Murano Glassblowing and Burano Lacemaking Day Tour from Venice reviews, Venice tours & activities, fun things to do in Venice | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Murano Glassblowing and Burano Lacemaking Day Tour from Venice

Overall Rating

4.57 4.57 / 5

Reviews

23 reviews
Post a review

Not much time to actually visit towns.

Reviewed by: Steve, 2018/08/24

This trip is basically a transportation method and less of an actual "tour".
Too much time spent traveling rather than visiting the towns. This was magnified by the weather, which was very hot. (obviously not a reflection of on the tour operator) But was nonetheless a factor while waiting for trains.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic tour

Reviewed by: Dakota Rollins, 2018/06/22

Elisa was our tour guide and she's wonderful. Very good English, pleasant and what a great personality. She was great with our 7 yr old. Request her and you won't be disappointed.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Andrew, 2017/09/11

Amazing guide. Extremely knowledgeable and made the tour unforgettable. Highly recommended

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Claire, 2017/09/10

Bernadetta (think this was her name) was super friendly and not only told us a great deal of information about both the islands on the tour, she had and shared a great knowledge of Venice in general. Able to help point us in the right direction of where to buy the famous Burano cookies. Glass making demonstration in Murano was fab. The lace demonstration In Burano was more of a sales pitch. Enough time in both islands to explore at our leisure.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ann, 2017/07/29

Hazel, our guide, and the tour company were very helpful and made room for us when we didn't find our assigned group. This was going beyond the normal practice. For that we are very grateful. The glassworks was awesome. We had been to a glass blowing shop before. I wish would have watched more of the artists at work. I wished we could have seen more of a demonstration at the lace shop. Yes, it's a one person job but it was difficult for that group size to see only one person working on a piece on her lap. Not what I expected. However it was a great trip and we enjoyed listening to Hazel.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Seana, 2017/04/20

This was an interesting tour with a lovely guide. It would be nice to have the option of a longer duration, as one could happily spend more time on Burano. I recommend this tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mary, 2015/10/15

The tour was fabulous and our tour guide Francesca was very knowledgeable. She made the tour wonderful.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Marcus, 2015/07/26

Thoroughly enjoyable day done at a reasonable pace rather than some that rush you around. Our guide was very helpful and added a lot of information about Venice and its development as well as detailed information about Murano and Burano. Group wasn't too big so no issue hearing guide or fitting into the areas we went into. Boat used was of a very good standard

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Eliezer, 2014/08/30

Very awesome tour!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mary, 2014/08/12

Too hard sale at Murano gallery. LOVED Burano.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mary, 2014/08/04

*** did a super job!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Simon, 2014/06/23

The tour guide on this trip was very interesting and had some humorous anecdotes to share. The glass blowers were true artisans - we were disappointed that there was so little affordable glass to buy there as we would have liked to bring some home. The lace-making demonstration was over very quickly and we had plenty of time to wander around Burano.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Linda, 2014/06/22

The half day afternoon tour was one of the highlights of visiting Venice. Alessandra was our tour guide and she provided well informed commentary. Not only did this cover Murano and Burano, but Venice generally. She encouraged questions and made our tour entertaining.

It was a small intimate group which felt the right size to enjoy watching the glass blowing at Murano, and lace making at Burano. There was plenty of time to look at the Murano glass gallery and purchase a piece of art. There are 7 gallery areas to look through. Prices reflect the complexity of the piece.

The lacemaking at Burano was a pleasure to watch. There was less time viewing the process compared with Glass blowing. Burano is a pretty little island and worthwhile having a visit for this alone, with brightly painted houses.

We travelled first class in a fast motor boat out to the islands by Marco at the helm.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/04

Emanuela was very knowledgeable. Throughout the whole tour she explained not only about Murano and Burano but also general interesting facts about Venice and the whole region.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/04

Emanuuela is outstanding!!!! She was attentive, engaging, informative and personalized the information ba<x>sed on our interests and questions. She kept our 13 year old's attention the entire time and even found a nickname for him that made us laugh and was so special. To top it off, she sent an email to our hotel (she rememebred where we were staying!) to provide more information for our tour the following day. She spent a lot of extra time with us after the tour and really made our trip to Venice, Murano and Burano so memorable! She is an excellent ambassador and representative for Dark Rome tours! We feel like we have a friend in Venice!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/04

Tour was excellent, but not eneough time at Murano to explore other glass producers.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/04

Giula really knew the area. She was very engaging and derermined that all our questions about Venice be answered . Her English was very good.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/04

Kristina was fantastic! She provided so much information, was flexible about accommodating schedules, and was extremely friendly. She made the experience excellent!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/04

A lot of knowledge and interesting factoids. She made the boat rides enjoyable and I feel I learned a ton.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/04

Kritina was excellent, very informative and went out of her way to help us find a restaurant for our evening meal!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/04

Excellent tour, lovely way to see the islands and Paula was wonderful, going out of her way to make sure we each got the best of Venice. Fabulous.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/04

Kristina was excellent and helpful all throughout the tour. She was very knowledgeable in giving information about Venice and the neighboring islands. She spoke good English and did not require any sc<x>ript.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/04

Kristina was very helpful even with general information about Venice. She was fluent in English and provided lots of useful information.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]