This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Pompeii, Amalfi Coast and Positano Day Tour from Rome

Overall Rating

4.784.78 / 5

Reviews

9 reviews (Post a review)

Great day trip to Positano and Pompei!

Reviewed by: Lydia D., 2018/10/22

This was a great option to visit one of the areas on my bucket list, Positano. The tour guide, Pavelo and driver, Richard were excellent. Pavelo was extremely informative of the areas and shared a lot of Roman history. The ride to Positano was comfortable although bus needed better shock absorption to mitigate the bumpy ride even on nice highways. Was great to get glimpses of Naples and Sorriento. Positano is beautiful, but even though we got a couple of hours there, I would rather return one hour later and spend three hours there. One hour was just for lunch and climbing the hills takes a while, not to mention so much ch to see , taste and browse on the way back to meeting point. Pompei was also very informative. Our guide there is very knowledgeable of its history and was able to draw us back to what life was like in those days. Excellent!


  • My son and I beautiful backdrop in Milky Mtns.


  • Pompei and Vesuvius backdrop.


  • Pompei


  • Positano!


  • Great resturant beach front!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A wonderful tour to Pompeii, Positano and Amalfi Coast- one day trip

Reviewed by: Anca-Maria, Norway , 2018/10/14

It was definitely the best choice we made during the four days we visited Rome. The tour was impeccable organized and the most important contribution to its succes had the guide, Federico. I was rarely given to meet a person so passionate about his job. Though the road might seem long, especially as the departure was at 7am, we did not feel bored for a moment. Federico has given us relevant information at all times, combining historical data with really nice stories inspired by reality. He was also concerned about providing us with detailed information about local traditions, including culinary traditions. Pompeii was amazing, much vaste than expected, and the guide was knowledgeable and focused on the main objectives. The Amalfi Coast and Positano city were really breathtaking. I would highly recommend to keep a day for this tour, if visiting Rome.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Avoid 'cruise ship day'

Reviewed by: Mary Henningsen, 2018/10/11

To see the gorgeous Amalfi coast from Rome in one day this is really a good option. The van and logistics were great. The guide who accompanied us the whole way was very knowledgeable and professional. He helped us when we got back to Rome with some directions to a cool area in Monti which was appreciated. In hindsight, I may have opted for Ostia Antiqa instead because Pompeii was uncomfortably crowded. The Pompeii guide told us the cruise ships come in Monday, Wednesday and Friday so those are the days to avoid. It was very hot in October which surprised me. The guide Anna was very nice and knowledgeable but went WAY to fast. We were literally racing to catch up with her. By the time those at the back of the group caught up she had already moved on. Throngs of people and narrow streets made it necessary to go in a long line. I realize Pompeii is large and were on a schedule but it was frustrating. Some in the group were older and do not move fast. Also you have to be very careful walking on the uneven surfaces. One lady in our group fell. All in all, a good choice if you have limited time, do not want to rent a car or pay for a private tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome day trip to Pompeii, Positano

Reviewed by: David Ong, 2018/06/20

This trip is awesome. Positano is a must visit whenever your are going to italy. Positano famous of their lemon. Must buy the lemon sweets if you got to visit there. Pompeii visit is with guider tour. So is worth it and you got to know the history of pompeii.


  • pompeii

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Everything you might want to see in Campania in just a day!

Reviewed by: HonestIndianReview, 2018/05/28

This is an extraordinarily good trip for those who have just a day to see Campania from Rome, and who want to see all the sites completely! Both on our way from and to Rome, we stopped in Cassino for a toilet and refreshment break, about two hours from Rome, which we found very convenient.

Manuela, our tour escort, did a wonderful job of orienting us with history, information, suggestions and answering our questions. Campania and the Amalfi Coast are beautiful, and I recommend you do this trip because you have a guide to point out the vegetation, landmarks and features. For example, we had a photo stop at the Sorrento bay, and also saw Naples City, the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius on the way: all things you’d have to do separately, if you do them by yourself.

We were given maps, and oriented in Positano, and had about 2 hours of free un-escorted time there. Positano is a quaint UNESCO world heritage town. We chose to walk around, buy souvenirs and soak up the feel of the town, rather than sit down to a lunch, although there are several beautiful-looking hotels (we ate the lunch we picked up on the bus).

In Pompeii, we met with a knowledgeable historian-guide Francesco, who guided us through an insightful 90 minute exploration of Pompeii. The great thing about Francesco was that he showed us a curated version of Pompeii, so we explored an example of everything: a bathhouse, an amphitheatre, a villa, a laundry, temples, fast food joints, bakeries, streets and so on. As we were doing this, Francesco simultaneously filled us in on the engineering and historical detail.

Eating and drinking inside the bus, during this rather long trip, is permitted, which is good. Patricio was a great driver, driving almost 600 km that day, and did thoughtful things like give us all bottles of cold water on our way out of Pompeii. We had about 4.5 hours of site-seeing on the ground, and the remaining time on the bus, which we thought was very well planned.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pompeii & Positano

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2018/04/28

This tour was amazing! All of the guides were very informative and the driver was fantastic! A lot of history was given the whole time with great humor. However is positano it felt like we spent more time waiting for our food (not that it wasn’t worth the wait) but it gave us less time to spend at the beach or at the little shops so if going there suggest just grabbing a quick bite if you want to be able to spend moare time doing other things. But overall it was a great and amazing tour and would absolutely do it again!!!!

And once again would just like to thank the tour guides and driver for their amazing talents!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing sights!

Reviewed by: Kael, 2017/10/14

Amazing sights and very nice and informative guide! Wished we could have spent a little longer in Pompeii

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day

Reviewed by: Tracy, 2017/09/23

We had a great day and our guide Hugo was fantastic! The only thing that would have made the day better would have been a little more time in the square in Pompeii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day out

Reviewed by: Katrina, 2017/07/22

Really enjoyed the Pompeii - Positano day tour! Would recommend

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]