Kyoto Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Overall Rating

4.274.27 / 5

Reviews

22 reviews (Post a review)

Kyoto Morning Trip

Reviewed by: Pierre Guzman, 2017/08/07

A good summary on the history of this city. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, while at the same time friendly.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Veltra is a good service provider for tours

Reviewed by: Sandra USA, 2017/08/07

I used Veltra twice as a tour travel agent. Both tours were organised and went according to plan. I was given clear instructions. The Kyoto Tour was great! Informative and scenic both. Our guide was excellent. I highly recommend booking tours through Veltra!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto is beautiful

Reviewed by: Tarsila Felix, 2017/05/08

Kyoto is super interesting historically speaking and very different from the actual Tokyo, so very worth the day trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto morning tour.

Reviewed by: Mietek, 2017/05/07

Very well organized. Our guide Caiko and our driver were excellent. I would recommend this tour to all.
Great tour of Kyoto with free time to explore
Having the afternoon off to explore was a great way to relax in a new city.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto 1 day bullet train from Tokyo

Reviewed by: Oca, 2017/04/18

if you need to visit Kyoto in 1 day from Tokyo this is the tour for you. Best price too its like the half day tour of Kyoto its free vs getting the tickets on your own. I wish the the bullet train comming back was 7pm and not 8:35pm. do yourself a favor and call Sunrise tours or go to their website (the company giving the morning half day tour) and reserve either the Kyoto afternoon tour ($5900JPY)or even better the Nara afternoon tour($7400JPY) so you dont have to wait 8.5 hours for the train back or try to figure out what to visit and spend a fortune in taxi. I added the afternoon tour and visited additional 3 beautiful temples Heian Jingu shrine, sanjusangendo and Kiyomizudera being the last the most impresive 5 story temple. If you go to Nara instead you will see the Great Budda in the Todaji temple. Ask the guide to leave you in the Kyoto train station they will do so dont need to pay taxi to go back I did had to wait 3 hours for the 8:35 train (but much better than waiting 8.5 hours) if you go to Nara I suppose you will spend 1 more hour comming back to wait 2 hours thats what I think if the bullet train tickets were at 7pm would be perfect for either additional tour. Notice the company also offers a night tour but dont reserve if you are taking the bullet train, wont make it on time (the company could instead give bullet train tickets for later in that case so they can sell you the night tour?) -would be nice but even the way its currently set (and you adding the afternoon tour or Nara) makes it perfect.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Rao, 2017/04/17

Very well organized. Our guide Taka and our driver were excellent. I would recommend this tour to all

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour of Kyoto with free time to explore

Reviewed by: Aaron, 2017/01/26

Tour was excellent and easy to manage. Good points of interest and great guide. We didn't go for the meal but I would recommend it. Having the afternoon off to explore was a great way to relax in a new city.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour!

Reviewed by: ARJ, 2016/10/25

The tour was good. We did the half day tour and had the rest of the day to ourselves. I don't recommend this if you don't have any other activities lined up. The train that they will have you on is at 830p at night. The tour lets out around 1230a/1p.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A rushed tour...

Reviewed by: Lily, 2016/04/28

Since we had to take the first train out to Kyoto from Tokyo, we figure the morning would be jam backed. It really felt rushed, overcrowd because the bus was at capacity so we could not hear the guide and due to the fact that we needed to be at the Imperial Palace at a certain time, we really could not enjoy the stops as much as we wanted. With that being said, what we did see what beautiful even thought it was raining and cold. Be mindful that the tour ends at noon but your train will not leave until 8 pm so you must find things to do because you cannot change your ticket to an earlier time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful and Historic Kyoto

Reviewed by: Laura M., 2016/04/22

This is a fantastic tour for people who are staying in Tokyo but want to see Kyoto. Because of scheduling, we were unable to stay outside of Tokyo but this allowed us to travel to Kyoto and experience its beauty. The bullet train tickets arrived at our hotel with instructions on how to get from Tokyo to Kyoto. We had no problems at all and the bullet train was a great experience in itself. Once we got to Kyoto, we simply followed the map to our meet-up. The morning tour was fabulous and we were able to see many sights such as Kinkaku-ji and Nijo Castle with a guided tour. Our tour guide was fabulous and helped us understand more about the culture in Kyoto. After the tour, lunch and the afternoon were free. We spent the evening at Kiyomizu-dera but there were so many options to explore with a free afternoon that one could do almost anything in Kyoto before needing to return to the train station. We had no problem getting back to Tokyo at the end of the day. I would definitely recommend making the time in your schedule for this tour if you are staying in Tokyo. It was an amazing experience.


