Japanese Plastic Food Sample Art Experience in Tokyo reviews, Tokyo tours & activities, fun things to do in Tokyo | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Japanese Plastic Food Sample Art Experience in Tokyo

Overall Rating

4.93 4.93 / 5

Reviews

148 reviews
Post a review

Such a pleasant experience!!

Reviewed by: Nicole G., 2024/06/24

I just made my own bowl of ramen this weekend and I was helped by one of the workers, Ryou. He was so sweet!! He was able to communicate effectively in English, showed me every step with patience, rooted me on, and even offered to take photos/videos of me throughout the process. After I was finished making my bowl, it took only about 5 minutes for it to dry and I was ready to go!

They also have an area where they sell fake food goodies, and I bought myself some gyoza earrings. It was an easy, quick walk from the station. If you’re into fake food, definitely recommend!!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us.
We are very happy that customers from overseas enjoyed their visit.
We will study English more.
Gyoza is also popular at our workshop. Please come and enjoy it.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2024/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had so much fun making ramens and parfaits!

Reviewed by: Samantha, 2024/06/19

Our family really enjoyed this fun activity. They even wrap up your creations so you can transport them home! We definitely recommend this.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us this time. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was great!!

Reviewed by: David, 2024/06/16

We signed up to make sample tarts. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They spoke English very well and helped us every step of the way. Would definitely recommend who wants a fun experience making food samples.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us. I'm not very good at English, but I'll keep trying.
After the experience, you can enjoy the tarts as accessories.
Please come visit us again when you visit Japan. We look forward to seeing you.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A very cute and fun activity! We had an excellent time!

Reviewed by: Courtney and John, 2024/06/13

Thank you to our host for personal and friendly service, we love our ramen bowls!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us. It seems that many people overseas also love ramen.
I'm glad if you enjoyed it.
We look forward to your visit.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I LOVED LOVED IT

Reviewed by: Daintree, 2024/05/18

大好き!!! I had so much fun making the lil food sample parfait, our helper was so perfect and sweet !!! he spoke English and would tell you what the word was in japanese, it was so so cute. I loved the whole experience so much and everything they make is so cute!!! im so happy to have a lil cutie parfait to sit on my desk at home

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us.
Thank you for your kind words.
We are also very happy that people from overseas can enjoy and be happy. Please come visit us again when you come to Japan.
We'll be expecting you

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2024/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing and unique experience!

Reviewed by: kaywaiian , 2024/04/20

We had a magnificent time with our instructor for the food class! He was instructive, patient, and made the experience the best it could be. You can really tell he loves what he does, and teaching people about it. If we ever come back to Japan, we will definitely be taking another class.

I also want to note: these classes can be taken in English is need be. Our instructor apologized for his “bad English” - and then spoke perfect English the whole time. I was like “no- WE apologize for OUR bad Japanese >_<“

Great fun for all ages. I took my husband and his guy friend, and they loved it more than they thought. Just 10/10 experience.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us.
I am happy to receive your compliments.
I'm not good at English, but I'll try to study it more.
Please come visit us again when you come to Japan.
We'll be expecting you.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2024/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Food sample experience

Reviewed by: SCR, 2024/04/20

My daughter and I had a great time making food samples. The guide was so nice and helpful.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us.
We hope you enjoyed the food sample experience. Sincerely

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sundae-making review

Reviewed by: Charlotte, 2024/04/19

The activity was super fun and interesting. I had a wonderful time and would recommend this activity to anyone!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us.
We would be very happy if you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to seeing you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2024/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent experience!

Reviewed by: Nikko, 2024/04/17

The coach tried his best to tell me the background of plastic food samples, and gave clear instruction on each steps. Sufficient time for me to complete the project in 1 hour. Even he is not very fluent in English, he will use translation to explain. I had good time enjoying it!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us. I will study English more.
I would be happy if you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to seeing you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2024/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Lexi, 2024/04/16

I booked this experience for my boyfriend's birthday as he's a big fan of plastic food, so we wanted to learn how to make it and try it out for ourselves. If you're worried that this experience may only be fun for kids or families, we're both in our early 30s and had a really fun time of it!

The owner told us about the history of the craft while he taught us how to make our plastic fried rice, and it was really interesting to learn about!

They have a lot of fun trinkets and jewelry for sale as well that make amazing gifts for friends and family!

Would highly recommend this experience for anyone interested.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us. We are glad that you are interested in our food samples. I hope you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to seeing you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great, unique experience!

Reviewed by: Daniel, 2024/04/14

We had so much fun creating our little tart and parfait! They make adorable little souvenirs. The instructor was very patient, knowledgeable and friendly with a little help from Google translate. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a fun little activity to do that is uniquely Japanese, especially if you love food!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us.

I think it turned out really cute.

Please come visit us again when you visit Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience!

Reviewed by: Joanna Yang, 2024/04/08

Great and unique experience making sample food. Booking online was straight-forward and easy as well :) Do note that to purchase additional in-store merchandise (sample food made by the store eg keychains) require cash, which we unfortunately did not bring. Otherwise, the course itself was engaging, straight-forward, and fun even for adults. Would definitely recommend!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us. I am also happy to receive your compliments. I'm glad if you had a fun time. Please come visit us again when you visit Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent and fun activity

Reviewed by: Renee, 2024/03/30

Looking for something to do other than visiting temples, sightseeing, eating, or shopping? Show off your creative talent (you really dont need any!) by making your own sample food. This is a great family activity geared to all ages and skill levels and you learn a bit about the history of sample food. Keep in mind that you are not making samples from scratch. Rather some items such as the noodles and toppings are pre-made and you're basically molding them and placing the items to create your final product. Our group created different items - sushi candle, fried rice, Ramen and pizza clock - and everyone was thrilled with our creations! What a great souvenir to take home. Staff was very friendly, kind, supportive, and more importantly, patient in helping all of us. Try it out for yourself!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us.
I am very happy to receive your compliments.
We have arranged it so that anyone can have fun creating food samples. We look forward to seeing you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great activity

Reviewed by: MB, 2024/03/17

I received a warm welcome and the workshop was comfortable. My guide was kind and knowledgeable and happily helped me when I needed it.
I was pleased with my end product (the ramen bowl) and my guide packaged it very well in a secure box.
I would come back again to complete some of the other food options like the parfait.

I definitely recommend this activity. It doesn't take too long, isn't very messy and the end result looks great.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us.
Thank you again for your high evaluation.
The ramen experience is also popular among people from overseas. Please make it and try Japanese ramen.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2024/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyable experience

Reviewed by: William, 2024/02/04

The most important thing is being able to communicate in English, and the teacher delivered! Instructions were clear, and kept us engaged.

Some of the materials were ready to go, so do not expect the satisfaction of crafting something from scratch, but its difficulty is suitable for travellers.

You should also read the posters on the wall, and you could see some advice from previous players.

I'd rate the experience 10/10!
(Personally think fried rice is more enjoyable than ramen)

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us. We want everyone to have fun, so we have arranged the experience quite a bit.
I appreciate your compliments.
Ramen and fried rice are both very popular.
We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sundae making

Reviewed by: Anthony, 2024/02/03

The host is super nice and we had fun!!! Our sundae parfait looks too real that we want to eat it.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for this time.
I would be happy if you enjoyed the experience. It's a shame that I can't eat it.
Please come visit us again when you come to Japan.
Thank you

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/02/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of fun!

Reviewed by: Kim, 2024/01/30

Booking was a little bit tricky, it was tough to tell which options were available until checkout. That said, the activity of making a food sample itself was a lot of fun! We made bowls of ramen, and it was interesting to see the process and I am grateful that the instruction could be given in English. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I look forward to doing this again sometime.

  • Ramen food sample

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us.
We hope you enjoyed the food sample experience.
The ramen turned out delicious.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

スムーズ

Reviewed by: Asmico, 2024/01/16

少し到着が遅れましたが、スムーズに制作ができました。
いろいろ教えてもらって、話をするのも楽しかったです。
もう少し難しいサンプル作りも出来ればと思います。

Reply from activity provider

この度はお来店頂きましてありがとうございました。
是非また機会がございましたら違うメニューにもTRYしてみて下さいませ。
よろしくお願い致します

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2024/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun!

Reviewed by: Barbara, 2024/01/13

Owner and stuff were amazingly friendly and took the time to explain the instructions. I laughed when one of the staff members to please flatten the ramen noodles like a frisbee. These are awesome souvenirs and me and the boyfriend enjoyed it a lot. It's a unique experience for sure. The class itself doesn't take too long, maybe 30-40 minutes? It depends on how many things you're making and if the instructor is busy. If you have the chance, i highly recommend this experience! You take your product home right away, they packaged my deluxe parfait very carefully in a box and then into a bag to take home. It'll take 24 hours for the silicone (the "whipped cream" to fully harden.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us. We are also happy to receive a high evaluation.
Please try a different menu when you visit Japan again. We'll be expecting you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful hands on experience. Uniquely Japanese.

Reviewed by: Teo, 2023/12/07

Excellent easy to follow and detailed instructions. Adult and children had lots of fun as a family, creating food samples of our choice. Nice conversations with the owner and assistant. Also saw lots of celebrities photos. Highly recommended.

