This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castles Day Trip from Munich

Great tour for an energetic traveler

Reviewed by: Andy, 2018/10/02

This is a great tour for people who want to see as much as they can when they travel. The clip of this tour may be too fast for people who value time to sit back and relax, but for people who want the bang for their buck or don't have time to linger, this is perfect.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/09/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding day out!

Reviewed by: John Barron , 2018/09/23

Our tour guide and driver were great (Kristina & Joseph)! We went to two castles and visited a small town called Oberammergau. It was great value for money as it included transportation (which included snacks and coffee), tours and an informative tour guide. I highly recommend this tour to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day trip to see Neuschwanstein and Linderhof

Reviewed by: honestchild, 2018/08/30

Not only was the tour punctual, we actually left ahead of schedule! The tour was fantastic, Linderhof was a great surprise - most "train" tours do not go here but Grayline bus tours do. We also stopped in the middle in a nice town called Oberammergau, before heading to the highlight - Neuschwanstein castle! Our guide Mieke and driver Stefan were both great :)


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Buildings, Rushed Experience

Reviewed by: Steve G, 2018/08/29

The tour was as advertised, but next time I believe that we will do the research and travel on our own. Both interior castle tours are conducted by on-site staff, and you go at their pace, and see what you see. That would be true for everyone, regardless. Unfortunately, apart from the ease of not having to drive, the guided bus tour added little. Some tidbits, but mostly those things you might find out via a short web visit or that you hear on the castle tours anyway.

The most disappointing item for my family's tour was the very rushed nature of the schedule - Linderhof has beautiful grounds which we only saw as we rushed past to get in and out of the castle and scurried back to the bus. Neuschwanstein's classic view from Marienbrucke is possible if you completely give up on checking out the shops and restaurants - but this choice was not clear, and after doing just a little shopping and grabbing a bite, we didn't have time to stand in the long line waiting to get out to the Marienbrucke bridge. (Teeth grinding noises).

Worse - you rush back to the bus, only to find that some of the group aren't quite as circumspect, and then you sit for however long it takes for "those people" to show up. The guide's gentle tongue lashing of the late-comers does not compensate for our own lost opportunity or idling in our bus seat.

Next time - definitely will rent a car, make advance ticket reservations on the web, and do things on our schedule.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very enjoyable tour

Reviewed by: From Ireland, 2018/08/25

As a family of 5 with 2 boys aged under 12 and a daughter aged 15, we all really enjoyed this tour. It is a very early start if you aren't staying in the centre of Munich but well worth the effort.

Think it would be easier if the entrance tickets were included at booking though as we weren't expecting to have to pay for them in cash and it left us a little short until we found an ATM later in the day.

Overall though a lovely tour which we all enjoyed.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overall Good Value for Money

Reviewed by: Unknown, 2018/08/24

As above the over all value for money was Good. Our Guide was very helpful and informative.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good experience

Reviewed by: Alessia, 2018/08/17

I really liked the trip! I recommend to see the Linderhof Palace.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Castles Visit

Reviewed by: Jack C, 2018/08/08

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide Ursula was terrific. She brought to life the history of Ludwig the 2nd and Bavaria. She kept us moving to make sure we didn't miss anything. The castles were magnificent and Bavaria countryside breathtaking next to the alps. Nice touch of snacks and drinks on the coach and the individual seats on the coach were great. Well worth the price for a full day tour and would definitely recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Poor instructions and poor English

Reviewed by: Aussie, 2018/08/03

If you are looking for a well guided this is not for you. Our tour on Aug. 1 was very disorganized and our guide had very poor English. She says ammm ammm every second word. There was very little information and instruction.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Like a dream.

Reviewed by: 超級旅行貓, 2018/08/03

The castle is beautiful. Time is enough for a thorough visit. Worth visiting.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Value for the money

Reviewed by: Gynea Leung, 2018/07/25

Expertised tourist guidance at low price. Time allocation enough no hurry.











Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bavaria excursion

Reviewed by: Elizabeth , 2018/07/24

The tour of the castle is a bit disappointing as it (and the palace) are only about 30 minutes long and you can’t take any pictures. They are beautiful though and it is nice to have some background of the country, area, king, and time period. Our tour guide and bus driver were amazing and we had a great time! WiFi on the bus doesn’t actually work, but it was a comfortable ride and snacks and drinks were provided - included some local beer! The walk up to the castle is a bit long/ up hill but it’s all paved and not difficult, I’m just out of shape.


  • Before hiking up to Neuschwenstein


  • At the bottom of the Neuschwenstein castle’s hill


  • Local beer from munich


  • View of the yellow castle from the point on the way to Mary’s bridge


  • The yellow castle


  • Acrylic paintings in the small village


  • Baroque church in the small village


  • Neuschwenstein castle from the bottom of the hill


  • Linderhof Palace (the fountain shoots up on the hour for 2 minutes)

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Um passeio incrivel.

Reviewed by: Murilo Holtz, 2018/07/22

O passeio para os castelos foi incrível e adoramos cada minuto.

O ônibus é muito confortável, com banheiros e bebidas para comprar e o guia foi muito bom e informativo, também gostamos muito por ter o áudio guia com explicações em Português (BR).

Os dois castelos são incríveis e você tem a oportunidade de comprar o tour guiado direto com o guia evitando assim as filas dos guichês (que por sinal são grandes).

Uma dica para o Castelo de Neuschwanstein é ir o mais rápido possível para a ponte onde se tem a melhor visão do castelo para ótimas fotos pois a fila para a ponte e grande.

Recomendo a todos o passeio.





The ride to the castles was amazing and we loved every minute of it.

The bus is very comfortable with restrooms and drinks to buy and the guide was very good and informative, we also really enjoyed having the audio guide with explanations in Brazilian Portuguese.

The two castles are incredible and you have the opportunity to buy the guided tour direct with the guide thus avoiding the queues of the booths (which by the way are big).

A tip for the Neuschwanstein Castle is to go as fast as possible to the bridge where you have the best view of the castle for great pictures as the queue for the bridge is big.

Highly recommend the tour to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Interesting tour

Reviewed by: Cyprus36, 2018/07/13

It was a long and lovely day.We went in 2 casles and a village.The tour operator was funny and well informed. Be prepare to wear warm a nd confort cloths,shoes.You have to pay extra 25€ for entrance to castles and 5€ for kids. What a lovely day, worth every peny.Definitely do it , do nof think of the money. Is one life experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bavaria

Reviewed by: Charline, 2018/07/12

Excellent day away crom reality. Escape to a fairy tale world..

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Visiting the castles

Reviewed by: Lili, 2018/07/12

The scenery is beautiful, the bus is confortable and our guide was very good. However, everything seems rushed, specially the tine in Oberammergau. The castle tours themselves were very short and not much detail. We spent most of the time on the bus.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic excursion.

Reviewed by: Cheryl , 2018/07/11

Fantastic experience on a more luxurious coach with single armchair-like seats. Although at the beginning I was ushered onto one of the other coaches with normal seating but luckily I was insistent that I’d paid for the premier coach. Soon all was fine, had an excellent tour guide called Ursula who was so enthusiastic and informative at all times. Although the sightseeing seemed rushed I can quite understand that everything is to a strict schedule. Also the driver who I think was called Vlad was very friendly and courteous. Visited Marienbrücke first with our tour guide and we decided to pay the couple of euros on the shuttle bus to take us up, we then visited Neuschwannstein castle on our timed ticket, next was a 40min stop in Oberammergau, as we all got back onto the bus Vlad kindly kept us going with plenty of offers of snacks + drinks. Last stop was Linderhof Palace which had impressive rooms. The bus got back to the Hauptbahnhof approximately 7pm and we certainly had a wonderful day and didn’t have to worry about buying tickets or queues as Ursula did all this for us...although not a cheap tour I would definitely recommend it...a big thank you to Ursula and Vlad!!


  • Wonderful views


  • Neuschwannstein Schloß


  • Premier coach


  • Linderhof Palace


  • Painted facade in Oberammergau

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Value for money and also worthy amount of time!

Reviewed by: Sash, 2018/07/08

The guide Elisabeth and driver Thomas were outstanding! Elisabeth gave lots of good stories and explanations along the way and Thomas reacted accordingly by slowing down at the appropriate sceneries. Good coordination between them :)

I read several reviews claiming that the group was rushed and that tour duration inside the castle was only 30 mins. This has got nothing to do with the tour operator. The castle tours are conducted by the castle personnel. Due to the large tourist crowd short tours in the castle was appropriate. It was also sufficient. Also, it should be noted that you will be paying 25 Euros for both castles (not one). So the reservation fee is included in it. It's totally worth it. It saves you the hassle of booking one week in advance. I booked my tour 1 day in advance. 4 hours was given for the Neuschwanstein castle. I read reviews which said that some tour operators do not mention about the bridge near the castle and they felt that they missed out. Well, Elisabeth mentioned it and we had lots of time to take pics there :) So do check out the Marienbrucke Bridge!! Overall, there was plenty of time for lunch, to get to the castle (by shuttle bus or walking), tour the castle and get back down.

