Naples, Capri, Sorrento and Amalfi 5-Day Trip from Rome with Pompeii Visit reviews, Rome tours & activities, fun things to do in Rome | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Naples, Capri, Sorrento and Amalfi 5-Day Trip from Rome with Pompeii Visit

Overall Rating

4.28 4.28 / 5

Reviews

18 reviews
Post a review

Over-rated

Reviewed by: Tony , 2018/09/21

Too rushed in Capri, blue grotto was anti climax and waste of time. We were rushed in Capri and then we spent half an hour waiting for the bus, when instead we could do some shopping and the trip ended so early 3pm. Drive from Sorrento to Amalfi made us car sick, driver rushing and no chance to take scenic pictures. La Bussola poor wifi. Overall the coastal resorts are too crowded and over rated.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Easy way to travel

Reviewed by: Merryn , 2018/06/09

Pick up in Rome via private van due to bus strike. Placed in a van with non English speaking passengers and driver and no guide, she was in the other van. Drive to Naples was therefore just a drive as I was unable to understand the driver or the other people.
Hotels, meals and included tours were great and value for money. No hassle with finding transport as it's organised for you.
Different guides meet you for pick up and drop off's.
No guide or tours in amalfi so you are on your own.
Would not recommend as a solo traveller as it is very couple orientated at the hotels for dinner and breakfast.
If you are happy with your own company then it's a great tour, if you wanted to meet other solo travellers, I'd try another tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kristina, 2017/10/20

Was a very good tour and priced very well. Amazing scenery on the Amalfi coast. The only negative was the second hotel we stayed in was La Bousalla. While the location was good the hotel is definitely not a 4 star. We must have had the worst room in the hotel facing the road and the room smelt like sewerage. Beds were not comfortable and it was tiny. The food was decent though. The other people on our tour got a much nicer hotel at the Excelsior but we must have drawn the short straw. We also missed out on the blue grotto on Capri
Island due to the weather which was very disappointing. A good value tour though.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Robert, 2017/07/18

The tour was well organised, the hotels scenic and the activities well paced and interesting. We had plenty of time to look around the Amalfi coast and relax which was exactly what we wanted to do.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Normand, 2017/07/17

The first stop In Napoli is the low light. Every other stop is in order of increasing delight. The Amalfi coast is just amazing and the hotels you're signed up in are excellent. Once in Amalfi, get the ferry schedule to go to Positano and Ravello. Real easy.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2017/06/22

Well conducted tour with great coverage of places of interest. History amazing and guides with good English and very up with it in terms of knowledge. Would recommend this tour to others.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2017/06/05

Nice accommodations and plenty of things to do.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jorge, 2016/09/05

Muy buena atención, hoteles, traslados, guías, comidas. Sólo dos observaciones: 1. No estuvo bueno el recorrido en Nápoles (breve y poco interesante) . 2. Hubiera sido bueno contar con un par de horas más en Capri. Lo demás super recomendable. Gracias.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Christine, 2016/05/07

Would have liked some time to wander at Pompeii. Give a time to back at the bus. This felt rushed. Got no time at the museum at the end and then sat around for a long period waiting at the bus.
The accommodation was excellent.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: geoffrey, 2015/02/15

Our enquiry was handled with satisfaction .many thanks

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Helio, 2014/06/02

We loved it! Good hotels, good food and good organization. Just an observation: in Amalfi it would be good if there were suggestions and options to visit Positano and Ravello.
We have visited both cities by our own and we loved them. We went and came back from Positano by ferry and we recommend it. Beautiful views and a pleasant trip.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: MIGUEL ANTONIO, 2014/04/05

Obrigado city Discovery pelo melhor tour da minha vida, hotéis maravilhosos e por sobre tudo pessoas muito profissionais para nos atender.
Segurança de expectativas amplamente superadas.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Franz, 2013/05/15

I recommend this tour, speciallity for a couple. The travel is so romantic and is beatiful this coast. Hotels are 4 stars, with a beatiful sight (specially in Amalfi). Also you can take a local bus or a tour bus (toristik) to go to Positano and Ravello. Really, the price of this tour is worth it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rick, 2013/04/16

Overall this was a good tour. The best parts were the transportation and the tours of Capri and Pompeii. The worst part was the fact that we NEVER received an itineray that had TIMES for the activities/pick-ups. As a result, we had to rely on the hotels and in Amalfi the time was off by about 90 minutes plus the driver was late. Parts that need improvements include the Naples walking tour (practically non-existent - 20 minutes out, 25 minutes back, see three sites) and the meals. Marco was fabulous in Capri.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Chin Ching, 2012/06/16

Hi we are from Malaysia. It was an amazing experience! We were lucky to experience Blue Grotto in Capri and the ski lift was awesome! Sorrento and Amalfi are gorgeous places! The driver made a short stop at Positano, super gorgeous little town. The entire journey to Amalfi, the view is to die for!! You just can't stop snapping pix! All the hotels we stayed were very nice with good meals and fantastic view! Sorrento - Grand Hotel Vesuvio & Amalfi -The Excelsior hotel amalfi. Love the creamy butter from Grand Hotel Vesuvio. Really missing it!
Overall, the trip was worth the money we paid for the trip. We were well informed by the guide on timing especially during our trip to Capri, she was very detailed & helpful. She will also tell you to not to shop at places as the price was pricey. You must also go to Ravello during your free time in Amalfi. Beautiful little small town. Naples stop was nothing much. Only one complaint to make, on our day transfer back to Pompeii from Amalfi, the driver was speeding in the winding road! It was pretty scary.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Maretha, 2012/04/13

We would have prefer to stay 3 nights in Sorrento and one night in amalfi because you can do much more in Sorrento and by the time we reach Amalfi we have already done most of the day tours that depart from Amalfi.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: GEMMA , 2011/11/01

The tour in amalfi should include guided tour in positano and ravello than leaving the tourists to see these places on their own. There is too much time given to them to be on their own,thereforeto giving them the worth of what they paid for.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Paul, 2010/07/31

Great hotels, food, private limousine transport from Sorrento to Amalfi and return to Pompeii. Competent and well organized tour guides. Our favourite was Marco who skillfully steered us around Capri.
** The tour buses are too large for the narrow, windy cliffside road to Sorrento. They're a danger to other vehicles and the bus passengers.
** Drop the visit to Sorrento's inlaid furniture makers. Give us more time on Capri.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]