Japanese Plastic Food Sample Art Experience in Tokyo reviews, Tokyo tours & activities, fun things to do in Tokyo | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Japanese Plastic Food Sample Art Experience in Tokyo

Overall Rating

4.88 4.88 / 5

Reviews

133 reviews
Post a review

My wonderful exprience in Yamato food sample

Reviewed by: Norwahidah Shariff, 2019/11/10

Very friendly and helpful instructors, easy to learn activity.
This was my first time and I loved it

  • My Valuable Experience

  • My ramen

Reply from activity provider

Customer
Thank you for visiting this time.
I hope you enjoyed it.
Please come to Tokyo again when you come to Tokyo.
We'll be expecting you.
staff

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Interesting class, nice tutor.

Reviewed by: Maggie Leung, 2019/05/30

The tutor is so nice and his English is easy to understand. We feel a little bit strange when we are on the way because it is located in residential area. However, the image changed when we get into the classroom.

The tools are well prepared, instructions are clear, the tutor is very nice. And the most important thing is we like our product so much!

Just one concerning point for foreigners that we need to buy some boxes to store our product well. Or else, we are not able to bring them to our home safely since we need to take flight.

The total experience is amazing. I will recommend it to my friends. I'd also like to try other food sample classes from this tutor when I travel to Tokyo later.

Reply from activity provider

HI,Customer
Thank you for visiting us.
Did you enjoy the experience?

Thank you very much for your high evaluation.By all means when you come to Tokyo
Please come. We'll be expecting you.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Plastic Craft in Tokyo

Reviewed by: Stevie, 2019/04/24

This workshop was easy to find, using google maps. It is a small, family-run business. We were welcomed warmly and given excellent instructions on how to put together our sample foods. My husband created sushi, my daughter (8) and I made sundaes.

We all had a great time, love our unique souvenirs, and would recommend this experience to others. It takes about a day to dry/set, but is well packaged for flying home.

The sample industry is 90+ years old, so taking part in this is trying a piece of Japanese culture.

Go! Have Fun!

  • Instructions

  • My daughter's finished sundae

  • Pouring wax into moulds

  • Squeezing silicon into cup

  • Choosing toppings!

  • Happy customers!

Reply from activity provider

Hello Customer

Thank you for visiting us.
I would be glad if you could experience Japanese culture through experience.
I think sushi could be held well. The parfait also finished cutely.We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you very much for your high evaluation.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun

Reviewed by: Johanna , 2019/04/23

It was very nice! Lovely, kind people looking after us and showing the children patiently what to do. We made ice cream, Sushi candles and Ramen. These can also be made by younger children - we think. It s a fun experience for the entire family. Our children found it one of the best things of all in Tokyo :)

Reply from activity provider

Hello Customer

Thank you very much for coming to the store this time.
I'll receive and appreciate high evaluation.

Could you enjoy a food sample experience?
Please do a different experience next time.
I'm waiting for another coming.
Staff

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun family experience

Reviewed by: David, 2019/04/17

The owner and staff were extremely nice and helpful during our time creating fake desserts. We got to make our own designs and the instructor explained the whole process and helped guide my kids in creating their own Ice cream sundaes. The owner also showed us different foods and types of samples and their history. Going from wax to now PVC and plastics. We enjoyed their hospitality and the experience overall was awesome. Kids couldn’t wait until there samples were dry which took only 24 hours. They packaged it up in protective boxes for us for the train ride back to our hotel. Definitely recommend!

Reply from activity provider

Hello guest

Thank you for visiting us.
Thank you again for your high rating.
I would be glad if you enjoyed the food sample experience.
Did you learn the history of the sample etc?
We look forward to seeing you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great hands on project for families!

Reviewed by: matin, 2019/04/08

The crew at the workshop were super enthusiastic. We had a blast and actually stayed for the next session -- ramen -- based on my 10-year old's pleas to do more. Definitely going back next time we are in Tokyo. Lot of fun and went home with great souvenirs and memories.

Reply from activity provider

Hello Customer

Thank you for visiting us.
I'm also glad to receive words of praise.
Please make a reservation again when you come to Tokyo.
We'll be expecting you.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent for day-trips or as a short activity!

Reviewed by: Kiko, 2019/04/04

I made two separate reservations, as my group was split between wanting to make different things. The instructor was friendly and could give instructions in English. He was very encouraging and made our experience stress-free.

