Robot Restaurant Tickets for the Live Neo-Futuristic Show in Shinjuku reviews, Tokyo tours & activities, fun things to do in Tokyo | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Robot Restaurant Tickets for the Live Neo-Futuristic Show in Shinjuku

Overall Rating

4.31 4.31 / 5

Reviews

298 reviews
Post a review

Robot Restaurant

Reviewed by: GaryT, 2020/02/09

If you are in Shinjuku, definitely worth a visit. Had a good time there though perhaps the restaurant portion of the name is a bit exaggerated.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo isn't Tokyo without a trip to the Robot Restaurant!

Reviewed by: Farah, 2020/02/04

A lot of people dub the Robot Restaurant a 'gimmick' or 'tourist trap', but honestly to me it was everything eccentric and weird about Japan. The moment I entered the doors I felt transported into another alternative reality of robots and colours as vibrant as Skittles and Smarties. Everything from the staff to the flashing lights made the ambience feel like I stepped from Tokyo on to Mars, which is exactly why I enjoyed this show very much.
The robots, the music and dancing were all amazingly spectacular. Everyone got involved dancing a long (or in my case totally enraptured by the ridiculously extravagant dancing robots). I will be returning to Japan in June 2020 and I am planning on returning to the Robot Restaurant once again! If your someone who has read the 'gimmick' comments about Robot Restaurant and now you are in two minds, let me tell you, don't miss it! This show is gimmick-licious in the most delightful way. Make sure you book it and attend! it will be a night you never forget!


I did not eat at the restaurant, so I cant comment on the food. But I reckon that even if the food wasn't the best, you won't notice. Why? because who cares about food when there's a neon dancing giant robot in front of you? Yeah, me neither.


Suggestions for people with kids, I would suggest the earlier showings. Just because I believe the show, local area and experience during the day might be more appropriate. Furthermore, if you think your child might get scared maybe it is best to pass. It is very loud and noisy in there. I had no children with me, so I cant comment on wether they provide soundproof headphones for children.



That all being said, I highly recommend this event. Like I said, I hope to return and experience this again in June! I am very excited!

  • They give everyone these lightsticks for the duration of the show!

  • Amazing performance

  • Did that really happen?

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Greatest Show on Earth!

Reviewed by: TravBear, 2020/01/04

Wow, I had no idea what to expect, I’d gone purely on a friend’s recommendation, and my socks were completely knocked off. I like that the pre-show has a bar and a band, that was a nice warm up for the insanity that was to come. Amazing costumes, dance numbers, pyrotechnics, edge of your seat combat, there simply aren’t adequate words to describe a spectacle like Robot Restaurant. If you’re in Shinjuku, hell anywhere in Tokyo, it’s a must see!

  • Bro wut

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/12/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Far from being a restaurant!

Reviewed by: Not robot fan, 2020/01/04

Too loud and constantly asking you to buy drinks food and souvenirs! Very loud too in such a small tight space!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Semi-Entertaining Tacky Touristy Trash

Reviewed by: DJ Gert, 2019/12/27

This cabaret spectacle is one-of-a-kind, but not for the right reasons. It’s full of dated floats, violating one trademark after another. Drumming, dancing, robots, pyrotechnics, and other random stuff comprise this kitschy, antiquated fantasy parade. It is not “the greatest show on Earth”, as Anthony Bourdain claims, but rather an excuse for entertainment that involves cobbling together everything they consider to be cool and hoping it succeeds as entertainment without any storyline or meaning behind it. The show is fun, but the entire performance lacks tonal consistency and substance. Plus, the show is sprinkled with constant commercialism, selling merchandise at every opportunity available. All in all, the Robot Restaurant can be entertaining, but will sometimes make you wonder why you’re still watching it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Robot resturant

Reviewed by: Kim, 2019/12/02

Very entertaining. Lots to see n enjoy. Love the energy of the performers. Lots of fun n full of surprises. Go with an open mind n be wonderfully surprised.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Robot Wars & MJ v Eurovision & Gangnam Style

Reviewed by: Bello, 2019/12/02

Great show, I would highly recommend, it was like Robot Wars & Michael Jackson v Eurovision & Gangnam Style!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What an experience!

Reviewed by: Keith Stokes, 2019/11/17

This place is awesome! I wasn't quite sure what to expect, but it is a great show! The venue is not very big overall, but they pack a lot into the space. First off, if you get the chance and it's going the day of your show check out the pre-show band. It doesn't cost anything extra and it was very cool. It had everything: dancers, a singer who poured his heart into the songs, a couple of people dressed like robots. I really enjoyed the pre-show, but get there early as it fills up fast.

The main show was amazing! It had so much going on that sometimes you didn't know where you should be looking, in a good way. They let you take pics, just make sure there's no flash. There were 4 "acts" with a intermission between the first three. Apparently it usually sells out and I can totally see why. This is definitely a feast for the senses! If you're thinking about it, you should definitely get the tickets, you won't be disappointed.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tenía más expectativas de este show

Reviewed by: Mili, 2019/11/06

Tenía más expectativas de este show de robots, no son realmente robots, son carros alegóricos manejados con control remoto, los bailes si muy divertidos pero para lo el precio que costó esperaba robots de verdad como el
Nombre de show lo sugiere!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Too much selling!