Reply from activity provider

hank you for visiting us. I would be happy if you enjoyed it and made some good memories of your time in Japan. Please come visit us again when you come to Japan. We'll be expecting you.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/12/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Top tier plastic food workshop in Tokyo

Reviewed by: Pradeep D, 2023/11/29

Our instructor was very knowledgeable about the history of and how to make plastic food. He stayed with us for the entire time, letting us do all the different steps while lending a helping hand to keep us on track. He spoke very good English and used a translator app to explain more involved steps for detail work. The experience is great for people of all ages, kids around us were having a blast. We have very cute souvenirs and lovely memories to take home with us - 100% recommend this experience to anyone visiting Tokyo and looking to learn something unique!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us. I will still study English. Thank you for your compliment and high rating. Please come again when you visit Japan.
We'll be expecting you

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent plastic ramen making experience!

Reviewed by: Ramya V, 2023/11/29

Right from when we entered the location we were welcomed warmly - the instructor stayed with us for the entire experience, showing us how to execute each step and maintain a detailed realistic look throughout. He spoke very good English and used a translator app to explain more intricate parts of the process. We came away feeling like we had learned a great deal, and with beautiful plastic food souvenirs to take with us. Definitely recommend this experience for anyone visiting the area!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us. We hope you enjoyed the food sample experience. I hope that people from many countries will continue to enjoy it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Service, So Much Fun!

Reviewed by: Selena, 2023/11/15

We had so much fun taking this class. It's a small, family-run shop about a 5 minute walk from the Kita-Ikebukuro train station. They gave good instructions in english on the voucher, so we had no problem finding it. Our teacher was really helpful and spoke great english- we had some good laughs using the translator app too. We chose the ramen class and loved our creations. Fun, simple, creative thing to do in Tokyo- would recommend to anyone! Very approchable business, we felt totally comfortable.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us. Thank you for visiting us.
I am very happy to receive your compliments.

English is quite difficult, but
I hope you enjoyed the experience.

Please display this work in your home.
I would be happy if it became a memory of Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Eva Raab, 2023/10/26

It was really fun and the staff was super nice. The Instructions were easy to follow and if you needed help, they were happy to help.
I would definitely recommend it, as souvenir or for your own.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us. Thank you for your high evaluation.
I would be happy if you enjoyed making food samples. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun for adults and children

Reviewed by: William, 2023/09/16

Friendly staff had limited English, but plenty for what we needed to make our parfaits. Fun, not super long, crafting activity that our whole family (including 17 & 11 year olds) enjoyed. They packed the final product amazingly so they made it home with zero damage.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us. I'm glad I was able to get you home safely.
I will study English more.
I hope you enjoyed your experience this time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A really enjoyable experience!

Reviewed by: Rita- from Hong Kong, 2023/08/19

This was really an enjoyable experience! The staffs are very nice, helpful and explained very clearly to make sure we understand every step! Love the samples that we have made, beautiful!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us. Thank you for your high evaluation. I am very happy to hear that. Please visit us again when you visit Japan.
We'll be expecting you.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun experience for family

Reviewed by: Sakura in NJ, 2023/08/12

It was a very fun experience. We always wanted to try making food sample and our whole family enjoyed so much. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and they are making sure we were doing just fine. Highly recommend this place.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us.
I would be very happy if you could enjoy it with your family. It's finished very well. Please come visit us again when you visit Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and unique experience

Reviewed by: Sabine, 2023/08/07

After reading the excellent reviews I had to book this activity for me and my 16-year-old son (mid July 2023) and I have to agree with the other reviewers: it was a lot of fun and a unique experience. The instructor was really nice and helpful, he explained everything to us in English and was very patient and supportive. We had time to choose our "ingredients" and both our ice cream sundaes turned out really well. Due to the perfect packaging we brought them back home safely. We highly recommend trying it yourself!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us.
Sorry for my not fluent English.
Create a food sample that is Japanese culture
I am happy.
Please visit us again when you visit Japan.
We'll be expecting you

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME!

Reviewed by: Study Group, 2023/08/02

They speak Japanese and a little bit of Japanese English It's not easy to understand but it helps to get communicated.
But, Their service mind is great, smile all time and kindly answer our question.
the sample things are good quality and we got a great experience.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us.
I have to study English more.
Thank you for your understanding.
I hope you enjoyed the experience

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A wonderful experience

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2023/07/30

I've always wanted to make one of these food samples, and was happy to find this opportunity using the Chika Toku (extra value) system from the Tokyo Metro pass. Although the explanation was in Japanese, the staff made sure I understood what to do and even showed me exactly how to proceed. It was a wonderful experience and a fun way to spend a couple hours.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for visiting us.
If you enjoyed the food sample experience
I am happy.
All staff should be able to speak more English
I will do my best.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2023/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]