Stonehenge Inner Circle Access Tour from London with Roman Baths and Lacock reviews, London tours & activities, fun things to do in London | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Stonehenge Inner Circle Access Tour from London with Roman Baths and Lacock

Overall Rating

4.63 4.63 / 5

Reviews

49 reviews
Post a review

Excellent experience and great guide and driver.

Reviewed by: Henry, 2020/02/14

Excellent experience; it was very special to walk among the stones rather than just looking at them from a distance.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience.

Reviewed by: Rosemary, 2018/06/17

Very glad we went on an early tour. It wasn't opened to the public yet and we got to go inside the circle. Great tour guide.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth Every Penny!

Reviewed by: Friends From Chicago, 2016/06/05

Outstanding tour! The Inner Circle access was incredible! Our guide was excellent and extremely knowledgeable and so much fun. Thank you for making this trip so memorable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bath, Lycock and Stonehenge Inner Circle

Reviewed by: Kenny G, 2016/06/04

Tour was perfect; on time, well organized. Our guide was high-energy and very informative. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting exclusive Stonehenge access.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Meaghan, 2016/05/27

My husband & I debated about whether or not to do a tour of Stonehenge. A lot of people told us that they found it to be overrated, & the tours are pricey. Plus we didn't really care much about the other stops on the tour.

We finally decided that it's a once in a lifetime expense, so whatever! I'm SO glad we went. The sunrise tour was the only one available, & we were not looking forward to the early rise. We weren't at the monument by sunrise, but we arrived before the site was open to regular visitors. On the way through London & the countryside the guide gave us interesting facts about the things we passed, & I actually was able to stay awake! The guide was fun & informative, & she joked with the driver which was entertaining.

Stonehenge was marvelous. The grounds were completely empty aside from our rather small tour group, & we got to wander through the stones in the morning dew. We spent about 1 hour there, & it really was amazing. We left just as they opened to the public. It really was a fantastic experience-- it is not at all overrated in my opinion.

We stopped in Lacock for lunch, & we were blown away by this adorable little town. We couldn't figure out what places in the town were used in Harry Potter, but we were pretty stoked that they did some filming there. It was like stepping back in time, aside from the cars on the streets. The breakfast at the George Inn was not very good, but the inn dates back to 1361, & the atmosphere was awesome.

We went on this tour to see Stonehenge, but Bath was well worth the trip too! The city is beautiful, & the Roman baths were awesome. We sat for ages at the spring just soaking in the history. We were given plenty of time to see the bath & wander around a bit.

It was about a 13 hr day, so we were wiped by the time we arrived back in London. We crashed early, so I don't recommend making plans for after (we cancelled our evening plans). But it was worth it!

All in all it was an unforgettable day!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth EVERY PENNY!

Reviewed by: Bob, 2016/04/27

I had visited Stonehenge in the past, but was disappointed that I was not able to walk inside the stones. While planning my next London trip, I saw this private inner circle access tour and decided to try it. We departed VERY early, and arrived at Stonehenge before it was opened to the public. Our group had exclusive and unrestricted access for about an hour. There were two guards with our group to make sure nobody does anything to the stones. They are very knowledgeable, and answered any and all questions (plus gave MORE info than was asked), so KUDOs to them too! This was definitely a bucket list item for me, and this part alone made it worth every cent. If you like this kind of thing, this tour is DEFINITELY one you should do - even for just Stonehenge itself.

Lacock was interesting and an OLD village. Our group pulled in and ate breakfast at a pub names St. George Inn. A sign outside claims it was established in 1361! We walked around the small town and Frank pointed out some points about the Harry Potter movies. However, I have not watched Harry Potter, so it did not do as much for me as Stonehenge.

After Lacock, we ventured to Bath, which was very interesting as well. We had about 90 minutes to explore there, but I did not feel like that was enough time to fully explore the ancient Roman hot springs. Wished we had more time there.

Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend this trip. Our guide, Frank, was pleasant and knowledgeable. The bus driver was professional as well.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic tour!

Reviewed by: Willow Green, 2016/04/04

My husband and I really enjoy this tour. Lucy, the tour guide lady and Millikan (?), the bus drive perform very professionally. We have learned a lot from this tour. I would like to book other tours at Veltra if I visit UK in the future.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stonehenge Inner Circle at Sunset tour

Reviewed by: Misty, 2015/09/06

This was our favorite tour in London, we went to Bath,Lacock and Stonehenge. Our group was the only people there right after closing to the public. We got to go inside the inner circle and that is something not everyone gets to do unless you go on a special your like this. If you are going to see Stonehenge - take this tour and experience it instead!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour of Stonehenge

Reviewed by: Rachel Mims, 2015/06/08

This tour was great! Our group was the only group at Stonehenge early in the morning. We got to go inside the roped off area and walk right up into the stones. Our guide was very knowledgeable and shared lots of facts and history with us. This trip is worth it just for the Stonehenge viewing. We also enjoyed the tour of Bath - It was interesting to see the Roman bath. We had lunch at dinner little cafe in Bath.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BEST TOUR GUIDE EVER!

