Taroko Gorge and Hualien One Day Trip from Taipei by Train reviews, Taipei tours & activities, fun things to do in Taipei | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Taroko Gorge and Hualien One Day Trip from Taipei by Train

Overall Rating

3.95 3.95 / 5

Reviews

264 reviews
Post a review

The Great Taroko Gorge!

Reviewed by: RSD, 2019/06/07

Josephine, the Taroko Lion Lady talks about the "everything we must know" about our Taroko Gorge tour. She is superb in ensuring that we get the most of this tour. She is truly great in letting us experience Taroko in the most wonderful way we could. At the end of the tour is a visit to a marble factory that sells authentic Taiwan Jades which was sold to tourists at discounted rates.

  • A shot just outside the Silks Place, our venue for that sumptuous lunch.

  • The view of the Taroko marble mountains.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great highlight on the Taiwan visit

Reviewed by: Claudiu, 2019/05/18

This is one of the recommended tours for anyone visiting Taiwan, Taroko gorge is beautiful with plenty of landmarks and natural sightseeing opportunities.

It's a full day tour that includes about 6h train ride back and forth and the rest by bus, including lunch in a nice hotel on the gorge

I personally would prefer to shorten the lunch slot to 45min or 1h instead of the 1.5h allocated and have more time on the trails etc

Overall a highly recommended activity for Taiwan visitors

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I had a great time!

Reviewed by: Nina, 2018/11/09

First time going to Taroko Gorge, and I loved it! Josephine is a hilarious tour guide who will keep you entertained throughout the trip. We hit several spots that were breathtaking. Overall, I would recommend this tour.

Reply from activity provider

Hello Nina,
Thanks for your recommend.
Have a nice day.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great one day tour

Reviewed by: hira, 2018/08/21

it's was a fun trip however the stop in many place to fast. I really like the beautiful and the nice tour guide. The restaurant for lunch also great. I don't think visiting the factory is a good idea, better skip this in the itinerary.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you to join our tour.
Visiting the marble factory is for the guest who may want to buy some souvenir.
Appreciate for your sharing.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rainy day but fun

Reviewed by: shige, 2018/03/27

Thu guide was very experienced, and guided us in English, Chinese and Japanese, pointing out all the main sights.
Lunch was tasty.

Translated by VELTRA

Reply from activity provider

Thank you to join our tour.
We are so pleased to hear that you are happy during our tour.
Appreciate for your command.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good day trip

Reviewed by: KenKen and Fam, 2018/03/27

It is a long day, but a fun one.
Hotel pick up, reserved train tickets and lunch at a 5 star hotel are all included.
I went with a friend and we were both satisfied.
Our guide is apparently known as the 'queen of Taroko', and she could explain in both English and Japanese.
If you have a day free in Taiwan and want to see nature, I recommend this.

Translated by VELTRA

Reply from activity provider

Thank you to join our tour.
We are so pleased to hear that you are happy during our tour.
Appreciate for your command.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Khorolsuren, 2017/04/11

I think Taroko has the most interesting landscape, it is definitely worht visiting and this tour really ensures that you see what you need to in a short period of time

Reply from activity provider

Thank you to join our tour.
Appreciate for your command.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not worth the money spent-can go by yourself

Reviewed by: notsatisfied, 2016/05/29

I signed up for English speaking tour, but our tour guide who met us in Hualien and led us throughout the day didn't have a "heavy asian accent", I just could not understand her English. When another person asked her to speak in Mandarin, then I understood her, which seems a bit ironic. Also, she is a bit pushy, and when we went to the "marble factory" in the afternoon, it's just a shop to buy jade and jewelry in order for the tour guides to get commission. Also, when the Mandarin speaking woman leading the short tour at the marble factory, our tour guide spoke over her in English at the same time, and as a result, I didn't understand anything either one of them was saying. The train tickets provided only cost 440NT, which is $12 USD, so it's a lot better if you take the train to Hualien yourself and maybe join a tour group there. Since it's a national park that involves a lot of driving around, it's hard to drive in their yourself, but it's definitely not worth it to pay to go to Taroko from Taipei.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your feedback.
We are sorry for any inconvenience caused and the situation you met.
Hope that you could accept our sincerely apology.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing taroko!

