Make Fresh Soba the Traditional Way in Gion

Overall Rating

4.934.93 / 5

Reviews

14 reviews (Post a review)

Unique Experience

Reviewed by: 8a08a0, 2017/09/06

Had so much fun in making traditional soba!

Sensei could speak English and was very helpful.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Diane Kunimoto, 2017/08/05

I think why we enjoyed it so much is because of the teacher. He explained everything so clearly and concisely. If we were doing something wrong he explained how to do it right. Our son looked more like udon but hey it was our first time. You need to speak Japanese for this one to get the full experience. We did four "cultural experience" classes this time and this was my favorite.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Experience

Reviewed by: Pat, 2017/07/22

As english only speakers, the instructor was able to speak english to help us understand the process. The experience was very hands on from grinding the buckwheat into flour to making,rolling and cutting the dough. The instructor was very helpful. Understanding that his english was not as good as his Japanese (as the Japanese couple had a much longer explanation), we felt that he was very informative and gave us the information that was both interesting, informative with a good sense of humor that made the experience very fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really fun

Reviewed by: Julie, 2017/05/20

The chef was really fun, and his instructions are clear even if he spoke in Japanese. You don't need to know Japanese because his action will still make sense.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great and unique experience, especially for couples

Reviewed by: Ynon, 2017/04/27

As most of the good things we did, my wife found this soba workshop and I booked it for the two of us. It is in Gion, right off the Kiyomizudera temple. It was a wonderful experience. 4 couples attended the workshop, 2 of them were Japanese. We started with grinding real soba with a grindstones, then the chef patiently demonstrated and helped us to make the soba noodles. It was very interesting and enjoyable and each couple had its own tools. I can't even explain what a refreshing change it was from the regular sightseeing. Finally the soba we've made was taken for cooking, and eventually we all got to sit and dine in the house, eating the soba noodles we made, grinding real wasabi roots - a wonderful meal we well.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommended!!!!

Reviewed by: isreal, 2016/10/25

great experience.
We learned our own hands to make soba.
The chef was very good.
We have prepared soba noodles since the beginning of the process.
really fun.
Finally, we ate soba restored.
We recommend that you not give up this experience.
The chef and his wife are just lovely.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun noodle making

Reviewed by: Stephen H, 2016/09/11

Would highly recommend this as a break from sightseeing. The hosts were great and we had lots of fun. We got to eat our noodles after the class. Big recommendation.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun, educational, and delicious!

Reviewed by: JasonM, 2016/08/06

It was a little challenging finding the location for this class, so give yourself some extra time. The class was awesome, even though the teacher didn't speak much english. It was easy to follow along visually. The meal at the end of the class, to enjoy the noodles, was a great experience as well. I just wish I paid more attention though, because my first attempt at reproducing these noodles back at home did not come out quite as well, lol.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Neat experience!

Reviewed by: Parker+Cori, 2016/06/11

Class was great, learned how to make the noodles from scratch and then got to eat them. Delicious!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the best things we did in japan

Reviewed by: Zoe , 2016/01/19

Wonderful, kind hosts with a very clean and homely space to do the class then enjoy the meal. Great explanations despite limited English. We learnt a lot and are inspired to make our own soba at home. The house is a little hard to find so make sure you download a good map and leave a little extra time. Highly recommend this as a way to spent a couple of hours in a traditional setting. Thank you for the hospitality!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Willie, 2016/01/08

Great experience. My wife was so into making the soba. Fun and enjoyable experience!. Great teacher too!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must go!!!!!!

Reviewed by: Margot, 2016/01/05

So worth the money, you get to grind the buckwheat, mix into a dough, roll it out, cut it up. Which sounds simple but it's so delightfully intense. The sensei is so nice and patient, we didn't speak much Japanese but he is great at demonstrating and miming what language failed to communicate. The one and only downside is that we didn't get to cook the soba ourselves, but since these guys are professionals, it makes sense for them to do that simple part. Before you eat, you grind fresh wasabi from the root, which tastes different than any other wasabi- and honestly I don't usually like wasabi. Seriously it's a delicious and authentic experience I would repeat in a heartbeat. They take tons of photos with your phone or camera while you do it too so it doesn't get dirty and you have the whole experience documented. It's not marked on the outside, but it's located right where the map says it is so its an easy find.


  • The end product


  • Chopping the soba noodles


  • Rolling out the dough


  • All finished, ready to cook

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great experience

Reviewed by: Gigi, 2015/09/11

Great hands on experience with making soba. Uribe san made it fun. Fresh soba has a great aroma. Tasted great with fresh ground wasabi


  • Cutting up soba dough

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: Dave B, 2015/08/14

The instruction was carefully presented by friendly professionals. They made the tedious task of noodle making a lot of fun for children and adults alike. eating our own cooking upstairs was icing on the cake. Couldn't have asked for a nicer experience.The facility was very clean. Instructors were accommodative of our English-speaking.

Leave extra time to find the kitchen because it is located in an alley off the main tourist thorough fare.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Categories