This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Pompeii, Positano and Amalfi Coast Semi Private Day Tour from Rome with Lunch

Overall Rating

4.334.33 / 5

Reviews

21 reviews (Post a review)

Pompeii, Positano and the Amalfi Coast

Reviewed by: Fred & Danette , 2018/06/09

The overall experience was a beautiful day! Khan, as our driver was excellent--we felt safe even on the treacherous roads around the Amalfi Coast. Khan also gave us good tips & opportunities for photographs. My husband was disappointed that he was not able to swim in the Mediterranean as was included in the description of the trip. He was freezing in the van on the long trips to & from Rome. The lunch provided was 'delizioso', at a beautiful setting. Hector, our Pompeii guide was efficient in giving us a well informed tour in the 1 & 1/2 hours we had (instead of the 2 hours originally scheduled). What a wonderful trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day trip to Amalfi coast and Pompeii archaeological site

Reviewed by: va py, 2018/04/26

The 5 stars go to the breathtaking view along the Amalfi coast (thanks also to the great driver who let us enjoy every side of it). Positano is a jewel worth to visit and the free time to spend there is great either for shopping or relax on the beach, tasting a good gelato or lemon granita.
Definitely a must do!


  • Pompeii men`s thermal baths


  • Pompeii agora


  • wall frescoes


  • Positano


  • Positano


  • Positano

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Trevor, 2015/10/14

Great personal service. Tha Amalfi coast was the highlight, would be better with more time in Pompeii.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: jill, 2015/08/20

I would rate 5 stars for efficiency.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Louis, 2014/07/20

We chose this way to tour the Amalfi Coast, Positano and Pompeii because we wanted to see the most sites in the limited time we had available. Since the tour picked us up early at our hotel and did all the driving for us, we were able to get on the road extra early and not worry about navigating home at the end of the day after dark, when we would most likely be very tired from our long day. The four people who filled out our tour were great traveling companions and Flavio, our driver and tour guide, was knowledgeable, had a great sense of humor and was a great driver! This last fact is very important since the Amalfi Coast is quite challenging to drive. It was nice that we were able to stop at several overlooks to take pictures but Flavio was always encouraging us to move along and not linger too long so that we would be able to see everything. Our stop in Amalfi to tour the quaint and beautiful village and try Limoncello was very welcome. We skipped the restaurant that Flavio recommended for lunch in Positano as it was a bit pricey, but found the restaurant at the Hotel Covo Dei Sarece, on the waterfront, that was sufficient and more reasonably priced. Upon arrival in Pompeii we were introduced to our tour guide for the ruins, Franco. 4:00 is an excellent time to tour the ruins as there weren't any crowds and the temperature had begun to mellow.
If your time to tour the Amalfi Coast, Amalfi, Positano and Pompeii is limited to one day this is the very best way to do it all!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lynne, 2014/05/24

Great tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable (although a little hard to understand). I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see Pompeii, Amalfi and Positano.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Richard, 2013/10/26

This is a very long day with much of it spent travelling at high speed. The Amalfi coast is dramatic and beautiful. Positano holds no attraction for us as it is just a small town stuck on the side of steep rocky slopes and full of tourist traps. Pompeii is the real jewel in this tour and more time should be allotted to exploring the place with the guide.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2013/10/12

Definately worth the journey.
Pompeii is like nothing on earth.
Amalfi coast spectacular.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Vicki, 2013/06/23

We could not go on the trip because our plane was delayed 2 days in Omaha, NE. It was too late for a refund so we spent $700.00 on nothing:(((

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: David, 2013/06/04

Nicely paced, interesting day. We thought it would be too long of a day, but it was great, lots of opportunities to shop, take pictures, and eat. The Amalfi coast was beautiful,

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Viviane, 2013/03/10

Just loved Pompeii. A must visit!!! The guide in Pompeii was excellent, very friendly and had great knowledge of history.
The Amalfi Coast is just so beautiful...

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Elizabeth, 2012/11/06

It was a lot of driving but was a beautiful and easy intro to the beautiful coastline and the site of Pompeii. We had such a wonderful time but could have used more of it!! Maybe a 2 day trip would be better suited to get in all the sites in their spendor.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: phillip, 2012/10/06

The trip to Pompeii was special and the drive to Amalfi was fantastic. We had enough time in each of the places visited and would recommend it as a day trip from Rome. The small mini buses meant that we could do it all in one day.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Walter, 2012/09/25

We enjoied this tour very much ! Nice places to visit and everything was very well organized. Our Guide Max was very professional, patient and gave a lot of interesting information with a kind st<x>yle. A special mention for the good timming in this tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lumen, 2012/09/06

We did this tour on August 29th, 2012 and the weather was perfect. Our tour guide Andrea was very nice and did a great job, he has a good sense of humor and an excellent driver. Driving along the coast is not that easy for tourist and I don't recommend. The tour is a bit expensive for us but rewarding. I highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Peta, 2012/07/22

Quite an expensive tour and was a little disappointed we had to pay for extra things along the way including lunch, however the tour of Pompeii was amazing and the views of the Amalfi Coast were breathtaking. Our driver was great and very funny. This tour needs to be done if you have some spare time whilst staying in Rome.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jacqueline McCormack, 2012/07/01

Our only criticisms would be that it would have been good to have the information that a swim is possible on this tour so that we could have gone prepared with bathers and towel.
Also, the restaurant that the tour guide directed us to was dreadful- overpriced, and awful food. Packet gnocchi in bottled sauce- really!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lesley, 2010/12/05

Our day-guide Fabricio and Antonio for Pompei were wonderful. Fabricio made sure the entire small group enjoyed their own personal experience. And Antonio is such a seasoned expert that the Pompei tour was of the highest quality. I strongly recommend taking this tour if you are taking a short trip to Italy. I was there for 5-days and was glad one of them was on this tour. Thank you Fabricio!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Theresa , 2010/03/14

The online desc<x>ription of the tour included a boat trip to Amalfi. This did not happen and no explanation was given why this didn't happen. Otherwise the rest of the trip was very interesting, informative and we saw a lot of things in a short period of time. The tour in Pompeii was excellent and lunch in Positano was great. Exploring that village a little more would have been fun. I would recommend the trip for the service by the company and the content of the tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: David, 2009/10/08

The tour was great, the tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. The only suggestion would be to stop on the roadway outside of Positano, rather than later, and to tell folks that you would be doing that, so they didn't hike up the hillside when the views are spectacular from the side of the roadway out of town.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: David, 2009/10/07

Our guide Francesca and driver Maurizio were wonderful and the van was very comfortable. The only thing we would suggest would be a stop at the top of Positano rather than Sorrento to take a picture or one closer to Vesuvius- other than that it was a great day!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]