This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Make Fresh Soba the Traditional Way in Gion

Overall Rating

4.884.88 / 5

Reviews

33 reviews (Post a review)

Wonderfull. So much fun!

Reviewed by: Ohohoh, 2019/04/20

Everything was fab. As a chef i really wanted to learn how to make soba noodles. Myself and hubby did his. We did it early and wondered around to the shrines and temples nearby afterwards. It was lovely to see how soba noodles are traditionaly enjoyed. Our chef and teacher was happy to take photos of us during all the steps. Well worth taking the time and money to do! Thank for being one of the highlights for us in kyoto.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for posting the review. We are happy you enjoyed soba noodles making and travel in Kyoto. We look forward to seeing you again.
レビューを投稿していただきありがとうございます。そば打ちが京都旅行の良い思い出になっていると嬉しいです。またのお越しをお待ちしております。

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A real hands on experience for the whole process of soba making

Reviewed by: Dennis, 2019/03/25

Really enjoyable full participation course in soba noodle making. The facility was bright, spotless and well laid out with plenty of room. I felt like I experienced every aspect of a surprisingly complex process. The instructor was a practiced expert and he made it possible for all of us to succeed at every step. Definitely add on the yuba making...you'll want to go home and do it there.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for posting the review. Please choose good soy milk for yuba making. We look forward to seeing you again.

レビューを投稿していただきありがとうございます。ゆば作りには良い豆乳を選んでください。またのお越しをお待ちしております。

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome time, and great value for your money!

Reviewed by: Brian, 2019/03/01

Awesome experience. Booked this on our last day in Kyoto, and so happy we did. This was my first touristy cooking class, and it was an absolute blast. Although there was a slight language barrier, it didn’t inhibit the quality of the class at all. The instructor clearly knows the needed English to teach. We spent about 45 minutes making the noodles, and then relax and eat them in a traditional setting for the remainder of the time which was very cool. So much value for the little cost. Highly recommend.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for posting the review. We are happy that you enjoyed our soba noodles making class. We look forward to seeing you again.

レビューを投稿していただきありがとうございます。 そば打ち教室を楽しんでくれて嬉しいです。 またお会いできるのを楽しみにしています。

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to spend time with friends/family!

Reviewed by: Christine, 2019/01/13

The host was very generous and entertaining. He guided us in making the soba, helped out every table when needed, and gave us many photo opportunities. It was so fun and the soba came out great!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for posting the review. It seems you liked the character of the chef :) We look forward to seeing you again.

レビューを投稿していただきありがとうございます。 シェフの性格を気に入っていただけたようですね。 またお会いできるのを楽しみにしています。

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent soba making experience!

Reviewed by: Veronica, 2018/12/01

Soba making was such a great and one of a kind experience. Our teacher was very engaging and funny and spoke very good English. It was also very fun to eat our own soba afterwards with wasabi that we grinded ourselves. Would love to do this again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

good teacher

Reviewed by: erica, 2018/10/20

very good and professional. teacher speaks very well english

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Jovian, 2018/10/18

Fun activity to do in Kyoto, from grinding the buckwheat to kneading and cutting the soba noodles. They then cooked the noodles for us to eat, and we could clearly taste the buckwheat in stark difference to the commercial tasteless noodles. Even though there was a language barrier, the instructor did quite well with her limited English and visual instructions to make sure we were on the right track. My wife and I had a great time and would recommend it to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Soba making class

Reviewed by: Danette , 2018/10/14

Instructor was excellent. The location was very difficult to find. Better instructions are needed to find the building.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Soba making. Great!

Reviewed by: Saw Malaysia, 2018/10/08

I like it very much. It was very traditional and taste original.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Ido , 2018/08/20

It was very fun and the guide/chef was great!
The place also was very clean.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Carmen, 2018/04/29

Overall a great experience! Would have been so much better if the instructor could explain more in English. I caught a few things in Japanese but when he explained in English, he did not repeat it. Otherwise it’s fun and interactive experience. After making soba they take some to make soba chips! We’ve never had (or heard) of it before so that was a treat!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Heather L, 2018/03/28

Fun and educational! Instructor spoke English as well as Japanese, but we had no problem understanding even without the translation (body and hand language was very clear). Small class size gives it a much more personal feel and gives you more opportunity for tips from the instructor. Very informative and easy to follow course with a very tasty end result! I would definitely recommend this course to anyone and can't wait to try making soba again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Mitchell, 2018/03/25

We had a wonderful time making Soba!

The class was informative and the teacher provided good instruction on how to prepare the Soba dough and cut the noodles. They also took many photos for us which was very kind!

Afterwards, we were served a delicious meal of the soba we had prepared. It was an overall great experience!

