(All Reviews) Nikko (Top Day Trips from Tokyo), Tokyo tours & activities, fun things to do in Tokyo | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Nikko in Tokyo

Overall Rating

4.50 4.50 / 5

Reviews

46 reviews

Nikko and Edo Wonderland Full-day Bus Tour from Tokyo

Fantastic Day out, audience participation included!

Reviewed by: Marie, 2014/09/21

The Nikko tour element of this trip was very fun, and the long trip there was made enjoyable by our delightful guide Amy (although I still can't get the song she had us sing out of my head). The temple was beautiful and the local environment a delight.
The unguided element at Edo Wonderland was a lot of fun, and one of our group even got dragged on stage to fumble through some scripted Japanese (we still don't know what he said, but the audience found it funny). The place itself had some of the hallmarks of a tourist trap, but these were easily overlooked when charmed by the friendly staff and casual atmosphere.
Don't miss the chance to dress up and have your picture taken!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

A magical place

Reviewed by: Umniyah , 2018/07/19

Nothing represents Japan better than Shinto shrines and breath-taking sceneries and that is exactly what Nikko has to offer !

The place is classified as a world heritage centre for a reason ! The carvings and paintings are marvellous , i very much enjoyed the optional 207 step hike to the tomb of tokugawa ieyasu !

Our traditional Japanese feast was very popular & filling , and kegon falls offered the perfect combination between Japanese sweets , water sound & magical visuals ..

Highly recommended

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Reviewed by: Laurence, 2012/11/19

Very nice tour! The shrine we visited (Toshogu shrine) was marvellous. The only regret is that we did not stay long enough to visit the different buildings to which we had access with the entrance ticket. The food was a nice overview of a typical japanese meal. The afternoon was dedicated to the imperial villa (nice garden and interesting house despite being mostly empty) and the sightseeing of a waterfall.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Great stay experience

Reviewed by: Uday , 2017/05/30

Our host (Dice) was a fastastic and pleasant person. Took great care to connect even before check in until we checked out. I stayed with my family (parents and children) and they loved it.

It was like a home. Well maintained.

Very convenient location to catch a train or taxi or bus. Most importantly located very close to many tourist attractions as well. Saves time!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Awesome tour

Reviewed by: Albert, 2017/05/16

This was a great tour. The guide was humorous and the spots were well chosen. The only downside was that I wish there was more time, because it felt like we were racing to get through as many spots as possible. If I were to visit Nikko or another "outside of Tokyo" site again, I'd probably plan to stay overnight because there is just too much to see in a single day.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

A lovely tour and well worth the 3 hours bus trip.

Reviewed by: D Van, 2018/02/12

Our tour guide was very knowledgable and had a great sense of humour. Everything was very organized and the bus trip was very comfortable.
Nikko and Kegon falls was just beautiful even in the cold. I would definitely do this tour again at a different time of year as i imagine it to be stunning and lush in Spring, Summer and Autumn. It was a day well spent.

  • Kegon Falls

  • Kegon Falls

  • Nikko

  • Nikko

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Reviewed by: Marylyn, 2015/02/11

A wonderful experience, well worth doing. The guide was very knowledgable and very pleasant . Lunch was fantastic! The snow, an added bonus. Freezing cold at the waterfall, but lovely. Only part I wouldn't recommend is walking up the 200 plus steps to the tomb, no view from the top and the steps were treacherous in the ice and snow.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Amazing trip with outstanding guidence

Reviewed by: Yael, 2018/09/15

Our guide was a nice lady with many insights.
Logistics was good and comfortable. We had a great time!
The level of service was high and informative. She gave us instructions on how to return to the hotel.
Also, the restaurant we stopped for lunch was really good.
We had a great time and we are happy to recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Well organised with a very experienced & cheerful tour guide!

Reviewed by: Anna, 2018/12/14

Enjoyed the trip tremendously!
Our tour guide, Ms Anne, was very experienced and informative about Nikko, its history etc. She also gave a "mini city guide" along the way to our destination.
She was also a cheerful lady and was very accommodating to our requests.
Felt safe and comfortable throughout the trip.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Edo Wonderland Full-day Bus Tour from Tokyo

Great time in Japan

Reviewed by: Peter Chang, 2017/10/29

It was really good time to learn about Japan’s ancient life & culture.
The temple in Nikko is such beautiful and the Edo Village has all kinds of life in the ancient
Japan. The guide was very kind & courtesy. However, there were too many peoples in the temple, so moving slow & time was really limited.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/10/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Nikko day tour