Reviewed by: kanda, 2015/05/23

Our tour started off at 5am as we were greeted by our tour guide Sev. She introduced herself to us and engaged in conversation straight away. During the bus ride she kept us engaged by not only giving us information on the places we were going on our tour but also place along the way that she pointed out. Her and our bus driver Martin exchanged witty banter along the way and made everyone laugh. Our first stop was Stonehenge. As we had the inner circle tour we were there before it was open to the public so we had the entire place to ourselves. The atmosphere was amazing and once again Sev was full of knowledge. We went onto Lacock for breakfast and had a look around with Sev pointing out anything about the town that we would need to know. Beautiful scenery. Onto Bath where we entered the Roman Baths. This is truly a pice of history that was amazing to see. It had an air about the place. We really enjoyed our time here. We then had the bus ride back to London. Overall we highly recommend the tour. It ran seamlessly. We had such a great day!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Long day.... Could veryyyyy well done just Stonehenge.

Reviewed by: Sue S., 2015/05/22

Long, long day. Stonehenge was great, but was NOT dusk as advertised. Lunch wasn't very good. Both cities, people seemed to not be all that interested. Me included. A trip Just to Stonehenge would have been MUCH BETTER! Long day with two unnecessary stops..

Reply from activity provider

We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy lovely Bath and Lacock. However, we hope that your visit to Stonehenge was enough to make this trip satisfactory. Thank you very much for choosing VELTRA and we hope to see you again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So many goodies in a single day

Reviewed by: Shanavas CK, 2015/05/12

I had heard of Stonehenge being among the Seven Wonders of the Medieval World and the Windows wallpaper always reminded me that I need to visit it sometime. So in my first trip to the UK recently it was on the top of my tour list. The day trip wouldn’t fit my schedule as I had to catch the evening flight to Dublin, so searching for other options led me to the sunrise tour and it was the perfect decision. It was a great feeling to see those Neolithic stones having withstood the ravages of time and still so intact. And the sunrise trip got me close to the stones which wouldn’t have been possible in a general trip. Being so early in the morning it was a bit too cold for summer though. Well organized and I could join from near my hotel. It is a must see place which will never lose its charm.

I loved that I could cover Bath and Lacock also in this trip before taking my evening flight. have seen sulphur springs closer home, but these were well developed and large scale and from such old times! Lacock is beautiful and still retains the old charm. A day well spent and memorable!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must see site connecting you to the old ages

Reviewed by: Rakhi Nair, 2015/05/12

Have been hearing about this prehistoric monument for ages, and finally I got to visit it on 1 May 2015. And it was an amazing experience to be right there in the circle, standing next to those 4000+ years old stones. I have visited the Giza Pyramids of Egypt and I could feel a connection. It has that mystic spell on everyone I guess as I could see some of the people praying. Its wide open landscape and good that they have maintained it that way, otherwise the modernity would creep in and spoil the ambience.

The trip was well organized with many pickup points in major hotel locations, so it was an easy walk to the nearest one at the early hour. And being there before it is open to public made it more special as we were a small group and we could get pictures with no one else in the background.

I’d recommend this trip to everyone who visits the UK, it was a once in a lifetime trip for me so I couldn’t have missed it!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Magical and Wonderful Experience

Reviewed by: Helena, 2015/02/16

The premium Stonehenge and bath tour was wonderful! Although it was very early the experience is thoroughly worth it. Being able to get close to the inner circle stones was very magical and not having a crowd there definitely added to it. After spending an hour and a bit at Stonehenge we went on to Lacock where we grabbed some well deserved breakfast. Then spent the afternoon in Bath, we were able to skip the lines into the Roman Bath, allowing for more time to explore the wonderful museum/historic site and we even got to taste a little of the water. Our tour guide David was very energetic and knowledgeable and the driver Phillip was also very welcoming. All in all a wonderful experience, especially if you always wanted to visit the Stonehenge like I did!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had fun

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/28

The guide was very nice and attentive, we are very grateful to him.

The tour included sightseeing of Bath and lovely English rural towns, and we loved it all. We were surprised that lunch was quite late at 5 pm, but we were very hungry and we also bought some souvenirs on the way.

It was raining at Stonehenge, but it has become a nice memory anyway.
Welcome to the English weather!

But above all, the staff was amazing!
Thank you very much!

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very good

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/28

I went on this tour when I was living in London.
I used my holiday, and went by myself.
I was worried I won't be able to understand English guide, but soon enough I made friends with s few people on the tour, and we even exchanged emails.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mystical!

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/28

We joined Stonehenge Sunrise tour. Pick up was at 5 ap, but because we were jet-lagged, it wasn't that bad.
We were a bit worried because it rained when we departed, but before we arrived it stopped, and as soon as we entered the stone circle, the sun started to rice, so it was perfect timing.
After the sunrise, we headed to Lacock, ate English breakfast and walked around with the guide.
Then we went to Bath. We had a lot of free time there, and it was even more than enough to see everything before we had to go back to the bus.
The lights were off on the way back to London, so I fall asleep very fast. We arrived back around 4 pm, so we still had plenty of time to continue sightseeing.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]