This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Giverny with Monet's House and Versailles Palace Day Tour from Paris

Overall Rating

4.37 4.37 / 5

Reviews

52 reviews
Post a review

Reviewed by: Janet, 2017/05/26

All was especially enjoyable, our guide Serge was excellent and informative. The driving very safe.

PS. I have sent a msg to your company regarding our trip to Sagrada Familia, and the failure of our guide to turn-up. When will we receive our refund please.

Regards Jan Broomfield & Norma Pearson

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Craig, 2016/06/11

Yvonne was a great driver and guide. Spoke excellent English and provided interesting dialogue during the drive to Versailles and Giverny. She was also our tour guide at the Palace.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Joyce, 2016/04/17

Absolutely enjoyed our trip! The two tour guides, *** are excellent, very polite, friendly humorous, multi-linguistic. They are such lovely people and we will definitely use their service again.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Christine, 2015/10/22

The tour was great and we loved that it was a small group. Our guide was lovely but his English wasn't fabulous and he was hard to understand. The restaurant that we had lunch at was great and in a beautiful spot.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mary Kae, 2015/07/12

We had 3 generations in our group and the trip appealed to us all. Our tour guide picked us up from our rented apartment and proceeded to inform and entertain from the moment we stepped into the spacious, air conditioned van. Geverny was a highlight of our trip! Even the lunch provided was memorable for the picturesque setting and delicious fare.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Trina , 2015/06/05

We really enjoyed the tour our guide was just wonderful we loved Monet's gardens although the water lily's were not out it was still amazing to see there were plenty of flowers to look at and smell. Versailles was fabulous we loved the whole day.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Judith, 2014/06/03

The guide was excellent with very clear English and concerned for the welfare of us all. The morning at Monet's Garden was excellent with enough time to enjoy the garden and house. The lunch was very nice but as I am gluten and dairy free I was not able to enjoy all of the food available. The Palace was extremely crowded and so moving through it and hearing our guide was a bit of a challenge. But I think she did the best that was possible.
So it was a very good tour but very expensive compared to other tours that we have done with City Discovery.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Judith, 2014/06/03

The guide was excellent with very clear English and concerned for the welfare of us all. The morning at Monet's Garden was excellent with enough time to enjoy the garden and house. The lunch was very nice but as I am gluten and dairy free I was not able to enjoy all of the food available. The Palace was extremely crowded and so moving through it and hearing our guide was a bit of a challenge. But I think she did the best that was possible.
So it was a very good tour but very expensive compared to other tours that we have done with City Discovery.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Yvonne, 2014/04/28

Tolle Reise, es hat uns sehr gut gefallen. Auch der Reiseleiter war sehr gut, hat viele Informationen gegeben. Für meine kleine Tochter wäre Führung auf Deutsch besser gewesen, so musste ich alles vom Englischen ins Deutsche übersetzen. Dennoch, geben wir gerne 5 Sterne.
Vielen Dank

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: DARRYL, 2013/10/22

A very full and busy day with a nice lunch as part of it. Both the attractions are excellent and so vey well presented. In high season the crowds might be something of an issue.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kathleen, 2013/10/11

I cannot say enough about how wonderful this whole day was. I was picked up at my Paris hotel by a lovely French woman who spoke English. I spent the day with 6 other English speaking people so eight of us set out in a small mini-van driven by our guide.
We arrived at the Monet Gardens which are beautiful and a thrill for me to see as a lover of ex<x>pressionism. The group was very congenial. We went from there to a lovely restaurant in a small town. The setting was beautiful. We settled into a corner by a large fireplace at a beautifully set table with two bottles of wine and enjoyed an excellent three course meal and conversation. We then went to Versailles and walked around there and viewed the gardens from a distance - the place is huge. Our group met for a beer at the restaurant at our meeting place and then were safely transported back to our hotel. Our guide was excellent and lovely to be with. She kept on schedule without us feeling pushed and explained everything to us. I knew that going to 2 places in one day would just give an overview but that was all the time I had and I went away very satisfied and very happy to have this opportunity. I highly recommend this trip to anyone who goes to Paris for a limited time and wants to see these places. I was hesitant to book on line. Everything happen as is was to happen and all so easy for me.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: kelley, 2013/09/26

tour guide excellent enjoyed the whole experience would recommend it. was a nice day that tacked two things

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Beth, 2013/07/10

Monet's garden is a must see! Absolutely beautiful. Versailles was extremely busy and we were very grateful to Ceceila for waiting in line for us to enter the Palace whilst we toured the gardens to save time. What a trooper! Thoroughly enjoyed the day. Ceceila has great knowledge regarding the history of both Giverny/Monet and Versailles.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Diann , 2013/05/29

Ricardo was a great guide well informed and pleasant I only have one suggestion have golf carts as an option for the Versailles tour. He said that they were 30 Euros and everyone in our van would have paid. We had a small tour with 6 guests and it was perfect. Enjoyed the people in the group. The restaurant for lunch was perfect. I wanted more time in Giverny but understand the time restraints of two tours

