Ghosts and Mysteries of Rome Night Guided Walking Tour reviews, Rome tours & activities, fun things to do in Rome | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Ghosts and Mysteries of Rome Night Guided Walking Tour

Overall Rating

4.54 4.54 / 5

Reviews

26 reviews
Post a review

Reviewed by: Richard, 2017/05/12

This tour is amazing and so interesting. Definitely value for money. Blitch was an excellent guide, very knowledgable, friendly and funny.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Richard, 2017/05/01

Really enjoyed the tour, Blitch was great, very engaging, good humor, and very knowledgeable. It's a great stroll and great time.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Paul, 2016/03/16

relaxed and fun way to spend an evening. Not too far to walk either

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Arne Christian, 2015/07/09

The tour showed historical parts and stories knewer knowed or noticed in Rome without this splendid local guide Barbara. Its easy to notice she is a local. And she also makes us tourist care about the historical people of her citys past when she speaks about them. She also has good knowledge of the art around town. These are the types of guides City-discovery should take good care for.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Matt, 2014/08/29

While in Rome we were looking for something a little different to do on a night time.

As my wife and I are fans of the macabre and horror films this tour seemed like the perfect post dusk activity.

Our tour guide was an ex-pat American who had been in Rome for a few years. A mainly amicable guy he took us around various parts of the city telling tales of some of Rome's more gruesome stories.

Unfortunately it did seem that he was mostly reciting a sc<x>ript read many times before. There was little personality or perceivable off the cuff commentary provided while we wandered the streets.

As a walking tour we were expecting to be doing a lot of walking. But, with this tour we only visited about five fairly close together spots of the city, so for those with an aversion to exercise this won't be a bad choice.

All in all, a good tour that could have been made even better with a bit more character.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Charlotte, 2014/08/06

Loved this tour. We saw parts of Rome and leant things about the city that we never would have otherwise. The tour guide was very approachable and very enthusiastic about the history she spoke about. I defiantly recommend doing this tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Marta, 2014/05/20

The tour was really great, Giolop, our guide, was passionate and knowledgeable, truly gifted in what she was doing. She kept her stories interesting and engaging, and didn't lose our attention for a second. We left thrilled and were so happy to have chosen to do this! Also a great way to check out some great spots of Rome that you would have never seen/known about. Would definitely recommended this tour

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Charlotte, 2014/02/01

I always like doing night time ghostly/creepy tours so had to whilst I was in Rome. We had a lovely tour guide Peter who made the tour very interesting. It is not the best tour I have ever experienced for being dark, but it was still very enjoyable and I would recommend it if you're into that sort of thing!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Gabbi, 2013/06/23

This tour was fun, ghostly stories, bad Christians and a lovely walk around the city at night.
Daniel (I think that was his name haha) was a great guide, he was funny (probably a sc<x>ript) but he had some great information about Rome, places to eat and places to visit.
The tour itself was interesting, and some great stories and random facts!

It is a great tour, something you should make space for!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: James, 2013/06/19

This is a must do. The guide was enthusiastic and our three boys (ages 10,8, and 6) were totally captivated. You see so much more of the city on this tour and in a different light- Rome is a much different place at night. We enjoyed this tour so much we've booked the Dark Heart of Paris tour for next month.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/06/03

The Dark Heart of Rome tour was very ineresting and gave me inspiration to explore new sides of Rome. Our tour guide was very nice and including towards the whole group. She talked loud and clear and made sure everyone understod her. Fantastic tour! I would highly recomend it!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/06/03

Daniel was very friendly and knowledgable and coped very well when a couple of people joined the tour who couldn't speak english so a fellow attendee kindly translated what he was saying.Although kind this was quite distracting for him but he was very professional in dealing with it. The pace was also just right and the information he gave was both informative and interesting and delivered with humour. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/06/03

Massimo is awesome! We had him for this tour and the trip to Pompeii and he made both experiences very enjoyable. He was always really excited about what we were doing and that translated into everyone having a very good time.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/06/03

Very very enthusiastic about her tour. She told great stories about the various dark places we visited and it was something different and unique. Its not the type of tour you do to find out about the regular stuff in rome. This is off the beaten track and gives one a whole different perspective of shady characters that have lived in Rome over the past 1000 years or so. Fantastic !!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/06/03

Really enjoyed the tour, it was like being shown around by a friend rather than a tour guide. Because Gio was SO enthusiastic we learned an awful lot about the city. Only 'complaint' was that it went by too quickly, could easily have been an hour longer! I'm normally someone who avoids guided tours because I don't like admitting I'm a tourist, but having done 3 Dark Rome tours on my recent short trip to Rome I realise that I've been missing out! Skipping the lines accompanied by a knowledgeable local makes such a difference. Many thanks, would recommend without hesitation and would definitely use Dark Rome Tours again!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/06/03

Peter was an wonderful tour guide, entertaining and informative and had an excellent grasp of the history and legends that he was imparting to us. I especially appreciated the fact that he made sure that we all were on our way home safely (offering tips on bussing/taxis/metro) as it was late at night when the tour finished up.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/06/03

Excellent. Perfect English. Great guide and we really appreciate being able to understand everything he was saying. He made the stories come alive!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/06/03

Very knowledagle and plesant. He was very good at geting us the information we needed in reagards to the children in the group.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/06/03

Graham had a range of ages on the tour and managed to keep the young engaged as well as the older guests. He had just the right tone for each of his tales. We loved the presentation of the Bruno story and the pointing out of the Madonellas. We spent the rest of our trip spotting them. Many thanks.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2013/06/03

She was amazing! This was our last tour before heading out of Rome and it was well worth it. I will highly recommend anyone to have Gio as their guide tour

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Peter , 2012/06/26

Was a great tour and recommend it to anyone! Even the rain didn't ruin it! Our tour guide was enthusiastic and friendly and we learnt interesting things about Rome im sure we wouldn't have learnt anywhere else!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: sharman, 2011/11/15

Our guide was a very good story teller. The stories and information I learned on this excursion are things that I never knew about Rome, and likely to never forget. Brings some of the history to life.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lina, 2011/10/06

It was interesting, but it was more of a nighttime tour of Rome than a Dark tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jana, 2011/08/19

The guide was very entertaining. A great way for a family to see the city at night.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rachael, 2010/11/21

Very interesting tour, takes you around the parts of rome which you would visit but not know true truth about the place.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Robert, 2009/04/06

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]