Historical Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius Day Trip from Rome with Lunch reviews, Rome tours & activities, fun things to do in Rome | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Historical Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius Day Trip from Rome with Lunch

Overall Rating

4.81 4.81 / 5

Reviews

52 reviews
Post a review

Parents missed tour. THey were able to get the bus the next day for a small fee.

Reviewed by: Amy, 2019/06/28

Parents missed tour. THey were able to get the bus the next day for a small fee.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Elizabeth, 2017/09/07

Our guide Amanda was a fountain of knowledge and made everything she had to say interesting, very informative and with passion. Totally excellent value for money and fabulous food stop too. Thank you. Liz

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Tracey, 2017/08/29

Fantastic day - our guide Emiliano was so knowledgeable and looked after us all very well. He gave us great tips for travelers in Italy which we put to very good use - big thanks to Emiliano and also to our Driver Alberto who got us everywhere on time and safe ????

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Alain, 2017/06/07

The guide was competent and had an exquisite sense of humor.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Evangelia, 2017/05/03

The tour guides Anna and Anne were excellent! On the way to Pompeii they provided us with plenty of information about italian history and traditions in general, and not only about the sights we were visiting, which was very educational. At the end of the trip they also assisted each one of us personally by providing tips about other places to visit in Rome, restaurants etc. I think that some more time should be allocated to the visit in Mt. Vesuvius as one hour is barely enough to get to the top, enjoy the view and get back. Given that it takes about 30 minutes to get to level three and some equal time to get back you have to walk at a fast pace to make it to the top! In general, if you are in Rome and you wish to visit Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius it is highly recommended to take a guided tour, especially as regards Mt. Vesuvius, as you don't have to worry about things such as how to get to the gate for Mt. Vesuvius or where you get your ticket from etc. And the same applies to Pompeii where there are not signs or anything explaining what you see, so without a tour guide one will not understand much.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: John, 2017/04/28

If these places are where you want to go you couldn't do it better! This trip is well organised and well worth the money. Very knowledgeable friendly guides and safe driver!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: David, 2017/04/28

Great!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Halfdan, 2017/04/20

Absolutly excellent tour with our wonderful guieds, Mikelle and Ciara.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Gary, 2016/10/06

As with all the trips we booked with you the knowledge your guides have is amazing, never a dull moment and always amusing, Peter was great and it was a pleasure to spend the day with him as a guide. I do wish we had, had more time to look round Pompeii but hey we can always go back, Going to the top of Vesuvius was a real treat, hard walk for me with major back problems but I am so glad I did it and would recommend it to anyone

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Gyunyul, 2016/09/21

Thank u luis!!.cause she very kind and powerfull guide.it was best trip in italy.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour and guide

Reviewed by: Ramil, 2016/09/14

Andy (or Andrew - he has long black hair) did our tour and he is one of the best tour guides we've ever had! He is funny and very knowledgeable. The long commutes weren't boring. He hiked Mt Vesuvius with us too. Gave us tips how to be in Rome and where to find the best Italian food and gelato.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Michael, 2016/08/25

Our CD tour guide Roberto was great. He really knew his stuff and had an awesome personality. I would use definitely City Discovery again. This trip was interesting and fun but I made the mistake of booking it during the August Ferragosto celebration. So with all of Italy on vacation Pompeii was more crowded than normal.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Roderick, 2016/07/16

Tour guides (Claudia and Andy) were very friendly and helpful. Full day with a lot to take in, can feel rushed, but is very much worth it. Lunch was much more than expected, with an authentic pizza, salad and drink of choice. A truly memorable day.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Robert, 2016/07/09

Fantastic tour a definite must, guides were excellent, long day but worth it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Andre, 2016/07/01

The tour was amazing. Everything went very well. The tour guides were exceptional, lunch was a good surprise with a whole medium sized pizza for each person, the Vesuvius views on the top were incredible, the pompei tour was very informative and interesting. It was a good experience and would recommend to anyone. Tip: take comfortable trekking shoes or you will regret hiking up the Vesuvius with sandals!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: valeri, 2016/05/20

The trip was amazing. nIn the beginning was a mess because people didn't know where to go , and only later things became easier , but as we were in groups things began to flow. *** was fun to listen to , she told us a lot of information about rome , nepal, and pompei n*** always put the saving air con and had very pleasant drive overall.nThe places were unique and very enjoyable. nIt is a lot of fun to meet new people and make memories with a group rather then alone.nThank you very much.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: GRIGORIS, 2016/05/20

