This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Munich Classical Concert at Residenz Chapel with Tour and Dinner Options

Resident Chapel concert with gourmet dinner

Reviewed by: Martha, 2018/10/15

Marvelous flute playing, along with the violin and cello accompaniment. The space was made for it. The gourmet dinner following was superb.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing welcome to Munich

Reviewed by: Dave G., 2018/09/19

The highlight of our 3 days in Munich! The musical performance was fabulous, especially Karsten Gebhardt's breathtaking execution of Vivaldi's Winter from The Four Seasons. We felt as if we were listening to a 20-piece orchestra! The Residenz Chapel was a perfect venue. Our dinner afterwards at The Garden Restaurant at the Bayerrischer Hof Hotel was also exquisite, and our escort from the Residenz to the restaurant (Maxim) could not have been more gracious. What a way to start our first stay in Munich. The only improvement we would suggest is clearer signage outside the Chapel and much more detailed directions from your ticket company. We struggled with locating the venue since the portal was very subtle. Otherwise, the evening was fabulous!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great music in a wonderful setting

Reviewed by: music lovers , 2018/09/06

We were very pleased to be able to attend a classical music concert in early September - a time when regular fall classical music seasons haven't started yet. The musicians were excellent, the venue charming, and the Veltra staff very well organized and helpful.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pleasant solo concert

Reviewed by: Chris, 2018/07/18

The venue was difficult to find. We had to ask numerous staff at the Residenz before we found someone who knew where it was. Unfortunately the entrance door is not well signed and only open around 30 minutes before the performance.

While the quality of the piano soloist was good, we were disappointed that it was just a solo. I was expecting a small group of players. There was also no introduction or announcements of each piece of music. The pianist simply walked onto stage and started playing. Seating was not comfortable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Magic classical music in a very beautiful place. What can be better?

Reviewed by: Musa, 2017/11/18

Enjoyed a concert performed by three professional musicians in the very heart of Munich. Everything was just good - meeting at the doors, nice ambiance, great performance.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

good news, bad news

Reviewed by: xcskijoe, 2016/09/17

First the good news. A beautiful chapel, and very nice about 1 hour program of chamber music. This time a harpsicord and oboe duo, nicely chosen material, very enjoyable. I have been there once before, and ensemble varied, but enjoyed both programs.

Now the bad news. Program was delayed about 10 minutes so that a large tour group could arrive. Best places one one side in the front had been reserved for this group. The members of the group spent the first few minutes of the concert taking flash pictures, very distracting needless to say.

Unfortunately based on this experience would hesitate to go back.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

intimate setting, beautiful performance

Reviewed by: xcskijoe, 2015/09/28

this concert was part of a series performed in the Hofkapelle located in the Residenz in Munich. The chapel provides a beautiful setting for a concert. On the night I attended, a selection of works by Haydon, Beethoven, Mozart, and Vivaldi was performed by a trio of harpsichord, cello, and violin. The acoustics in the chapel are good, and the performance was memorable. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Everybody should come to this concert!!

Reviewed by: Miyuki, 2015/09/24

This quartet played famous classical music too. So I was more attracted to their perfomance.
In particular, when I listened to 'Adagio für Streicher'(composed by T.Albinoni), I moved to tears. Also it seemed that all of audience felt the same as me, spontaneous applause broked out at the end of this performance.
(Generally speaking about classical music, audience applauded every some songs.)

Some said that this place wasn't easy to find on the internet. But I didn't think.
Everyone goes towards two lions statues, then you find the entrance soon. As for me, I worried about wondering there, I made use of Apple maps navigation.
THANKS to this website, everybody can take a good deal to listen to great music.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Terrific night

Reviewed by: Sonya, 2015/05/14

This is my first night in Munich.On my way of a business trip,I chose to make a quick stop to my sister's place.Under her hospitality,before a great dinner, we went a high-quality concert in a beautiful church.I was very happy,or say more than touched to attend this concert.It is a feast of ears,eyes and souls.Not far from the hustle and bustle square,one could easily find a piece of calm and peace in a small alley.It is there I had a amazing evening.In a well-furbished historical church,the acoustic effect of the string quartet makes everything sublime.Not to mention how dynamic the string quartet is .From the leading violin to cello.It is easy to see how expressive they are.The cooperation among them make the music flow.Together the repertoire,the music ,the presentation,the acoustic effects made my terrific night that i would never forget.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wondering experience

Reviewed by: Iris, 2015/05/14

This is my first time joined a concert in Munich.I went there with my husband ,my sister and a little baby.We all have a wonderful time there.Inside the Residenz is so beautiful and the melody make us impressed.We feel a little bit worry at first when we decided to bring our baby with us , but the reception staff there is really nice and welcomed.I think the baby enjoy the concert,too!The performance is really great,The W.A. Mozart is my favorite musician,I feel so touch and relax when I heared Divertimento Nr.3F-Dur.I really recommend this concert,and I am pretty sure next time when I go to munich, I want to go there again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

nice experience

Reviewed by: Chin-Jen Lin, 2015/05/14

My wife, baby, and I spend one hour wonderful time there. The concert hall just near Marienplatz so is easy for us to get there. It is a small hall but I impress how high quality of sound effect it is. The music seems penetrate my ear and resonate my heart directly. I am not a concert fan but still I enjoy listening very much. Among these beautiful melodies I especially like "Kanon für Streichquartett". I had ready familiar with this melody but sill touch my heart again. Sitting in front of the performer I realize it is totally different than just listen music at home. I strongly recommend you to take a visit here when in Munich.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Concert and the Residenz

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/27

We booked a concert and the Residence tour.
The atmosphere of the church concert was very intimate and the performance was wonderful. They played many famous pieces of Mozart, Vivaldi, Bach etc.
We were astonished by a 10 year old girl playing violin! She was amazing!
The church was full of tourists from all over the world, there was literally no seat left.
It was March, but in the evening the church got pretty cold, so a scarf was useful.
The staff was very nice and helpful.

The Residence is closed after the concert is over, so we recommend to take it slow and visit the next day (you can visit the residence up to 5 days after the concert). The most impressive was the treasury.
They will ask you to leave your backpacks and purses in the cloakroom.

Overall, I highly recommend both the concert and the residence!

<Translated by Veltra.com>


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Concert

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/27

We booked a concert ticket only.

Meeting time is the same as doors open time.
Seats are non-reserved, so you can sit in a place where you can see the chapel well or pick a spot where you can hear the music well.

The time we went it was string trio performing.
Bach, Vivaldi, Schubert and Mozart's pieces were played.
The sound vibrated in the chapel and it was really impressive.
It has become a very good memory.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I recommend it

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/27

I visited the palace on a different day than the concert, so I had a lot of time to fully explore it.
I watched the concert from the balcony in the chapel and it was really impressive. It was a great experience.
The restaurant that we went for dinner was quite famous and I read an article about it in a magazine before. Very relaxed and fun atmosphere. I was also able to taste many varieties of beer.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]