This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Danube Valley Tour from Vienna with Admission to Melk Abbey

Overall Rating

4.384.38 / 5

Reviews

21 reviews (Post a review)

Very interesting and enjoyable.

Reviewed by: Y. Keidar, 2018/06/04

We enjoyed the scenery and tourist attractions visited - especially the Melk Abbey!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice trip, the villages and scenery were our highlight.

Reviewed by: Chris, 2018/06/01

We enjoyed the trip, however honestly with the warm beautiful weather, the highlights for us were the stop in the Wachau alley villages and the river cruise as opposed to the abbey itself.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We were a bit disappointed.

Reviewed by: TravelTheGlobe, 2018/05/26

Bus was clean, the boat was OK.
We were disappointed because we spent too much time in the bus travelling, there was very short time out. We did not go to see Krems, we did not go up in the Dürnstein castle ruins, we just watch them from outside. Also we had no time in Melk go to see the city.
Guide spoke interestingly, many of the information was not understandable or clear, we have to ask once we left the bus to confirm what he said. It was easy to recognise he doesn't like it.
There was half an hour walking in Dürnstein to the boat and on the way a very nice church but there was no chance to visit.
All together the journey was nice but we felt we missed many nice sights on the way. We spent the whole day with this journey and all we have seen was the Melk Abbey.
If you participate this tour be aware that the restaurant in Melk will be very busy and crowdy. We had to wait for table.
The whole boating time was about 90 minutes and we also thought we are going to return to Vienna with boat but it was with bus instead.
Personally we won't go more with this journey but we'll organise by our own next time.
Just one more note: once I paid this journey online the credit card company blocked my credit card, so I had no chance to use my credit card for 3 days because of Pentecost. When next labour day I asked them why they said because Veltra is on a list where they notes problematic companies.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rainy Day Cruise

Reviewed by: ChuckM-Berlin, 2017/10/28

Despite the cooler weather and intermittent rain, overall a good trip. Pick up from the hotel went well but the transfer to the bigger buses was a little confusing. We did eventually make it onto the right bus and enjoyed the guided bus tour to Spitz where we met our boat. Plenty of room on the boat. Good cruise up to Krems. Great tour of the Abbey and quite impressive. Our guide was very knowledgable throughout the bus, boat and Abbey tours. Would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely Day

Reviewed by: C J, 2017/10/15

Did what it said on the tin. Interesting and relaxing day

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Danube Boat Cruise & Melk Abbey Day Tour

Reviewed by: Lynn, 2017/10/04

We lucked out re: good weather for boat cruise which was delightful. There was not enough time at the Abbey to do justice to it & it was difficult to hear the guide. There was no time to tour the village. People had to pick between seeing either the Abbey or the village - not enough time for both. Lunch was rushed. We were very disappointed that the bus did not return us to the hotel where we were picked up & the fact that we would be dropped off "in a central downtown location" was not divulged until we were on our way back to Vienna. That was problematic & stressful as one of my party was disabled necessitating the additional time & expense of finding a taxi to get back to the hotel after an already long & busy day. Overall the tour was overpriced - not good value for the cost.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good tour - some suggested improvements

Reviewed by: A Van Ginkel, Canada, 2017/09/18

We enjoyed our tour of the Danube Valley and Melk Abbey. We were happy to have enough time to visit the town of Melk outside the Abbey. This turned out to be a highlight, along with the scenery of the Danube Valley.

The visit to the Abbey, together with the overview of trends in Austrian religious observance given on the bus ride back, was very informative, and enhanced our understanding of Reformation/Counter-Reformation history in Eastern Europe.

The return bus trip through hilly countryside, together with music recorded at the Abbey, was very enjoyable.

Some suggestions for improvement:

1. While the commentary was good, some musical interludes on the bus ride to Krems would help to prevent the overload of non-stop talking.
2. Ensure a shorter wait time for the cruise boat - this would allow for more time at Melk and less concern about missing the bus.
3. Talk with your cruise boat providers about improving food and beverage service - we spent too much time waiting for our strudel to arrive, instead of enjoying the scenery above deck.


  • A view of the town of Melk from the Abbey.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do trip from Vienna!

Reviewed by: CMcruiser, 2017/09/07

Wow - great experience on this tour! We were picked up at our hotel and transferred to a nice clean tour bus where a friendly tour guide met us. He gave us great details and instruction before we got into the scenic part of the Danube Valley. The Danube River Valley scenery, the river boat ride, and visit to Melk Abbey were amazing. When we got on the River Boat, a server
took drink and snack orders. Wine, Coffee Drinks, Soft Drinks and snacks were available on the top deck. The middle deck had a full service restaurant. We chose to have coffees and to eat upon arrival at Melk Abbey where there's a full service restaurant. The food there was great, along with quick service! Try the roast pork! We then met our English speaking guide where we had a guided tour of this active Abbey. Keep in mind no photography is allowed inside the Abbey. There's beautiful views and scenery outside where you can tak lots of photos! Also there's a great book and post cards for memory inside the gift shop at the end of the guided tour. We found the best deal for this tour on Veltra.com This tour was definitely worth the money we paid - I highly recommend this tour!







Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Diane, 2017/05/31

Tour was great, thouroughly enjoyable from beginning to end

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful day trip

Reviewed by: Roy, 2016/09/12

A must do trip if visiting Vienna; Melk Abbey is absolutely amazing; have seen many cathedrals and castles throughout Europe but this was breath taking

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent trip

Reviewed by: Nagy Benyamein, 2015/05/29

That was the best time of my trip and tours in Austria.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful View

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/19

During the cruise I was able to see the beautiful view of both river banks and later visit magnificent Melk monastery. The guide was fluent in English, French, Spanish and German - amazing.

<Translated by Veltra.com>


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very beautiful

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/19

We went in November, so instead of the cruise, we had a bus drive along the river. The monastery of Melk was incredible, especially the library.
The guide was explaining in 3 languages.
He was talking all the time so sometimes it was hard to follow, but overall he was a very good guide.

<Translated by Veltra.com>


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Romantic Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/19

It was very good.
I was able to go to the remote areas, not that easily accessible on your own.
Small villages in Wachau Valley were beautiful.
I was surprised how overwhelming the library of Melk abbey was.
Lunch was delicious.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: John, 2013/07/22

Great tour, Melk Abbey fabulous.

Boat tour somewhat spoiled by boat staff taking continual smoking breaks at the rear of the boat where we sat for the journey and could not avoid unless shifting.

Good guide...

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rochelle, 2013/06/26

Tour was interesting despite the tour guide. His English was poor and was in a terrible rush when we got off the coach - not once did he wait for all the tourists to get off the coach. He changed the meeting place and time without bothering to check that everyone knew the new arrangement. Not a tour guide to recommend.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Dalia, 2012/07/08

The tour was interesting. No food was provided, or even a snack on the boat. The guide was somewhat indifferent and unclear regarding the time and place of meeting to get into the abbey. I misheard him saying the time of meeting and the location and wandered in the garden coming toward the entry 10 minutes prior to the time intended just to find out that the group walked in not even looking for me. We had no group ID, and the number of groups was high, so no one had any sign as to how to recognize the participants. I had to ask a guide of a different group to assist, and she referred me to the group English leader. It was upsetting missed 20 minutes of the internal visit explanation. Overall, it was negligence, as i could have missed my connection in a different location. On the returned part of the trip, on the bus, i insisted that the guide drops me at the hotel. Luckily my hotel was on route to the drop off place, so the guide could not excuse himself from complying. In general, the English tour, was not a sole tour for English speakers, the guide switched from English to Spanish to Franch, thus creating confusion, and in my case misunderstanding regarding the time and place of meeting. It is misleading to promise an English tour, and in actuality speeding up from one language to another without any time for questions, or any other details.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: GEORGES, 2012/06/11

BONNE ORGANISATION
CIRCUIT SUR DANUBE SUPERBE
ABBAYE DE MELK VAUT LE VOYAGE

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: odile , 2011/11/18

We were only 2 french people in the bus and the guide would like to do it in english for us but i told Her that i have paid for this tour in french language and my friend doesn't speak well english so she does it at the end in french language and finily this guide speaks very well french

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Myra, 2008/10/11

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Richard, 2008/10/06

The boat ride down the Danube was everything we had hoped it would be. Finding the right bus to take us to the bus barn was an adventure. Not enough direction at the Vienna Opera House pickup site. Once we got there it was AMAZING!!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Vienna