This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Small Group Colosseum Skip the Line Tour with Roman Forum & Palatine Hill Visit

Overall Rating

4.594.59 / 5

Reviews

133 reviews (Post a review)

TOUR OF COLOSSEO , FORUM AND PALATINE HILL

Reviewed by: jean, 2018/11/20

We enjoyed our 3 hour tour with an excellent guide whose English was excellent and her knowledge equally so. She communicated it very well indeed. The pace was not to slow but we got to see everything. We felt we had had a thorough visit.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Colosseum Palitine and Forum

Reviewed by: Susan, 2018/06/17

Good guide gave us good facts and information saw Caesar's tomb, the Vestal Vergins house and the private arena on the Palitine hill very interesting. Go in the am it's pretty warm by noon

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient history comes to life!

Reviewed by: Jeff & Nancy, 2018/06/09

Our guide met us at the appointment spot, and it was a relief to skip the lines and begin our tour!

We had a close up and personal tour of the Colosseum, although it was a very busy place with the many tours going on. Our knowledgeable guide kept us together, and gave thorough explanations of all we were seeing at the Colosseum , the Roman Forum and the Palatine Hill.

We had a perfect day, and the experience was very educational. You had a sense of stepping back in time and a better understanding of life in the time of the Roman Empire. Wear good walking shoes!


  • The Colossem!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour well worth it I’d

Reviewed by: Christopher Eddy, 2018/05/29

I thoroughly recommend this tour especially if you don’t like queuing in line. It was extremely busy but we moved along At good pace. There is a fair bit of walking which was not strenuous .

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun hand in hand with education ...

Reviewed by: Adriana, 2018/02/22

This tour was great, our guide Massimo loves history, he is good story teller and I was not bored for not a second of 3 hours time we spent with him. We took this tour 2years ago so I thought it would be more less the same, but it was absolutely different experience, new informations put in different way - so we did not waste our time. And I think , next time we are in Rome, maybe we will take this tour again .

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Al, 2017/10/23

Guide very knowledgeable and kept things moving. The newer bluetooth ear pieces did away with the throw away ear buds which were easiler to use

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: , 2017/08/30

Great Tour, knowledgeable and informative guide

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Des, 2017/06/05

Great tour, great guide. Such a fascinating site with so much Information to take in. Good tip to arrive early before trip and have a snack at the cafe outside the metro, it's excellent and offers the perfect viewpoint for the colosseum. Remember to wear a hat if you visit in sunshine as it can be a very hot tour. As usual when visiting anywhere this popular the toilet queues can be very long so be prepared.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Liam, 2017/06/04

Very knowledgeable guide excellent tour

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Marleen, 2017/05/21

No specific comment everything was good.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: KRISHNAN, 2017/05/15

Mr.Alex was our Guide and t our started on time .Colosseum was splendid followed by tour of Roman Forum & Palantine hill . His explanations were very nice . My purse was pick pocket with in first 10 minutes of colosseum tour , possibly at first stop . Only suggestion , I will have is to say that Guide should Keep mentioning about the pick pocketing & word of caution.I am sure they have ability to spot suspicious people when walking with the Group in that crowed place! Thiefs are skilled and. Took only cash and dropped back the wallet in to bag! Content very and The way tour was managed Was Professional.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Philip, 2017/05/08

The Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill tour was our second booked through CityDiscovery, the 1st was the Vatican. This tour was excellent for a variety of reasons; the tour guide (outstanding), the headset and microphone (much better quality), the route and pace of the tour. The only thing that I suggest that should be pointed out is the security check point is very detailed and the biggest choke point at the entrance to Palatine Hill.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Clair, 2017/04/30

Excellent.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jan, 2017/03/25

Informative and well paced

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lynsey, 2017/03/24

The meet point was very easy to find the bus we caught stopped right outside. The staff were very welcoming, the tour was very good & was so interesting to learn so much about all the different places we visited

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2017/03/11

Great value for money. Very informed and entertaining guides. Recommended very highly.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: MATTHEW, 2017/02/22

Great commentary, would highly recommend, thanks Hilaria!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mark, 2017/02/09

Couldn't have asked for a better tour guide. Nicolas was very informative, funny and made the tour come to life. Would definitely recommend this tour and is a must to do. The tour lasted about 3 and a half hours but was worth every minute of it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Gladys, 2017/02/02

Our guide was Paulo and he was funny, informative and couldn't fault him in any way a really enjoyable tour

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Patricia, 2017/01/15

Our guide Alex was FANTASTIC!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Michael, 2017/01/12

good tour guide and very intersting

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Time efficient tour

Reviewed by: hammer, 2016/11/29

This tour gave us a great opportunity to visit Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill for a short time. Colosseum is a famous tourist destination but we didn't have to be in a long queue. The guide was very kind and knowledgeable about architecture and history. Rome is a brilliant city with a lot of sightseeing sites so I strongly recommend to join the tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Diane, 2016/10/08

This was an extremely informative tour given by our tour guide Livia who was excellent. We skipped the line but you still get crowds inside the attractions. We walked at a reasonable pace and had plenty of time to take photos. But you do cover a lot of ground and stop only for a loo break about half way round. Be aware that you cannot take bottles with water in them into the Colosseum so we had to drink up or pour the water away! There are water fountains in the Forum where you can refill your bottle.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Eliana, 2016/10/08

The tour was fantastic. The guide gave a espetacular explanation about the reality of Colosseum and other fields which we walked through.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Robert, 2016/07/07

Very clued up and friendly guide

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: James, 2016/06/29

Marti was the best tour guide ever!! Loved her, she kept everything fun and interesting for the entire 3 hours, You are very lucky to have her as one of your guides, we enjoyed the whole experience!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Richard, 2016/06/28

The tour guide did not give us an opportunity to visit the Souvenir Shop. Once we were outside of the Colosseum, we did not have the tickets to re-enter the site.
We travelled thousand of miles and wanted to purchase mementos from an official store.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mihaela, 2016/06/11

A must Do tour if you get in Rome.....very good & knowledgeable guides, Etto was talking for 3h, giving us lots of names, dates, info about Colloseum that we definitely wouldn't had found it even in the books..... great day out in Rome!!! Try it!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lyndel, 2016/06/04

Our guides knowledge on architecture was incredible, it helped to understand the building immensely, full of enthusiastic knowledge thank you

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Debbie, 2016/05/23

Excellent, fast service. would highly recommend and would use again when necessary.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |