This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Overall Rating

4.404.40 / 5

Reviews

40 reviews (Post a review)

It is a worthwhile tour for anyone interested in Thai culture.

Reviewed by: Gordon Larimore, 2019/04/18

A brief explanation was given and then you were on your own to explore the area. Spending about 30-45 minutes was long enough to see it all.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Gordon, thank you for you feed backs. We are you get to discover Ayutthaya and hope the boat. Bests, Pascal.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

History lesson with delicious food and great river tour..

Reviewed by: jeff, 2019/01/29

Really good day learning about Ayutthaya and how the capitol of Siam was sacked and looted. Lots to see. Dont miss Buddha in the ficus tree. Finish off with a delicious lunch while cruising down the Chao Phrom river.

Reply from activity provider

Hi Jeff, thank you very much for your feedbacks, we are glad that you enjoyed the tour and get to learn about the city's interesting history. Looking forward hosting you for another tour in the future. Bests, Pascal.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ayutthaya January 2019

Reviewed by: Haig, 2019/01/28

This was a very good day tour. We enjoyed the visits to the palace complex and the historical park and the boat trip was excellent. Our guide Paisan was informative but he spoke a great deal and his delivery was quite fast, which, combined with his accent, meant that not everything was easy to hear and understand.

Reply from activity provider

Hi,
Thank you very much for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed the tour and hope to welcome you again another time. We will pass the comments along so our guides slows down while providing information in the future.
Thanks again.
Pascal from Destination Services.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

River cruise does not add.

Reviewed by: ABC, 2018/11/23

This is my second time in Bangkok and Ayutthaya but first time that used a boat in this tour.

First of all the bus was very old and if you are not luck you will sit at the end of the bus, where there is no seat belt.

Overall I felt that there was not enough time to get to know Ayutthaya, we did not see the big reclining Buda for example. And I think it’s because of the boat trip that takes a long time to get to Bangkok. So I think it’s best to use this time to tour Ayutthaya in my opinion.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice tour to visit places in one day

Reviewed by: Francisco, 2018/10/21

Overall, I was very happy with this tour.
The tour had about 25 people, and we've visited Summer Palace, Ayutthaya, and have taken a cruise back to the city.
The guide was very knowledgable and entertaining, and we had fun tour with him.
Ayutthaya is a must visit place, and I'm glad that I took a guided tour. The guide provided us the history and the meaning of the places, and that have enhanced the experience.
The cruise was good as well, and I think it's a very good idea to take the cruise back to the city so that we do not have to worry about the traffic. Along the river cruise, I could see other temples and buildings, and sitting on the top deck was very relaxing.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Intense and educative program and wifi in bus

Reviewed by: Anne, 2018/04/30

A minivan picked me up early morning to bring together with some other travellers which took us to the main bus. From there we departed to Bang Pa In summer palace. The weather was very pleasant for sightseeing as we arrived in the early morning.

After the Bang Pa in Palace we went to Ayutthaya temples, where we had own free time to explore the temples and ruins.
The guide was very knowledgeable about the former capital ofThailand and spoke fluently English. After the temple visits we could relax on the river cruise with a nice buffet which headed us back to Bangkok

  • Ayutthaya

  • Bang Pa In Summer Palace

  • Ayutthaya

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very full day.

Reviewed by: TJ D, 2018/02/09

Collection and drop off from my hotel was great, van was very clean and the driver very polite.
The bus which was used for the tour was clean and had good air conditioning. There was a toilet on board, but we were warned against using it.
The Summer Palace was a disappointment for me as even after my research, I wasn't dressed correctly and was not allowed in (I was wearing a floor length maxi dress with a sewn on 'shawl' like sleeve). The issue with my outfit was at the back, the shawl lifted up and you could see the shoulder straps of the dress.There was a small shopping area where appropriate clothes were being sold at a reasonable price, but as I am a larger lady, there was nothing that fitted me. I was able to buy some postcards and other souvenirs though, and the facilities were free.
The two temples we visited after were amazing. The guide (First) was very knowledgeable and provided some background details before we all wandered off to explore. There were the usual hawkers selling everything from purses to fruit. Its worth noting that at the temples you had to pay to use the facilities, about 10 baht.
There were also elephants at the second stop, but I was saddened to see chains and sharp hooks being used on them, while people blindly lined up and paid for rides.
The cruise was great, though by the time we arrived at dock to disembark, I was ready for a nap. The buffet had a good selection, plenty to go round (vegetarian options available too), with free tea and coffee, other drinks were avaliable for purchase. There was plenty of room to move about the boat, and smoking was allowed outside with the rear deck providing ash trays.
Over all, even after the disappointment of not getting to see the Summer Palace, I thoroughly enjoyed the tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bit sad but good

Reviewed by: Marble-halls, 2017/09/09

The English pronunciation of the tour guide wasn't easy to catch. There are another tour groups with my mother tongue and other language, so I guess I should take that tour. The tour guide himself was good and friendly. The course should be well explained in this tour booking, there are some other option while in the tour, it was but sad that I couldn't satiflued with the information given before the tour starts. I like the river cruise as the river was still and it was nice weather.

  • Beautiful garden

  • Lunch buffet

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful day

Reviewed by: Andrea, 2017/08/28

Very good the guide and very good Ayuttaya and the river cruise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Henrik, 2017/08/03

We enjoyed the trip. The tour guide First was great and took the time to answer all our questions on the cruise back to Bangkok. He even gave us a lot of tips about our next destination, Chiang Mai. Trip was great but the food on the cruise back was bland and kind of boring.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Gde, 2017/07/12

Expected to explore the Ayuthaya temple complex longer but time was so limited there.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rosmawati, 2017/07/06

This place is amazing. You can see ruins from the old days. The view is so sad yet so beautiful.
Definitely a must do.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One day tour

Reviewed by: VIM, 2017/07/03

I only had one full day free for sightseeing and the full day Ayutthaya up by road and back by boat was a great option for me. You can never go wrong with a UNESCO World Heritage Site. We stopped at some temples (you can see a lot of the ruins just from driving around the coach) but I liked the Wat Mahathat visit the best since we got to explore on our own. The cruise back and the waiting buffet lunch was very welcome after a full morning. The cruise was a bit too long but you can just hang out at the top deck see a lot of Bangkok landmarks along the way.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2017/07/02

We saw so much on this tour. My favorite was the Wat Mahathat - loved that we were left alone to explore around the ruins. Giant reclining Buddha was cool, too. Cruise was surprisingly good too. I'd say it was too long but hanging out at the top deck was very relaxing, just sat there taking in the breeze except when I needed to get up every once in a while to take photos :p. Early morning start but enough time to nap in the coach! :D

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kerry, 2017/06/03

It was a good tour. The guide was very informative and the tour was everything we expected. Good support with umbrellas and water.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Shirley, 2017/05/25

The local tour Operator pick us up from the city hotel as schedule.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: WEI DING, 2017/05/14

Humorous guide and interesting historical site but River Cruise was slightly too long as most passengers dosed off halfway. Prefer to be dropped off at more accessible location e.g. near train station, instead of directly at river side at the end of cruise.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Richard, 2017/03/27

great trip

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/11/15

this was a great tour and the guide was one of the best i have had very informative

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lee, 2016/05/30

We particularly like the fully preserved Buddhist temple at Ayutthaya. Seems to have some powerful intrinsic energy. The river cruise was excellent.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Beata , 2015/05/19

Wonderful guide.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Peter, 2015/02/04

A very beautiful day out to a beautiful set of ruins - and a lovely trip back on the boat

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Denise , 2014/11/08

My day trip in Bangkok was to Ancient Ayutthaya with river cruise, it was fantastic. Informative, well organised and *** was so friendly. I saw so much and enjoyed the day immensely. I have recommended this tour already to all my travelling friends.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Denise , 2014/11/08

The trip was fantastic, transport clean and spacious, timing of the tour and stops were exceptional and Donna was a great guide.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jozef , 2013/10/21

Very enjoyable, guide (Donna) very informative, good buffet lunch variety.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Adrian, 2013/08/20

It was a nicely balanced tour--a little bit of several different types of activities and not too much of anything in particular. Good service overall, and the cruise was quite enjoyable.

My only complaint was that when I tried to confirm my booking by email (I hadn't received a voucher yet, but needed to change the date) I got no response.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Duncan, 2013/04/21

A really good trip with a mix of ruined and in use temples. Then the palace which is a great place to wander around.
The river cruise was excellant with real good food

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Eric, 2013/04/19

Thought the meal on the cruise was rather poor, and certainly the heated food was served very cold..However, the tour guide was excellent and the placves visited interesting.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Angela, 2012/12/19

the tour was very good the lunch on board the boat was also excellent . good value for the money definitely would recommend it

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Anthony, 2012/11/22

Basically the tour was good and interesting. However, I felt the comments of the guide were simply too superficial. We got very little background or serious explanation about the history and archeology of Ayutthya and were treated, I felt, like simple-minded children.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |