Kyoto Maiko Entertainment with All-You-Can-Drink Full Course Dinner & Photo Op reviews, Kyoto tours & activities, fun things to do in Kyoto | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kyoto Maiko Entertainment with All-You-Can-Drink Full Course Dinner & Photo Op

Overall Rating

4.72 4.72 / 5

Reviews

39 reviews
Post a review

If you're in Kyoto this is a MUST DO experience

Reviewed by: MichaelBTraveller, 2020/02/02

Our recent Japan trip highlight was the dinner evening with a maiko in Gion District in Kyoto organised through Veltra.

She was gracious and charming beyond belief and we felt so personally touched to have the privilege of spending time with her. The food was amazing, the drinks free flowing and plentiful, and the staff were exceptional in their hospitality and genuine care for the guests.

If you're worried about sitting on the tatame for dinner, don't. I have a pretty poor back and had no issues at all. They give you a chair back on the floor that you sit on and lean against, and you can stretch your legs under the table, so it's pretty comfortable.

It was a very small group of 7 so it felt very intimate and personal. I cannot recommend this experience any higher, it was exceptional to spend one-on-one time with such a beautiful person who embodies everything that is great about traditional Japan.

Thank you so much Veltra for making this possible!

  • The traditional dances of the maiko and cameras are welcome!

  • Such a beautiful person who embodies everything that is great about traditional Japan

  • Gracious and charming beyond belief and we felt so personally touched

  • Playing traditional games

  • Spending time with a genuine maiko was amazing

  • The environment is very comfortable

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Always amazing !

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2020/01/04

I’ve tried dinners with Maiko experiences before but this is the best. And now it’s been my 4th time visiting. Service food people atmosphere are all excellent. Be ready to sit on a tatami mat style or request a small stool.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/12/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing experience not to be missed!

Reviewed by: Jacqueline , 2019/12/09

Dinner with a Maiko was the highlight of my trip to Japan. Meeting the Maiko and having the chance to interact with her was amazing. It is hard to believe that she was only 19 years old, as she exhibited both dignity and poise well beyond her years. The evening started with a dance performance from her followed by a question and answer session. She then sat down and talked to each individual table through an interpreter. I was amazed with the way she made everyone feel completely at ease in the conversation. We then played Tora Tora Tora - which is a Japanese drinking game and finally she finished the night with another dance. The food we were served was absolutely delicious and the hostesses who greeted and served us were all wonderfully welcoming and delightful in their own right. All in all, this evening was one that I will remember for a long time to come.

  • Sitting and chatting to each of the attendees at the dinner

  • Showing us how to play the Tora Tora Tora Game

  • A beautiful dance performance from our Maiko

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!!

Reviewed by: Adri, 2019/07/15

It was just amazing. The Geiko was so beautiful and sweet and the food was amazing. 10/10 for sure!!! So gonna do it again :)

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding experience.

Reviewed by: Semih, 2019/05/25

It was an outstanding experience in a very friendly and authentic atmosphere.

I would recommend it strongly to anyone who would like to have some insightful information about life of Maikos and Geikos.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful evening

Reviewed by: Ellie, 2019/04/03

My partner and I really enjoyed this. The food was delicious, the setting was authentic, and the maiko was beautiful and charming. Our English interpreters were also lovely, welcoming and helpful. The maiko only performed one dance for us instead of the two described in the event, but we still had an amazing time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip Highlight!

Reviewed by: Amy, 2019/04/02

Our Maiko Banquet experience was easily the highlight of our trip to Japan. Booking was incredibly easy and everyone was so kind about accommodating dietary restrictions. The atmosphere was dreamy and the meal was lovely. The Maiko herself was charming and beautiful! We would recommend this to anyone fortunate enough to visit Kyoto.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

"Memoirs of a Geisha" dream come true

Reviewed by: Couple from Canada, 2019/03/17

Absolutely loved the experience of meeting Maiko. I finally fulfilled my "Memoirs of a Geisha" dream Haha The name of our Maiko was Fukuya, and she was beautiful, answered all our questions, was very nice and I loved playing the game with her!

The only reason my review is 4 stars and not 5 is only because of a bit of a mix up with our food. The husband really doesn't like fish, so we had made sure ahead of time that he wouldn't be getting any seafood, but pretty much his entire meal contained fish, all but for a little steak. So, I ended up eating 1.5 meals (I hate wasting food) hahaha But, other than the hubby having very little food, the food was really great! So delicious!

I would definitely recommend a meet up with a Maiko if you get that chance. We didn't see 1 Maiko or Geisha walking around, so if seeing one of these beautiful ladies is on your bucket list, book a visit! We absolutely loved it, it was a big trip highlight.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

excellent night

Reviewed by: visitors, 2019/02/26

far exceeded our expectations. food was great, nice wine and we learnt so much about the whole geisha world - really really enjoyable and interesting. Do it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful and enchanting evening

Reviewed by: Ali, 2018/12/22

Was a fantastic evening. The Maiko was beautiful and wonderful to talk to. We learnt lots about their lives. Fun games. So much delicious food.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time!

Reviewed by: Lucy, 2018/12/11

The Maiko performance and dinner was a truly wonderful experience. We had a great time watching the Maiko, chatting with her and playing games. Dinner was also delicious. Was a magical experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great times!

Reviewed by: AJ-, 2018/11/22

We had such a good time! Maiko performance was nice, and we enjoyed playing the game and talking to the her. Glad they were able to provide vegan dinner (minus tempura).

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Rosaleen, 2018/11/01

It was an amazing experience and an absolute must do while visiting Japan.. There were only 4 couples in the room with excellent girls who interpreted for us and the maiko, who spent quite a long time at each table after her performance etc. .We learned a lot about the tradition. Lots of lovely food and drink served. Fantastic evening- best ever.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Special Experience

Reviewed by: Daniel, 2018/09/24

Friendly staff, with very good English speaking assistant. Made welcome right away. It is a small scale private event. Dinner dishes were excellent and varied. The show itself was authentic, nice to learn more details about this art and culture including via direct conversation with the performing Maiko. A great way to round off a memorable stay in Kyoto.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a fabulous evening.

Reviewed by: Lisa and Jack Rhind, 2018/08/04

My husband and I really enjoyed this experience of having dinner with a Maiko!
It was a highlight of our trip to Japan. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the dinner was delicious! We enjoyed the Maiko's dances and especially getting to speak to her and interract with her. There were only 6 of us at dinner so there was lots of time to speak to Maiko and she was happy to answer all of my questions! We enjoyed playing the games with her as well and I even beat her at one of them! I would strongly recommend this evening to anyone who wants to experience the mysterious geisha world up close and personal. I loved every minute of it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of fun, a bit of culture, and a very enjoyable dinner!

Reviewed by: Michael, 2018/05/31

A glimpse into the maiko world of entertainment. Very refined dance and etiquette.
I like the intimacy of four guests tables only, that makes it more interactive!
The after dinner games were a blast!
The staff were all very helpful, wonderful venue... a must for fist time visitors to Kyoto!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maiko performance in Kyoto with drinks and dinner

Reviewed by: Louise Clements, 2018/05/19

Had a very enjoyable evening. Food was varied and drinks forthcoming. Very well looked after. Had great conversation with the Maiko.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun and interesting experience!

Reviewed by: Alison, 2018/03/29

Very fun and interesting experience! The food was good. Intimate setting. We played drinking games with the maiko...she was beautiful! Learned a little about being a maiko and geisha. Really recommend this place!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really Nice Experience

Reviewed by: KCM Callahan, 2018/02/13

My husband and I really enjoyed our time. Mika, our host, was delightful and a wonderful translator for the Maiko who joined us that night, Fukune. Together they graciously answered all of our questions and made it a very enjoyable experience. When we booked this, we didn't realize we would be in a private room, but that ended up being nice as we had space to have conversations that we may not have otherwise had if we were in a larger group. The kaiseki meal was good though we'd had more interesting kaiseki dishes at another restaurant the day before. It was also a little hard to enjoy the intricate meal when we were in conversation the entire night (the downside to the private room).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner with Maiko

Reviewed by: Min , 2018/01/03

Highly recommended. We were warmly welcomed and it was really fun having dinner with Maiko. We were able to watch her beautiful dance, play games with her, and ask her any questions if you want to know. I had a fantastic night. The Kaiseki traditional Japanese food was delicious. Whole program was well organised. Two Japanese Interpreters spoke good English. I can’t wait to go again.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/12/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our first Maiko interaction experience

Reviewed by: Lili , 2017/12/21

This package had it all; meet a real maiko in person, enjoyed the traditional Maiko dance, have a conversation and played games with one, and even took pictures with one! It was a superb and welcoming experience! Really enjoyed the food and entertainment. Would most definitely recommend my friends if they want to have similar experience! Would suggest the restaurant to have a vegetarian menu for my vegan friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A factinating evening!

Reviewed by: Matthew , 2017/10/30

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our evening with a Maiko. Her performances and one-to-one discussions were graceful and worth the money alone. The staff and games ensured a great atmosphere among all guests and made for a very entertaining evening. This was definitely a holiday highlight!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Evening with a maiko

Reviewed by: ANAT, 2017/10/28

As a photographer I always wanted to have the opportunity to meet a maiko in person. The evening with Maiko was an amazing experience. It was worth every Yen. I was the only one who came alone, but the connection and interaction with the rest of the participants was immediate.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a great time with a Maiko

Reviewed by: Ray, 2017/10/26

Going into this experience, I had no clue what a Maiko was and just thought it would a show with someone that just dresses up like a Geisha. This experience taught me a lot about the whole Geisha/Maiko profession and has made me more interested in older Japanese culture. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was delicious, and the Maiko was gorgeous and great to hang out with.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Interesting and entertaining show

Reviewed by: Marcy, 2017/10/26

Great to get quality time with the Maiko and the drinking games were really fun. Food was good. Service for drink refills was a little slow. The translators were great to have and super helpful in helping us catch a cab. Overall a great experience and I definitely recommend!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and Educational Evening

Reviewed by: Melinda K., 2017/10/25

We had an amazing time. We signed up for this with some hesitation about how fun it would be. Well, it sure delivered a lot of fun and some cool opportunities to learn. The meal was large and provided many, many courses of Japanese food. The entire time we were there we were able to enjoy unlimited drinks. We also appreciated that we were able to regularly interact with an English-speaking person who lived in Japan. We were able to talk to several of the staff who were working that evening, who spent time visiting with the customers and sharing their experiences living in Japan. In total there were about 18 people attending this event. We learned a lot and enjoyed the individual time we had with the Maiko and the group activities too. We highly recommend it and this Veltra package was well worth it. We absolutely would do this again! Very, very satisfied!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience with a Maiko !

Reviewed by: Marc Simon, 2017/10/25

My girlfriend and I went to this dinner during our trip to Kyoto, and honestly it was the highlight of the trip.
First of all, we were late by 30 minutes (which is very rude). But the staff was still super friendly and lovely.

About the Maiko:
When we arrived the staff were describing what the Maiko was wearing. They also explain how she became a Maiko, and her daily life as one.
Then she went to every single table and we were able to spend about 10 minutes with her to chat and ask any question (a translator were translating from English to Japanese).
After she visited each table, she show us a traditional dance. We then played some simple game with her, it was so fun ! Everybody played with her at least once.

About the food:
I see a lot of bad review about the food. It's traditional Japanese food and it was DELICIOUS ! You're in Kyoto, open your mind and try everything. I think we had about 5 different dish set like small appetizer, soup, sushi, tempura... there is nothing in there that I didn't like or was not cook properly.
Also, it's open bar ! We had hot sake, wine and beer.

About the place:
The place is beautiful, it's a traditional Japanese restaurant (small table & sitting on the floor).
If I remember correctly there was about 12 people in the room (us included). So anywhere you sit you will be close enough to the Maiko to catch everything.

About the staff:
They are so lovely! They were always making sure we had everything to be comfortable. They even sat down with us for a little chat together.

We both really loved it !

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok, but could be better

Reviewed by: Alla, 2017/10/21

An experience of meeting Maico is definitely rewarding. However, the quality of service, dinner, and overall organization are very mediocre. The only professional service was provided by the interpreter. Her English was very good as well as posture and ability to communicate. The place looks very shabby, food is not of high quality, especially taking into a consideration the price. I would not recommend this place. Try to find a different venue.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Abraham Abbas, 2017/10/17

My partner and I had a great experienc! The staff were very friendly and welcoming and made everyone effort to ensure you were comfortable and that all your needs were being met. The food, Maiko performance, games, conversation and photos were well worth it and we had an incredible time. It was really memorable especially when the Maiko came to our table to speak and answer any question we had. This was a perfect addition to our last night in Kyoto! Highly recommend!

  • Photo with Maiko

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience!!

Reviewed by: Monique , 2017/10/14

An amazing experience having dinner with the Maiko while she performed and came around to speak to everyone as we asked her questions, followed by games. I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting kyoto.

  • Maiko

Reply from activity provider

Hi Monique,

Thank you for coming us and your comment here!
I'm Kishirou Kase , the staff of Enchanted Time with Maiko.

If there is anything we can do to improve, please let us know.

We wanna make our event better and better.

Best regards,

Kishirou Kase

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]