Leeds, Canterbury, Dover and Greenwich Guided Tour with River Cruise and Lunch reviews, London tours & activities, fun things to do in London | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Leeds, Canterbury, Dover and Greenwich Guided Tour with River Cruise and Lunch

Overall Rating

3.96 3.96 / 5

Reviews

25 reviews
Post a review

The guide matters!

Reviewed by: Frequent traveler, 2018/08/07

And we were very lucky to have had an extremely experienced lady who shared a lot of interesting information and anecdotes. If you understand English, you are highly recommended to attend the English tour, not the one in Japanese or Chinese.

The only missing part is the white cliffs of Dover that is included in the tour as if we really visit. But in fact, we just passed in front of them through the very busy road by bus without stopping. We wee then obliged to take whatever pictures from the moving bus.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A beautiful Day

Reviewed by: Jodie NSW Australia, 2018/03/18

Just a beautiful day out. At Leeds Castle we were the first through for the day, beating the crowds. Canterbury just the prettiest little village with a magnificent Cathedral. Dover was a quick stop but such a delightful stop. Greenwich really is only the drop off point for the bus for us to get a ferry back to London. Greenwich definitely worth a visit on another day. The ferry ride is a great way to end the day taking in the London skyline and waterfront. Lunch is a snack box to eat between stops. Canterbury does allow you time to grab more to eat or drink if you need or even a little shopping. I enjoyed strolling through the village.

  • Leeds Castle

  • The Library of Leeds Castle

  • Inside the Cathedral

  • Canterbury Cathedral

  • Front the beach of Dover

  • Ferry ride through London

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Miriam, 2016/02/10

The service provided by City discovery is excellent. We have booked numerous tours thought out Europe and would recommend to book any tour through them.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Joanne, 2016/01/18

The site was very easy to follow and very helpful.nI did not need customer support at this time. n

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mark, 2015/11/03

It was fun. Too much time in Leeds and not close to enough in Canterbury. Suggestion: cut trip to Dover (ugly, too quick, pointless) and spend more time in Canterbury so people can mill about that marvelous Medieval city.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Dana , 2015/07/21

Wonderful guide that added a bit of humour to a lovely historical tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: JOSE, 2015/03/11

Faster customer service and booking pickup places since initial booking a opposed to calling 24 hours before.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Robyn, 2014/10/08

Very enjoyable - guide was very good. Lunch was good. I had been to Greenwich before so it did not bother me but I think people would have been disappointed not to have seen the observatory although I do understand the issues with transport.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Bernd, 2014/07/25

Nice trip, but we would rather spend more time in Canterbury. Dover was a bit of a disappointment.
Müller-Bech, Denmark

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Gordon, 2014/04/10

We thoroughly enjoyed our full day trip to Leeds Castle etc. Our courier was great,everything was organised and smooth running and we are looking forward to another day out next year when we return to London for our Spring break.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Frances Joan, 2014/04/09

It was a WONDERFUL experience. Every email was replied, other recommendations were also given etc. The booking process was SO easy and for that, we are grateful.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rafael, 2013/10/07

the tour was very good, we had a very interesting and full of information day, the guide was very funny and helpful.
the only part that we think was not enough was the white cliffs, we just stopped in a beach in front of a cliff and couldn´t see them loosing in the horizon as we imagined

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sowmya , 2013/07/25

Tour was maybe a little ambitious, trying to cover a lot in one day. In summertime, the tour duration could be extended to fully make use of sunlight. Time spent at Dover beach was only 20 mins, and I would have liked to go up to the cliffs. At Greenwich, just a short explanation of the history, and no visit to the observatory. However, Leeds Castle and Canterbury were good, and the food at the Canterbury restaurant was alright (baked potatoes and dessert). Our tour guide Margo was friendly, welcoming and helpful. However, if she had used the mike on the bus, would have been helpful, instead of asking us to plug in the earphones to hear her. Overall, alright if you want a quick tour of Southeast England.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Joan, 2012/08/05

We really enjoyed our tour.Our tour director was both personable and knowledgeable, and our driver got us around London in spite of the Olympic traffic. The lunch that was included was
at an authentic London Pub and the food
was very good. It was the perfect break between stops. The only dissapointment was
that we were unable to go on a Thames River Tour and Visit Greenwich as part of the tour. This again was because of the Oympics and our guide was kind enough to tell us how todo these things on our own.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Michael, 2012/07/02

We found the tour very tiring. We were hurried along by the tour director when it was not necessary ( especially to the river to catch the ferry) and had to wait for 30 or more minutes once we arrived. The meal at the Three Tuns Hotel was disgustingly awful. The worst fish and chips we have had in our long lives.. We were told we would have bread and butter with it which did not materiallise.and may have been the best part of the meal. Walking from the coach to the hotel was quite a distance and then back again to the cathederal. We enjoyed Leeds castle and the Canterbury Cathederal but found it all too much for one day.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kita, 2011/12/29

It was a good thing that the sights in themselves were spectacular and wonderful as the customer service we recieved was not really up to scratch at all.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ean Nee, 2011/09/04

Interesting visit to Leeds Castle and Canterbury but BEWARE it's just a drive through the White Cliffs of Dover & barely 5 minutes at Greenwich Town.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Patricia, 2011/08/14

Not enough time in Canterbury; River Cruise a complete waste of time in a hot, stuff, enclosed boat with dirty windows--an open-air boat would be much nicer. Should make clear that the White Cliffs visit is a road stop from afar.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Coveda, 2011/03/26

Wonderful tour! Our guide was very knowledgable, funny, and she took very good care of us. Our driver was the best. How he managed those roundabouts with that big bus, I will never know. Book it now, learn much, and have a fantastic time.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Federica, 2011/02/19

we came from italy to spend a great day with an English friend of us, and this tour has been an unforgettable way to stay together! we have seen everything, full-commented, so exiciting and...and the coach is so comfortable!

we can't wait for coming again!
thank you,
Anna, Federica, Mirella

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Suzanna, 2010/10/21

Did not think that the tour guide was very responsive to peoples needs
one lady was sick and he did not try to help her much at all! Also made last minute decisions re plans at the end and some people were left stranded.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kathryn, 2010/01/25

Need more time at the Leeds Castle grounds in order to see everything. Plus, there needs to be time to actually explore Greenwich...just driving through wasn't to exciting. The tour could end at 7 just as easy as it did at 6.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Andrea, 2009/08/20

The tour was wonderful and our guide gave us a lot of background information about the history of the locations.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Eugene, 2008/08/17

We would prefer stop on top of Dover cliff next to Dover castle instead of the beach.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Asdis, 2007/11/06

We would have wanted more time in Dover.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]