The staff spoke English very well.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Monique_NZ, 2018/03/24

We loved making Soba noodles in Gion. We all took part in the step-by-step process of grinding the flour, making the dough, kneading, rolling, and cutting the noodles. The most impressive (and challenging) part was cutting the noodles - there was a lot of skill and patience required. Would definitely recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun/Educational Experience Well Worth the Cost

Reviewed by: Minh, 2018/03/22

It was a fun experience! Our teacher/chef did his best to help us out as the only English-speaking party in our class, and aside from some missed explanation in Japanese, the experience is well worth the cost. The fried soba "chips" at the end were delicious! Would sign up again and highly recommend it :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent activity

Reviewed by: Shelly, 2018/01/30

Great activity. Easy to follow. Had lots of fun. Would highly recommend.

  • Our noodles we made, we now get to eat.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was very fun and interesting!

Reviewed by: Mimoko, 2017/12/18

The place was not easy to find ... fortunately we could use google map. The lesson was conducted partially in English so that was very helpful. It’s really fun making Soba which we could taste after that. Worthwhile experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Lesson

Reviewed by: Level 1 Soba Maker, 2017/10/16

It was really fun learning to make soba and unexpected that the chef translated the some instructions to English (I was expecting to just learn from context clues based on the description).

I would definitely go back to try making soba again (my noodles were on the short side... :/ ).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Harrison, 2017/10/16

Great fun learning how to make the specialized noodles.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique Experience

Reviewed by: 8a08a0, 2017/09/06

Had so much fun in making traditional soba!

Sensei could speak English and was very helpful.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Diane Kunimoto, 2017/08/05

I think why we enjoyed it so much is because of the teacher. He explained everything so clearly and concisely. If we were doing something wrong he explained how to do it right. Our son looked more like udon but hey it was our first time. You need to speak Japanese for this one to get the full experience. We did four "cultural experience" classes this time and this was my favorite.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Experience

Reviewed by: Pat, 2017/07/22

As english only speakers, the instructor was able to speak english to help us understand the process. The experience was very hands on from grinding the buckwheat into flour to making,rolling and cutting the dough. The instructor was very helpful. Understanding that his english was not as good as his Japanese (as the Japanese couple had a much longer explanation), we felt that he was very informative and gave us the information that was both interesting, informative with a good sense of humor that made the experience very fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really fun

Reviewed by: Julie, 2017/05/20

The chef was really fun, and his instructions are clear even if he spoke in Japanese. You don't need to know Japanese because his action will still make sense.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great and unique experience, especially for couples

Reviewed by: Ynon, 2017/04/27

As most of the good things we did, my wife found this soba workshop and I booked it for the two of us. It is in Gion, right off the Kiyomizudera temple. It was a wonderful experience. 4 couples attended the workshop, 2 of them were Japanese. We started with grinding real soba with a grindstones, then the chef patiently demonstrated and helped us to make the soba noodles. It was very interesting and enjoyable and each couple had its own tools. I can't even explain what a refreshing change it was from the regular sightseeing. Finally the soba we've made was taken for cooking, and eventually we all got to sit and dine in the house, eating the soba noodles we made, grinding real wasabi roots - a wonderful meal we well.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommended!!!!

Reviewed by: isreal, 2016/10/25

great experience.
We learned our own hands to make soba.
The chef was very good.
We have prepared soba noodles since the beginning of the process.
really fun.
Finally, we ate soba restored.
We recommend that you not give up this experience.
The chef and his wife are just lovely.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun noodle making

Reviewed by: Stephen H, 2016/09/11

Would highly recommend this as a break from sightseeing. The hosts were great and we had lots of fun. We got to eat our noodles after the class. Big recommendation.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun, educational, and delicious!

Reviewed by: JasonM, 2016/08/06

It was a little challenging finding the location for this class, so give yourself some extra time. The class was awesome, even though the teacher didn't speak much english. It was easy to follow along visually. The meal at the end of the class, to enjoy the noodles, was a great experience as well. I just wish I paid more attention though, because my first attempt at reproducing these noodles back at home did not come out quite as well, lol.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Neat experience!

Reviewed by: Parker+Cori, 2016/06/11

Class was great, learned how to make the noodles from scratch and then got to eat them. Delicious!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the best things we did in japan

Reviewed by: Zoe , 2016/01/19

Wonderful, kind hosts with a very clean and homely space to do the class then enjoy the meal. Great explanations despite limited English. We learnt a lot and are inspired to make our own soba at home. The house is a little hard to find so make sure you download a good map and leave a little extra time. Highly recommend this as a way to spent a couple of hours in a traditional setting. Thank you for the hospitality!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Willie, 2016/01/08

Great experience. My wife was so into making the soba. Fun and enjoyable experience!. Great teacher too!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |