This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Venice Walking Tour with St. Mark’s Basilica & Doge’s Palace Skip-the-Line Entry

Overall Rating

4.794.79 / 5

Reviews

33 reviews (Post a review)

Well constructed four hour tour of Venice highlights.

Reviewed by: Fred M. , 2018/11/20

Had a wonderful four hour tour led by Rita (highly recommended). She was knowledgeable and very patient with all questions and requests. We visited both known and a couple more secluded but fabulous places. Bring comfortable walking shoes that have some grip for stairs and passages. Really an informative great time!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

24 hours in Venice!

Reviewed by: Wendy Joubert (RSA), 2018/05/29

This tour was a great way of getting to know the history of Venice and seeing two of it's most important historic icons: The Basilica of St. Mark and The Doge's Palace. My husband and I only had 24 hours to spend in Venice (Fr. 3pm-Sa.3pm) and we decided on this tour for the Saturday morning at 9am. We had an exceptionally good tour guide, Natalia, who is extremely passionate about the Venitian history and culture. She took us for a walk through a large area of the city and tought us all the facts in a storylike manor before taking us to The Basilica of St. Mark and The Doge's Palace...it almost felt like if we were walking through the city in the times the history were made. She was very well English-speaking and to have been in her tour was definitely a great privilage. We were not bored for one second.
I would suggest that you put out enough walking time to the starting point from your hotel, as you can easily waste time walking in circles being in Venice for the very first time. It's like a maze!
I would recommend this tour very highly.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Must Do Tour!

Reviewed by: J. Wright, 2017/09/24

This is a must do tour. The tour provided a wonderful overview of some of the history of Venice and tied it in beautifully to St. Marks Basilica and Doge's Palace. The tour provides the information needed to bring perspective to all the wonderful sites and history. I would highly recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2017/09/12

Our guide was excellent. Informative and witty, made the tour very interesting.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Angela, 2017/08/01

Very good tour. We learned a lot about the history of Venice and about Venice today. Very good guide, greatly enjoyed tour and would recommend it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Tour of Must-See Venice Sites

Reviewed by: Patty, 2017/07/29

We had such an excellent time on this tour. Our guide, Ciara, was superb. Very knowledgeable and absolutely no problems with translation. You will be walking for quite some time so this is not a good tour for those who are not in good health or who have mobility issues (of course, Venice as a whole is not great for hose with mobility issues). You will see so many wonderful Venetian sites and learn so much about the city's history that you will be thirsting for more. I highly recommend this experience.


  • St. Mark's Cathedral

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Marysia, 2017/07/26

Tour guide was great! She was an expert on Venice and proud to share her knowledge.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Adrienne, 2017/07/17

Clara was fabulous. She obviously loves Venice and sharing her city.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very professional and knowledgable tour guide, easy access to Basilica and Palace

Reviewed by: Ambrose, 2017/05/14

Good start, middle and end. At the start, the guide was easy to spot. It was still quite early (9am) so the crowds had not descended yet. That’s why we could skip a lot of queues for the St. Mark’s Basilica and Doge’s Palace. We had special entry with the guide. If you wanted to go yourself, prepare to queue for hours! The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. She answered our questions and showed us many secret things we probably would never find out from a guide book. She took us around the main spots of the city, some nice walks along the canals and then of course the two main indoor sightseeing spots. I would highly recommend this tour.





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Susan J, 2017/04/25

Susan, our tour guide, was brilliant! This was excellent value for money, if like me, you love walking, seeing amazing architecture and history.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mary, 2016/09/01

A good mixture of activities in this tour - the well known to behind the scenes! Ciara, our guide, was excellent !

