(All Reviews) Fabric Dyeing and Weaving (Crafts), Japan tours & activities, fun things to do in Japan | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Fabric Dyeing and Weaving in Japan

Overall Rating

4.79 4.79 / 5

Reviews

14 reviews

Advanced Traditional Hand-Dyeing Workshop Kyo-Yuzen Course in a Machiya

Therapeutic and great souvenir

Reviewed by: Neko, 2018/01/30

It was a great experience. My design took 4 hours and 9 stencils. It turned out beautiful in my opinion. They packaged it up really nice at the end as well.

I was only shown about 10 designs to choose from, maybe because I was doing the advanced workshop and on a large piece of fabric. I got a quick intro on how it worked and how to paint and then I was left to my own devices. What I assume was the master craftsman would stop by every once in a while to see how things were going and look at my progress. Do not expect this to be a step by step class, but staff is available if you have questions. I jumped right into the advanced class as I am artist who loves painting and making things, but I don't recommend doing that if you are not comfortable painting. It is not as easy as just putting one color down in one area of the stencil, you need to layer colors, like just the petal of a flower needs red, black, and white; if you use just red, it will be flat.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our workshop. As you said, The advanced class takes long time and the designs are so complicating and needed many colors.We hope it was good experience for you. If you have a chance to visit Kyoto again, please stop by and try different design.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/01/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【和風布藝】京都傳統染色・友禪染本格製作體驗(英文服務可+中文說明資料)

這是一個很好的活動值得推薦=]

Reviewed by: 迦嵐H, 2018/05/31

本人第一次參加這類活動,是一個很好的體驗!
因為本人只有一個人參與,剛開始有點不安,
幸好有懂英文的職員在,而且店員的英文算是不錯,
講解亦有中文提供(但只給了我簡體字的)
簡單講解後,就自己開始做了,期間二代目亦有和本人閒聊。
當完成時,二代目發現我的帶揚有點走線亦幫我處理掉,
而最後店員們亦親切的問我有否浴衣,沒有的話提議可以把帶揚當作圍巾用。
十分細心!

Comments from activity operators

感谢您来丸益西村屋的体验。非常高兴给您留下很好的回忆。希望有机会再来体验。

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Advanced Traditional Hand-Dyeing Workshop Kyo-Yuzen Course in a Machiya

An excellent opportunity to experience an iconic Japanese craft

Reviewed by: JJ Loughran, 2019/02/12

I arrived at the studio and was welcomed by a staff member. During my time there I was pleased with the oversight of the staff -- and truly enjoyed my experience. The helpfulness, the professionalism and the interest of the staff provided a supported experience which I found enormously satisfying. This is a great craft experience and I highly recommend it. I was directed to a local supplier and bought the materials necessary to do this again

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half Day Chopstick Making and Kyoyuzen Dyed Chopstick Case in Kyoto

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Carmen , 2020/02/15

Loved being able to do something crafty in Kyoto! While the instructors didn’t speak english, there were English instruction handouts and it was still a great experience. You get to choose what shape of chopstick you want to make and then you paint a case for your new chopsticks. I would say while it wasn’t hard, it was still challenging enough to be fun for anyone to participate

Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Kyoto!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2020/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【貸切可】京友禅染め体験本格型紙コース 老舗工房の町家で初めての友禅染体験<烏丸御池駅>by 丸益西村屋

京友禅

Reviewed by: ベジきよ, 2016/09/18

タペストリーを製作しました。一人での参加ということもあり、マイペースに進めることができました。スタッフのかたもとても親切で丁寧に指導してくださったおかげで、とても満足のいく仕上がりになりました。楽しくて時間があっという間に過ぎて、もう一つ別の作品まで作ってしまいました。是非 また 行きたいです!

Comments from activity operators

体験ありがとうございました。
本格コースは大型作品に挑戦するので、大変だったかもしれませんが、楽しく感じていただけたようで、とても嬉しいです。
是非、またお越しください。お待ちしております。

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2016/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Traditional Saori Weaving Experience near Zenkouji Temple in Nagano

First time experiencing a loom and it was awesome!

Reviewed by: PoorMan, 2019/06/16

We travel all over Japan, trying different workshops and this was well worth it! The instructors were polite and very patient with us. The provided detailed explanations and helped you through the entire process. They did not do the work for you but instead, told you how to accomplish things. My wife could not stop smiling the entire time because it was such a wonderful experience. If ever in Nagano, this is a must do experience!

