(All Reviews) Cooking Classes (Tokyo Foodie Experience), Tokyo tours & activities, fun things to do in Tokyo | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Cooking Classes in Tokyo

Overall Rating

4.86 4.86 / 5

Reviews

22 reviews

Soba Noodle Making Lesson with Professional Instructor at Yushima

Super delicious experience!

Reviewed by: Jasmine, 2015/11/05

I experienced making soba for the first time in my life. I have made udon before, but have not made soba.
Since I had a chance in Tokyo, I participated in it. As soon as I arrived at the soba shop, I wore the happi coat and felt as if I were a master of making soba. I was surprised that the instructor this time was not a trainee teacher but an fully certified professional. I learned about the types of soba, conditions to make it, and methods of production for the food I normally eat without thinking. I learned how to mixing the flour, roll the dough, and cut it, each step taught in depth by the instructor. Eating my own soba right next to Yushima Tenjin made it taste so good. I got a recipe from there which doesn't seem too difficult to make, so I will try it at home. As they even showed me how to eat properly, I can no longer eat them in a usual messy way! My mom was there, too, and she and I were very happy that we got plenty to take home.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Traditional Japanese Washoku Cooking Lesson with Seasonal Dishes near Ebisu

Fantastic cooking/learning/dining experience!

Reviewed by: Juliann, 2019/05/18

We had a wonderful time learning to make basic dashi, chirashi, and then using our dashi to make chikuzenni (simmered vegetables). Dishes made in this class may vary by season. The instructor was patient with excellent English and no experience or knowledge other than basic knife handling (vegetable chopping & peeling) is required. It was a great experience to be able to cook in an actual restaurant kitchen. After the food we made was ready, our dishes were supplemented with other items made by the restaurant staff and sake sampling flight. We finished by learning the proper etiquette for chopstick handling and opening and closing formal Kaiseki bento before eating the fruits (vegetables) of our labors.

100% would do this again, and even though we did have some experience with Japanese cooking we were able to improve our skills greatly. 10/10 all around!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Japanese Home-Style Cooking Lesson in Tokyo in English (Morning or Evening)

The best cooking class in Japan!

Reviewed by: Valentina, 2017/05/17

This wasn't my first trip to Japan or cooking class, but it was indeed the first time where I finally learned a ton of actually useful, tasty and healthy recipes that could be reproduced outside Japan! I loved every minute of the class with Sato, he's adorable and very skilled and I cannot recommend this class enough! Also, he took me around Tokyo after lunch and it was a real treat! There are some things that you miss altogether if you're just a tourist, so I highly recommend the tour as well: we were also particularly lucky because there was the beautiful Kanda Matsuri festival and I had the chance to have Sato explaining everything to me plus I could enjoy the festive vibes and the music!
Thank you Sato-San, again, I had a blast!

Comments from activity operators

Mamma Mia! Thank you for beautiful comments and great review! I can't thank you enough! I feel so lucky to meet such a wonderful person like you! Of course I had a great great time with you while we were cooking but more than anything else, I was so happy that I could take you to Kanda Myoji festival, one of the biggest festival in Tokyo and we ended up our short trip there! I'm sure we were invited by Kanda shrine! In addition, you have much respect to our culture and everything about Japan that made me so happy! I'm so proud of what I do for living! I know you will stay in Japan for a while. If you need any help while you are here, don't hesitate to let me know anytime! I'll see you very soon!!! Big big hug sato

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Japanese Home-Style Cooking Lesson in Tokyo in English (Morning or Evening)

Glutenfree Japanese curry

Reviewed by: Liesbeth, 2018/12/23

We loved our first workshop with him so much last year, that we had to come back for a second time. This time we made a glutenfree Japanese curry. Sato-san adjusted the recipe for us and made a delicious curry that we could enjoy. We will definitely make this curry at home. Sato-san is a wonderful person which makes the workshop even more enjoyable. It was a real challenge for him to make a glutenfree curry for us. Luckily, he accepted the challenge and made a wonderful Japanese curry recipe. We would definitely recommend this cooking workshop to everyone that likes Japanese cuisine.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Japanese Home-Style Cooking Lesson in Tokyo in English (Morning or Evening)

Private cookinglesson with recipies included

Reviewed by: Liesbeth, 2017/04/19

Sato was a wonderful host. He picked us up at the station and walked us to his home. My mother and I were the only participants. We were able to ask him questions about the food, the several ingredients and how to use them in the bento box.
His explanation of the little dishes were very clear. He also gave us the recipes so that we could make them at home again. When we finished making our bento boxes, we went to Shinjuku park to eat our homemade bento boxes underneath the sakura blossoms. We've enjoyed it a lot.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you very very much for your wonderful comments and review! I can't thank you enough! I had such a great time with guys too:-) You guys are such an amazing family making me so happy!!! Besides, the full bloomed cherry blossom and beautiful weather made the day even more beautiful! In addition, I'm so happy to hear that you liked what we made in class! Please cook for your friends with the recipes! Hope you will send me pictures someday! If you have any questions as you make Japanese food, please don't hesitate asking me anytime!
Again, thank you for choosing my cooking class from so many cooking classes in Tokyo! Please come back again! See you soon!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Japanese Home-Style Cooking Lesson in Tokyo in English (Morning or Evening)

Better than a usual sushi lesson

Reviewed by: S Bazzaz, 2017/02/26

Sato is friendly, fun and a great teacher. I picked the kariage chicken lesson, we cooked soba noodles, the chicken, a salad and a fresh miso soup. This was all made in his shinjuku Appartment.

It was a great evening with a few beers experiencing local food with a local who wants to share his favourite foods.

Pass on the numerous generic sushi lessons and take one of these courses. I have repeated a couple of the dishes since being back in London - they are great reminders of Tokyo.

Thanks Sato!

Comments from activity operators

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and reviews! You are so kind! I enjoyed cooking with you and I was surprised that you are already very good chef and know many things about Japanese food! Besides, I admired that you respect our culture so much. I'm so lucky to meet such a gentleman like you! Please come back to my class again and tell anyone who comes to Tokyo about my class! I can't wait to cook with you again! See you very soon!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/02/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Udon Making Lesson in a Local Home with Japanese Culture Classes in Tokyo

Amazing cultural experience!

Reviewed by: Malie808, 2019/03/29

Wakana-san was amazing!
Such an amazing cultural experience. I went with my family...2 grandparents, 2 parents, 2 children (9yo, 11yo). We let the children do the "work" for udon making, and Wakana was so patient! She speaks English clearly, and easily understandable. The steps were easy to do for the children. While we were waiting for the udon, Wakana showed us how to make different origami. After, we got to enjoy the delicious udon! We are excited to make udon at home!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【日本料理教室】 正宗日本壽司+天婦羅製作體驗(中文導遊+午餐)

老師非常親切,食材準備得很多,上課流程很順暢! 真開心!

Reviewed by: Yu-Ting, 2019/03/19

未來還會想參加!

Comments from activity operators

Dear Ms.Yu Ting Tsai,

Greetings from Tokyo office! It is our pleasure you have enjoyed our session.
We are looking forward to be at your service in your future booking.

Many thanks and kind regards,
Ken Kageyama / Hisako Holt

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Become a Sushi Chef with a Professional Lesson and Shabu Shabu Lunch in Roppongi

Sushi making

Reviewed by: Kim, heekyeong, 2016/03/06

I had a great time with my kids (9 years old girl and 7 years old boy)
Chef explained how to make sushi in a fluent English following with the history of sushi.
We actually made many kinds of sushi and the course ended up eating our own sushi and prime wakyu sukiyski they served in individual boiling pot with yummy rice.
The restaurant itself is very nice clean and decent place to go.
My kids will never forget this fun experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2016/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Udon Making Lesson in a Local Home with Japanese Culture Classes in Tokyo

Like finding a friend in Tokyo

Reviewed by: Cre, 2017/12/02

I took this class in Nov with the hope of learning about Udon making and Japanese culture. I got both. Wakana is a delightful host. She taught me how to make Udon noodles, which is easy and I have have made them since I have been home with great success. She also is a patient teacher with Origami. Take this class you won't regret spending time learning a new skill.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Weekday Wagashi Japanese Sweets Cooking Class in Tokyo

Great experience with wonderful staff

Reviewed by: Alan, 2015/06/20

The instructor and staff were excellent and you get to try to make a few different wagashi sweets yourself. This is a very worthwhile experience because many local Japanese people themselves rarely get a chance to make wagashi. The actual building is a little tricky to find but I was able to ask for directions when I was near the area.

Comments from activity operators

Dear Alan,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are greatly pleased to know that you enjoyed making Japanese sweets!
We hope that you will have another opportunity to come back to Japan to join our program.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Udon Making Lesson in a Local Home with Japanese Culture Classes in Tokyo

Try it, learn about japanese cooking and meet an interesting woman

Reviewed by: Burghilde, 2016/11/02

I really liked my lesson in udon making and origami and the good talk with Wakana sensei. It was easy going and fun and still I learnt a lot. Surely I will try to make udon noodles again in Germany.
It was a good way to enjoy a couple of hours in Tokyo in a good atmosphere. Thank you, sensei.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2016/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Udon Making Lesson in a Local Home with Japanese Culture Classes in Tokyo

Great cultural experience for families with kids!

Reviewed by: Jennifer , 2016/12/28

We had a great time with Wanaka making Udon noodles and origami. My 8 year old was very excited to make pikachu origami! We enjoyed stomping on the udon dough and we also picked up a couple of beautiful pairs of origami earrings Wanaka made herself. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2016/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Japanese Home-Style Cooking Lesson in Tokyo in English (Morning or Evening)

Just awesome and unique

Reviewed by: Nadine, 2016/11/15

Truly a unique experience with a so friendly host. We learned a lot and will hopefully be able to cook it at home as well :D Sato was the perfect host and we got to see and learn things that we never expected.
Strongly recommended!

Comments from activity operators

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and comment! I can't thank you enough!I was so impressed that you guys respect Japanese culture and people a lot! Please come back to Tokyo again! And hope that you gonna cook with my recipe and entertain your friends and family at home! I've already missed cooking with you! See you very soon!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Weekday Wagashi Japanese Sweets Cooking Class in Tokyo

Sweet fun!

Reviewed by: Fractal, 2018/04/28

This was a fun and informative class using your hands and special tools to form the sweets. The only thing of note is that (traditionally) the sweets are not flavored which would improve the tasting experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Udon Making Lesson in a Local Home with Japanese Culture Classes in Tokyo

Lovely!

Reviewed by: Alan Vosper, 2018/08/09

We all had a lovely time and our sensei was excellent. She was so patient and kind. Highly recommended. We learnt how to make udon noodles and look forward to using our new skill at home.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2018/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Japanese Home-Style Cooking Lesson in Tokyo in English (Morning or Evening)

had a wonderful time

Reviewed by: Leta Myers, 2017/05/13

I had a wonderful time cooking, chatting, eating and seeing some of the nearby neighborhoods. I would definitely take another course if I was in Tokyo again.

Comments from activity operators

Omg! Thank you very much for your review! You told me that you've been to many countries and taken many cooking classes! I'm so honored that I've gotten such a great comments and review from such a sophisticated person like you! You make me proud of what I do for living! I can't thank you enough!
When you came to my class, it was a wonderful sunny day! We had such a great conversation and lovely weather made the day even more beautiful and memorable! Thank you for bringing me such a wonderful weather! Actually, I'm your big fan now because you are a so cool and funny person! I hope I can cook with you again someday! If you have any questions as cooking Japanese food, please don't hesitate to ask me anytime! Besides, I hope that you will cook for your friends and family with my recipes back home! See you soon! Take care:-) Peace sato

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Japanese Home-Style Cooking Lesson in Tokyo in English (Morning or Evening)

An excellent cooking lesson

Reviewed by: NeoJonz, 2017/10/07

Sato was an excellent teacher assisting me in cooking some delicious rice burgers. The only problem was that we both didn't have room for all that we made :)

Comments from activity operators

Dear cooking master
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and review! I'm so glad to hear from you! I remember you showed me many great pictures of your dishes! Each picture you showed me was so amazing and inspiring! You're such a great cook! Also, food lover is always very welcome to my cooking class! Please come back here anytime! Again, thank you so much for choosing my class from so many cooking classes in Tokyo! See you soon!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【日本料理教室】 正宗日本壽司+天婦羅製作體驗(中文導遊+午餐)

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Shirley, 2017/04/23

Really great experience! Special event in our trip, my daughter enjoyed it a a lot!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Sushi and Tempura Cooking Lesson at Tokyo

fun making sushi

Reviewed by: howard, 2017/07/01

It was great fun making sushi! The instruction included a nice background of the history of sushi and. Making the rice was great fun as well as working with the fish. The tempura part of the class did not have as much instruction as i would have liked. You get to eat the food you made and they give you a little gift at the end. The instructors were very nice and helpful. Overall my family and I enjoyed this event. The location we were at was across the street from the One Piece Tokyo Tower so that was a nice bonus.

Comments from activity operators

Dear Howard,

Thank you very much for joining our Sushi and Tempura program.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it.

I will share your experience with our instructors.
Your feedback definitely helps to improve our program and also encourage our instructors.

We are eagerly waiting for your next visit to Japan and it would be another great opportunity to serve you again.

Best wishes,
Shrestha Kabita & All staff members
True Japan Tours Co.Ltd

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ramen Making Experience with a Professional Ramen Chef in Tokyo

Great fun! Delicious ramen

Reviewed by: Doug, 2016/03/18

If you like ramen, you'll really enjoy this event. Standing in the kitchen and racing the clock to prepare the perfect bowl as the noodles boil really gives you a sense what goes into running a ramen shop and all the work that goes into it. The lecture parts gives you an idea of how shop owners think about putting their stamp on this highly competitive multi-million dollar industry.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【日本料理教室】 正宗日本壽司+天婦羅製作體驗(中文導遊+午餐)

日本壽司與天婦羅DIY製作體驗

Reviewed by: WWW, 2018/04/28

1.到老師家中學做天婦羅與壽司,是一個很有趣的經驗,老師跟導遊也都很好,午餐時間大家都聊的很開心。

2.另外希望有關料理課程,可以有多一些中文導遊的選項,然後預約的課程確定可以早一些,以利旅程的安排。

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Tokyo