(All Reviews) Tokyo Food Tours (Tokyo Foodie Experience), Tokyo tours & activities, fun things to do in Tokyo | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Tokyo Food Tours in Tokyo

Overall Rating

4.68 4.68 / 5

Reviews

37 reviews

Evening Food Tour of Golden Gai in Shinjuku

Evening Food Tour Golden Gai Shinjuku

Reviewed by: B and L, Australia, 2018/12/30

We had a highly enjoyable experience on the evening food tour Golden Gai Shinjuku. Our guide Norma was excellent. She chose some great food destinations and was very helpful in explaining Japanese food etiquette and culture. In between eating, Norma guided us around Shinjuku, which is a must see destination if you come to Tokyo. She was very knowledgeable and gave us a great download on the activities and history of the Shinjuku area. Towards, the end of the tour we went to the Golden Gai area, which is quite fascinating for tourists.

We dont write alot of reviews, but would highly recommend this tour, and in particular, we felt quite fortunate that our guide was Norma, as she was really very committed to ensuring that the group was enjoying both the tour and the food experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Afternoon Food Walking Tour in Shimbashi with English-Speaking Guide

A lot of Fun

Reviewed by: Mary K, USA, 2017/09/28

We didn't have trouble finding our guide. Directions were good and easy to follow. We had a small group and our guide was friendly and well versed in the culture and history of Tokyo. We really enjoyed tasting all the different foods. We recommend this walking tour as you get to immerse yourself in the tastes, sounds and the ambiance of local Tokyo. We also had great communication with Veltra. They were prompt to respond to your questions and made the process of booking very easy.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

Taste of culture

Reviewed by: Marina , 2017/09/22

Great little tour. You get a lot for your money. A lot of information, a lot of little tastings, a lot of opportunities to shop afterwards. The hostesses were great. Answered all my questions, gave a lot of detailed info about shops we visited. Very cool hands in opportunities, to do things and touch stuff. Great tour if traveling with kids. Unexpectedly Lovely little gift at the end and a coupon for a free pair of chopsticks.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for the great review! We are so glad you enjoyed the explanations and hands-on-experiences. We hope you enjoyed your shopping afterwards as well :)

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Family Friendly Omotesando and Harajuku Foodie Tour with Lunch

Great for foodies

Reviewed by: Jas, 2019/03/28

I only knew Harajuku for the gothic-lolita kawaii fashion so it was very interesting to see the back alleys and food places I normally don't see in guidebooks. We got to sample a lot of regional specialities and lots of desserts (my favorite!) Our friendly guide was super knowledgeable and was flexible to cater to our entire group. But be prepared to swim through the crowd and possibly wait on lines for some of the treats.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

Unusual taste of Japan!

Reviewed by: Adrienne , 2018/12/09

This little walking tour of some of the famous and historical food stores whose history date from the Edo period was quite delightful and very good value.
The two kimono clad young guides provided us with an excellent commentary in English as well as with samples of the various foods.
I recommend this tour to anyone interested in Japanese food. The Nihonbashi area of Tokyo is a must to visit too!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/12/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Afternoon Walking Food Tour in Trendy Shibuya with English-Speaking Guide

Don't miss it!

Reviewed by: Shirley, 2017/01/22

We thoroughly enjoyed the food tour with Ryo. It is worth doing this tour because we learned about food from different parts of Japan and we went to small restaurants that serve amazing food that wouldn't know otherwise. Ryo was knowledgeable, polite, easy going and fu to be with. We really like him and the tour. Highly recommended, don't miss it!

  • Matcha in the sushi var

Comments from activity operators

Thank you very much for this review Shirley

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Evening Food Tour of Golden Gai in Shinjuku

Night of fun and great food

Reviewed by: Erinl, 2019/06/15

We had a wonderful introduction to the Golden Gai and tried food items we would have never thought to...our guide was interesting and fun...she shared the history of the area, interesting details of life in Tokyo, and took us to cool places we would have been too intimidated to go into on our own. I HIGHLY recommend booking a tour!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

Loved this tour!

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2017/04/17

Wonderful 90 minutes! We got to try many things we wouldn't have otherwise tried. The entire tour is indoors, so it is great for a cold / rainy day. Even our kids (ages 8 and 11) enjoyed this tour. The guide (Julia) was awesome and made the whole tour fun. For the money, this tour was an INCREDIBLE deal!