Comments from activity operators

お二人の旅の思い出の1ページにオリカフェを選んで頂いて光栄です。さをり織り体験楽しんで頂けて良かったです!投稿ありがとうございます

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【貸切可】京友禅染め体験本格型紙コース 老舗工房の町家で初めての友禅染体験<烏丸御池駅>by 丸益西村屋

満足

Reviewed by: 阪急三番街, 2015/08/18

実用重視で風呂敷を、と思ったのですが、出来上がったら綺麗で額縁に入れて飾りたいくらいでした。
型枠を使うので絵心が無くても安心です。
3.4時間のはずが一日かかりましたが、分からないところや難しいところは優しくフォロー下さり、(時に上手に出来ていると乗せられ笑)また行きたくなる染物体験でした。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half Day Chopstick Making and Kyoyuzen Dyed Chopstick Case in Kyoto

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Kate Lack, 2019/03/02

They had all the instructions in English so it was super easy to follow and the staff were all so lovely. It does take a while to get the hang of. All up it took 2 and a half hours to make. Would definitely recommend to anyone that is sick of looking at temples and shrines.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/02/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half Day Chopstick Making and Kyoyuzen Dyed Chopstick Case in Kyoto

Lots of fun in a beautiful Kyoto workshop!

Reviewed by: R from Portland, 2017/12/16

The setting is stunning—a collection of small buildings set in a garden alleyway—and the staff are helpful. We enjoyed making the chopsticks but loved dyeing the carrybags for the chopsticks even more. Would love to come back to try a dyeing activity at this workshop!

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for your visiting our shop.We glad to help enjoying your trip. Please go on using your chopsticks and a bag and looking forward seeing you again!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Traditional Saori Weaving Experience near Zenkouji Temple in Nagano

Oricafe Weaving class

Reviewed by: Jean, 2018/11/11

An excellent experience with each person completing a small table runner.
The staff were kind, friendly and extremely helpful. I would highly recommend
this class to anyone interested inJapanese weaving.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for showing oricafe and thank you for cominq
We hope to see you again.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【貸切可】京友禅染め体験本格型紙コース 老舗工房の町家で初めての友禅染体験<烏丸御池駅>by 丸益西村屋

友禅染め体験

Reviewed by: T.T., 2018/07/13

集中してできる環境で良かったです♥
また、是非参加させてもらいたいです。
違う生地の色か違う型紙でChallengeしたいです。お付き合い下さい。

  • ありがとうございました。

Comments from activity operators

本格コースのお越し頂きありがとうございました。
特に時間がかかるコースなので、集中して作業されたんじゃないでしょうか?
とても上手な作品に仕上がっていると思います。
また、是非機会がございましたら、お立ち寄りください。
お待ちしております。

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【貸切可】京友禅染め体験本格型紙コース 老舗工房の町家で初めての友禅染体験<烏丸御池駅>by 丸益西村屋

大作ができました!

Reviewed by: kanilehua, 2018/03/19

ひとり旅で時間もあるので、せっかくなら普段使えるものを作りたくて、綿風呂敷への友禅染め体験にしました。
デザイン見本には、2〜3時間とあったのですが、カラフルでたびたび色に迷ってしまったこともあり、来店から5時間かかりました。
それでもゆっくりと作業させていただき、その甲斐あって、とても素晴らしいものができました。とっても満足です。

  • 正倉院更紗というデザインです

Comments from activity operators

先日はご来店いただきまして、ありがとうございました。
特に制限時間はございませんので、本格コースは1日おられる方もいらっしゃいます。
長時間でしたが、満足いただけましたようで、私どもも嬉しく存じます。
また、京都へお越しの際には、是非、他のものにも挑戦してみて下さい!
心よりお待ちしております。

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【貸切可】京友禅染め体験本格型紙コース 老舗工房の町家で初めての友禅染体験<烏丸御池駅>by 丸益西村屋

初めての友禅染め

Reviewed by: はせやこ, 2018/09/01

初めての友禅染めでした。親切に教えもらいました。ただ、時間が足りなくなりました。最後まで仕上げることが出来なかったことが残念でした。ただ、メインの柄は、染めることができたので良かったです。
機会があれば、もう一度、トライしたです。

Comments from activity operators

先日は、体験にお越し頂きまして、誠にありがとうございました。
「本格コース」は標準半日ほどですが、選ばれる絵柄や個人ごとのスピードが違うため、少し時間がかかってしまう方もおられます。
私どもとしましては時間制限はないのですが、全部は間に合わなかったとのことで、大変失礼いたしました。
是非、またチャレンジ頂けたらと存じます。
よろしくお願い致します。

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【貸切可】京友禅染め体験本格型紙コース 老舗工房の町家で初めての友禅染体験<烏丸御池駅>by 丸益西村屋

刷り込み友禅

Reviewed by: オゼキヒロミ, 2017/08/16

初めて体験しました。染色に興味が湧きました、次回はもっと詳しくいろんな画像や絵を型取りからやってみたいです。反物に染めてみたくなりました。

Comments from activity operators

体験にお越し頂きまして、誠にありがとうございました。
興味を持っていただけましたとのこと、大変恐れ入ります。
自分で作った型紙を使っていただくこともできますので、是非チャレンジしてみて下さい!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]