The location was much smaller than I expected, about the size of a studio apartment. There are "blanks" you can use to help you plan the layout of your sample. There's some room for error, so it's ok if you don't get everything how you want it the first time.

It took about 45 min for us to finish our samples. Bigger samples, like ramen and tempura looked like they'd take closer to 90 mins. This activity would be perfect between major plans, like killing time in the afternoon before dinner plans, or as a detour from Ikebukuro.

Advice: tie back long hair and wear short sleeves.

Reply from activity provider

Hello sir
Thank you for visiting us.
Thank you again for your high rating.
I would be glad if you had a pleasant experience.
We look forward to seeing you again
Thanks

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Easy and fun!

Reviewed by: Malie808, 2019/03/29

My 11yo son made the curry...and it looked so real! The steps were easy enough for him to do on his own. The couple doing the lessons were so nice and patient. We don't speak Japanese, so he tried his best to explain what he could in English. He also used a Pocket Talk to translate. We wish we could have gone back another day to do it again!

Reply from activity provider

Curry was very well done.
By all means when coming to Japan again
Please go to different experiences.
We'll be expecting you. Thank you very much

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Malie808, 2019/03/29

My 9yo daughter made the Parfait, and had so much fun! The couple that was there doing the lessons were so kind and patient! He tried to explain what he could in English, and what he felt he had difficulty with, he used a PocketTalk to translate. We felt so comfortable and can't wait to go back!

Reply from activity provider

Hello Customer
Parfait is popular among girls.
I would be glad if you enjoyed it.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth the trek!

Reviewed by: Wandering American , 2019/03/14

The sample workshop is tucked away in a residential neighborhood, but it was easy enough to find. We were a little worried whether the trip would be worth it as we made our way to the studio, but our fears were laid to rest when we were greeted enthusiastically by the owner who really made the experience priceless. My kids loved learning about how the samples are made and making their own. We had a blast!

Reply from activity provider

Customer
Thank you for visiting us.
It is good to have you discover in what is in a residential area.
I would be glad if you enjoyed the experience.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing family experience in Tokyo

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2018/12/23

We loved this! It was easy for my two kids (6 and 10) and the end product turned out just like the model and was a Cool take home souvenir. The staff there are wonderful, friendly, and helpful.

Reply from activity provider

Hello、Anonymous

Thank you very much for coming to the store this time.
I receive high evaluation and thank you very much.
If you'd enjoy an experience, I'm glad.
By all means, we look forward to serving you again.

Staff

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fun!

Reviewed by: Ernest yong, 2018/12/15

Most of the items are pre made and you simply need to put them together with some simple instructions. Good for family activity. Samples turn out realistic! The best part are the instructors, extremely friendly and accommodating. Tried their best to communicate in simple English and was sooooo polite. Thumbs up for them!

Reply from activity provider

HELLO Ernest yong 様

Thank you for coming.
I would be pleased if you could have fun.

Also, thank you for having a high evaluation.

I am struggling in English but I would like to study further. We are waiting for another visit.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun!

Reviewed by: Aussiemum, 2018/11/30

This was a great activity, I took my 5 Year old and he thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are kind and helpful too. We loved that there was a playground next door for a good play afterwards as well :-)

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for coming to the store this time.
I receive high evaluation and thank you very much.
If you'd enjoy an experience, I'm glad.By all means, we look forward to serving you again.

Staff

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Workshop Plastic Food Sample Ramen

Reviewed by: Linda, 2018/10/11

The workshop was a really nice experience. Our teacher was a really friendly guy. I can definitely recommend it if you have time to do it!
The location is easy to find and just one stop from Ikebukuro. Our fake Ramen is a nice memory, that will us remind of our time in Japan.

Reply from activity provider

Customer
Hello
Thank you for visiting us.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the ramen experience.
Also, thank you for having a high evaluationBy all means I will be waiting for you when coming to Tokyo.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had the best time!

Reviewed by: Alistair M., 2018/10/09

This was one of the best things we did on our trip. Our instructor spoke great English and was so nice! We learned how to make lettuce and shrimp tempura and now I want to make so much more! Can't recommend it more!

