This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

St. Mark's Basilica Fast Track Tickets with Venice Walk and Gondola Ride

Overall Rating

4.144.14 / 5

Reviews

29 reviews (Post a review)

Attended as


Good value

Reviewed by: Jill, 2018/09/06

We enjoyed the walking tour. Our guide was a local lady who was very interesting and informative. St Marks Basilica was amazing. The gondola ride was overrated but a necessity thing to do whilst in Venice. The Gondolier never spoke, took us for less than the 30 mins advertised and literally took us in a small circle with not a lot of anything interesting to see.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lee , 2017/03/06

Was a fabulous experience and tour was magical 5 stars

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/11/19

Excellent tour guide. Very well organized tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/11/08

This tour was just wonderful!
It started on time, our guide Estefania, explained us the most important and curious facts about Venice, she was very enthusiastic and fun.
To enter into Saint Marc we had the skip the line, so we save a lot of time since the line was very big, there were a lot of people waiting specially because it was a high season!
So we were lucky to have the skip the line ticket included in this tour.
For the gondola we arrived to meeting point that was very accessible to find, the representative was waiting for us and took us, with a small group to our gondola, the personal were very friendly, they spoke English and French so everyone could understand.
I highly recommend this tour, is very complete to get to know this wonderful city.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jesus, 2016/03/28

Very satisfied with the booking process and customer support. If the tours are as good it will be a great trip.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: andrew, 2015/12/01

excellent , fantastic tour guide, *** was exceptional.nWill definately use again when we return to venice. +++++

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: paul, 2015/11/06

Excellent tour, keep doing exactly the same

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mary, 2015/08/29

Excellent guide and comprehensive. Humor and historic made the time enjoyable.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: steven, 2015/03/06

the tour itself was very well organised.it nearly got cancelled due to lack of participants but a last minute booking saved the day.The gondola tour was a must do in venice but not actually awe inspiring

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Wilfredo, 2014/07/24

I just recently booked tours in Europe, for my trip in September 2014, trough CityDiscovery and I found easy to complete the transactions. I have already recommended the site to friends planning holidays. nThank you,

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Karen, 2013/11/10

This was a fantastic tour! Our guide was full of interesting facts about Venice and really had a knack for telling stories about the history. We really got to see Venice and this tour gave us the starting point for exploring on our own.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Neil, 2013/08/20

Our guide for this tour was very good. Her knowledge of Venice and the places and points of interest enabled us to get a good idea of some of the history that has shaped this unique place. We really appreciated her knowledge and explanations within the Basilica, making sense of things that we saw and previously could not understand. 'Getting lost in Venice' after the tour was a lot of fun!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Donna, 2013/07/19

The tour guide was very nice although a little hard to understand at times.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: John , 2013/06/26

The guide was really kind, good and patient woman.

But the tour was bit lengthy and boring.. (we visited on June 7.. it was very sunny and hot that day.. may be because of that we felt too tired)..

Venice can be visited on your own.. no need of any tour package.

For the nice tour guide, we go with 3 stars

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2012/10/09

This was absolutely fantastic, tremendous value and our guide was very entertaining. Many thanks

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Subhashis, 2012/03/26

I am not very happy with this tour.
The gondola ride was not great, the gondolier didnot sing(as mentioned in the itenary) and neither did he give any idea of the places we rode on. It was just a boring boat rip. I had heard great things about gondola ride in venice and this was the primary reason I booked this tour but this was not even close to my expectation.

The seocnd part of the trip was Ok but the group was really large.
The guide was well informed and cordial, the second part was not that bad, but the gondola ride was just disappointing.

I would not recomend this trip. Its better to take a gondola ride on your own and St Mark's basillica is not overcrowded so I recomend you go on your own.

I had great trips with City Discovery but this one was not upto my expectation.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sonia, 2011/10/05

Our guide for the morning St. Mak's Basilica tour and walk through Venice was excellent! She was extremely knowledgable, kept the group moving efficiently (without being rushed), and showed us lots of interesting things. The Afternoon Gondola ride was a major (romantic) disappointment for us. The guide and gondalier were good, but we were looking for a romantic experience, which just was not possible (there are only 2 seats out of 6, which we were not able to get which would have allowed any romance). The short trip around the canals was okay. If you are looking for romance, skip this part and pay the 150 euros for a private twilight gondola experience like we did later that day.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: David, 2011/10/03

I was abused by my gondola driver because my chair slipped on the wet floor and I hit the ground. No - are you OK, just abuse.This made the rest of my ride very unenjoyable.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Marcus, 2011/09/16

It was quite good and the host had plenty of info :) Need individual speakers/headphones to hear better though , and maybe a little rush , especially in the basilica . Gondola was great , loved cruising the waters , would have been good if the driver sang or interacted more with us though . No sights were explained , no singing , which let it down a bit . Also didnt go under the sigh bridge , 'sigh'. Otherwise though good value and worth doing :)

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Alan, 2011/07/23

Train was late into Venice so we missed the St Marks walking tour.

Gondola ride was ok, but we had expected some singing and musicians. The Gondlier was lacking badly in personality. We did not enjoy our day to Venice, much much too crowded.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rosemary, 2011/04/07

Tour guide had fantastic knowledge and we learned a lot about the history of Venice. Everything was very well organised and on time as scheduled. We also enjoyed the gondola experience. Well done, City Discovery! Soryy, we have no pictures.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: David, 2010/10/01

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Linda, 2010/09/23

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Marian, 2010/08/21

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mary & Lloyd, 2010/08/08

Fantastic tour! Our tour guide was very informative, the tour was extensive, the gondola ride was a wonderful experience.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Victoria, 2010/07/26

Great guide who was a local knew everything there was to know about Venice, very funny too!! Unfortunately the Basilica was flooded so that was missed, gondola ride was an experience, very quick but you get an understanding of the magic of Venice.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Connie, 2009/07/03

We got there a few minutes late because we were lost in Venice and the tour left us!! I was told when I called the tour guide that I could NOT reschedule! I am furious. That was $247!! I would like a refund!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Zdzislaw, 2009/05/27

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Eileen, 2009/05/22

Walking tour - excellent and informative

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]