It was raining when we got there and I was rushing to the shelter. (Remb to bring raincoat or umbrella in case) Hence, I did not note my surrounding. I lost my orientation and couldn't remb my way back to the coach parking. In fact, I was just standing 2 mins away from the coach parking and did not realise. Elisabeth and Thomas waited 25 mins for me. I was the last person to reach the bus. Despite this, they were very professional and spoke well to me. The people on board were also very understanding. We reached back Munich just 10-15 mins later than the scheduled time. It would have otherwise costed me so much more to get back. Thank you Elisabeth and Thomas for making the call to stay and wait!! Appreciate it lots!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent timing and arrangement!

Reviewed by: SunnyTsangHK, 2018/07/06

Well, this day trip is perhaps the most budget fridendly and convenient way to visit Neuschwanstein castle from Munich! You can also enjoy two additional attractions: the Linderhof palace (a small one ;( ) and the small village with ice creams of a wide variety and cheap price (€1.1 per scoop :))
U got plenty of time to enjoy your visits, no rush at all. Comfy bus with excellent guide (Clara from Brazil :))
Highly recommend it!



Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice Trip

Reviewed by: D.C., 2018/07/05

I really enjoyed this tour. Markus was very pleasent and informative. The bus ride was comfortable and enabled us to see a lot of the German countryside. I would recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip!

Reviewed by: Christine, 2018/07/04

The tourist guide has good sense of humour. The trip was enjoyable as there was ample time to tour around the castles.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Day Trip

Reviewed by: AVaiano, 2018/06/25

Amazing day trip... I really recommend this tour with!!!






Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Royal Castles Day Trip

Reviewed by: Teddy, 2018/06/12

Ulrich was very nice however when we asked him about WiFi he informed us he would ask the driver. Later when we asked the driver he told us that he does not speak English. He was very rude and needless to say there was no WiFi. In 2018 there should be WiFi available.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really enjoyed the day

Reviewed by: glyn tulloch, 2018/05/15

Christine was a great guide she was very informative helpful and funny.Even when one of her guests managed to get lost in Oberammergau not sure how.She waited the maximum time still no joy but finally managed to meet up at Neuschwanstein castle.
Initially the itinerary sounds quite rushed.But actually experiencing it was a different matter.First we were able to set off and get to Linderhof which is quite small compared to other castles or palaces.Interesting and knowledgeable guide who took us round then a little bit of time to walk around the gardens and take photographs.
Onto Oberammergau which is a delightful village a quick look around and the ice cream was not only delicious but incredioble value.
Then onto the main reason for going there.Neuschwanstein is truly one of those places to experience once in a lifetime again time management is key here.Plenty of time to get up there do the tour and get back down before the coach left with no people missing this time.
Back on the coach and back to munich in plenty of time.Really enjoyed the day

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

unforgettable trip around the beautiful Bavaria!

Reviewed by: Dana, 2018/05/02

the trip was very nice, full of positive emotions, we enjoyed the beautiful Bavarian landscape and castles very much. Probably not very adapted for an older people as the program is very intense! In general It is well organised and thanks very much for happy Elisabeth group and a driver Dragan who safely drove us all the way!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Expensive coach transport

Reviewed by: Anonymous , 2018/04/21

You are paying for coach transport which is quite expensive. The tour guide doesn’t know the price of the local transport that she got us to go on. He entrance fees the tour guide charges is quite a lot higher, because of “reservation fees”. Was looking forward to the guide telling us more about the history and cultural side of Bavaria, overall disappointed.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good value for the money.

Reviewed by: Andrew, 2018/04/05

Hassle free transport to the castles, plus shopping time and tour tickets. Timely and professional service.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you, Andrew! Joachim, Department Mananger

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent organisation

Reviewed by: Traveler, 2018/04/03

Our guide was friendly and helpful throughout. We were well informed all day and packed in a lot into one day.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your review! Joachim, Department Manager

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent trip

Reviewed by: Chen, 2018/03/27

Amazing castle and the guid, the place where ever u must visit

Reply from activity provider

Thank you Chen! Joachim, Department Manager

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Most!

Reviewed by: karlats, 2018/03/13

Really nice tour! A Most when traveling to munich.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |