Kyoto Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Overall Rating

4.304.30 / 5

Reviews

20 reviews (Post a review)

Kyoto is beautiful

Reviewed by: Tarsila Felix, 2017/05/08

Kyoto is super interesting historically speaking and very different from the actual Tokyo, so very worth the day trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto morning tour.

Reviewed by: Mietek, 2017/05/07

Very well organized. Our guide Caiko and our driver were excellent. I would recommend this tour to all.
Great tour of Kyoto with free time to explore
Having the afternoon off to explore was a great way to relax in a new city.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto 1 day bullet train from Tokyo

Reviewed by: Oca, 2017/04/18

if you need to visit Kyoto in 1 day from Tokyo this is the tour for you. Best price too its like the half day tour of Kyoto its free vs getting the tickets on your own. I wish the the bullet train comming back was 7pm and not 8:35pm. do yourself a favor and call Sunrise tours or go to their website (the company giving the morning half day tour) and reserve either the Kyoto afternoon tour ($5900JPY)or even better the Nara afternoon tour($7400JPY) so you dont have to wait 8.5 hours for the train back or try to figure out what to visit and spend a fortune in taxi. I added the afternoon tour and visited additional 3 beautiful temples Heian Jingu shrine, sanjusangendo and Kiyomizudera being the last the most impresive 5 story temple. If you go to Nara instead you will see the Great Budda in the Todaji temple. Ask the guide to leave you in the Kyoto train station they will do so dont need to pay taxi to go back I did had to wait 3 hours for the 8:35 train (but much better than waiting 8.5 hours) if you go to Nara I suppose you will spend 1 more hour comming back to wait 2 hours thats what I think if the bullet train tickets were at 7pm would be perfect for either additional tour. Notice the company also offers a night tour but dont reserve if you are taking the bullet train, wont make it on time (the company could instead give bullet train tickets for later in that case so they can sell you the night tour?) -would be nice but even the way its currently set (and you adding the afternoon tour or Nara) makes it perfect.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Rao, 2017/04/17

Very well organized. Our guide Taka and our driver were excellent. I would recommend this tour to all

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour of Kyoto with free time to explore

Reviewed by: Aaron, 2017/01/26

Tour was excellent and easy to manage. Good points of interest and great guide. We didn't go for the meal but I would recommend it. Having the afternoon off to explore was a great way to relax in a new city.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour!

Reviewed by: ARJ, 2016/10/25

The tour was good. We did the half day tour and had the rest of the day to ourselves. I don't recommend this if you don't have any other activities lined up. The train that they will have you on is at 830p at night. The tour lets out around 1230a/1p.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A rushed tour...

Reviewed by: Lily, 2016/04/28

Since we had to take the first train out to Kyoto from Tokyo, we figure the morning would be jam backed. It really felt rushed, overcrowd because the bus was at capacity so we could not hear the guide and due to the fact that we needed to be at the Imperial Palace at a certain time, we really could not enjoy the stops as much as we wanted. With that being said, what we did see what beautiful even thought it was raining and cold. Be mindful that the tour ends at noon but your train will not leave until 8 pm so you must find things to do because you cannot change your ticket to an earlier time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful and Historic Kyoto

Reviewed by: Laura M., 2016/04/22

This is a fantastic tour for people who are staying in Tokyo but want to see Kyoto. Because of scheduling, we were unable to stay outside of Tokyo but this allowed us to travel to Kyoto and experience its beauty. The bullet train tickets arrived at our hotel with instructions on how to get from Tokyo to Kyoto. We had no problems at all and the bullet train was a great experience in itself. Once we got to Kyoto, we simply followed the map to our meet-up. The morning tour was fabulous and we were able to see many sights such as Kinkaku-ji and Nijo Castle with a guided tour. Our tour guide was fabulous and helped us understand more about the culture in Kyoto. After the tour, lunch and the afternoon were free. We spent the evening at Kiyomizu-dera but there were so many options to explore with a free afternoon that one could do almost anything in Kyoto before needing to return to the train station. We had no problem getting back to Tokyo at the end of the day. I would definitely recommend making the time in your schedule for this tour if you are staying in Tokyo. It was an amazing experience.


  • Kiyomizu-dera in the afternoon


  • Kinkaku-ji in the morning

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thank you

Reviewed by: Tatiana , 2016/03/31

Our tour was great! I wish we saw more of Kyoto. Our guide was very knowledgeable

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really easy, enjoyable tour

Reviewed by: Erin, 2016/03/16

The tour was great and really easy for two people with school-level Japanese skills. We caught the shinkansen from Tokyo without any problems and found the tour desk easily in Kyoto.
Our tour guide was lovely, spoke good English and had a good sense of humour.
We had picked this tour specifically so we could do our own thing and visit other specific temples/shrines in the afternoon, so finishing back at Kyoto station around lunchtime made this achievable.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Tokyo Categories