Venice 1-Day Walking Tour with St. Mark's Basilica Visit and Grand Canal Cruise reviews, Venice tours & activities, fun things to do in Venice | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Venice 1-Day Walking Tour with St. Mark's Basilica Visit and Grand Canal Cruise

Overall Rating

4.00 4.00 / 5

Reviews

35 reviews
Post a review

Awesome time!!!

Reviewed by: Sylvia and John, 2018/04/07

It was an amazing experience. We both learned so much from the very knowledgeable guides. I would highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Marie, 2017/07/26

The canal boat ride was great. Being in essentially a taxi the smaller canals where wonderful to see from the water. The original walk was also very good. The one thing to know is that what the Venitains consider a "leisurely walk" it is not by north American standards. We in fact ended up with fewer people as they just dropped out. It was informative and lovely but at a somewhat faster pace than I had expected.
The trip into St Marks was short but really did see everything we wanted to see. The timed admission made it quite easy.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Susan, 2014/10/21

An excellent, well-organised tour with excellent guides, both for the walking tour in the morning and on the canal boat in the afternoon. Very good, interesting commentaries - in particular, the sound system provided for the walking tour meant that we didn't miss a word. There is a lot we would have missed if we had tried to go it alone, so well worth doing.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Naya, 2014/09/15

Venice in One Day - Original Walk and Grand Canal Boat Tour, was excellent, the guide we had was very good and her english was very clear and understandable. Venice is a beautiful city and has a lot of history. The only downside is all the stairs and bridges, not good for old people and people with walking disabilities.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Tom, 2013/11/21

This is basically two different tours with a package price, and we enjoyed both parts. The morning was all around Piazza San Marco and then made our way to Rialto. Then we went back to the same starting point by the waterfront for the guided boat ride. Maybe not everybody else's highlight, but my favorite part was seeing a shop that builds and maintains gondolas.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mary, 2013/10/18

Well worth the money. Actually better than I thought it would be. The walk took us around Venice showing places we would have missed if we had tried to do it ourselves. Very interesting. The guide was brilliant and knew everything required for the walk. The boat trip was great and lasted for around one hour. The guide was excellent informing us as we sailed along the canals and answering questions. I would give this trip ten out of ten and one not to miss.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Michele, 2013/09/22

This is a must do trip as it gives all the basics on how Venice was developed and all of the important buildings and landmarks.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Patsy Kruse, 2012/10/17

This is a two part tour and both parts were great. The first part was a walking tour that got us into the Basilica without standing in line. It was amazing. This tour introduced us to some areas I would not otherwise have known about. It was informative and interesting. The second part was in the late afternoon and was a boat tour of some of the canals. This gave us a completely different view of the city and I enjoyed it very much. Will highly recommend.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2012/10/10

The walking tour wasn't the greatest, but highly reccomend the boat tour on the grand canal. Our guide was fantastic and you really see Venice from a completely different perspective from the water than from walking through the streets. Worth it just for the photos!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rudolph, 2012/09/19

Walking portion was terrible ! Guide kept getting ahead of thr tour and was difficult to understand ! I would NOT do thr walking tour again ! The boat tour was superb !! The lady guide was fantastic, easy to understand and VERY interesting ! The boat tour alone was worth price and is not to be missed !!!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Alison, 2012/07/03

Really enjoyed the both tours, our guide was very informative and knowledgeable. We had a break in between the walking tour and the grand canal boat tour which was welcome. We had a different guide on the boat tour, again, very professional. An enjoyable day all round. Thanks.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Antoinette, 2012/06/06

Great, just fantastic. I am so glad I booked this tour with you. Not only was it cheaper than other sites but sooooo much fun. This was a surprise trip for my husbands birthday and it was a success. The guides very nice, excellent english made the tour interesting and fun.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Anne , 2012/05/08

Very good guides and comprehensive tour. Had a great time on both!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mohammed Nias, 2012/04/14

Original Walk was very worth and value for the money., and was very informative in a short time. But Grand Canal Boat Tour, we expect it might be gondola tour., but came to know its just a water taxi boat tour.. disappointing..

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mike, 2012/03/22

The guide was obviously very expert on the subject of all aspects of history and of Venice in particular. However, most of this went over our heads.
It would have been more interesting to hear more mundane things about the city as well as the basic history.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ian, 2012/03/07

The tour guides were great. They told us far more about the history of Venice than we found in any guide books and the trip along the Grand Canal and through some of the side canals was brilliant.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ted Rak, 2011/09/01

Depends on guide, ours was a local who was passionate about Venice. However would have been better if we had individual head sets. Trying to listen to our guide was difficult as she was competing with other guides and other languages

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Diane, 2011/06/27

The walking tour did cover a good portion of the city. As I was only in the city for a couple of days it was a good way to see the highlights. Unfortunately, the group was too large for 1 guide, even after the entire group had been split between several guides at the start. Our guide did have a portable speaker, but she did not always wait until the group was together before speaking about the different stops. And given that I was there over Easter Weekend, the city was full of visitors which made keeping a large walking tour together very difficult. Also, information regarding the requirement to leave bags in a bag store prior to touring St Marks should have been given before the tour and the stop prior to entering the basilica should have been at the bag drop. Instead, the guide gave vague directions to those of us who needed to leave bags outside and then proceeded into the building before everyone had returned. The Grand Canal boat tour was also interesting, however the advertised glass of Prosecco never materialized.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: maisie, 2011/05/01

The tours were well organised, the guides extremely pleasant & well informed. A very good tour to do.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lilita, 2011/04/25

The tour was very nice, the best words for guides.

Only the sign of meeting point may be indicated more correctly.
(My bad experience: while I was asking and looking for meeting point of tour, my
photocamera disappeared from my hand.... But it is not your business really. The
tourists should be more careful for their things.)

There are some pictures of spirits (really I had the spare camera also)

Sincerely yours

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: AMANDA, 2011/04/05

These tours give you more information than you can get doing it on your own. We saw parts of the city that we would never have found alone and learnt a lot of the history which made the other attractions we saw independently more meaningful. We thoroughly recommend these tours.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Carla, 2011/04/02

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Marcia, 2011/03/22

The Grand Canal Tour was cancelled due to not enough participants but the Venice Walk tour was fantastic

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rachel, 2010/06/11

What a disaster! We arrived at the arranged meeting place to be told that we were not on the list. There was chaos - many people were having the same problem. One of the tour guides did not turn up on time. Eventually we were allowed to join the walking tour but this was rushed because of the late arrival of the guide. However, we were not allowed to do the Grand Canal Boat Tour as it was fully booked. To their credit City Discovery have promised us a full refund but this does not make up for the disappointment and wasted time when in Venice.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Charles, 2010/06/08

The walking tour was very informative. I would have liked to have known in advance that the boat tour was 3-4 hours after the walking tour ended.

However, on the folowing day the guide for the Murano, Buarano tour never showed up. I believe we should have our money refunded.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Brian, 2009/08/09

It was a very interesting tour with a very informative guide who was very passionate about Venice and seemed to enjoy her job. The boat trip was very good however I thought it could have explored more of the smaller canals.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Katherine, 2009/06/29

It should be made clear in the tour desc<x>ription that this is a 2 part tour, the walking portion in the AM and the boat tour in the early PM with more than 3 hours in between.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kimberly, 2009/04/21

It would have been interesting but all the stops were so crowded and therefore very difficult to hear the guide.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Bradley, 2009/03/29

The walking tour in the morning was especially interesting.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Alan, 2009/01/12

It was fantastic. Great guides and a great mix of foot/boat tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]