This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Bangkok Temple Tour with Long-tail Boat Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

Overall Rating

4.55 4.55 / 5

Reviews

22 reviews
Post a review

Worthwhile doing when you want to see the best parts of Bangkok!

Reviewed by: Ann, 2018/11/12

Great tourguide! This tour shows you the best parts of Bangkok including the less touristique places.
Worthwhile doing!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/06/14

Was a great way when we had a short amount of time in Bangkok to see the highlights. Really enjoyed our canal and river cruise as well as the Wats and Palace. Would recommend to others.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/03/31

Excellent tour, wonderful and enthusiastic guide.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/03/21

Gof was awesome thank you

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/03/05

The guide Gof is very nice guide. Im very happy to travel with her

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/11/12

Gung was a great guide, very knowledgeable on culture and history. She made sure we had memorable experiences. Gung even carried my back pack for part of the tour, thanks Gung.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/05/20

The trip was fabulous. Our Leader Wawa did an amazing job! She was very patient, friendly, helpful and pleasant.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/04/30

Our wonderful guide Wawa took us on a local bus to the Grand Palace, a huge complex of royal residences, temples, and bureaucratic buildings in the heart of Bangkok, which we explored for a couple of hours. It was desperately hot and unbelievably crowded - in one sense not at all pleasant, which is the only reason I marked "overall experience" as less than Excellent - but a brilliant immersive experience, and as a tourist, we couldn't very well begrudge the other tourists! Wawa is very knowledgable - she's also very funny - and the architecture and culture are wonderful to explore. Next we had a break from the crowd on a long tail boat on the Chao Phraya - the river of kings. This was a lot of very noisy fun, though it was hard to hear Wawa's commentary. Next, behind the Grand Palace, Wawa escorted us to the beautifully maintained Wat Pho with its spectacular Reclining Buddha. Finally she showed us Wat Phra Kaew, with its fascinating architecture, its sacred Emerald Buddha (which is actually jade), and ubiquitous cats, before making our way back to our hotel. Bring: - culturally sensitive clothes (no tank tops - 3/4 or long sleeves, knee-length or below skirts for women, or long trousers - don't make my mistake and wear 7/8 trousers! - and trousers for men) - reasonable footwear - sandals ok - you'll need to be able to take them on and off if you want to go into the temples - camera - hat - sunscreen - bottled water - some change for gratuities - patience with the crowd! Approx 4 hours, and quite tiring

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Carmen , 2014/06/03

Great experience, mostly because of the guide. We took the time to visit in depth each of the temples and the Grand Palace. Additionally, the boat ride on the river was a lot of fun ... and also the ride in tuk-tuk to get from the river to the palace.
Just this tour provides a great perspective of Bankok if you have only a couple of days to visit.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/24

Made such a difference to have a guide to actually know what we were seeing (rather than guessing at the history behind something!)Had a great time, and a great guide - would definitely recommend to others.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/24

Trip on time and which fulfilled my expectations...

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/24

Trip exceeded my expectations. I had the opportunity to see Thailand from a Thai persepective and Pam was just wonderful. Her passion for the guide role and for her culture was astonishing

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/24

Very nice experience. I loved the Grand Palace. It is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to. And all the Budas in Wat Pho were really interesting. FAscinating tour!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/24

We heard about Urban Adventures from a traveler we met in Phuket several days before going to Bangkok. Our guide, Pam, was so friendly and knew this section of Bangkok so well. We wandered down back streets that we would never venture down on our own. She was so sensitive to our needs and even though it was a walking tour, she hailed a Tuk Tuk at one point and a cab at another. She even took us back on the water taxi to where we could catch the hotel water taxi back home. We will definitely book another Urban Adventure next time we travel. Thanks!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/24

A lovely and varied way to spend a morning in Bangkok.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/24

Delightful guide, it was a pleasure spending the day with her, sharing in her city and her knowledge.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/24

Excellent trip around Bangkok, learned about the culture far more than just wandering around alone, and we saw unusual sights we'd never have seen otherwise. Our guide was excellent - funny and friendly. Thank you Jo!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/24

Excellent! The perfect way to see Bangkok !

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/24

Great tour and tour guide. I had a great time in Bangkok.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/24

I took this tour the first morning in Bangkok before a multi-day Intrepid tour. It was a great ways to explore the city and learn more about the culture while meeting other travelers (there were 4 in our group). Our guide was very knowledable and friendly. I really enjoy the longboat ride and seeing how people really live.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/24

Joe was an excellent guide, his passion and enthusiasm were infectious! I was the only person on the tour, so it was great to have the 1 on 1 interaction. The trip through the canals was great - would have been nice to see some markets). Visiting the palace and sleeping buddha was lovely, beautiful architecture and sights. Thanks for a very enjoyable day!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/24

Joe was great. Ended up being only me on the tour and he happily answered all of my questions. Learnt a great deal about thai life and bkks history. Very glad I did this tour, you get to know so much more about the city.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]