This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Bridge Over the River Kwai Full Day Tour from Bangkok

Overall Rating

4.524.52 / 5

Reviews

56 reviews (Post a review)

Very informative and impressive tour!

Reviewed by: Kenny, 2018/12/17

This tour was very memorable and educational, because I have worked on war reparations and all the sites we visited are related to the Japanese past injustice. I was surprised to realize that there were so many Westerners who were still interested in this historical tragedy, quite contrary to the situation in Japan. I think I was lucky to join this tour group.

In addititon, the tour guide, Sunee's explanation was informative and the tour was very organized and I very much appreciate it.

*Since there were many participants in this tour group the other day, I hope a half the money I paid will be returned shortly, as is advertised.


  • very friendly and kind Sunee(Susie)

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A packed, good value for money day

Reviewed by: Gill W, 2018/12/14

This was a long day as we were picked up at 6am an due to Bangkok traffic we did not get back until 6pm. The visit to the museum and war cemetery could have been a bit longer for me but the schedule is tight to get guests to certain places on time and there is clearly no wiggle room. Some of the commentary from our guide was I think meant to be funny but may come across as disrespectful given the circumstances of the trip.
Boat to the bridge and the bridge itself did not disappoint and our hour on the Death Railway was a highlight for me. A very good but very rushed lunch (due to keeping to schedule for the train).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Poignant

Reviewed by: N. Thai, 2018/11/27

Quite a long trip but ride is comfy and experience worth it. Restroom stop each way. Lunch average but adequate. Tour guide Oum very helpful. Museum exposition very emotional. Would recommend this trip. Positive experience with Veltra tours so far.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent full day tour

Reviewed by: Jason , 2018/08/05

Excellent full day tour. A long day but sufficient time to visit/experience all parts of the tour. (A dedicated history buff would probably want longer at various parts, particularly the museum).

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bridge

Reviewed by: Lawrence Deakin, 2018/06/25

Great time Bus trip gave opportunity to view great countryside. River cruise to bridge was good. Bridge experience was excellent, lunch delicious and the train journey great.
Super day out

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great day

Reviewed by: robert , australian , 2018/05/06

the bridge over the river kwai was the best day.
to see the bridge and go on a train ride alongside the river kwai was fantastic. Our guide was great , lunch was beautiful ,just a great day,and the Australian war memorial was excellent cheers.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Day trip to River Kwai from Bangkok. Good value for the money!

Reviewed by: Rachel Hudson, 2018/04/04

I would actually rate this trip as very good. We are 2 couples in our 50's. We did this on 6.3.18. Its a long day,early start,about 6ish. You get picked up from & returned to your hotel so journey is approximately 3 hours each way. Once there you take a boat trip along the river up to the bridge which is leisurely & tranquil. Then you get to walk along the actual bridge at your own pace. Then we moved on to the museum & the Allied War Cemetery. Very informative & moving. You have plenty of time to visit everything. Then you are taken for a lovely Thai lunch in a restaurant by the river. After lunch we rode the Death railway for about an hour then left around 2.30 to head back to Bangkok. All in all we really enjoyed the trip,not as busy as it 1st sounded & excellent value at £47 for a full day out. Many companies do this trip but we found Veltra to include all we wanted to do.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Local train ride was awesome

Reviewed by: Sammy, 2018/03/23

Located in Kanchanaburi, over 120km West of Bangkok, close to the Myanmar border - the Death Railway, or Burma-Siam Railway serves as a reminder of the history and cost of World War II. Over 90,000 locals and 12,000 war prisoners lost their lives building the railway. The tour involves all transfers, a visit to the well documented memorial museum and cemetery, a boat ride and local train journey between Tha Kilen and Nam Tok. A good day trip, a much better choice than the Floating Markets if you are deciding between the two.


  • Nam Tok Station

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Joe, 2018/03/06

Very well organised - especially with all the different modes of transport you go on! Travelling along the old wooden bridge with the amazing scenery was a standout moment from the tour... not to be missed!


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bridges over the river Kwai

Reviewed by: OMT, 2017/11/22

This is my second time joining this tour and the planning sequence of the itinerary is better than the previous one..now the train journey is just nice not too long compare to the previous time. Will recommend my Friend !

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Roy, 2017/09/25

Brillant perfect tour guide our made the day

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Adrian, 2017/08/29

Very informative guide who spoke good English, that made for an excellent tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Wayne, 2017/08/22

Tour guide was excellent, lunch was great, coach was comfortable and driver was excellent. The tour exceeded or expectations
Wayne and Linda

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jaqueline, 2017/08/07

Our tour guide was excellent. Mr. Sam was very attentive, informative and friendly.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Wendy, 2017/07/28

Great trip, had van ride, boat ride, train ride and bus ride! Great tour guide. Very special place to visit

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Tracy, 2017/07/15

Very professional. Bus driver was superb and our guide very knowledgeable. We were notified of events in advance giving us time to be prepared

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Letitia, 2017/06/25

Beautiful scenery and an interesting day. It was a long day but we enjoyed it and there were many highlights - the train ride, the lovely food, the speed boat ride. The history of the railway is sobering of course but the tour in general was really good.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: John, 2017/06/23

Great value for money, Sam the tour guide was very knowledgable and a good addition to make the day informative and enjoyable. I would highly recommend this tour. Only downer is the traffic in Bangkok when being dropped off, nothing anyone can do about this of course, just be aware. It may be worth getting off the mini bus and using the sky train, which is what I did.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Poh Soon, 2017/06/15

The tour itself was diverse with the long drive to the interesting sites, speedboat trip up the Maklong river and bridge itself and finally the train ride on the death railway. Highlight for me was the stop at the excellent Kanchanaburi museum and war cemetery. We were fortunate to have an informative and caring guide Anand also to ensure all went well especially after the tour coach broke down sppn on the way back and he made sure that I got back safely to Bangkok and arranged for my BTS journey to my hotel. Many thanks a lot again, Anand.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Damon, 2017/05/31

This was an easy way to get out of Bangkok and see the bridge and museum without having to figure out the logistics myself. It's a long day and it started very early for me since I had to get to a nearby hotel for pickup. (The pickup ended up being late and the guide and I had to cab to a different hotel to meet the minibus. That hotel was actually closer to my own hotel and I could have just gone straight there an hour later. No big deal and they took care of everything, but I could have had another hour in bed... Just chalked it up to life in Bangkok). The tour was a nice mix of boat ride, bridge walk, museum, cemetery, lunch, then train ride. Om, the guide, was funny and sweet and did a good job. Arriving at the bridge by speedboat was a cool way to do it. They were thoughtful about stopping for bathroom and coffee breaks on the drive. They were diligent in calling my hotel and making sure they gave me accurate info for the pickup location and time.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: WEI DING, 2017/05/13

Interesting tour! Enjoyed every moment of it!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Irene, 2017/04/24

This is the third time for me to do this tour. Must say city discovery is a good travel agent to use. We got the train ride, which was the highlight of the trip. One shouldn't assume that it is always included. Bus driver was careful and the guide was knowledgeable and informative. But the lunch was disappointingly bland and awful. I saw a European tourist only eating a plate of rice, such was the dullness of the selection given.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: José Carlos, 2017/04/22

Nice tour but we will propose to do a more active and enjoyable because some of the histories are to long and at least me didn't get too much interested on them

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Robert, 2017/03/29

Excellent day trip with informative staff and a great itinery. Be prepared for an early start and a long day but well worth it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Liz, 2017/03/28

This was a great day. Tour guide excellent. I found we were a little rushed at the memorial and museum. The lunch was well catered. The whole day was well planned and informative

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jari , 2017/03/21

Tour was lots of fun. We had an early start at 6 am. After the bus drive and the museum the best part was a scenic longboat ride to the bridge. Evetything went smoothly.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2017/03/09

Great trip from Bangkok, although we were picked up at 6.20 we were back in the hotel before 6 pm, great day, it's a must do

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Colin, 2017/03/02

Great trip, very nostalgic if you know the story of the death railway ( not the film) a long day but well worth it. Good food stop as well.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: jeffrey, 2017/02/01

Was picked up on time by a courteous staff. The bus was clean and fairly new. Sam our tour guide was knowledgeable and went out of his way to help us. Great tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kristin , 2017/01/31

Great full day experience!!! We loved the whole trip! Very worth the price as there is so much you get to do!! Loved the train ride, pay the few dollars extra and upgrade to "VIP", it was worth it!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |