This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Venice Private 30-Minute Gondola Ride

Overall Rating

4.594.59 / 5

Reviews

22 reviews (Post a review)

Had a fun ride!

Reviewed by: Patels, 2019/05/12

Had a fun ride and enjoyed the scenic Venice. A must do during your trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a wonderful time. Highly recommended

Reviewed by: Tim S, 2018/08/03

Thoroughly enjoyed the time and being on the water!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

beautiful evening ride on the gran canal

Reviewed by: Julie Gonzalez, 2018/04/23

Excellent we choose a good time as the canal was less busy and the godolier was unhurried and gave us a little longer ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Angela, 2017/11/21

Fantastic trip, gondola ride was the highlight, highly recommend it. Easy to find just off of St Marc’s sq. We didn’t wait at all.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing

Reviewed by: mark render, 2017/09/15

very much enjoyed tour great friendly experience, recomend to anyone


  • calming time

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Karolina, 2017/04/03

The best part about 2-days trip to Venice. Without it, it would be average trip but gondola ride made it magical.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Zachery, 2017/03/21

Such an awesome experience for our honeymoon! We had so much fun and enjoyed seeing Venice!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Michael, 2017/01/07

Gondola ride was a highlight. A must do. Our gondolier was friendly and the ride lasted 35 minutes. We arrived 45 minutes early and were hoping we could take the ride straight away and we were very pleased that they were happy to do this. A great experience.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/04/11

It was our first time in Venice so of course we wanted to ride a gondola. Booking online and in advance was great as we didn't loose time in Venice comparing prices and itineraries. We discovered some small and hidden canals and also ride the Grand Canal enjoying views of the Rialto Bridge. An unforgettable experience!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: ian, 2016/03/06

Everything was as I Expected, what more could you want!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Allen, 2016/01/14

Excellent service. Would recommend

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: James, 2015/10/23

This was a lot of fun

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Susanna, 2015/04/08

bit tricky to find the start point as I'd forgotten to print off the point from google maps but a wonderfully relaxing trip through some of the small canals into Grand Canal and back again. The gondelier didn't interact with us very much, but that was fine as the six of us were having so much fun.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: David, 2014/09/18

It was not easy to find the correct embarkation point among the several there. There was no signage matching the directions on the voucher - we just kept asking different gondoliers until we found someone who accepted the voucher and helped us into a Gondola! The ride was initially among a long convoy of other Gondolas, some much more elaborate than others. Many of the Gondoliers were hatless, they were also smoking, which was smelly. The little back canals were interesting with some views into buildings and real life. Lots of tiny crabs and mussels(?) clinging to the buildings below water level. Lovely view of the Rialto Bridge from the Grand Canal.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Janet, 2013/09/29

A must do in Venice, we loved it and it was certainly worth paying for a private gondola ride! We have recommended this to our friends who are travelling to Venice.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Elyse, 2013/08/10

It was an easy hassle free to book a gondola ride. Not sure if it would be cheaper, though, to book on there as there are many places to do so.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: edson, 2013/08/03

Passeio muito bom, mas acho que vale a pena um com maior duração.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kenneth, 2011/09/17

A great experience. The quiet canals were the stars of the trip. While the Grand Canal is a must do it is a busy waterway - just like any city's main thoroughfare - the tranquility of the smaller canals were just so peaceful. You soon forget that you are in a gondola convoy; and to have the gondola to ourselves, as opposed to being crammed in with another 4 complete strangers added so much to our enjoyment of the whole experience. Definitely one for the romantics.

The only downside was a misunderstanding with the hours available. Your website indicated that we could enjoy a sunset trip. I tried to book this and received no response. When I telephoned the helpline I was assured the booking would be faxed to my hotel. The people there did not know why my booking had not been processed! I had planned the trip as a surprise for my wife, and planned to take her to the gondola embarkation before telling her what had been booked. As it was I had to recruit the excellent concierge at the hotel to assist in obtaining the booking form. I was unable to keep the trip to myself as a consequence.

That apart, it was a marvelous experience.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: sarah, 2011/01/07

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Pedro, 2011/01/06

It was a very fun ride. Recommend.
We did the ride in the evening and watch the sunset on the gondola was fantastic. The man who was leading the gondola was nice.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jackie, 2010/11/06

The gondola ride was a nice treat, kind of one of those things you really should do in Venice as a couple. However, it wasn't perfect. The departure point was really hard to find, even using printed directions and a blackberry. It's kind of behind San Marco square, not towards the main water where you would think most boats would leave from. It's hidden. I would recommend using the Hard Rock Cafe as a reference point.

Our driver was very nice and polite, even though we were late. We appreciated that after the hustle of finding it.

The ride goes by fast, even for 35 minutes. And at one point, it was really smelly because some of the canals in Venice are polluted unfortunately. It was just weird to be all romantic and then say 'What is that smell!' and hold your nose.

But I guess that's not the company's fault.

The other factor to mention is price. I understand that it's a craft and handed down from generations, etc...but let's be honest, gondola rides are very commercialized now in Venice. You would think the prices would be a little more competitive. I paid about $150 American dollars for 35 minute ride.

Would I recommend it to others? Yes, it was an experience.

Would I do it another time?
No, not for the price.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Tricia, 2008/09/01

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]