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Steve, 2016/04/13

*** was great and we both enjoyed the trip.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/04/11

We took the tour in french and we were only 4 people. The guide, Chiara was very nice. She took us to off-the-beaten-track charming streets and courtyards that we couldn't have found by our own. We visited several neighborhoods of Venice before going to the Basilica and its terrace. Then we went to the Doge's Palace and spent more than one hour there. It was really interesting and so much different to visit a Museum with a guide that explains you everything. The Doge's Palace ticket was also valid for the Correr Museum that we visited the day after.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mark Lauren, 2015/10/23

As with our other City Discovery tour packages, the guides are topnotch!!! The pretty Italian lady (I'm sorry I forgot her name - she's from Milan but now living in Venice) is very knowledgeable of the history of each location we visited. All our questions were addressed very very well.

Each site we visited became MUCH MUCH MORE INTERESTING with her... the sidestreets, how the city works, trivial items. Never a dull moment with her.

DESPITE THE RAIN, FLOOD & HIGH TIDE.. CRAZY SHE STILL MANAGED TO MAKE IT A GREAT TOUR for all of us. My wife and I will give here 5 stars for that alone! We now appreciate Venice more after her tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Daniel, 2015/10/07

Very informative walk through the calles of the San Marco district and the two most recognized sites in Venice. We would have liked more time inside the basilica but we had to keep moving because of the crowds.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Federica, 2015/09/08

Our tour guide Mirko was extremely good. Knowledgeable and interesting, he made the 3 and half hours of our tour fly. Noteworthy, our group was very heterogeneous and he was able to entertain all of us, including kids.
I would definitely recommend him as Venice tour guide

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Federica, 2015/09/08

Our tour guide Mirko was extremely good. Knowledgeable and interesting, he made the 3 and half hours of our tour fly. Noteworthy, our group was very heterogeneous and he was able to entertain all of us, including kids.
I would definitely recommend him as Venice tour guide

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Evelyna, 2015/08/10

Service was excellent. The tour guide was patient and knowledgeable.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Regina, 2015/07/15

Fantastic tour. Adrianna was a great guide. Her vast knowledge coupled with her kind demeanor made this a wonderful tour. Mille grazie.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Martha, 2015/07/10

Excellent tour guide, and fantastic circuit.
I highly recommend this trip, which was informative and efficient. We did the 9 am tour, which was excellent, because we saw the main sites before the crowds of tourists were in full action. Guide was professional and extremely competent and personable. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Radoslaw, 2015/07/08

The guide was well prepared, and while information conveyed to the group was targeted at those who were less familiar with the history of Venice, she made it interesting for everyone. This tour was well worth the money.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Luke, 2015/04/21

The meeting point was easy to find and we had a small group of just 6 people. The tour guide was very friendly and gave a fantastic tour of the city, palace and cathedral. We couldn't recommend highly enough and it was one of the highlights of our trip.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Joan, 2015/01/19

I was provided with helpful information to make a decision on day tours. I am happy to recommend City Discovery to others

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Scott, 2014/07/29

Excellent. The tour guide was very knowledgable and we could understand her

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: NIKOLAOS, 2014/07/06

The tour guide was excellent in knowledge. We enjoyed the tour, and learnes many things about Venice.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Simon, 2014/06/23

We were very impressed with this tour. The guide was exceptionally knowledgeable with some humorous anecdotes thrown in. The queues outside the Basilica were so long, booking in advance to skip the line is a no-brainer.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Anthony, 2014/05/16

It was a wonderful experience. We learned so much more about Venice and saw parts of it we never would have if we hadn't taken this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and personable. We would recommend it to anyone!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Stanley, 2013/08/05

guide was intelligent and interesting

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Louise, 2013/06/04

Our guide Stephania was excellent, very interesting and very dynamic. I love these Discovery City Walking Tours, you learn so much and we took them in various cities in Europe on this last trip of History, Culture, Art etc. Although this was my third trip to Venice this was my first time to see St.Mark's Basilica and Doges Palace and I recommend it to anyone going to Venice. Just make sure you wear very comfortable shoes and are willing to do a lot of walking, however one really cannot get to see the cities in Europe unless you WALK, WALK AND WALK!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Chee Meng, 2013/05/20

The guide is knowledgeable and a vivid story-teller about the places of interest.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |