Ninh Binh Citadels and Trang An Day Tour from Hanoi with Cycling and Boat Ride reviews, Hanoi tours & activities, fun things to do in Hanoi | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Ninh Binh Citadels and Trang An Day Tour from Hanoi with Cycling and Boat Ride

Overall Rating

4.12 4.12 / 5

Reviews

8 reviews
Post a review

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/07/18

Fantastic day with Cuong who was a great guide. He was informative and funny. The bike ride was the highlight of the tour- I'm not a great cyclist but was able to manage and the group waited when I was a bit slow. We weren't bothered by touts which was a relief. The scenery on the bike and boat trip was superb. The boat area was quite crowded with locals being a Sunday. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

Excellent trip. I was the only person on it, so I had a guide and driver to myself.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

Felt that the sellers out on the river are ruining the experience for tourists, but do not blame Urban Adventures for that. Very enjoyable and informative day.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

In general it was a nice tour, we had a great time. But unfortunately we had not that much time to cycle, so just 20 minutes and then had to go back to Hanoi. I think the cycling was the best thing of the whole UA,because of the amazing landscape. The citadel and the karsts are a very touristy thing, very crowded and have kind of a sales-tour character because of all the tourists and locals trying to sell something, so these parts could have been shortened to have more time to cycle. We first went to the Citadel, then had lunch (which was not really tasty but okay), then went on the boat and then cycling. I talked to the other clients on this UA and they also thought, that the best part was the cycling and that this activity was way to short(just 20min instead of the 12km). Our guide Quang was really great, he had such a huge knowledge about the people, history and culture of everything and was really entertaining.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

Our guide was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The Citadels, Karsts and Cycle tour was a great way to get out of the bustle of Hanoi for a day in the country. The cycle was the best part, loved it. Thanks.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

Our guide was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The Citadels, Karsts and Cycle tour was a great way to get out of the bustle of Hanoi for a day in the country. The cycle was the best part, loved it. Thanks.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

Tau was a great guide and despite the misty weather the tour was fantastic. The bike ride was a great way to warm up, though the seats are a bit hard and some of the road was loose so it was quite a bumpy ride! The boat trip was fun, with a very lovely lady rowing the boat. Would recommend!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Harry, 2012/12/20

This was a great active tour. I was the only one one it that day. I was picked up on time at my hotel. It was a bit of
a long drive from the city due to the traffic,
about 1.5 hours each way, but the city
views, the country views, and the vibrant
traffic scenes were quite good. The transportation van was a Mercedes and
in good shape, and the driver was excellent.
On the drive out, there was the usual stop
for 30 minutes at a huge shop selling the usual crafts and souvenirs.
The visit to the temple involved a moderate
amount of walking, but was very interesting.
The bike ride was on main roads and small
side roads and through a village and the scenary was great. There was little traffic
on the roads. The bike was barely adequate, uncomfortable and the gears did
not work and the brakes were marginal. The
ride was flat, although even slight rises were
difficult since one was stuck in a high gear.
I did not feel overly safe on this bike. No
helmet was offered. The ride was about
12km (I opted for the longer ride) done in about an hour, as the guide set a fast pace
but I stopped when I wanted to take pictures.
Lunce was in a patio area at a large hotel and was a varied buffet selection of Vietnamese specialties including spring rolls, noodle dishes, rice, etc. There was
a selection of the local specialtiy: goat meat.
There was something for everyone. Drinks
were extra, but cheap.
The boat ride was fantastic, in a small punt
type craft with two rowers and two passengers. The passengers were allowed
to help row if they wanted. The ride took about two hours and was about 2.5 miles
each way, through beautiful scenary and three caves. At the halfway point there were
boats selling snacks and drinks at the local
cheap prices. It is normal then to buy a
little drink or snack for the rowers.
My guide was fairly good in telling me all
the details about the countryside, temples,
culture, etc.
My guide instructed me about what to tip
the boat rowers, the van driver, and made it
clear he wanted a good tip too. This guidance ended up in tips totalling about
25% of the tour cost, which was not unreasonable considering it had been a
private tour.
Overall, it was a very enjoyable outing into
the countryside to see some great scenary
and enjoy the fresh air.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]