(All Reviews) Tokyo Walking Tours (Tokyo Sightseeing Tours), Tokyo tours & activities, fun things to do in Tokyo | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Tokyo Walking Tours in Tokyo

Overall Rating

4.80 4.80 / 5

Reviews

54 reviews

Harajuku Morning Walking Tour to Takeshita Street, Cat Street & Omotesando

Great experience, was handy to have a local to show me around

Reviewed by: aamandal, 2015/06/20

I was traveling as a Solo traveler, and although I have been to Harajuku before I thought why not book a tour. I met the tour guide at the lobby of the hotel, and was surprised to be the only one on the tour - a private tour just for me.
We caught the train to the station ( this ticket is included in the price ) and the tour guide showed me Harajuku areas - she even lined up for me to buy Crepes almost a 30 minute wait!) while I browsed the shops.
What was fantastic was I was able to tell her what I was looking for, and we went specifically to the places I wanted. I even found new places.
She spoke fluent english and japanese and was able to easily translate any questions I had for the staff, and it was a good day!
We walked heaps. Make sure you wear comfy shoes :)

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yanaka Cultural Walking Tour with Yanaka Ginza Shopping Street & Nezu Shrine

Walking tour at Yanaka with Yoshimi

Reviewed by: Noor, 2017/12/03

A very informative tour and I learned a lot in the span of four hours walking with Yoshimi. Yanaka has this old world charm where the old temples are still preserved and it is very quiet and peaceful town too. It is a contrast to other parts in Tokyo i.e. Shinjuku or Shibuya where there are all hustle and bustle.

After the tour ended, I was fascinated with the historical and facts shared by Yoshimi. I went back to the hotel and did my own research via Google. This tour definitely piqued my interest in Japanese's culture, lifestyle and the country as a whole, as I already start planning on my next trips to Japan.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for joining and excellent review!
We truly appreciate it!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo After Dark: Foodie Walking Tour to Discover Local Flavors

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2016/01/08

Ikumi was the most friendly, knowledgeable and hospitable guide, her enthusiasm was infectious. Under her guidance, the group became good friends by the end of the night. This was our first night out in Japan, and thanks to Ikumi we had the confidence and love of Japanese food to revisit the areas she had introduced us to. During our all too brief stay we also ventured into other areas of Tokyo and also in Kyoto. Ikumi was also generous in investigating and getting back to us (on her own time) in response to our many other questions. We cannot thank her enough. Ikumi is one of the reasons we will revisit Japan.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【東京物語】探索日本橋人行町・美食+歷史發現之旅(英文導遊)

導覽路線精彩

Reviewed by: 王雅玲, 2017/10/14

這條路線非常令人感動。有各式老店,充滿故事和代表性。穿插美食可樂餅、冰淇淋、煎餅、人形燒讓旅程充滿趣味。導覽的kimi 面面俱到,照顧每一個團員的需求,講解認真,對於老店的精神也闡述清楚,親切大方。其中的扇子店和牙籤店,更讓人驚豔。因為平常沒有機會走入這些店鋪,還有工具店和日本酒店和販賣機,都非常有趣。
小網神社參拜的過程,還可以洗錢,真好玩。
希望多開發這一類的路線,如果能有中文導遊那就更好了。

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yanaka Cultural Walking Tour with Yanaka Ginza Shopping Street & Nezu Shrine

Very beautiful and memorable tour of Yanaka with our excellent guide Yumi-san

Reviewed by: Animesh, 2020/01/04

It was a very beautiful and informative walking tour. Our guide Yumi-san was very fluent in english. She made our tour memorable by taking us to beautiful cemetery, Sake brewing place etc. If u are first time in tokyo then this walking tour is a must. We were lucky to have Yumi-san as our guide, she was very friendly, cooperative and helped us a lot in knowing more about Tokyo, its history, cuisines, local cultures, folklore etc. This tour has been etched in our memories forever. Arigato gozaimas Yumi-san for such a beautiful and memorable tour.

Comments from activity operators

Thank so much for participation and excellent review! I'll happy to guide you in near future. See you again in Tokyo!

Yumi

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo After Dark: Foodie Walking Tour to Discover Local Flavors

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2015/02/11

I had a fantastic evening eating Japanese food with Sylvia on the Tokyo food tour. Sylvia was a great guide. Her English was excellent and she knew the city well and could direct us to get home and recommend other places / restaurants to try. Both restaurants were authentic with friendly, welcoming staff. They were also busy with Japanese people eating their which added to the experience. The food was delicious and vegetarians were catered for. I highly recommend this tour :-)

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo After Dark: Foodie Walking Tour to Discover Local Flavors

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2015/05/16

Our guide, Ikumi, was very knowledgeable and friendly. We made three different food stops which included yakitori (grilled skewered food), okonomiyaki (savory Japanese pancakes where we cooked it on a grill at our table), and dessert from a sweet shop in Ginza. Food was quite filling and delicious. We explored a few streets in the Yurakucho area of Tokyo and walked through Ginza during the tour. It was a fun, tasty, and informative way to spend an evening.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo After Dark: Foodie Walking Tour to Discover Local Flavors

Awesome walking tour - with Yoshi as a guide!

Reviewed by: David, 2018/06/17

Was a great experience in a group of 8 from the entire world - liked the exchange between the entire group. Our guide was awesome, Yoshi, from Yokohama - great person great explanations - deep knowledge of the bar / restaurant area around Ginza and nearby locations.
The restaurants and bars which we visit were all great, good food and nice drinks! Overall fantastic experience

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yanaka Cultural Walking Tour with Yanaka Ginza Shopping Street & Nezu Shrine

Well worth the value for this tour

Reviewed by: Jill, 2018/06/25

I had a great time on this tour. I saw many attractions as well as learned the history (how, where, why's) to the culture or architecture that we saw on our walk. Our guide even was very agreeable to help us purchase products during our stops into shops/bakeries/boutiques along the way. The time went by so quickly I was sad that it was over. Her knowledge of English was superb!

Comments from activity operators

Dear Jill-san

Thank you so much for your participation and excellent review!
We truly appreciate it.

Sumiko & Takeshi

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Cultural Walking Tour to Ningyocho with Temple or Shrine Visit

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2015/02/18

So glad we did this tour. We loved the Ningyocho neighborhood. It's a place we would never think to go to on our own. Ikumi was a great guide, very enthusiastic and fun. We have been to Tokyo many times, and are AJAs (Americans of Japanese Ancestry), but having a Japanese guide to explain things in-depth and help us interact with the locals was really special.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo After Dark: Foodie Walking Tour to Discover Local Flavors

Reviewed by: Deborah, 2016/01/22

Ikumi was an engaging and informative tour guide with a gift for making friendly conversation. She gave my insights into the neighborhoods, foods and habits of Tokyo locals that I would not have learned on my own. In addition, she taught me how to use the subway system which I had been too intimidated to try on my own. It was a tour well worth taking!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Harajuku Morning Walking Tour to Takeshita Street, Cat Street & Omotesando

Perfect way to be shown around Harajuku

Reviewed by: Sophie , 2018/03/14

This is a really good way to introduce yourself to Tokyo and an absolute must for fashion lovers.

The tour also includes using public transport and my guide miako entered any questions I had.

She also gave everyone in the group advice on what to do next once the tour ended.

Really worth the time and the money.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Harajuku Instax Photography Tour to Takeshita Street & Omotesando

Fun tour with a unique souvenir to take home

Reviewed by: Cortney Oh, 2019/09/30

My tour guide Takahiro was the best! He's fun, knowledgeable, and easygoing. We had great conversation as we walked around Harajuku and took great pictures using the Fuji Instamax camera provided by Wonder Photo Studio. I highly recommend ordering extra film and an additional album since they make such great keepsakes!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo After Dark: Foodie Walking Tour to Discover Local Flavors

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2016/08/31

Fantastic way to experience a taste of Tokyo and to try dishes you may not have had the opportunity to try on your own. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour, ate some delicious food and went places .in Tokyo we wouldn't have gone to without someone to lead us. We totally recommend the tour!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Cultural Walking Tour to Koishikawa Korakuen Garden and Kagurazaka

Great one on one experience

Reviewed by: Ed Lavin, 2015/11/25

Enmiko (Amy) was a great tour guide. It was just the two of us. We rode several Metro trains and walked through some beautiful gardens and through an older, residential section of Tokyo far from the tourist path, where the locals live, eat, and shop. That's my kind of tourism.

  • Amy on the bridge. I had a great time, Amy!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo After Dark: Foodie Walking Tour to Discover Local Flavors

Reviewed by: Test, 2016/08/11

The Experience was fabulous, I really enjoyed this food tour and the guide was very friendly and informative. I think is a good way to get to know local food if it is a first time travel to Tokyo and I learned a lot about local delicious food from our guide. I loved it

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo After Dark: Foodie Walking Tour to Discover Local Flavors

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2016/08/06

Kiri was an amazing tour guide! He was friendly, caring and very organised. At the end of the tour he made sure all participants knew how to get back to their hotels - this was a nice touch as it was our first night in Tokyo and we were still getting our bearings :)

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo After Dark: Foodie Walking Tour to Discover Local Flavors

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2015/06/11

We had a great night out experiencing Tokyo from a different perspective. The varied choice of food places was great, and we loved the "cooking class" experience when having Okonomiyaki. A great group of people to enjoy it with, too Our guide, Sylvia, was excellent

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo After Dark: Foodie Walking Tour to Discover Local Flavors

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2015/01/03

The guide was fantastic !!!!! And the tour was u forgettable. The guide was so good at talking to us and making sure all,our tastes etc were covered . It was absolutely wonderful , one of the best tours I have been on !!! Thank you so much indeed.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yanaka Cultural Walking Tour with Yanaka Ginza Shopping Street & Nezu Shrine

Guided Tokyo walking tour of historical Yanaka

Reviewed by: Carolina Secolo, 2017/04/05

Great tour with Masayo!!! She was amazing, really helpful! She was flexible with my needs, she speaks a perfect English and she knows lots of things!!! I enjoyed a lot the walking around Yanaka!!! I will suggest this tour!!!

Comments from activity operators

Grazie Carolina!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo After Dark: Foodie Walking Tour to Discover Local Flavors

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2015/09/18

Ms Izumi Matsukura was an excellent guide who spoke very good english. i greatly appreciated her followup message with words she introduced to us, names of places we visited and food we ate. excelllent!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo After Dark: Foodie Walking Tour to Discover Local Flavors

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2014/10/14

Tokyo After 5 was a really great way to spend the evening exploring a new city especially if you are on your own. I would definitely do it again. Meg was a EXCELLENT guide. So friendly and informative.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo After Dark: Foodie Walking Tour to Discover Local Flavors

Reviewed by: Diana, 2016/01/16

This is a review for booking only as I have not done the tour. nOn line booking is very clear and easy. nI needed to change the date and this was done promptly and with excellent customer service.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Cultural Walking Tour to Ningyocho with Temple or Shrine Visit

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2014/11/26

Our group was very small and the guide super friendly and with easy to understand English. The guide was very knowledgeable. As the tour is mostly outdoors, it should be done in nice weather.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【東京物語】探索日本橋人行町・美食+歷史發現之旅(英文導遊)

老街之旅

Reviewed by: coaul, 2018/02/18

喜歡探索老地方,隱藏大城市的傳統更有趣。之前大多在書上看看,一心想去但是跟著旅行團是不太可能的。利用這次自由行探訪過過癮!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yanaka Cultural Walking Tour with Yanaka Ginza Shopping Street & Nezu Shrine

Wonderful walking tour of yanaka

Reviewed by: Minal Patel, 2018/04/29

Rie is the best tour guide! My mother and I had a wonderful time walking around Yanaka. Rie is very knowledgeable about the area and took us to all of the best spots!

Comments from activity operators

Thank you so much, Minal-san!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo After Dark: Foodie Walking Tour to Discover Local Flavors

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2016/08/06

Meg was an excellent guide/host and was the perfect introduction to our time in Japan - after a few hours we felt well equipped to travel around the city and beyond

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo After Dark: Foodie Walking Tour to Discover Local Flavors

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery traveler, 2016/01/22

Meg, our guide, was fantastic and quite knowledgeable. This was my firsy Urban Adventures tour and I would take another one based on this experience

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo After Dark: Foodie Walking Tour to Discover Local Flavors

Reviewed by: James, 2014/04/12

Tour was great. Eat at some place that I would not of, traveling alone. Things were explained that I wouldnt of know also. Tour guide as fantastic!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo After Dark: Foodie Walking Tour to Discover Local Flavors

Reviewed by: Stephen, 2014/09/29

Great tour. Good introduction to Tokyo nightlife,transport, food and drink. Meg looked after us very well and would highly recommend this tour!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Tokyo