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Margaret, 2013/05/08

The tour guide(s) and the driver were excellent, the coach very comfortable. Giverny was, as always, stunning. Versailles was less so, not through the fault of your organisation or the guides, but having to wait in a queue for an hour, together with dozens of other groups, and have a tour round the apartments, together with dozens of other groups, was very disappointing. I cannot believe that Versailles cannot organise things better than that. Then we had only half an hour in the gardens, had just time to find the toilets (though I had to abandon the facility because of the long ladies'queue!), and back to the coach. So I would not recommend a half day/afternoon visit to Versailles - though accept it was our choice to take it. The lunch was fine, though we could have left straight afterwards, instead of hanging around until 13.30, and then have had a little more time at Versailles.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Charles, 2013/04/23

Max was an excellent guide, informed, easy going but on task so that we kept up and saw everything we were supposed to. The lunch was surprisingly good, and the setting (The Old Mill) was picturesque. Getting 2 great attractions into the one visit was fantastic.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Fong Yin, 2012/11/10

Sophia is pretty knowledgeable about the places that we went as she gave good commentary. The only qualm is that there is not sufficient to relax and enjoy the places as these are beautiful and deserve more time to appreciate.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: claudia, 2012/11/08

adorei o passeio e principalmente o guia. Muito atencioso e prestativo

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lennore, 2012/10/29

Our driver was so informative and enthusiastic about the areas he showed us. I liked being in the small group as it allowed for a great lunch in a wonderful setting.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Peter, 2012/10/23

We had a wonderful time. The tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The meal was lovley and the function centre was in a beautiful country setting.
Giverny was as good as I had hoped, relaxed, interesting and we had adequate time.
However, I feel combining the two tours did not leave enough time for Versailles, considering travel and parking time as well as accomodating time for lunch.
We only had 2.5 hours for Versailles which was adequate for the Palace, but meant that there was little time to explore the gardens and surroundings.
A wonderful day and a professional company.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Irene, 2012/10/13

We were a family group from Australia, and thoroughly enjoyed this tour - Especially Monet's Garden. Laura, our delightful driver and guide was terrific, and great company. The efforts of the Mill Restaurant to cater for vegetarians (not always easy in France) was appreciated.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mary , 2012/10/12

Was very disappointed with trip. Giverny and Versailles were great places to visit but I expected more from the guide, we were basically driven to these venues and given our admission tickets, there was very little communication from the driver, not worth the extra I paid for this service

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Silvana, 2012/09/22

El guía (Junior) excelente, puntualidad, confort, conocimientos. Giverny y alrededores, es increiblemente bello, muy recomendable, un lugar lleno de encanto y paz.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2012/09/18

This was a great tour. The guide was really interesting and we had the right amount of time in each place to explore on our own. The lunch was delicious and in a really beautiful location.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jonny, 2012/08/29

Loved the day trip to Monet's Garden very relaxing and peaceful.
Versailles a truly beautiful palace with magnificent gardens.
Great enjoyable day

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Marina, 2012/08/23

Hello,

We visited Versailles and Giverny last week… We had a wonderful time! I personally liked the best the Lilly pond and garden where Claude Monet had created his famous paintings. We made a stop by the little café where we had a nice lunch with a bottle of French red wine. Also we really liked Versailles gardens and fountains. All trip was well organized and pick-up and drop-off was on time.

I will highly recommend to take this trip.

Best regards,
Marina

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jacqueline, 2012/08/15

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and accommodating - the trip was exactly what we wanted (apart from the rain in the afternoon which spoilt our walk through the gardens of the Versailles palace). We were picked up on time and the guide took a little time coming back to show us some of the sights in Paris. The only downside was lunch; beautiful riverside restaurant with all the tours stuck in a 'garage' type building at the back. Indifferent food; even more indifferent service. I would rather have paid more and eaten better. Recommend Monet's garden - it was amazing seeing the monument and then revisiting it in his paintings at the Museum.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Melinda, 2012/08/15

Our tour guide was wonderful, entertaining, and friendly. He gave clear instructions and interesting insights to the places we visited. This tour was well worth every penny we spent!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Arindam, 2012/08/14

I really liked the trip. Off-course Giverny & Versailles have there own flavors, but our chauffeur - Laura was excellent - and luckily our fellow passengers who boarded in van were friendly. Overall I rate it 5 out 5, as it was a memorable experience.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Paul, 2012/06/14

The mini-bus was very comfortable and the our driver/guide, Aymeric, was really fantastic, with an excellent command of English, the ability to inform us about the history of the destinations and the people involved and, for a Frenchman, an extremely prudent driving st<x>yle. Everything was on time but we felt that perhaps too much time was allowed for the Giverny visit and not enough for Versailles which could possibly benefit from being scheduled in the morning. The one major negative, though, was the lunch, which was awful, served at a ridiculously fast tempo and of a quality that would be unacceptable just about anywhere, with very cheap wine and undrinkable coffee. To summarise, we liked it and recommend it but with the above provisos.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Paris Categories