The trip was very professionally organized and set with respect to the visitors comfort and enjoyment. The tour leaders were fantastic and very competent. I would only enjoy some time more in the Pompey ruins and a more in depth visit of the archeological site. Maybe next time! Thank you guys for a memorable visit.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mary, 2016/05/03

Excellent tour. We really enjoyed it. The only thing that could be improved is the lunch, which was not great. Otherwise it was an amazing day.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Roger, 2016/02/09

I was surprised how quick and easy the order procedure was. I cannot really think of any way it could be improved. I would recommend to others.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kara, 2015/10/21

Had a great day, my tour guide Luca was friendly and professional.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Peter, 2015/10/11

Hi it was a great well organised tour, Julio and Becky were really infromative and knew the history of the places really well.
the veiw fro the top was good even with a little bit of cloud cover.
cheers

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Gareth, 2015/10/02

Excellent tour. One of our tour guides, Robert, was brilliant. Very knowledgable. Thank you for making it very enjoyable.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kelly, 2015/08/23

Possibly the best day of our holiday and for a variety of reasons!

Firstly, our tour guide Julian! What a brilliant man! He was absolutely fabulous during the whole day, his interesting facts and stories on the journey and his wonderful personality really made the whole trip. You could really tell he knew his stuff and that he loved his job and we couldn't thank him more for a brilliant time.
Secondly, our bus driver. He was more of the quiet time but the journey was really great in between places and he was a great driver.

It was a long journey down to Naples but the journey was broken up well with a stop off half way at a lovely little shop (who do amazing pizza & cheese and salami baguettes!). We then continued to Pompeii where we were taken around by a tour guide who was really good and informative. We thoroughly enjoyed the information she gave to us and it was nice to have a person that could take us to the best bits as I know that when a family member went, they were walking around in the sweltering heat for 6 hours unguided!
After the tour, we headed to the restaurant for our taste of Naples - the margherita pizza which was very tasty and so so filling!
It was then on to Mount Versuvius where Julian gave us an ample amount of time to get to the top and back. We were given the chance to wonder as we please which allowed us to go at our own pace and timing. The first part was quite a toughy and with a fitness like me and my other half (or lack of!) we did find it difficult, however after reaching the first gift shop we found it a lot easier and made it all the way to the top. I had a bit of a shock at the top as my boyfriend proposed! I hadn't even suspected it so I was absolutely beaming all the way back down [:

In conclusion, I 100% recommend this trip if you're going to Rome! I'd originally booked a different trip with another company, however it was cancelled which led me to go on to this one. It was a bit more expensive than the original but it is most definitely worth it (:

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Monika, 2015/07/16

We visited Pompei & Vesuvius on 14th July 2015 with your company and our trip could not have been better! I have to say just 3 words - ***, *** & ***! These 3 guys were amazing! Tourguides *** & *** had very good knowledge of Rome where we started, continued with explaining all different towns on the way to Pompei and also making sure everybody was feeling well and satisfied during the day trip. We definitely learned a lot from them. They were also very helpful when asking about city of Rome, another tours atc. ***, our busdriver was amazing! Especially, the road on the Vesivius hill was the most crazy I have ever seen :) *** was very profesional, driving safe and was able to manage trafic jams and situations, when we thought that we were going to stay there forever :) So I would like to thank you for this amazing trip that we really enjoyed and say great 'Thank you' to our tourguides *** & *** and our busdriver ***, who performed exceptionally!n***n

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Robert, 2015/07/09

Very professional. Tour guides, both on the bus and also at Pompeii, were very knowledgeable and helpful. Pompeii is an amazing experience and must not be missed. The climb to Mount Vesuvius is challenging but worthwhile for the views. The tour includes lunch which was surprisingly good for a tour bus.

The 3 hour transit to and from the site is broken up by a comfort stop which is necessary. However, the queue’s make it almost impossible to buy and consume coffee or food. Eat before you leave as food is not welcome on the bus

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Stephen, 2015/05/30

From an historic view it is an essential. The tour guide around Pompeii was excellent. He was able to tell the story of families and business in such a way that it kept us engaged. Well done.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lucille, 2015/05/20

we had a wonderful day, with a very committed guide

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Robert, 2015/04/12

excellent day with superb commentary on coach, especially from Robert who brings the history of the area to life.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Blanca Esthela , 2014/08/03

The tour was great. Mike and Robert made it both fun and interesting, showing us lots of facts about everything that was going on through the way to Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius. I only wish we have had time to go shopping for souvenirs at Pompeii. We couldn't even get a magnet or a cap.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Warren, 2014/05/08

Both guides were very good and entertaining

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]