Reviewed by: Desley Ohalloran, 2018/10/28

A wonderful day in Nikko. Our guide was great very knowledgeable. Loved our traditional Japanese lunch. Plenty of time to explore on our own. Highly recommend this tour. Autumn leaves were out,amazing scenery. Guide made sure everyone knew how to get back to their hotels after tour ended.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Reviewed by: Frederick F. , 2010/02/23

Scenic 90 minute ride to Toshogu & Rinnoji (Nikko) where you will see incredible Gates, Temples, Houses and Shrines. Good tour type lunch then to the magnificent Lake Chuzen-ji and incredible Mt Nantai. Much like Lake Tahoe in the U.S.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Totally recommend this trip!

Reviewed by: Ananya, 2019/07/02

Both Nikko and Lake Chuzenji were quite stunning! Unfortunately, Kegon Falls was not visible due to the mist that day. Good food and a well informed guide made the total experience very worth it.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2017/03/11

Anyone should visit this place to understand the rich cultural heritage of Japan. Guide was very good and informative about the history, culture and overall Japanese social interaction.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Edo Wonderland Full-day Bus Tour from Tokyo

Edo Wonderland

Reviewed by: Trevis S., 2019/09/08

We had a Awesome day spent at Edo Wonderland! It was my first time in Japan and was definitely worth the visit! I highly recommend this place if you have time to stop by!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Awesome Day Tour!

Reviewed by: Jeannette A Jackson, 2017/11/22

Being a solo traveller it's great to be able to participate in tours like this awesome day tour to Nikko from Tokyo.. I had a wonderful time and highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Must Visit Tour

Reviewed by: Nishant Gupta, 2017/07/30

Excellently organised tour.. very good tour guide... enjoyed every bit of the tour... unfortunately due to heavy rains and mist could not see Kegan Falls...

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【日光超值遊】Nikko City Area Pass・便利前往東照宮+輪王寺+二荒山神社+鬼怒川溫泉等景點(東京出發+2日有效)

超方便

Reviewed by: 遙遙遙, 2019/01/03

通票包含東京往返日光的費用,適合單獨出行。兩天的行程都有用到它,真的非常方便。並且划算!一定推薦。。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【日光超值游】Nikko City Area Pass・东武铁道日光市区域通票・便利前往东照宫+轮王寺+二荒山神社+鬼怒川温泉等景点(东京出发+2日有效)

超值游

Reviewed by: xcl, 2018/09/12

通票包含东京往返日光的费用,适合单独出行。两天的行程都有用到它,真的非常方便。并且划算!一定推荐。。

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

The world Heritage park and Falls

Reviewed by: RITA L OSBORN, 2018/04/20

The Tour was AMAZING, especially NIKKO.
Lunch was very Pleasant and drive to and from the lake and falls was exciting.
All in all, a Terrific tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Excellent trip. Our guide was great.

Reviewed by: Kathleen Kelleher, 2017/05/31

Our guide Take San made the trip very enjoyable and informative. The shrine was spectacular.also the lunch was superbe. A great trip overall.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Reviewed by: susan, 2014/10/14

very good trip lots to see very interesting and good value for the money paid the tour guide was very good and gave us lots of information

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Nikko

Reviewed by: Nora K, 2019/08/02

Gorgeous tour... everything about this tour was nice.. our favorite tour. the temples were impressive.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Reviewed by: Harald, 2015/08/30

I am very happy with their website. Clear and easy to navigate. Can be recommended, absolutely.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Reviewed by: DEBORAH, 2017/04/13

This tour was very good. The lunch was very good.The tour guide and driver
were very helpful.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Beautiful

Reviewed by: Erin, 2018/05/22

Lovely day, pleasant drive, Kumiko was a wonderful guide, the history was fascinating.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Reviewed by: Charanjit, 2014/01/07

A must do, the drive was enjoyable too, Nikko Heritage is simply stunning

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Reviewed by: Maria Gisela, 2017/02/10

the tour guide, Amy, was very helpful, polite and informative

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko Pass World Heritage Area: 2-Day Train and Bus Pass from Tokyo

Nikko World Heritage Area 2-Day Train and Bus Pass (Tokyo Ticket Pick-up)

Reviewed by: Heather, 2019/07/01

Everything went according to play, the exchange worked out.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nikko and Kegon Falls World Heritage Day Tour From Tokyo

Reviewed by: Ioan, 2017/06/14

Very nice guide, excellent tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Tokyo