This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Traditional Tea Ceremony in English near Kiyomizu Temple in Kyoto

Absolutely amazing!

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2019/04/20

We were welcomed and shown to the waiting room which was comfortable.
We are a family of 4 and shared the tea ceremony with another group of 4 people. This was nice as I thought it might have been more people so this was great.
We were given the history about tea ceremonies and spoken in very good English. We were allowed to ask questions before and after the tea ceremony and could take photos at any time.
We all enjoyed this experience very much and would highly recommend anyone to do this.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A wonderful introduction to the traditions of Kyoto

Reviewed by: Aspen_Lola, 2018/10/28

Led by a woman named Chikako, Tea Ceremony Camellia is a great introduction to the origins of the green tea ceremony. She taught us its history and how to make the matcha tea ourselves. Camilla is situated in the Gion neighborhood , so make sure you have at least an hour before or after to walk around and explore the neighborhood. They kept the group limited to 6 people so it was an intimate experience. I highly recommend this lesson during a hectic day of sightseeing as it offered a peaceful oasis and a moment to reflect on the traditions of Kyoto.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

TEA cermony

Reviewed by: Henrik, 2018/07/28

We were meet by a very nice woman dressed in a yukata. She spoke very good English and We got a very good explanation How a Tea cermony should be performed. After We got to do our own Tea. She was very kind and gave us compliments with a big smile.
It was very personal as we were only 7 persons.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An excellent introduction to Japanes tradition!

Reviewed by: Tor Erik Westvik, 2018/05/21

Than you very much for an informative, interesting and valuable experience. The instructor was very skilled, and gave us a good introduction to the tea ceremony. We highly appreciated the session, and are happy to give you our best recommendations.


  • Sensei performing the tea ceremony in Kyoto


  • Our sensei:-)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful serene experience

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2018/04/15

The tea ceremony was a beautiful part of our time in Kyoto. The host was welcoming and lovely and explained in perfect English the origins and significance of the ceremony. My whole family found the experience calming and fascinating

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

That's my great experience!

Reviewed by: Shoshin, 2018/04/08

At first I expected to do Tea cereminy from the begining but I might be register the wrong class. I will visit again next time to private class


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Arigato gozaimasuuu

Reviewed by: Colliwog, 2017/12/30

The staff was lovely and it was a fun, quiet, and intimate experience. I enjoy things like this but it’s not for everyone. I would have enjoyed trying to drink the tea the traditional way and bow once the tea maker gives you the tea but you have to be in the first position next to the door to do that. So if you want to experience that and be put on the spot a little, make sure to sit there. Overall it was a great experience and gave me a taste of something I would like to do again, hopefully for an even longer time.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Sophie, 2017/12/13

Very informative and calm tea ceremony. The host answered all questions to our fullest satisfaction. Great way to learn more about the history of tea ceremonies in Japan, the utensils and what state of mind is required for/induced by a tea ceremony. The Matcha we got to make for ourselves at the end was very nice also.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Informative and relaxing

Reviewed by: Lou , 2017/11/26

We loved our tea ceremony with Camilla. We learnt so much and she was very good with our kids. It is located off one of the best streets I’ve ever visited and set us up all calm and relaxed for a great day out.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An absolute must!!!

Reviewed by: Jacquelyn, 2017/09/23

What an AMAZING experience. I messed up my reservation date and the staff at Camellia emailed me that following day to say they missed me and if I would like to reschedule to the following day, they could accommodate me at anytime. I went the following morning, right at 10am, and was greeted with extreme warmth and calm. One of the women welcomed me in and ensured that I was able to attend a tea ceremony right away! The experience itself was beautiful and intimate (I was the only one!). My lovely demonstrator spoke to me at the beginning and explained what I should expect over the next hour. She then demonstrated the tea preparation and shared that tea with me and then she showed me how to do it myself. Lots of yummy green tea! Afterwards, she explained the whole entire room to me, all the symbolism, the traditions behind it all, it was amazing!

When we were finished I went down stairs and noticed they have beautiful matcha whisks and for the most reasonable price I've seen in my entire 2 months in Japan.

I loved my experience so much that I brought a whole bunch of broshures back to my hostel to encourage other tourists to go!!

You must!! Camellia is the BEST place to have this experience




Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Calming & Comforting

Reviewed by: Meghan Caritativo , 2017/09/03

My friends and I were vacationing in Japan, and sometimes traveling in a foreign country where you don't speak the language, but this tea ceremony instantly transported all of us away from the stress. Keiko was a wonderful host. She was so pleasant and so knowledgeable. We felt so at peace with her and learned so much! The green tea ceremony was fascinating and there is so much meaning behind every action. If you're in Kyoto, put this experience on your must do list!



Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kopje thee

Reviewed by: Jeanette, 2017/08/18

Mooie ceremonie met uitleg en ruimte voor vragen. Uiteindelijk zelf het lekkerste kopje thee gemaakt.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recomended

Reviewed by: Najuan , 2017/08/06

It was such a great experience! We learned so much about the Japanese culture through the tea ceremony. The host was a true tea host master.
I actually wanted to schedule a second visit, but unfortunately we didnt have enough time.
Highly recomended.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great experience

Reviewed by: howard, 2017/07/01

The tea ceremony was very enlightening. The instructor was very knowledgeable and helpful in answering all our questions. The ceremony itself is very elegant and beautiful. The fun part was making your own cup of matcha green tea. I learned a lot and enjoyed this experience - highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very interesting demo

Reviewed by: Olivier, 2017/06/24

It was a very nice moment with perfect English explanations! Thanks for the experience

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Anna NZ, 2017/05/21

We adored this activity. We also managed to find our favourite sweet in the world.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: Tania , 2017/02/24

We loved this experience to watch and learn more about a traditional tea ceremony. We got to make tea as well. The staff were great. We highly recommend this.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Jay, 2017/02/19

Chiaki-san's tea ceremony felt almost surreal. I could actually feel the degree of dedication she puts in tea ceremony.
She speaks a fluent English and her trainee Moe-san speaks a decent Korean. My friends and I were extremely satisfied with this experience. If you're interested in tea ceremony, then I highly recommend this experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tea ceremony at camellia Kyoto

Reviewed by: Sharmistha, 2016/10/19

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the tea ceremony experience. The tea master spoke fluent English and she taught us a lot about the ceremony. we also made some green tea.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]