chiufen would be nice too.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your good feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Abby, 2013/09/11

Overall this was a great tour with a very helpful english speeking guide. The only negative thing was door to door the whole tour only took 3hrs and when booking it said it was a 4 hr tour. I found that it was far to rushed. And more time could have been spend in juifen

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Anumita, 2013/04/01

The Northeast coast was beautiful itself. specially the Pitou Cape & Nanya Rock formation. However, for us the Chifuen village was OK. If you are interested in shopping in Chifuen village then its good to visit, but if your interest is site seeing then this tour is not so much recommended.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Elaine , 2012/06/11

This was the best tour I was on very interesting and worth while doing. The country side is rather beautiful. Great guide also.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your good feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Allen, 2009/01/19

Hope to see more varied tours in Taipei.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Taipei