Reply from activity provider

Hello Customer

Thank you very much for coming to the store.
Tempura and a lettuce experience are the made process.
The experience which can be enjoyed.
I have enjoy itself and is glad.
I'm waiting for the coming which is again.
Staff

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good learning experience

Reviewed by: Mia Anindita, 2018/10/05

I really enjoyed the activity. The teacher is really nice, very patient when explaining something. However I expect to learn from the very basic step, knowing that we tend to just stick one thing and another made me a little bit disappointed. Regardless, it was indeed a good learning experience for me. Thank you!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for coming to the store this time.
I receive high evaluation and thank you very much.
If you'd enjoy an experience, I'm glad.
By all means, we look forward to serving you again.
Staff

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My favourite experience of the holiday!

Reviewed by: Fancypantsrodgers, 2018/06/18

I loved everything about this experience. The shop/factory is situated in a lovely little area of Tokyo (near Kita-Ikebukuro station) - easy to get to, and very welcoming on arrival. Our teacher did not speak much English, but was so helpful and demonstrated everything we needed to do. He also borrowed a translator from his colleague to ask us about our holiday plans and to recommend activities.

Myself and my friend came away with our beautiful miniature sundaes, and also some other purchases from the shop for friends and family. Absolutely delightful! Do make this a part of your trip to Japan.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Fancypantsrodgers 様
Thank you for visiting our store this time. Thank you for your compliment.
It would be great if everyone overseas could enjoy the experience.
We are waiting for another visit.
staff

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience making food samples!

Reviewed by: Kristi L., 2018/06/13

Yamato Sample was one of the highlights of our trip. The staff was very accommodating, and could speak English better than I can speak Japanese. They explained the processes behind creating each type of sample. It really gives you an appreciation for their craft since they take so much care in doing it. The staff guides you in making the sample of your choosing. Highly recommended!

Reply from activity provider

Hello Kristy L 様
Thank you for visiting our store this time.
Thank you for your compliment.
We will strive to encourage foreign visitors to have fun experiencesWe are waiting for another visit

staff

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great WorkShop!!!

Reviewed by: BopBsgBill, 2018/06/05

Great work shop on food sampling and the intructor speaks English an added plus. Most of the other workshops you need to have a interpret with you but not with this one...Try and make it and it just plain fun....

Reply from activity provider

Hello BopBsgBill 様
Thank you for visiting us.
Also, thank you for your complimentsIn. English it is necessary to study all the staff so that they can study
I am thinking. I would be pleased if you enjoyed the experience.
I will be waiting for you again.
staff

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience for the whole family!

Reviewed by: J From CO, 2018/06/04

We took our two kids, ages 5 and 7, to make large parfaits and ramen. The kids loved doing it, and they now have great souvenirs that were thoughtfully packaged for traveling. Also, there were two small parks near the location on the way to the train station for the kids to release their energy.


Reply from activity provider

Hello J From CO sama


Thank you very much for coming to the store this time.
I'll receive and appreciate high evaluation.

Could you enjoy a food sample experience?
Please do a different experience next time.
I'm waiting for another coming.
Staff

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the best things we did in Japan

Reviewed by: Faerirose, 2018/05/30

I vacationed with a group of 5 people and for the plastic food experience we made a total of 4 different items: full size parfait, mini sundae, ramen, and fruit tart. We had a blast.
The staff explained well in English and helped and guided when we had problems (not big problems and they were problems of our own making as non-professionals - they fixed an overworked piece of wax and guided a better parfait swirl).
The atmosphere there was really fun and energetic. There are 4 tables in workshop 3 so other people are making stuff at the same time. Our food turned out wonderfully. We would absolutely do the plastic food activity again.

Reply from activity provider

Hello Faerirose 様

Thank you very much for coming to the store this time. If everybody would enjoy himself, I'm glad. High evaluation is also having.
Thank you very much.
When you're coming to Tokyo again by all meansPlease come near.
I'm waiting for the coming which is again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Christin, 2018/05/21

I made an Ice Cream Food Sample and I am really happy with it! Every step was explained really well, there was no rush and the English instruction was also good. Making the ice cream part was not too easy, but I got assistance at first and later on could chose if I wanted to do it on my own(which I did). I'm really happy with the whole experience and the result! Everybody was really nice and seemed to have as much fun as we were! Thank you very much!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting our store this time.
We are pleased that you enjoyed it.

