This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Vienna City Sightseeing Tour with Schonbrunn Palace Skip-the-Line Ticket

Overall Rating

3.873.87 / 5

Reviews

23 reviews (Post a review)

Reviewed by: AIKATERINI, 2017/04/16

Well organized as always. Great guide
Thank you

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Giorgio Giuseppe, 2016/06/12

Ottimo tour ben organizzato anche se troppo veloce. Ci sono venuti a prendere in hotel e portati alla partenza del tour. Da lì, con guida in italiano, giro della città storica e trasferimento alla reggia estiva di Schonbrunn, dove siamo entrati senza fare la fila. Bella esposizione della parte imperiale di Maria Teresa e Francesco Giuseppe. Negativo: La nostra giuda doveva ripetere le cose anche in inglese. Sarebbe meglio fare tuor separati per lingua. Inoltre sarebbe meglio non perdere tempo nel tour in città (che si può fare con i bus hop on hop off) e dedicare più tempo alla reggia ampliando il percorso e il tempo libero per girare i giardini.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Brief intro to the city, in fact too brief, not fun.

Reviewed by: A. Lee, 2015/07/13

Being picked up at the hotel. Love the pick-up service, brilliant and convenient! Changed bus for your own language after arrived a large bus stop. Unfortunately, the tour guide of English and French was not friendly at all (monotone!). Seems like he hates his job, everything is memorized by script, and not willing to elaborate more about my questions. If he was willing to throw some fun facts out there, that would helped a lot for me to enjoy the tour. The bus went thru the city very quick without stopping, and again his intro of the city was dull and lack of interest. 1st stop was the palace. Very grand and the cafe was a good place to enjoy a cup of viennese coffee and have a pastry before you start the tour. Quick tour in the palace, very packed, again no time for you to enjoy the design of the palace. The tour guide said something about the view of the garden, but the windows were shut, could not even looked thru the window, ridiculous! The whole tour was quite rush. Hope it could slow down and let the tourists enjoy this beautiful city more! And instead of tell us the style of the architectures, tell us the history behind them! For instance, why neo-renaissance, why neo-barque? How did these genre being developed in Vienna? etc.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Silvia, 2015/06/24

Bellissimo giro in pullman, buona descrizione in italiano della città, il palazzo di Schonbrunn spettacolare, forse solo poco tempo per girare i giardini.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

splendide

Reviewed by: PHILIPPE, 2015/05/18

After pick up from the hotel,It was very easy , the driver who picked me was very kind we go for a transfer to the meeting point for a big bus with air con, then we start our visit on time. The tourist guide waited for us , she was bilingual, English end French speaking.. so nice to hear both explanation.She did a professional job.. many stories and exact explanations during the tour. She was very easy to understand.It was my first time I went for a tour, The tour began with visiting the main monuments and museum and other principal old specific attractions around the city. All this by bus with air co.The guide was so interesting and explained everything on the way and the driver was driving slowly, so we had time and It was able to take pictures.
After , mainly 45 minutes visiting we arrived at the Schoenbrunn Palace.
From the outside, its look very simple but the interiors are simply gorgeous. And the gardens are so beautiful
So We entered in the palace, we got headset to hear the explanations of our guide .
She explain so many details , room after room.the life of The House of Habsburg monarchy who was one of the most important royal houses of Europe.
Maria Theresa-Franz Joseph- and many others
it's not possible to remember all of them , but the palace reflects Maria Teresa's way of living. Then after the Palace we went to the Belvedere.The Belvedere is a historic building complex in Vienna, consisting of two Baroque palaces (the Upper and Lower Belvedere), the Orangery, and the Palace Stables. The building himself is very nice.
We stopped there , just the time for exterior photos.Then we went to our final destination : The OPERA. the Vienna State OPERA , dating back to the mid-19th century. It is located in the center of Vienna, REALLY, REALLY for the price who is not very expensive,
I learned a lot with this guided tour otherwise I would have missed a large part of the history of Austria and the the Habsburg Monarchy.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Massimo, 2015/04/13

Wien is a lovely city, SChonbrunn Palace is absolutely fantastic, visiting all of them with our guide Angela was an unforgettable experience!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luxurious

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/18

After pick up from the hotel, we had to change the bus at the Opera, then again at Vienna Southern Station and where the tour started.
It was the first time I went on an English tour, but the guide was easy to understand. The tour around the city was by bus.
The guide was polite and explained everything on the way and the driver was driving very slowly, so the timing was goos and I was able to take some pictures.
Schoenbrunn Palace looks very simple from the outside, but the interiors are simply gorgeous. We entered many rooms and it's not possible to remember them all, but the palace reflects Maria Teresa's way of living. It was very interesting to see simple exteriors and impressive interiors.
Most of other tourists were Europeans, and I felt international atmosphere.
The price is not very expensive, you get to see the UNESCO site with a guide so I think it's a good value for money.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mark, 2015/01/04

enlightening tour very enjoyable

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Inessa Shlifer, 2013/09/25

It was good in the sense that I was able to see Vienna as we were driving to the palace. The tour in the palace was not so good, because we were rushed though it, did not get to see gardens at all. It is best to have separate tour just for the palace, meaning that you have to get there by yourself without the group and with audio guide you will get much more.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: IRENE, 2013/08/16

La visite est trop courte ; on a pas vraiment le temps de visiter Schonbrunn palace

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Biswajit, 2013/07/26

The tour guide was excellent, the one in the bus showing the city, and the lady in the Schonbrunn palace - worth seeing. A must go trip.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rochelle, 2013/06/26

Very interesting and the tour guide was excellent.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: SUELY, 2013/05/12

The tour was too short , it must be longer and the guide was too rude, extremely impolite, she treated tourist in a terrible manner, she shouted all the time . I have never had such a unkind guide, I can't remember her name but you can find her because we were in the red tour and we enter the palace at 11:30h. Please teach her how to be nice.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Christina, 2012/12/26

Took the tour on December on a day that was too much fog on the City of Vienna. Nonetheless the tour was interesting. The guide
(Angela)was vere informative on each area we passed by and in Schonbrunn Palace. I recommended it should you want to have the first impressions on Vienna.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Nathan, 2012/09/11

Very very interesting tour for somebody not knowing Vienne; we have a general good view of the city with interressant explanations. Maybe not so long rthe time inschonbrunn, to be able to see mors slowly the general tour. It was said in english, OK, but rhe lady-guide was so nice, she explained also in french. So wonderful.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Brian, 2012/08/09

Guide was boring and lacked personality.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ennis, 2012/05/06

Our guide was informative and made the tour interesting! We really enjoyed the tour of Schonbrunn Palace. We even went back the next day to spend time in gardens and see the fountains.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Brigitte, 2012/04/22

the tour through schonbrunn was interesting and the guide well informed. however, the drive through vienna gave nearly no information and the guide spent more time trying to sell her book and dvd than focusing on narrating the actual tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Luis Augusto, 2011/05/08

The guide was very nice and explained every thing. his spanish and france are very well

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Philip, 2010/12/14

We only had a short weekend break in Vienna and decided that a tour around the city to point out the highlights would be great.

The palace was amazing, especially with the Christmas Market.

Our guide, Petra was very knowledgable and open to questions. Three hours passed extremely quickly.

Pick up from the hotel was an added bonus and extremely helpful and good idea.

Although the same trip is available from many tour operators at approximately the same price, i can happily recommend City Discoveries.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Elizabeth, 2010/10/06

guide knowedgeable. Prompt pick up.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Subhash Siddheshwar, 2010/07/11

Palace of Shonbrun is a must see heritage in Vienna & thank you for inclusion of the same in tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Paul, 2008/12/16

Very experienced,efficient guide with an intimate knowledge of Vienna. Modern, clean coach for sightseeing.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Vienna