Comments from activity operators

Dear Nicole,
Thank you very much for your king review! It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. We hope we will see you again!

Best regards,

Giulia

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

Exceeded expectations

Reviewed by: Chelsea, 2019/05/24

Not only did we get to sample different foods, we also learned about their origins and history. So interesting! After the tour, we went back to the stores we toured and bought sweet potato snacks and wheat flour mochi. Our tour guide was very informative and friendly.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for joining! We are so happy that you enjoyed it and were able to find some yummy snacks to take back with you after :)

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

Gourmet food tasting tour nihonbashi

Reviewed by: Lorri , 2019/07/16

Our tour guides were very informative and really nice. We went to a variety of different stores to sample their products. The tour is indoors which worked out for us as it was raining that day. It was great value, worth the visit and we would recommend this tour.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! Neha and I are so glad you enjoyed yourselves on the tour, and we hope to see you in Nihonbashi again someday. :) ~Rose

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Evening Street Food and Walking Tour of Shinjuku Kabukicho

Reviewed by: TEST, 2015/10/30

Walking in the streets of Shinjuku allowed us to see the old and new facet of the city. Our guide Mamoru was very lively and had an extensive knowledge of Shinjuku's history. The highlight of the activity was eating authentic Takoyaki at the end of the tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

Great food tour for families

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2018/12/23

Really enjoyed this. Learned a lot about the different food items and regions of origin. The guide was great and wore a kimono and had yukata for the kids to wear which was a lot of fun. Also great because it was all indoors and it was raining outside.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed it the tour, and the kids liked the happi! Enjoy the rest of your time in Japan!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2018/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

Food tour

Reviewed by: Annette & David, 2017/07/23

What a fabulous tour!! Great value, excellent host - Bryoney, and clear information about the products from different regions. Bryoney was so knowledgable about a wide range of questions we had . Would deinately recommend this experience!

Comments from activity operators

Annette & David, I'm so glad you enjoyed the tour. I hope you had fun here in Nihonbashi! Thank you so much for your feedback :)

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

Thoroughly enjoyed it. Worth 1000 Yen.

Reviewed by: joy, 2019/04/23

I've been on these tour twice now, and both times have being with a non-japanese guide. But they definitely know their stuff and it's a mix of Japanese culture and food. Very worth a 1000 yen. You even get a gift at the end :-)

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

Loved the tour

Reviewed by: Justine, 2018/07/31

The tour guide was very thorough and gave us a lot of information about each stop. The samples were adequate and overall I felt like I travelled around Japan even though we didn't go far. All round great experience.

Comments from activity operators

Hi Justine, thank you very much for joining our tour! I'm glad you enjoyed it! ~Megan

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

【日本美食地圖】東京日本橋・90分鐘日本全國美味發現之旅(英文導遊+紀念品)

親切的服務

Reviewed by: Sandra Shi, 2017/05/01

親切的服務、有趣的內容,讓我們可以在同一地方了解及品味日本不同地區的食物,非常推薦,因朋友是外國人,更容易了解其文化。

Comments from activity operators

非常感謝您的評價,我們很榮幸能為您介紹日本的傳統美食和文化,希望您和朋友下次再來!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

It was awesome!!

Reviewed by: Yoshi, 2018/09/15

I enjoyed some sampling and got a small present. These are included in the tour fee. It’s good value plan.
Guide is charming and knows Japanese culture.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Evening Street Food and Walking Tour of Shinjuku Kabukicho

Reviewed by: Alan, 2014/07/03

The guide was first class, she helped us to see many interesting places and understand better what was going on despite the vast crowds of Japanese people.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

Great experience

Reviewed by: Sara, 2018/04/24

Great knowledgable guide gave concise explanations and background of selected Japanese food types, with yummy samples. Great value.

Comments from activity operators

We're so glad you enjoyed our tour! Hope to see you again sometime :) ~Bryony

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

Fantastic !

Reviewed by: Seun , 2019/06/03

Great food tasting tour. Our guide was so kind and very informative. Me and my sister really enjoyed ourselves during this trip to Japan

Comments from activity operators

Thank you very much for joining our Best of Japan Gourmet Tour! I'm glad you enjoyed your time in Japan, and hope to see you again in Nihonbashi in the future! ~Megan

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

Awesome tour

Reviewed by: Sunny S., 2018/03/17

It was so good and I want to do it again. Explanation of Each samples how it was made awesome. Various kind of pickles were great.