Reviewed by: Aviela, 2016/05/26

The gorge was beautiful..the tour itself was in general too short for the gorge. It was mainly hop on and hop off the bus to walk few minutes on certain trails. In a way, the tour was suitable for all ages,but not satisfying enough for adventurous people or nature lovers. The 5 star lunch was nicely located in a hotel in the gorge. However,food was average. The tour guide Josephine,as many reviews have mentioned, was very helpful and knowledgable. She was indeed entitled the name queen of taroko. Journey from taipei to hualien by train took around 3 hours. Pleasent journey, clean train, fully air conditioned

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice professional touristic day trip.

Reviewed by: Petros, 2016/01/16

Fast going tour, early morning starting, professional friendly staff. The Gorge is fantastic, the nature at its best and the infrastructures really very good, a bit too touristic for my taste :-). Interesting easy tour, glad and satisfied I've did it!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you to join our tour.
We are so pleased to hear that you were satisfied for our tour.
Appreciate for your command.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Theresa Mae, 2015/08/12

A wonderful experience! The mountains and canyons and surrounding views around Taroko Gorge is breathtaking.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your good feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Leon, 2015/04/17

Why do we have to visit commercial places (jewelry shops or pastry shops) instead of using that time appropriately to what we paid to see and visit (the tour). We would prefer to use that time to take our own pace to enjoy the sceneries, take pictures, and enjoy the new place. The tour allotted time for commercial places between 30 mins to 1 1/2 hours - and that is on our paid time. Can you eliminate this part from the tour?
Tour guides and bus drivers are very professional.


Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mohammed Faizal, 2013/11/27

Overall an excellent trip. Had a bout of irritant diarrhea after taking the blueberry tea at the tribal cafe.
Did not like the shopping trips (Especially the jade shops - felt like being forced to buy!)

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your good feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Barry, 2013/09/23

Even though a bit rushed at some spots we were given fairly sufficient time to look around and the guide took trouble to point out the interesting rock formations and interests of the place. But the wonder of nature at Taroko is worth a view. There was a commercial stop at a tourist shop which is not really necessary. The train ride back was nice and comfortable and has nice scenic view.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your good feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Charanjit, 2013/07/20

Was great for the price, airfare and the bullet train and for the Gorge was just breath taking.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your good feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Daniel, 2013/06/02

tour was amazing. I like the tour guide- Josephine. She is awesome.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your good feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Alan, 2013/05/16

Josephine ar times was difficult to understand. Due to weather, we couldn't go to the gorge. ThT day the tour could have been shorter. However, the train tickets were for a later time.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your good feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Anumita, 2013/04/01

This Tour was really very well organised. The flight was good. The tour Guide was very cooperative & showed us all interestng spots. She accommodated our request of stopping at a few extra places. The lunch was provided at a 5 star hotel which was very good. Actually the total duration of the tour from morning to night was about 14 hours ( 6 am pick up & 8 pm drop off), so we had actually spend about 9-10 hours in Taroko Gorge itself. The only negative aspect of the tour was visit to the Marble factory which was more to promote the sell of the items.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your good feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Cecil, 2013/03/26

Thoroughly enjoyed. Guide Josephine was excellent and entertaining.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your good feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Catherine, 2011/04/04

The Gorge itself is stunning and well worth the trip. However, too much time is spent in the two tea houses and the marble factory. The aboriginal dance was not advertised, but it was not really possible to turn it down. The wait for the train and the train trip, much of it in darkness, made the day unnecessarily long.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jason, 2010/06/27

I wish we spent less time at the rock store and instead spent more time in the park.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your suggest.
Edison Travel Serice

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Dwip, 2010/01/11

Good and very attarctive sites. Ncie tour guide, very professional.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your good feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: willibrordus, 2008/10/08

Reply from activity provider

Thank you.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sylvia, 2008/07/23

beautiful scenery, nice guide, but I would avoid to stop at the marble factory...I don't like tours that drag poeple into a shop and make them buy something. Maybe do less stops but spend more time at the secret gorge to hike ... this was actually my highlight and we got a short glimps of it.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your feedback.
Edison Travel Service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Taipei