  • Kiyomizu-dera in the afternoon


  • Kinkaku-ji in the morning

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thank you

Reviewed by: Tatiana , 2016/03/31

Our tour was great! I wish we saw more of Kyoto. Our guide was very knowledgeable

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really easy, enjoyable tour

Reviewed by: Erin, 2016/03/16

The tour was great and really easy for two people with school-level Japanese skills. We caught the shinkansen from Tokyo without any problems and found the tour desk easily in Kyoto.
Our tour guide was lovely, spoke good English and had a good sense of humour.
We had picked this tour specifically so we could do our own thing and visit other specific temples/shrines in the afternoon, so finishing back at Kyoto station around lunchtime made this achievable.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Half Day Tour

Reviewed by: Gail from Michigan, 2015/12/19

We very much enjoyed the half day tour of Kyoto and the guide was excellent. However, the tour finished up around noon and the return train ticket to Tokyo was not until after 8pm. We wanted a few hours to wander around on our own but not 8 hours! We would not recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour of Kyoto

Reviewed by: Terri, 2015/11/06

I enjoyed the tour and also the free time at the conclusion of the tour before the train ride back to Tokyo

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent GUide

Reviewed by: Rajeshwari, 2015/10/28

I was on bus No. 1 and the tour guide was very enterprising and made the tour a memorable experience. well managed and well done by the guide, forgot his name hope you figure that out and reward him suitably.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good sights but tour needs improvement

Reviewed by: Mel W, 2015/10/26

Enjoyed all of the sights we visited. We had adequate time at each of them and the bus trips were smooth & well driven. The guide seemed rushed & nervous. Was hard to understand her on the bus as she kept taking the microphone away from her mouth. When in the castle & temples we could not hear her at all. We got stuck at the back of the group & missed all of the info. Also would have been useful to be given a map & more info about the train stations & area.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyed It

Reviewed by: Matt, 2015/06/21

We did the half day tour of Kyoto and it was perfect. The sightseeing was terrific. We used the afternoon to explore on our own, then took the bullet train back to Tokyo. It was a long day but a highlight of our trip.

Not inexpensive, but I understand a large portion of the tour price was in the train tickets, which is understandable. Our tour guide's english was excellent and easy to understand.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Value

Reviewed by: From Las Vegas, 2015/05/01

We had transportation on the Bullet Train Nozomi from Tokyo so the tour was an excellent value. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. Also Veltra's explanation of the tour was spot on.


  • Imperial Palace


  • Nijo Castle


  • Kinkaku-ji Temple


  • The Shinkansen Train

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Day in Kyoto but Tiring

Reviewed by: Lucy, 2014/12/02

Great trip if you want to visit Kyoto but only have limited time or cannot stay over. The three sites that you visit in the morning are very good and the popular spots. The tour guide spoke very good English. The afternoon I had to myself and managed to visit a few more sites before heading back to the station. Once all the shrines and temples closed I did feel a bit lost for what to do for 4 hours before the train arrived so ended up shopping. Be prepared for a long but exciting day.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Be careful, a long day with a lot of unstructured time awaits.

Reviewed by: Marie, 2014/09/21

First off the tour element of our tour was highly enjoyable, but short as we elected to have half a day guided. The locations visited were all interesting and beautiful, and the tour guide made sure we had all the information well and truly drummed in.
Afterwards we had 8 hours to kill in Kyoto, which we hadn't really planned for, in a heat and humidity we hadn't planned for either.
We made an enjoyable day of wandering shopping districts and finding many small temples, but had we not been so easy-going this day could have been a disaster. Either go prepared, or book in for the full day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto tours 28 October 2013

Reviewed by: Mariella, 2013/10/31

Vey good value for money! The guide, a lady in the morning tour was just excellent, a lot of knowledege, perfect English and a pleasent way of guiding! In the afternoon the guide, a gentleman was also quite good but his English a little bit difficult to follow.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderfull Kyoto

Reviewed by: Perianayagam T, 2013/08/25

Wonderful trip..I started from Tokyo. First-half tour guided me a lot about Kyoto, so that when am alone in 2nd half I was able to cover rest by myself. Pls include some standard city-maps /attractions list/ brouchers for the second half (Yes, I got that from the guide ..thanks for super nice guide...but I'm suggesting to include this as part of package..).

I think the overall price is cheaper than even the to-and-fro ticket charges in shinkashen. A perfect tour that fit my budget and plan very well. Thank you.

Overall a memorable trip. Would like to go more of such trips from Veltra



Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Categories