Florence City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off Tour reviews, Florence tours & activities, fun things to do in Florence | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Florence City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off Tour

Overall Rating

4.13 4.13 / 5

Reviews

47 reviews
Post a review

A handy way to get around town but more info would be better

Reviewed by: Lee, 2018/08/13

We had been in Florence for a couple of days when we decided to book this excursion having used Hop on - Hop off buses in lots of other cities.

As Florence has no cars in the centre we wanted to start the journey in the middle of the route - when I spoke to Hop on - Hop off they said that wasn't possible, we had to go to the start point 'at least an hour in advance' !! When I bought the ticket from Veltra it said quite clearly that you could start the journey anywhere, which we did and there was no query at all.

Florence is a really historic city and there are so many beautiful sights, buildings and architecture to see yet the audio was very sparse, which was really disappointing - there was music played through the headphones for the majority of the route and very often when you were actually getting information of points of interest the driver would talk over the audio to tell you of an approaching stop!

Be aware that the bus is not allowed in the very heart of Florence so won't take you past the Dome and many of the main attractions.

Having used these buses in other cities I must say I was disappointed.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Magnificent city.....impecabile service

Reviewed by: Keith, 2018/06/20

We practically reached every destination that we could not do on foot with hop on hop off. The app turned out to be very efficient and the staff very helpful. Great service

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yes and no

Reviewed by: Annette , 2018/05/19

The employees were great! The recorded commentary was so far off timing from the actual position of the bus as to be nearly useless. If you already knew where you wanted to go it would be fine.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Poor ticketing procedure

Reviewed by: Greg Den Elzen, 2017/10/13

The staff at the tourist information shop at central station were not very helpful or knowledgable about the ticketing. The website states that you can purchase the tickets at the store if you show proof of payment (coupon on iPhone). However, they said this was not possible and we were to get it on the bus.
When boarding the bus, I had to pass my mobile phone over to the ticket operator and it took quite some time to be issued with our tickets. During this time we missed a period of viewing with no head phones.
I am sure it is quite common for people to book on line but not have access to s printer. You need to improve your ticketing procedure.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Greg,
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you had some issues with the ticketing. Your mobile voucher should have been accepted at the Visitor Center and a printed version of the ticket should have been printed for you there. We made sure the activity provider is aware of this issue and all steps will be taken to improve the service for future customers. We hope however that you enjoyed the tour of Florence!
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Christopher, 2017/05/18

There is quite a lot of Florence which is extremely interesting, and quite a lot which just isn't.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: ANTONY, 2017/05/04

Thoroughly enjoyed both our trips on the Florence Hop on Hop Off Tour. Collection points convenient. Plenty of places to get on and off. Able to see all the sights. Only problem on the Sunday of our tour the bus was late in arriving at our stop due to a cycle race. Commentary excellent.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: ANTONY, 2017/04/28

Easy to find the stops. Both busses were well equipped and the commentary very easy to hear.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Elena, 2017/03/20

Amazingly good!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Hamza, 2016/07/24

Very good experience overall, it was a very efficient way to go around the city plus get a brief introduction through audio guide. What made our experience less joyful, that one of the buses that start the round every hour had some problems and didn’t show up, and giving that we only booked the 24 hours tour, one hour really makes a difference

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Dieter, 2016/04/28

We want to thank again the driver who was incredibly kind by giving his jacket to our little boy during the cold night tour!!!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: MARCIO, 2015/08/02

Sempre que adquiri tour pela CityDiscovery a facilidade e presteza no atendimento foram 5 estrelas;

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: METE, 2015/07/24

I made two reservations for two cities in Italy. And probably will make the 3rd reservation for another city. During my reservations, I saw that adult and children ages section were different for two cities. May be it should be same for all cities. Also I think that, you may give more discount to customers which make reservations for different locations in one time. Order procedure was easy, information regarding tours was enough. Thank you.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Carl, 2015/05/27

Did two complete circuits out of the three available because we did not want to do much walking. The weather was great so sat upstairs. The commentary and views were great and gave a really good appreciation and feel for the city.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Marta, 2015/04/13

I am very satisfied with your service and as for now I don't have any complaints about it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: patrick, 2014/07/30

The Hop On Hope off is a very good way to tour especially if you have limited time. I is easily to get on the bus and the wait times are reasonable. I was in a hurry to cover as much area sites as poosible and this worked out very well.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sylvie, 2014/07/29

very satisfy

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: COLIN, 2014/07/11

Easiest way to see the sights good value

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Warren, 2014/06/15

We routinely use these hop on hop off busses in every major city we visit as an orientation to the city. And we are always pleased. From Vancouver to Barcelona to Florence...all good.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: John, 2014/05/31

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of Florence on your buses. While Barcelona was my daughter's favorite, Florence definitely was mine. The staff on your buses were professional and courteous. We highly recommend using your tours wherever they are available throughout Europe. We also toured on your busses in Rome and Barcelona. Thanks for the experiences.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Karen, 2014/02/17

But, the sound track was terrible. It simply could not be heard as it had a lot of static. On many of your busses in different city we found this to be the case with varying degrees. Also if you have an English translation then please use a person that speaks without a heavy (French/Italian) accent. The music is really really annoying!! The announcements by your driver/guide are extremely loud compared to your other commentary and so you have your ears blasted when the next stop is announced. A lot of the staff are not very friendly or helpful as advertised. They appear to be just going through the motions. Some of the ear plug terminals do not work at all. The routes were excellent and what we saw was great and the buses were on time.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: rekha, 2013/09/06

It was nice that Florence had 3 different routes we could choose from.
The narration was clear and easy to understand. Most of the staff were pleasant.
Some of them were curt.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sandra, 2013/08/13

Tour was great!
Headsets not work very well.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: MARY ANNE, 2013/06/26

It takes a long time to wait for the next bus.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Dianna Lynne, 2013/05/11

Great way to see the city, the audio provided lots of information. Bring your own earphones if you want a more quality sound.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Brian, 2013/04/04

We meant to do this at the start of our time in Florence but ended up doing it at the end. It filled in lots of facts about the city we came to love.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Pat, 2012/11/19

The tour itself was interesting and well worth it. The only problem was that there were decals all over the windows and you couldn't see out. There were also not very many places to sit on the bottom level and so many blind spots you missed most of the sights.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Christine, 2012/10/11

We bought a 2 day hop on bus ticket for our visit to Florence. We really enjoyed the long trip to Fiosele on Monday 1st October. We were very disappointed on the 2nd October when we waited for 20 mins for the city trip. the bus did not turn up. We were told by a shop keeper that the buses were on strike. This was confirmed after a long walk back to the hotel. There had been no warning and no notices.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Robert, 2012/09/05

Pass covered both city bus tours and covered us for 48 hours, excellent way of viewing city note borders city centre. Commentary OK but could have been better.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Steve, 2012/08/24

We did both hop on hop off buses, one for 1 hour then later the two hour ride. The views were excellent, except that where we sat on both buses the plug in audio did not work so had no idea what we was looking at. Shame really.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Violeta, 2012/05/10

Excellent 2 hours trip with wonderful views of Florence, I highly recommend the longer A line because of Fiesole visit – excellent!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]