Reviewed by: Malcolm., 2019/08/28

the show was okay, but the environment was tacky and tired. We expected robots - there were none!

the dancing was great, but this was a bit of a let down and felt expensive. Every minute outside of the performance was focused on trying to get audience members to buy something and it was very frustrating.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Crazy, amazing place!

Reviewed by: Yzz, 2019/08/24

A one of a kind experience. I absolutely loved it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show. Worth every penny.

Reviewed by: Alan , 2019/08/23

Great show. Unexpected and surprised in a good way.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Robot Restaurant

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2019/08/17

Robot Restaurant was very entertaining and enjoyed the show

  • One of the many characters

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great company to book your travel entertainment!!

Reviewed by: Rueboy, 2019/08/15

Veltra was the third company that I attempted to use for booking my tickets for the Robot Restaurant, and the first where I was able to effortlessly complete my transaction. With the frustration I had experienced with the other two companies, I was a bit flustered when I booked my tickets and had forgotten about another activity I had already planned earlier in the day. I contacted Veltra asking to change my ticket time, and they were very helpful and accommodating! Veltra definitely helped my my first trip to Japan less stressful and a lot more fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!

Reviewed by: britt, 2019/08/12

This is a must do in Tokyo! It will blow your mind

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Too expensive

Reviewed by: mmn, 2019/08/04

Just a crazy show and little to do with robots. Space is underground and not to well ventilated, especially in summer.

It does not deserve the price for what it is!!!!!!! (even using the discounts you can find in internet).

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What Just Happened

Reviewed by: Chris D, 2019/07/20

I’m not exactly sure what happened... but it was awesome.
The show was split up into 4 parts
1. Was the longest and was a sort of drum battle between demons and goddesses.
2. Was some funny Power Rangers arms race to save the humans with lots of bangs!
3. Was Tron... what else do I need to say
4. Was an Idol show, Which was pretty sweet experience with the light sticks.

Solid 9.8 would recommend!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing...

Reviewed by: Chris H., 2019/06/19

Was shorter than i thought, however we enjoyed like little kids....
I can't wait to come back and check of the renewed the show to go again.

  • Entrance...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Different experience

Reviewed by: ddn, 2019/06/11

Not very much for our age group of 55 years. Very noisy and the place was very small for the big robots. In the first row the fumes were also not very welcome.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Utter Madness!

Reviewed by: Stuart, 2019/06/07

Well organised all seats have great view .. plenty of chances to buy food, drink and souvenir (a bit pricey) an incredible production and amazing show a must see!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

All in good fun!

Reviewed by: Lisa L, 2019/05/17

Totally over the top, full of tourists only, but a fun show nonetheless. I probably will never go a second time but I am a better person for having gone once!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A nice experience

Reviewed by: Johanna, 2019/05/14

The Robot show was a really good experience. We have never seen a thing like this before. The show was going on and going on. You had to look everywhere. We can recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/05/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No longer as fun as it used to be

Reviewed by: Alex, 2019/05/05

Compared to three years ago the show lost much of it’s fun. The huge robots Bumblebee like are gone and the choreographies are changed for the worse. I wouldn’t recommend

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Crazy fun show!

Reviewed by: Derek E, 2019/04/15

Most members of our party enjoyed the fun show, although it would probably just be a one-time experience for us. Couple of the older members of our group wasn't as keen, but that is not unexpected. Overall, good fun show!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show to start the Tokyo experience

Reviewed by: Vanessa S, 2019/03/12

Definitely a “tourist trap” but well worth it and will definitely recommend to any visitors. It was a fun experience, music and dancing was up beat and made me want to go out dancing to a club. Great to see the Japanese culture throw up on my lap; mean it in a positive manner! Loved the show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Robot Restaurant Ticket for live Neo-Futuristic show in Shinjuku

Reviewed by: Paul_Gomez24 , 2019/02/19

Overall, This was a wonderful experience. This was my first time in Tokyo and this is a must see show. Amazing decorations inside it is an atmosphere that you cannot describe. The alcohol beverages are really good. If you have kids there is also drinks and food for them.

If you are visiting Tokyo I highly recommend you take time out of your day to watch this show.

Btw follow me on Instagram to be friends lol
paul_gomez24

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Phenomenal show great for the whole family

Reviewed by: Nick, 2018/12/04

I absolutely loved the show, as every seat is right in top of the action and the performers use every inch of the stage. Effects were fun and the music enhanced the experience.

I would recommend eating before the show as the food options are limited and there are great food spots in the area.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok show to watch but expensive

Reviewed by: Anne, 2018/11/14

Veltra allowed me to get a discount for this show, which was great! The voucher got me my seat no problem! Robot Restaurant is a weird very Japanese kind of show that you will either hate or like.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved everything about this!

Reviewed by: Guille Guille, 2018/11/04

What a great show! Hope I can go again some day. Truly amazing and eye popping. Really loved the Dia De Los Muertos segment.

  • Just a taste of what you'll see at the show.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show

Reviewed by: Julie, 2018/10/23

It was a loud, colourful and mad intro to Tokyo on our first night, thoroughly enjoyed the show!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/10/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]