This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Palace of Versailles Half Day Guided Tour from Paris

Overall Rating

4.414.41 / 5

Reviews

27 reviews (Post a review)

Attended as


Very good trip!

Reviewed by: NAVIGATIOTRAVEL, 2018/12/19

I am satisfied with organization and tours! Our tour guide was amazing, and we loved every moment of the tour. Highly recommend.


  • amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Versailles Half Day

Reviewed by: Elizabeth H., 2018/06/06

We spent the morning at Versailles. Our guide, Andre, was on time and very helpful. He provided us with information about the history of France during the drive, gave us suggestions about what not to miss, and always offered help with language barriers.
For our group, a half day was enough. Definately appreciated the front of the line passes, as the lines are long.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

perfect for independent travelers that want some guidance

Reviewed by: LCCali, 2017/11/27

This gave plenty of time to explore on your own as well as provide some good tips from the guide.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sioux, 2017/06/05

Our tour guide was great. Very knowledgeable ! And did his best to keep

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2017/05/13

Well organised / very informative - pick up prompt and internet booking reliable an absolute pleasure

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Iona, 2017/05/07

Our tour guide was amazing, and we loved every moment of the tour. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: THADDEUS, 2017/04/14

We were pleased to be picked up at our hotel and cabbed to the City Discovery Office-- we only wish all of the passengers on our excursion had the same arrangements, as we spent the first hour of our trip picking up others who didn't seem ready when the van pulled up. By the time we reached Versailles, we had about 90 minutes to view the gardens and take the tour. We got to skip the general public line, but still waited in the que as other groups entered and our Guide got organized. The palace itself is absolutely amazing, and our Guide was pretty knowledgeable. Our Driver made it sound like he could only drop us off at our hotel "if he had time", which thankfully he did. All in all, we liked the trip-- we just wish we could have had more time at Versailles.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Bernadette, 2016/09/21

fantastic tour and on the top of it beautiful hot day for septembre,magnus the tour guide was very good.myself from los angeles,my daughter and grandson from Arkansas,really enjoyed it!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Theodore, 2015/12/30

We were extremely satisfied. Pick-up at the hotel was a little late, but our guide (***) phoned us well ahead to inform us of the delay. She proved to be a very pleasant, helpful and well-informed guide (and an excellent driver). n

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Fiona, 2015/12/24

Perhaps the tour operator should make the meeting time at the finish 5 minutes before the departure time as like all groups someone is always late and carefree about being late - as was the case on our tour. A couple were 8 minutes overdue.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Camille, 2015/08/23

This was a small group tour and we had a fantastic tour guide. Very knowledgeable and friendly. Had enough time in the Palace but would have liked more time to explore the gardens and see the fountains. Would consider a full day tour if you want to fully enjoy both Palace and gardens.
Camille, Calgary

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Thomas, 2015/07/14

This tour was wonderful. The guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Seeing Versailles in a small group (8) was the only way to go!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Regina, 2015/07/11

The tour was fabulous and our guide was knowledgeable and very kind. The hotel pickup and drop off was convenient after a long day of sightseeing. It was a comfortable air conditioned van. The magnificence of Versailles was enhanced by the guided tour. I would highly recommend it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ronald, 2014/07/04

We had Eric all to ourselves because the others scheduled for the tour cancelled. Eric did a great job. he is well versed and personable. One look at Versailles and you understand what motivated the FrenchRrevolution.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Joan, 2014/07/03

Excellent trip with very knowledgeable and pleasant guide.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Marianne, 2014/06/30

Our guide made the tour fantastic. She had
a wealth of knowledge of French history and
presented it with flair and interesting facts.
Would highly recommend her to others.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Gary, 2012/10/23

A great way to get out of the city and see a little countryside and another town. Versailles is a lovely town. Great to see the famed Hall of Mirrors.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Russell, 2012/10/21

Upon arriving at the Cityrama office at the scheduled time of 1.45pm we were told there was some sore of mix up and the computer had us booked on the morning session. The afternoon didn't get much berrter from then on. After waiting up unitl the last second before being told there was space available then rushing to catch the bus, we were not getting that warm feeling.
The bus trip was fine plus informative as was the tour through the Versailles Area however it was so busy and packed it was difficult to appreciate what was on offer.

I would suggest doing some research to find out time that are less busy, travel there by your own means which will allow sufficient time to see the gereater area (6 hours should be fine).
Tour giudes were very freindly and professional.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rita, 2012/06/30

Great guide, described the sites as well as a good tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lynne, 2012/06/28

Our main complaint was that it was way to crowded. Our guide did her best to keep us together and provide her very good knowledge of this facility, but with so many others there, this feat was quite difficult.

It is an amazing palace and we were glad we saw it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jane, 2011/09/11

Everything went fine.

There were severe delays getting into the Palace, but that was not the fault of the tour company.
The guides were informative and friendly.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Feliciano Isaac, 2009/11/09

This is a no fuss way to go to Versailles- no more worrying about transportation to and from the place; no long lines to waste precious time on; a good english-speaking guide present, who imparts just the right amount of information, without overloading your brain. More time, to roam around the gardens and to queue up at the limited available toilets, would be a nice addition also.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Debra, 2009/01/28

It is a must do tour in Paris... the guide we had was Clair and she was so informative and made the tour even more fascinating. It is well worth the money and time... not all places allow you take photos, but in here you can.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Peter, 2008/08/21

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: ANITA, 2008/06/18

The tour itself was good - Versailles Apartments was crouded. Earlier maybe a better choice.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Debra, 2008/06/04

Only suggestion is adding headsets so we can all hear the tour guide and do not have to crowd in right on top of him when crowded. this is my second tour here with cityrama and both times we had to be huddled together to hear him over the crowd. Our guide did a wonderful job and he answered all questions !

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jolanta, 2007/11/07

The lady-guide was excellent, very knowledgeable.She was also very nice and helpful.
Great tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Paris Categories