I do not improve well in English, but I think that it was good if there was no problem.
Please decorate the parfait as good memories of Japan.

We are waiting for another visit.

Thank you very much.
staff

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

If you ever wanted to do sample food, do it here!

Reviewed by: Christian, 2018/05/21

I made a Ramen Food Sample and I am really happy with it! Every step was explained really well as well as the materials, there was no rush and the English instruction was also good. Everybody was really nice and seemed to have as much fun as we were! Thank you very much!

  • Result

  • Sample as orientation and the first step: forming the ramen noodles

Reply from activity provider

Hello Christian さん
I think that it was possible to create ramen very well.
Please be careful as ramen is sensitive to heatWe are waiting for another visit.
thanks。

staff

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Japanese plastic food sample art experience in Tokyo- cupcakes

Reviewed by: Shi , 2018/05/15

My daughter, myself and a friend attended the plastic food sample class on Sunday morning and we had a great time! The teacher was very helpful especially with my young daughter. We enjoyed very much and our samples are now hand-made gifts for people back home. We loved this activity and would come back again next time we're in Japan!

Reply from activity provider

Dear Shi さん

Thank you very much for coming to the store. If your daughter and a friend would enjoy themselves, too, I'm glad. After Suitesl made it, it's also pretty to display it in your room, right?
When Japan is coming later by all means, it's in an atelier.Please come near.
I'm waiting for the coming which is again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fabulous experience for kids and adults alike

Reviewed by: swiss family, 2018/05/14

* logistics - the place was about 30min Metro ride from Tokyo, it was easy to find from the train station.
* people - we had a lovely Young man looking after us, his english was excellent. He explained the history of plastic Food sample art and was patient in answering all our questions. He was so good with the kids!
* activity - from a technical perspective it was easy but the end result looks amazing. The kids were so thrilled with the result!

Overall - the activity was such good value for money because it incorporated craft, a cool Souvenir to take home, constant interest in restaurant Windows afterwards and an educational element for the kids.

Reply from activity provider

Hello swiss family 様

Thank you very much for coming to the store.
I also receive high evaluation and I'm glad.
I still have to study English. By all means, we look forward to serving you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good experience

Reviewed by: Benny, 2018/05/09

Pros:
The teacher can speak English, very polite
Many different Art work you can choose

Cons:
Some parts of the artwork are PVC with is pre-made, so cannot experience the whole making process

Overall:
It is a nice experience

Reply from activity provider

Hello Benny 様

Thank you very much for coming to the store this time.

I'd like to study English a little more.

If you'd enjoy yourself, I'm glad
I'm waiting for the coming which is again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Full-size ice cream sundae

Reviewed by: Ritter , 2018/05/01

The course is very funny and interesting. The kids enjoyed it very much. We are planning to join another food sample activity in our next trip to Tokyo.

Reply from activity provider

Hello Ritter 様
Thank you very much for coming to the store this time.
I receive high evaluation and thank you very much.If you'd enjoy an experience, I'm glad.
By all means, we look forward to serving you again.

Staff

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Plastic sundae making is great family fun

Reviewed by: BRK, 2018/04/24

We had a great time creating tiny plastic ice cream sundae models with expert help.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for coming to the store this time.
I receive high evaluation and thank you very much.
If you'd enjoy an experience, I'm glad.
By all means, we look forward to serving you again.

Staff

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Sunny, 2018/04/18

The guy who taught us had great English and was very kind. He answered our questions and we got to learn the trade secrets behind fake food! Cool unique souvenir from Tokyo.

Reply from activity provider

Hello Sir
Thank you very much for coming to the store this time. English is studied a little more. If you'd enjoy an experience, I'm happy.
I think. I'm waiting for the coming which is again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect activity for my 8 and 12 year old!

Reviewed by: Jeanie, 2018/04/03

The place is a bit off the beaten path in Tokyo but it gives you a chance to walk along a typical non-tourist road. The people who work there speak enough English to help you and really give the kids a chance to make most of the sundae by themselves.

We had a wonderful experience!

Reply from activity provider

Customer

Thank you very much for coming to the store this time. Please have high evaluation.
I'm glad.

I'd like to study English a little more. I apologize for that in easy English.

I'm waiting for the coming which is again by all means.

Staff

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]