Comments from activity operators

We're so glad you enjoyed it! We hope you enjoy the rest of your time here in Japan with your newfound knowledge on all the different traditional foods. ~International Staff

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

The best way to know Japan

Reviewed by: Mindy, 2016/07/26

That is wonderful! The trip help us to understand real Japan,and the shops provide tasty food!After the trip,we shop a lot!

Comments from activity operators

Hello, thank you again for joining our tour. It was really nice to meet you and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here in Nihonbashi. We hope to see you again.
P.S: Thank you very much for the pic, I really like it.

Hoda~

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Evening Street Food and Walking Tour of Shinjuku Kabukicho

Reviewed by: Mads, 2015/11/11

Sampling street food and local cuisine is always a great way to experience a city. Our guide was awesome.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

Great tour

Reviewed by: Nexxmexx, 2017/09/23

Very informative. Got to try a lot of local delicacy. For the price, it cannot be beaten

Comments from activity operators

Thank you very much for joining our tour! We are glad you enjoyed it.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

Great!!

Reviewed by: Kimi , 2016/08/08

I really enjoyed this tour, even I'm Japanese. Thank you so much.

Comments from activity operators

Thanks so much for joining our tour! We're glad you enjoyed it!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2016/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

A very entertaining and informative experience

Reviewed by: Sherif, 2019/01/07

It was a lot of fun. Would love to try other available tours.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Evening Street Food and Walking Tour of Shinjuku Kabukicho

Reviewed by: Alison, 2015/07/03

no improvement recommended

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

1時間半で日本の食文化の特徴をいくつか掴むことができる

Reviewed by: Naomi, 2018/07/16

・初来日の外国人家族と参加。日本の文化の基本というか共通項を見てもらえると期待して申し込む。
・嗜好の違いか、羊羹や昆布は「濃い」(煮詰まっている、甘すぎるといった感じ)というコメント、出汁はこわごわでしたが美味しいとも。日本文化や日本食はある程度海外でも認知度が高いと想定していたが、全く知らない人にはちょっと刺激が強いかも。
・日本の地形や風土が地方によって違うことを知らない場合、県やエリアのことを言われても、何かすごく違いがあるのかわからないので伝わりづらいと感じた。
・終わった後に「短時間で一応いろんなことを学んだ(気がする)。いいツアーだ」と感想を言っていたので良かった。別の家族が来たらまた案内したい。
・スペイン語も対応してくれると嬉しい

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2018/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

コンパクトなジャパンテイスティング体験

Reviewed by: セロリ, 2017/05/04

それぞれのお店を周り、お店の製品の説明を英語でしてもらえたのは良かった。(日本人でも説明しにくいこと(米麹やかつおぶしについてなど)はこうやって言えばいいんだと勉強になった)しかし、本当に食べたいと思う牡蠣などの美味しそうなものはお店の紹介だけ。他のお店も一押しのものを試食させてくれればいいのにそうでもなかった気がする。日本人からしたら、高くてもいいものこそ試食させて本物を体験させてあげて欲しかった。ただガイドさんは一生懸命もりあげようとしてくれていて好感が持てました。最後にお土産をくれるのも良かった。もう少しハイクオリティーになるなら他の海外の友人にも勧めたい。もう一押し!

  • 丁寧な英語の説明

  • 和菓子屋さんの和菓子の生花は必見!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Japan Gourmet Tasting Tour in Nihonbashi

Good Tour

Reviewed by: Michele Curran, 2016/04/23

Our trip to Nihonbashi district was very educational and enriching for me and my boys. It made us appreciate Japan even more, each province possessing a unique food story worth telling. This tour is a gem, consolidating all these food stories in an hour or so, allowing us to immerse into the culture and the people altogether. Our favorite was the dried fish that we grated into thin strips of fish. We never thought you can do that to.fish!! My sons enjoyed grating them.

We also got to sample most of the food items. My personal favorite would be the sweet potato fries. Yum!!!!!!

the storytellers Are fantastic. They have very good knowledge of the subjects and the history that accompanies them. They adjust to the audience's capacity to.absorb information and attention span. Would definitely recommend to friends and loved ones! :-)

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Tokyo